Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care Reviews

4.56 Rating 3,402 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care

About Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care:

Established in 1938, Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is a family-owned and family-run business and today we have over 175 branches. As we continue to grow, we’ve made sure that our core focus has remained the same… “Providing our customers with excellent service and clinical excellence.” Our branch teams are trained to become customer champions, and we’re always working to improve the experience we offer.

Visit Website

Phone:

0121 456 8700

Write Your review

Tell us how Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The letter I received said that I could make an appointment on line. This does not appear to be the case, it just wants to find my nearest Scrivens, I know that I have been attending the same branch for Over 10 years.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Roy, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 4 months ago
The ladies in the Witney branch are absolutely fantastic! They are very knowledgeable about their job. I enjoyed my experience going Scrivens for the very first! I’m definitely coming back next year! Thank you ladies for making it an amazing experience
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your visit at the Witney branch went so smoothly.
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely terrible customer service, the people on the end of the phone continually read from a script and quote nonsense. My mother put up with their excuses and half hearted efforts to placate her and get her out the door after continually having to visit the store. We finally had had enough after allowing and enduring excuses for months, to be told Scrivens would not refund the cost my mother paid for a truly unfit for purpose product. It seems Scrivens especially the Fleetwood branch are adept at fobbing off elderly vulnerable customers.
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Stephen, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 5 months ago
Waiting several weeks for a contact lense solution delivery . Still waiting and been a customer since 1982 .
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Susan, thank you for posting your review and we're sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 5 months ago
I was fitted with new hearing aids and had to go back due to the right aid squeaking like a bird and the left one with distorted sound. Went back, adjustments made with results of no difference. Have a further appointment for 5 days time, see what happens then. In the meanwhile received a letter today asking that I complete a questionnaire. Unable to get access to the questionnaire despite several attempts, only this page which is a review, not a questionnaire, their site is as much use as a chocolate fire guard. I have complained to my GP with regards to this Company.
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Malcolm, thank you for your review. We're sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 5 months ago
I ordered and paid for a new pair of spectacles from Scrivens on 27th November 2020, having first had an Eye Test. I was told that they should be ready in approximatly 5 to 10 days. After numerous checks and promises from the staff, I eventually recieved them after FORTY ONE days on I believe, the 8th January,2021. Being 78years old and defined as Clinically Extremely Vulnerable, (Covid advice), and new to the area, I do not go out unless absolutely necessary, all enquiries were therefore made by my daughter, who also eventually collected them. On receiving them, I found that, when worn for reading, I became dizzy. I have been advised this means that the glasses need adjusting, however in the present Covid situation, I cannot go to the shop to have this done. MY REVIEW IS BASED ONLY ON THE OPTICAL SIDE WHICH WAS VERY POOR, though the original staff seen were very helpful. THE AUDIO SIDE WAS VERY GOOD, ordering Aids being fitted etc was very efficient, and the were delivered in approx 2 weeks with medical problems causing the delay. Scrivens were advised and booked by my Doctor for new Hearing aids and whilst there I also ordered the new glasses, which are still not correct. I will when I am advised it is safe for me, have to have them corrected.
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for posting your review and we're sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 5 months ago
I went to check my eyes while ago. Doctor find the best glasses for me, problem was I couldn't see properly through them! Picture was not clear. He told me that me eyes have to adjust and he knows what he is talking about. Then they tried to make me pay over £200 for frames. I left, went to different options and like I thought the optician from scrivens was wrong!
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Diana, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 6 months ago
I put all my details in and it still did send my request
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Leslie, thank you for your review. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this for you.
Posted 6 months ago
Hi my husband has dementia we had an appointment at midsomer norton Somerset after purchasing hearing aids ,one of them got broke rang for a replacement which was ordered on our visit the girl couldn't download to the new hearing it was a different colour and said she would speak to her senior and ring us that afternoon for which I'm still waiting that was December 22nd it's now 4th January 2021 any suggestions?thank you Sylvia Bird
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Sylvia, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 6 months ago
Fuming! Didcot branch customer service is a farse. My mother went to this branch, had a good eye test but when it came to selecting new glasses the salesman was very pushy, showing her only very expensive frames when she'd informed him of her budget, when she went to collect her glasses they didn't fit them, resulting in the sliding down her nose literally every few minutes. When I saw this I insisted she return to the branch and get them fitted correctly, I also contacted the branch myself and spoke to a lady who was relatively disinterested. My mother did this but was very upset as the same sales assistant was rude to her when she explained they weren't fitted properly, his response was "well how do you know?" not only that he took the glasses from her without even looking at the fit behind her ears adjusted them and handed them back. She wears hearing aids also, and mentioned that her tubing was not long enough on one side, again he was rude, huffing and puffing no less! This is completely outrageous, in my own experience scrivens customer service is excellent at my branch, but Didcot either need retraining or sacking! Needless to say they've lost her business, she will not be returning.
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com with more information, we would love to make things right if you give us another chance.
Posted 7 months ago
Went to Scrivens in Witney for an eye test. The staff were excellent but the optometry didn’t make me feel very safe especially with COVID-19 around, they didn’t clean after the last person came out he just took me straight in, he took his mask off and touched his face without cleaning his hands afterwards. I want to thank the girls who helped me choose a pair of glasses and didn’t make me feel rushed.
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for letting us know about this. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 7 months ago
The cost of varifical lenses is way too much. Looking at adding at least 200 pounds to the lenses. ASDA varifocal is included in the price. I believe Scrivens need to adjust their prices or likely to lose business. No problem with staff.
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better. We’ll pass your comments on to the appropriate department for you.
Posted 7 months ago
Scrivens provides hearing services to my GP surgery under NHS. I was 38 when I was diagnostic with severe hearing loss and 39 when I started to wear the HAs. I am a healthcare front line worker with an active life style. I was given basic hearing aids like any other patient and the result was, the HA's don't work for me. After many complaints I decided to ask Access to work for help. Access to Work agreed to help me to get the right HAs I need to do my job. I requested a letter and a quotation to Scrivens Customer Service from 25th September to hand it to Access to work. Today is 13th November and I haven't receive the documents I need to start the process to get decent HAs according to my life style. I feel tired to call Scriven Customer Service, the answer is always the same. No words to describe what I am living with this company.
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Hitochi, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 8 months ago
August 2019 purchased glasses, returned numerous times they were too strong magnifying preventing mw wearing them and the left arm blistered my ear continuosly. Was told I would get used to them. Later I had to return followi g an accident and drugs given which affected my eyes. First blinded then returning to very blurred vision due to gabberpentinoids I was told to visit the opticians. Optician not familliar with the drug I was told to have a new prescription, already had eyes tested and told not to be persauded to do this as my eyes were still changing I decli ed so making the optician irritated and the rest of the exami ation pai ful. The visual field test I was told to move my head i order to see thi gs as I could'nt move my eyes to the sides. Refused to gi e any written i formation to me and i sisted gab erpentine medication had no involveme t and that it was old age and anxiety. Months on I still have very blurred vision co 't reD , see faces, or myself i tbe mirror see anybody's face and everything arou d me is darker and very blurred. My eyes remain bloodshot and painful .Opticians should research drugs not say tbey have no affects when tbey are fou d to have ma y life cha ging ones. A customer who regrets ever going i to a scrivens shop
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Angela, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 8 months ago
I wasn’t very impressed with the whole experience as everyone apart from the experienced Optician were Quite cold and unfriendly. They charged me around £320.00 for the new lenses and fitting which was very expensive I thought and when I asked for a discount on the eye test which was £30 they just weren’t interested even though my bill was over £300 . They do not value your business at all and i will Not recommend them to anyone and will never come back to them next time .
Posted 8 months ago
I wasn’t very impressed with the whole experience as everyone apart from the experienced Optician were Quite cold and unfriendly. They charged me around £320.00 for the new lenses and fitting which was very expensive I thought and when I asked for a discount on the eye test which was £30 they just weren’t interested even though my bill was over £300 . They do not value your business at all and i will Not recommend them to anyone and will never come back to them next time .
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 8 months ago
I paid over the odds for two pairs of glasses which took almost two months to to obtain the second pair.This was no fault of the helpful staff in the branch but down to confusion at the head office apparently on the details of the order.
Posted 9 months ago
Hi John, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 9 months ago
When trying to book an appointment, the system went round in circles and I was unable to do so.
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Roger, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 9 months ago
Useless. Won't answer their phone and impossible to book an appointment on their website
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 9 months ago
I tuck my son Today to Scrivens corporation street Birmingham he wasn't asked to take a set the man just when in the back on twice to a just the frames we payed for his glasses and even if we didn't manner are everything
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 10 months ago
Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is rated 4.56 based on 3,402 reviews