Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

4.56 Rating 358 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend Swindon Caravans Group
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
Read Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

About Swindon Caravans Group:

Award winning dealership selling new and second hand touring caravans. With branches in Swindon, Oxford and Reading. We cater to all your caravanning needs, from caravans sales and caravan & awning accessory shops to our workshops and aftersales service.

Visit Website

Phone:

01793772096

Email:

tom@swindoncaravans.com

Location:

Greatfield, Royal Wootton Bassett,

Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Seemed a good deal
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Collected a brand new Bailey Porto caravan and found the dispatch team to be helpful and knowledgeable, some minor issues were quickly resolved, however an other fault was only noticed when I got the caravan home, a few emails later this is now in the process of getting rectified, Good after sales and customer experience.
1 Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon Mr Luckman,

Thank you for your email.

Whilst the damage to your caravan is unfortunate I’m afraid Swindon Caravans cannot accept liability for this. A caravan undergoes a number of checks between the time it is delivered to us and the customer collects.

It is checked by the sales team when we accept delivery from the manufacturer. No damage was recorded.
It is checked by the workshop team when doing the PDI on the caravan. No damage was recorded.
It is checked by the despatch team when cleaning the caravan. No damage was recorded.
And finally it is checked and signed off by the customer when he collects when again no damage was recorded.

Our customer handovers are 1 ½ hours long, provide a full working demonstration and are extremely thorough. You have also been thorough during the handover, spotting some minor issues with imperfections in the wooden furniture which were rectified straight away. The damage you reference is large and by your own admission you have circled the caravan half a dozen times looking for damage without finding anything. These processes have been put in place for exactly these types of scenarios which is why we cannot accept liability in this instance.

It is a great shame that you felt the need to post this issue all over the internet and various Facebook groups trying to discredit our business. It is extremely damaging and whilst we do not think it is fair, that is your prerogative. That said, as a gesture of goodwill, we will offer to do the repairs at cost for you should you wish. There are 2 options to get this damage repaired. One option is to remove the rail which is quite a significant job on the Bailey Alu-Tech caravans; something our workshop team is capable of doing but would require a number of hours to complete. The second option is a specialist body repair which is a more cost effective option . Speaking to the Workshop Manager the preferred repair option in this instance would be the specialist body repair because this would not affect the structural integrity of the caravan and the damage does not affect the use of the caravan. We could quote for both and then the choice would be yours. We would need to see the caravan first before giving an estimate.

Please advise if you would like to take us up on this offer. If so, then please drop the caravan into us at your earliest convenience and we will prioritise.

Regards,
Tom
Posted 3 weeks ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local dealer with good reputation.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Picked up our new Lunar Clubman ES with no issues very smooth handover. All good thank you.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? This is the second cravan we have purchased from Swindon
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Helpful with appropriate advice which gave us the information for us to select our new caravan.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Have been dealing withg the group for years
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
New van was well presented - spotless inside with a very thorough hand over procedure
Helpful Report
(Reading) - Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Great customer service for my mum (parts/services) and brother (sales).
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Great, knowledgable team... from sales, to handover, to the shop.
Helpful Report
(Reading) - Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? After a lot of soul searching i made the decision to go there
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
No "pushy" sales team tactics very helpful with description of caravan I was looking at, Very good hand over on the day Dean was very helpful and knowledgeable,
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? They gave us what we wanted
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Service excellent lovely people very helpful sorted us out thank you
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Location and choice of brands sold
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Whilst we had a few issues with the Bailey Unicorn Cadiz when we got home, this was not down to Swindon Caravans. The handover process was brilliant Jack in particular was excellent. Im hoping Swindon caravans will sort the issues we have with the van in as professionally as they did the deliver.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local location used them before
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Great service really helpful very knowledgeable friendly polite
Helpful Report
(Oxford) - Posted 8 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Because we had already bought previously
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Most of the staff are very helpful and willing to help in a natural way not sales talk or pressured
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 9 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Lots to choose from
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Very helpful staff also very friendly nothing to much trouble exilent allround
Helpful Report
(Reading) - Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? dealt with for nearly twenty years and never disappointed.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Friendly staff and no nonsense sales pitch.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
We visited Reading Caravans for the first time in February, looking for a replacement for our problematical van. We were immediately impressed with the warm, friendly reception we received and the help and advice offered by the obviously knowledgeable staff. Reading Caravans is a developing site and offers a good choice of caravans, with the emphasis on Bailey. There is a very well stocked accessory shop and coffee facilities are provided as well. Well worth a visit!
Helpful Report
(Reading) - Posted 10 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Picked up caravan today few minor faults that your team put Wright pleased with caravan handover but on the way home brakes were very noisy.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 11 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? A wide range of caravans to make our choice based on our requirements, we visited the Swindon branch first and were satisfied with a caravan at Oxford.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
We explained what we were looking for in a second hand van, we were shown those within our remit, and found exactly what we were looking for in record time. One of the major benefits was to purchasing a van at Oxford and at same time being looked after by your Branch in Swindon, where we reside.
Helpful Report
(Oxford) - Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Had the caravan we were looking for even though it took us an hour and half to get there
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Collected our caravan on 6th November as arranged. Items that we had asked to be put right were all done. Jack went through all the caravan's features for us. We did find that the bathroom radiator wasn't working and the shower was leaking. Both items were put right, but thought they should have been checked at the PDI. Overall though, very happy with sales service and would recommend Swindon for an excellent selection of vans to choose from.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? They beat their competitors on price
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
The van looked fantastic the handover by Alan was relaxed and informative but I don’t think I asked the right information ie how to drain systems with winter approaching thx Akan fir fitting us in with the M40 closed on Friday. Disappointed that Bailey don’t supply Ariel leads and the shop didn’t have one so the television couldn’t be used also disappointed that the smoke alarm wasn’t checked and no batteries were in the Akarm but the Carbon monoxide alarm was working and did have batteries. Overall though very happy just minor concerns. Thanks to all at Oxford Caravans kind regards Julie and Phil
Helpful Report
(Oxford) - Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Loacal to us
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
Made to feel very welcome and everything about our new van was explained in a professional but friendly way.
Helpful Report
(Reading) - Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Recommended plus they are local to me.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
The whole buying process was good, the change over was very detailed (especially as this was my first caravan) Was given lots of information & all my questions were answered.
Helpful Report
(Swindon) - Posted 1 year ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local, good service and fairly priced
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
It would be easy to give a 5 star review, however, despite having had the caravan delivered from the Reading branch, upon delivery we found that the caravan roof lights x3 were absolutely FULL of tree or bush debris resulting in ourselves having to strip down each roof light down and remove the debris to enable us to clean them. I realise that the roof is not visible from the ground, but would have thought that the caravan roof would have been cleaned at Reading prior to delivery to Swindon, or upon receipt inspection at Swindon the debris would have been found and removed. We have bought 5 or 6 caravans from Swindon caravans, this is the first time have felt the need to comment. Using the caravan now, and absolutely delighted with it. Sure it was just a 'one off' great service otherwise.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Swindon Caravans Group is rated 4.56 based on 358 reviews