Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

4.54 Rating 341 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Swindon Caravans Group
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
Read Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

About Swindon Caravans Group:

Award winning dealership selling new and second hand touring caravans. With branches in Swindon, Oxford and Reading. We cater to all your caravanning needs, from caravans sales and caravan & awning accessory shops to our workshops and aftersales service.

Visit Website

Phone:

01793772096

Email:

tom@swindoncaravans.com

Location:

Greatfield, Royal Wootton Bassett,

Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? its local to me and your a good price
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
as regards to replying to telephone enquiries your service is non existent, the first thing you say is , don't hang up we,ll get back to you. well after trying 3 times with no response what do you expect.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Mr & Mrs Benger,
Thank you for your message and we absolutely take on board what you say. We have been extremely busy recently with our Summer Show and as a result we have missed a few calls. But should you leave a message then we will call you back.
We're delighted that you purchased a caravan from us and I understand from Steve's recent telephone conversation with you that you'll be using it for the first time this coming weekend. We trust that you have a great time and the caravan lives up to your expectations.
Posted 5 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Hoped for a good deal
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
purchased New caravan only to find that PDI not done correctly. Solar panels issues door lock faulty ATC not fitted. This is my 4th Caravan purchased from this company and it makes you Question about customer services. Not happy with the Service given to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We didnt. My parents took us there
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
My parents wanted to buy us a caravan and they took us to Swindon caravan shop. We didn't want my parents to spent too much on a caravan especially it was going to be our first caravan to try so they bought a decent 4 berth caravan from your shop. we were very excited as a family. we booked a caravan holiday, joined the caravan club, bought an awning then about a week later we had a phone call from your team member saying that the caravan we purchased is not useable, its in very bad condition and the member said to us he can not sell this caravan to us. we were devastated. we knew there wasn't a caravan with the same price in your caravan place. we really didn't want to my parents to spent more than they already spent. We came to the caravan place to sort the problem out but we have been offered a refund or spend much more for a caravan. we were disappointed that the caravan had never been checked before you put it on sale? My parents ended up spending much more than their original budget and we didn't feel that we have been offered a good deal on the second caravan.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi,
Thank you for your comments. Whilst we appreciate the frustration surrounding the original caravan that your parents wanted to buy, surely it was the right thing to do! As a company we will not sell and despatch a caravan if it does not meet the standards that we set and are required from an established dealership. Each caravan undergoes a damp test and visual inspection when we take ownership however this doesn't always highlight more serious issues with the construction of the caravan. These issues are picked up by the engineers when they PDI the caravan and in your case this is what happened.

Your comments are slightly confusing and do seem a little at odds to the view of your parents when considering the email we received from them after the purchase of the caravan:

"We would like to thank and praise Paul Hopkins for helping us to resolve a problem we experienced when buying a used caravan from you recently. We appreciated the issues were outside of your control, however, Paul dealt with our concerns in a helpful and professional way. He is a credit to your company. Please can you pass on our thanks to Paul's manager"

Paul found another caravan to suit their needs and discounted the caravan to a level which we felt reasonable considering the issues that had been experienced. It is our view that we provided great customer service and acted in the morally correct manner throughout.
Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local
Would you buy from one of our branches again? no
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
The caravan leaked water in through the front windows. When we returned the caravan 2 days after we bought it and 1 day after towing it down to Devon and back the female sales advisor who we explained everything to immediately said we must have left the top window open. We explained that we had never opened it & then she said these things happen it is after all only a metal box. When you have paid thousands for a caravan you do not expect it to leak or have some blame you or tell you this. I said maybe that is why the last people traded it in to which she replied "NO there was nothing wrong with that caravan they traded it in to upgrade" I said would they have got the same money for it if they had said it did leak and she just replied "There was nothing at all wrong with that caravan" Her attitude was terrible but when we asked to speak to a manager his attitude was totally different. He listened, looked and found out the window has bowed. We got our money back after a week but still ended up out of pocket for the campsite that we had booked and the money we had spent out. If it wasn't for the female sales advisor we would have no qualms with going back to Swindon Caravans as everyone else had good customer service but because of her we will avoid it in future as that is what you remember and her attitude still leaves a bad taste.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very good apart from if you caravan wasn’t purchased from them and service warranty etc don’t wast your time ringing as they only do work on their customer’s caravans. Disappointing even if you were a customer before and the dealer you purchased from is miles away,this lets down a very good dealer.......
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Are you satisfied with your choice of caravan? no
Would you buy from one of our branches again? no
Apart from Alan our salesman and the lady in the shop , our experience of buying our Caravan has been and still is a nightmare, its been back Twice and now we are away again and surprise surprise some of the warranty’s work ie heater hanging of with Ele wires exposed. What a bad service.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Picked up our new lunar stellar in July 2017 week later found out blind in window door had rust stains window was leaking contacted Swindon caravans .New blind ordered had it fitted March 2018 once home checked found out window still leaking contacted them again was told by workshop manager no record of leaking window on job sheet I had contacted them on numerous occasions about this blind and leaking window am now taking it elsewhere for repairs as coming from south Wales .not very happy about this situation if wasted time and money bringing van back and fore there after sales is absolutely rubbish and would not deal with them again asked for some compensation for my troubles nothing .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mr Hodson,
We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. There were clearly crossed wires because we had no record of a leaking window (only the faulty blind) so apologies for this. Please feel free to contact Tom at Swindon Caravans and he would be happy to talk and try to re-establish your confidence in Swindon Caravans.
Posted 1 year ago
We brought a clubman saros worst caravan ever.although Andy the sales man was brilliant we've had nothing but trouble with it we keep it on a site every time we visit theirs a problem 1st year we had it water pump wired up the wrong way so it dribbled out tap in bathroom cant turn on as it hits the wall and now we have no toilet and so many more things have gone wrong getting to the stage im fed up now we are away this week but will be contacting the ombudsmen also showing signs of damp flys have got in side windows god knows how and the wife also said the fridge don't work I think it must be bad luck
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mr Pearce. We are sorry to hear about the problems you have had with your caravan. We are concerned and would like to help but currently have 2 records for Mr Pearce both of whom bought a Saros so we can't identify which one is you.
Please contact our head of Aftersales John Hosking by email (john@swindoncaravans.com) or phone (01793 772096). He is aware of the situation and is looking forward to speaking with you.
Posted 1 year ago
Are you satisfied with your choice of caravan? yes
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Pdi on the van was poor, wouldn’t say it was ready sticky tape left on front windows and roof light, outside of the van had several minor marks which only got cleaned after I picked them up, other issues but I will say they were due to the heat. The sales process was good and easy although the sales manager at the time was shouting at our sales man! Service and shop team 100% Jim and Dave are a real asset. The only reason I gave 2 was due to the sales manager and pdi.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mr & Mrs Boulton,
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies that our level of service fell short of what is expected on this occasion.
For your information our sales manager in Reading is no longer with us, this isn't the first time we have received poor feedback. His replacement will be starting in the new year and joins from a reputable dealership not far away, bringing with him a wealth of experience and knowledge which we're sure will improve the customer experience at Reading Caravans.
Posted 1 year ago
Are you satisfied with your choice of caravan?
Would you buy from one of our branches again?
Purchased the caravan in November last year 2017 all went well sales staff very helpful, Collection all good very helpful explained everything. Service department is where it all goes wrong, On the first outing the water heater and fan heater wouldn't work managed to get it booked into the service department in April parts repaired and everything worked well. Took the caravan back for its first service all good so i thought. Went away the following week end and the water heater wouldn't work again, phoned the service department twice on the Saturday and they said someone would get back to me,Nobody ever did. Emailed them 2 days ago and guess what NO REPLY. Would not use Swindon caravans again for service. But the sales department are good and couldn't fault them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Mr Clarke,
I'm sorry that nobody has got back to you. Could you please advise the make, model and year of your caravan and John (who heads up the aftersales team) will give you a call. Unfortunately this forum won't be checked until Monday now so could you email John directly john@swindoncaravans.com
Many thanks.
Posted 2 years ago
Are you satisfied with your choice of caravan?
Would you buy from one of our branches again?
my caravan leaks and they will do nothing to help us i admit I've missed a service but its only two years old a lunar quasar and they know that lunar have problems as the service manager told us they get loads back well thats £20,000 wasted no help offered at all
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Are you satisfied with your choice of caravan?
Would you buy from one of our branches again?
Bought 2 year old Lunar Ariva from Swindon caravans in March 17. When I agreed to buy, pointed out that washroom tap was wobbly and that vanity mirror door silvering was corroded at edges. Was told that these faults were noted and that they woul be rectified along with any other snags identified at PDI. Some 3 weeks later I arrived to collect the van only to find that the two faults had not been corrected, a new vanity unit had been ordered and the mirror could be replaced by 'Roman Glass' glazing company. It was explained that Lunar spares may take 6 to 8 weeks to obtain, but remedial work would be done then. After some 10 weeks I phoned to see what was happening only to passed around the houses until a manager came on the line to say that unfortunately the parts had not been ordered but he would make sure that they were and that he apologised. When I told him that I was unimpressed he said that it wasn't his fault that others in the dept had not done their job. As yet Sep 17 still not fixed. Look elsewhere to buy your van, preferably not Lunar.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Toilet cassette full of shit
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Swindon Caravans Group is rated 4.54 based on 341 reviews