Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

4.50 Rating 288 Reviews
88% of reviewers recommend Swindon Caravans Group

About Swindon Caravans Group: Award winning dealership selling new and second hand touring caravans. With branches in Swindon, Oxford and Reading. We cater to all your caravanning needs, from caravans sales and caravan & awning accessory shops to our workshops and aftersales service.

Visit Website

Phone:
01793772096

Email:
tom@swindoncaravans.com

Location:
Greatfield, Royal Wootton Bassett,

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? They had the caravan we were looking for but also a great second hand selection
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Excellent customer service"
Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Best selection and service
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We brought a caravan and was still not right for us. We have now changed to another Bailey and lee was great he made it a easy change and stress free move and thank you to dean for helping us with the new bits and bobs on the new van we like the service, thank you so very much ."
Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Our 4th purchase from the group
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"This is the 4th caravan we have purchased from Reading and now Thame the service level and after sales service is always exceptional, The sales person today Alistair could not have been more helpful. We found 3 faults overlooked on the inspection and within 30 minutes the helpful mechanic had them fixed. We will recommend Thame caravans to our fellow caravaners."
Posted 9 months ago
"After Service very limited. Expectation is that you wait 8 to 12 weeks for items to be attended. Have problem with on of the ‘vans breaks, when trying to book it to have it resolved was told they need it for a week. OK I said assume you don't leave it until Friday to look at - looking for reassurance after having spent in access of £20,000 on a caravan. Service manager decides to go on a rant about how I should not tell him how to run the department and it was stupid to suggest they will leave it for a week. When I stated I was looking for reassurance as a customer, he argued what I had said. Did not listen to what I was saying. Simply do not listen to their customers. When I asked to speak to someone more senior was told that there was no one I could talk to! If I wanted to speak to the MD I had to put it in writing and wait for a response (slight smug tone in his voice). Most unpleasant conversation I have had in a long time. What a business and industry! Customer service levels and expectations from 20 years ago. I was informed that I could not expect the same level of customer service as when you purchase a car – they are not the same industry. Customer service is not industry dependent. Take you money and look to spend it somewhere else. Would I buy from them again No! Would I recommend them No! Will be looking to get out the caravan experience and buy a motorhome. For the shake of balance the van has been booked in for 4 weeks time."
Posted 9 months ago
Hi,
We're sorry that you appear unhappy with your experience at the Swindon Caravans Group. As you have chosen to remain anonymous it is difficult to comment on the review. If you would like to leave your name, the caravan and branch that this relates to then we'd be happy to look into your experience and provide comment.
Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"I cannot commend Every single member of staff enough, from Sales through to despatch. Thankyou for making the whole experience truly wonderful. We are so happy with our Unicorn!"
Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Had what I was looking for when I searched on the internet
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
"Just purchased ex demo Vogue 2018 swift. Delighted from start to finish with sale. Came 200 miles as I liked the reviews I read and the staff were all helpful. I do camp about a 2 hr drive away and my old 2 Berth elddis was a trade in. Had a good first offer on a trade in when I emailed and I had a reply back within 24 hrs. Alistar was a decent professional salesman and i felt i trusted him all the way. Thanks to all the staff at Oxford."
Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? my local
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"This was my first experience of purchasing a caravan and i have to say that Paul was so professional and his opinion was welcomed my fears were quickly diminished he was so helpful and friendly i cannot fault any of the staff they all go that extra mile to help,Dean who explained all i need to know and learn about the van was excellent at his job Thank you to all the team.Janice"
Posted 9 months ago
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Great selection of caravans. Left us alone to browse and decide what we wanted. Great handover/briefing when we picked up the new van. Really comprehensive and unhurried and quickly fixed any minor glitches we spotted - made it a great experience . The £500 vouchers were the icing on the cake!"
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Professional dealer
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Being our first caravan, we weren’t too sure what to expect. After looking at private sales and other dealers, Reading-Swindon Caravans (Reading Branch) came as a pleasant surprise. We saw a caravan we liked and decided straight away that it was the one for us. On the day of collection, the caravan was ready and had received a full service and deep clean. We were shown around the caravan in detail and given very good advice about the systems and how to operate them. Being new to caravans, this was really helpful. The shop on the site is well stocked and competitively prices which is good as by the time we left, we had everything needed to start using it. My Grandson was even given a toy car and caravan which kept him busy. Overall, I would recommend buying a new or used caravan from Reading – Swindon Caravans for peace of mind a great service.."
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? I'd looked at your web site and you seemed to know your stuff
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"From the moment we set foot on your site at Oxford we were aware of your relaxed and unpressured approach to potential customers. Alan Conley advised on appropriate and suitable styles and weights of caravan for both our needs and towing vehicle in a very professional manner. Once we had decided on a van we would like, Alan went through the detail with us and when we explained that we could not take deliver for a month or so simply took a small deposit saying "just let us know when you'd like it!" Despite the fact we could not take deliver for another 4 weeks there was no hassle. We collected our van and were treated to Alan's most relaxed and informative hand over. We really appreciated the continuity you provided throughout the whole process and believe we have received a service that is second to none, for that we thank you. We would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone looking to purchase a caravan or associated goods and equipment your whole ethos is commendable. Many many thanks Sue & Roger Humphries"
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? The prices of the caravan was amazing
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Friendly and happy to help with any query"
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Loacal to us
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Made to feel very welcome and everything about our new van was explained in a professional but friendly way."
Posted 10 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? A friend said her purchase was also first class
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We had all the help to enable us to make sure we bought the right van for us and our hand over was first class the shop staff we're also very helpful in buying our porch a pump up model all your staff we're first class"
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Saw caravan online
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Guided us through buying our first caravan and helped us to select a caravan suitable for towing by our car. Provided an excellent service when we collected the van going through everything to show us how it worked. Helpful with doing any ‘hard sell’"
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We have dealt with them in the past and had the caravan we were looking for.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Everyone we dealt with were a pleasure to meet, and were very professional and polite."
Posted 10 months ago
"As complete newbies we visited the showroom initially 'just to have a look around' as we were thinking of buying a caravan next year. We met Lee who took us through to see all the vans, he explained the different layouts and directed us to the ones we thought we would be interested in. He said just take your time and look at all of them, no sales pressure, just genuine help. We asked all the typical newbie questions and he couldn't of been more helpful. As we live quite close we visited on several weekends asking yet more questions and we were always greeted with help and enthusiasm. I was constantly on their website looking at all the different vans and one Saturday I saw a van that I particularly liked. A 2007 Abbey GTS 420. We loved it so much we decided it was the one for us and Paul was so helpful, explaining all the things we would need to use it for the first time, which we got as a 'started pack'. He helped us choose an awning and even told us who to contact to do a caravan driving course as we had not towed before. As neither of our current cars were capable of towing the weight he even gave us suggestions of which cars to look at, telling us to ring them to check it would be suitable before purchasing one. As this took us a couple of weeks they even delivered the caravan for us. The handover we did with Mick was amazing, he went into so much detail for us. We have discovered a couple of faults which they immediately rectified and nothing seems too much trouble. They are an invaluable source of information. There is a lot to learn and they are all excellent, their knowledge is first class. We could not recommend them highly enough. They have all contributed to making the buying experience excellent in every way. Thank you to you all, Sales, shop and after sales departments."
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Near to where we live with massive choice to suit all.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"The sales person - Lee - couldn't have been more helpful. Due to unforseen circumstances we had to change our collection day twice, but it was no trouble. We collected our new caravan today after being shown a very thorough explanation of how everything needs to work. Excellent service - we could not speak too highly of everyone we dealt with."
Posted 10 months ago
"Bought our second caravan from Swindon caravans in March 2018 and would never buy from them again, after sales is appauling they don't want to know you once you have handed over the cash. We have our caravan stored 55miles away from them and in order to get a problem resolved you have to tow it to them, they are not willing to get a sub contractor to have a look and reimburse us if we pay. The subcontractor. We spent £20,000 on a caravan and since buying we have had trouble with our toilet, heating, water system and battery. Very disappointed and an appauling service. Do not go near them."
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your feedback Mrs Bamsey. Your review was disappointing to read particularly as we believed we had resolved all of the issues on your last visit. The used caravan was supplied with a 12 month warranty, the benefit of which is that you are able to manage this yourself or find someone local who deals with the warranty company. Unfortunately we do not have mobile engineers and any work that needs to be done has to come back to our workshop. If you have any queries then please contact our Aftersales manager John (john@swindoncaravans.com) who will be happy to assist and answer any questions that you have.
Posted 10 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Hoped for a good deal
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
"purchased New caravan only to find that PDI not done correctly. Solar panels issues door lock faulty ATC not fitted. This is my 4th Caravan purchased from this company and it makes you Question about customer services. Not happy with the Service given to me."
Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We didnt. My parents took us there
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"My parents wanted to buy us a caravan and they took us to Swindon caravan shop. We didn't want my parents to spent too much on a caravan especially it was going to be our first caravan to try so they bought a decent 4 berth caravan from your shop. we were very excited as a family. we booked a caravan holiday, joined the caravan club, bought an awning then about a week later we had a phone call from your team member saying that the caravan we purchased is not useable, its in very bad condition and the member said to us he can not sell this caravan to us. we were devastated. we knew there wasn't a caravan with the same price in your caravan place. we really didn't want to my parents to spent more than they already spent. We came to the caravan place to sort the problem out but we have been offered a refund or spend much more for a caravan. we were disappointed that the caravan had never been checked before you put it on sale? My parents ended up spending much more than their original budget and we didn't feel that we have been offered a good deal on the second caravan."
Posted 10 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your comments. Whilst we appreciate the frustration surrounding the original caravan that your parents wanted to buy, surely it was the right thing to do! As a company we will not sell and despatch a caravan if it does not meet the standards that we set and are required from an established dealership. Each caravan undergoes a damp test and visual inspection when we take ownership however this doesn't always highlight more serious issues with the construction of the caravan. These issues are picked up by the engineers when they PDI the caravan and in your case this is what happened.

Your comments are slightly confusing and do seem a little at odds to the view of your parents when considering the email we received from them after the purchase of the caravan:

"We would like to thank and praise Paul Hopkins for helping us to resolve a problem we experienced when buying a used caravan from you recently. We appreciated the issues were outside of your control, however, Paul dealt with our concerns in a helpful and professional way. He is a credit to your company. Please can you pass on our thanks to Paul's manager"

Paul found another caravan to suit their needs and discounted the caravan to a level which we felt reasonable considering the issues that had been experienced. It is our view that we provided great customer service and acted in the morally correct manner throughout.
Posted 10 months ago
Swindon Caravans Group is rated 4.50 based on 288 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access