How would you rate
Swindon Caravans Group?
"Picked up our new lunar stellar in July 2017 week later found out blind in window door had rust stains window was leaking contacted Swindon caravans .New blind ordered had it fitted March 2018 once home checked found out window still leaking contacted them again was told by workshop manager no record of leaking window on job sheet I had contacted them on numerous occasions about this blind and leaking window am now taking it elsewhere for repairs as coming from south Wales .not very happy about this situation if wasted time and money bringing van back and fore there after sales is absolutely rubbish and would not deal with them again asked for some compensation for my troubles nothing ."
Hi Mr Hodson,
We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. There were clearly crossed wires because we had no record of a leaking window (only the faulty blind) so apologies for this. Please feel free to contact Tom at Swindon Caravans and he would be happy to talk and try to re-establish your confidence in Swindon Caravans.
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Where do I start! Purchaed a 2016 Lunar Quasar 574 brand new from Oxford, part of your group. PDI on van was rubbish, let us collect it knowing the bathroom tap was faulty because we found out from Lunar that a new tap was sent to them but not fitted before collection. On site in 2016 we had a leaking tap from day one. Took them over a month to arrange for a new tap to be sent, first one was bent, had to wait again, then waited again for them to arrange for a company to fit which was fitted crooked/leaning. At end of season it went back to Oxford to have the tap corrected. Put on site in 2017, after 4 hours tap was leaking again, we had to disconnect and put stop valves on otherwise it leaked the whole time. Waited 2 months for this to get repaired. Bearing in mind this was a caravan 1 year old and still not fit for purpose, therefore we had no benefit of having a new caravan!
During the 2017 season the floor delaminated, having only been used for 6 months, mostly weekends, in 2016 and a few weekends in 2017-we weren’t living in it for goodness sake! Today it was delivered back to the site for the season after having the floor corrected and a service carried out. The book had not been stamped for the second year running, which begs the question of whether it was actually done. The smoke alarm was beeping because a battery had not been fitted, the gas pipe in the front was disconnected, the television bracket was loose, not how we left it, it was filthy dirty inside and out. Their statement about being valeted inside and out before collection and after a service is so not true.
You would not have received a second hand caravan from any other dealer in the state it was in today; and that’s what it feels like now, second hand, not the brand new one we bought in 2016.
We thought Oxford repairs were bad last year, but Swindon have proved they are no better, they have no respect for other people’s property and my advice would be to steer clear of them."
Hi Mr Harrison,
We do not feel this is a fair reflection of the difficulties you have experienced and the efforts we have made to address them. Yes your caravan has had some issues but we are at the mercy of the manufacturer when it comes to getting parts in order to undergo the necessary repairs. Very often this can lead to frustrations because the parts take too long to arrive, unfortunately there is very little we can do about this other than continually chase which we do. We have shown plenty of goodwill to try and alleviate some of your frustrations.
Our job is to repair the caravan and all the repairs have been completed and the book stamped. We accept that the caravan was not cleaned to our usual standards and are happy to address this. As per a conversation you had with our workshop manager Colin last week, he is still waiting for an email on what it is you still want us to do. Please contact him directly so we can hopefully bring this matter to a satisfactory conclusion.
Posted 4 weeks ago
"No high pressure sales, knowledgable , extremely helpful, first class service which in this day and age was refreshing.
Even when wanting some accessories was taken and introduce to shop staff member."
"The professional attitude displayed bythe sales staff. There were no problems to small and all question were readily answered. The sales person whom helped myself purchase the carvan was so helpful and friendly, outside of swindon caravans i have bumped into so to speak,he always asked how things are and is very interested to know about how we are suited to the caravan. At the recent caravan show he greeted us and pointed us in the right direction to look at what we wanted to see. To have this sort of rapor with a customer is outstanding, I will always recommend the superb service I have recieved to others."
"Good financial deal.
Caravan presented well on purchase.
Friendly, helpful admin staff."
"excellent service from buying to hand over"
"I purchased a new Lunar caravan 2 years ago from Oxford caravans after the first service we were told it was leaking.It went back for a couple of months for a temporary repair we picked it up last July Firstly the roof it was covered in mold and secondly it was leaking more than when we took it in ,After numerous phone calls and letters to both Lunar and Oxford caravans the caravan is still leaking water on my drive.The service we have had is shocking I would not touch this Group
Regards Steve Jones"
Hi Mr Jones,
We're sorry that you feel this way, please accept our apologies on behalf of Oxford Caravans.
To try and explain, we did a temporary repair whilst we were awaiting parts from Lunar. After discussions with Lunar it was decided to get the repair done at another dealer and Lunar would send the parts there instead. However the parts were delivered to Oxford in error so we sent them back on the same delivery thus enabling Lunar to resend them to the appropriate dealer. As far as we are aware this dealer is still awaiting the parts from Lunar.
Unfortunately we have no control over the delivery of parts from our suppliers. Our Aftersales team in Oxford were and still are unaware that the temporary repair seems to have failed.
We are more than happy to try and help although we're not sure what we can do to help at this stage. Please contact our Oxford Aftersales team if there is anything you feel we can do.
Posted 1 month ago
"We brought a clubman saros worst caravan ever.although Andy the sales man was brilliant we've had nothing but trouble with it we keep it on a site every time we visit theirs a problem 1st year we had it water pump wired up the wrong way so it dribbled out tap in bathroom cant turn on as it hits the wall and now we have no toilet and so many more things have gone wrong getting to the stage im fed up now we are away this week but will be contacting the ombudsmen also showing signs of damp flys have got in side windows god knows how and the wife also said the fridge don't work I think it must be bad luck"
Hi Mr Pearce. We are sorry to hear about the problems you have had with your caravan. We are concerned and would like to help but currently have 2 records for Mr Pearce both of whom bought a Saros so we can't identify which one is you.
Please contact our head of Aftersales John Hosking by email (email@example.com) or phone (01793 772096). He is aware of the situation and is looking forward to speaking with you.
Posted 2 months ago
"No nonsense service. Good communication and so far I've had no issues."
"We had been looking for this type of caravan for a while so when this one came up for sale we got in touch by email, Simon replied answering my questions so we arranged to view the van, After looking at the van we were happy to make a deal to buy the van. When we picked up the van we were shown round all the equipment and how it all worked.
(The only issue we have is we have phoned and had to leave voice mail messages which as yet have not been answered). Other than that we would recommend this company ,knowledgeable people and happy with my purchase"
"Spent a lot of time with us and never felt pressurized gave us a great deal and hand over was very relaxed and professional."
"excellent customer service and advice"
"Very welcoming anf friendly staff. Both on Sales and after sales"
"Good Price for the Caravan, kept me informed of delivery and was delivered on time."
"Excellent customer service throughout the buying process and after-sales follow up. High quality workmanship on minor fault rectification. Could not have wished for a more supportive and helpful team."
"I have dealt with Andy for about 30 years. Because he is good I have followed him around dealerships and that kind of relationship with someone you buy things from I find to be invaluable and makes buying a caravan so much more of an enjoyable business."
"We live in Australia and Australian caravans are old fashioned and very heavy, so we decided to buy British. We decided on a Lunar and Swindon Caravans had a new Quasar 462 at the best price we could find. Steve and his colleagues were really helpful and the caravan purchase and delivery to the shippers went well. They also supplied a load of accessories and an awning to be shipped with the caravan and arranged for the VAT refund. We now have the caravan and are delighted with it. Well done Swindon Caravans. Excellent service."
"Simon was first class and we thank him for being so understanding patience’s and supportive after having our previous caravan stolen and supplying us with a new caravan"
"We found Simon Clarke your Sales representative at Reading Caravans was very helpful, polite and respectful, nothing was too much trouble and he aimed to please, and obtain our requested extra items.
We did have two issues which was Lunar's fault, despite Simon's various attempts to obtain the items in question for us, namely the wrap around which took several months, and no bathroom accessories came with the van, ie toilet roll holder, towel holders, etc which we have since had to purchase."
"Pdi on the van was poor, wouldn’t say it was ready sticky tape left on front windows and roof light, outside of the van had several minor marks which only got cleaned after I picked them up, other issues but I will say they were due to the heat.
The sales process was good and easy although the sales manager at the time was shouting at our sales man!
Service and shop team 100% Jim and Dave are a real asset. The only reason I gave 2 was due to the sales manager and pdi."
Hi Mr & Mrs Boulton,
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies that our level of service fell short of what is expected on this occasion.
For your information our sales manager in Reading is no longer with us, this isn't the first time we have received poor feedback. His replacement will be starting in the new year and joins from a reputable dealership not far away, bringing with him a wealth of experience and knowledge which we're sure will improve the customer experience at Reading Caravans.
Posted 4 months ago