Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care Reviews

4.6 Rating 3,779 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care

About Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care:

Established in 1938, Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is a family-owned and family-run business and today we have over 175 branches. As we continue to grow, we’ve made sure that our core focus has remained the same… “Providing our customers with excellent service and clinical excellence.” Our branch teams are trained to become customer champions, and we’re always working to improve the experience we offer.

Visit Website

Phone:

0121 456 8700

Write Your review

Tell us how Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very pleased with service. Disappointed with the upkeep of your premises especially in the room where my eyes were tested. Bits insecure on trunking that hold electrical sockets, and generally in need of refurbishment.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better.
Posted 1 week ago
It would be nice to see some one about my hearing Aid
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Colin, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 1 month ago
The eye and hearing test was OK. When it came to choosing glasses, for a first timer I was not told that I could have taken my prescription else where and done a price comparison. I felt I was contained in the shop to buy their own products, which I feel was over priced !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 3 months ago
Girl doing choosing frame great But when I went to collect and didn't like the frame by store manager told we do half price frames
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better.
Posted 3 months ago
Helpful, friendly staff, but sadly not managed to remedy my issues. I've ended up going to major chain optician and have a new (corrected) prescription. Prices much more expensive than (e.g.) Specsavers and poor range of frames by comparison.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi, thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com with more information, we would love to make things right if you give us another chance.
Posted 6 months ago
Lenses r great n do wat they shud.however ive been given 2 pairs with exactly the same frames! not the frames i picked n wil b very easy to mix up the glasses n pik up the wrong pair which i have done already.im tryin to put photo on this but wont let me
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Patricia, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 7 months ago
I think the glasses prices are too high .I would have liked to have able to order a pair the the prices are too high. Your competition has less prices on the glasses and lenses.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better.
Posted 8 months ago
Had to have a second eye test as l couldn't read with my first pair of glasses without raising them up. Second test showed a different result.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 9 months ago
My eye test appointment was at 4.30pm later in the working day. I arrived well beforehand. The eye test itself I was more than satisfied. However when choosing my first pair of glasses I felt very rushed. My glasses have yet to arrive which I’m very apprehensive that they are going to sit correctly and be comfortable.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Glenn, thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and to your satisfaction.
Posted 9 months ago
I make these comments in respect of 2 recent visits to the shop. I found that both the hearing and sight professionals were very good and made me feel at ease. However, whilst there can be no direct criticism being directed at the shop front staff, I found them rather aloof and not really welcoming. In fact on my first visit, I had to stand and wait for a while whilst 2 members of staff finished a conversation.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Richard, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 10 months ago
I went for my NHS regular eyetest to check the health of my eyes. The optometrist took my details and history and immediately started an eye test. Although I was told several times that I didn’t need glasses, I felt pressured that reading glasses with a prescription would improve my vision. I reminded the optometrist at the end that I had come because wanted my eye health and a glaucoma pressure test done. This was all completed and I left.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ann, thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better.
Posted 1 year ago
Had text message saying glasses ready to collect. Tried them on and they were not as ordered - mix up. I ordered readers and given distance!! Not impressed as waited days to receive wrong glasses and now waiting to receive correct glasses, and in the meantime I’ve struggled with off the peg glasses. No mention of speedy dispatch or refund made by assistant. In the past I’ve received very good service for glasses and hearing aids. What a pity this record has been spoiled. Trevor Lewis
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Trevor, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 1 year ago
Not happy with service. Had to chase store to find if my new glass had come in. When I picked up my new glasses I said at time they were not right. Was sent home to try and a week later I was back in store. They had to return for alternations to lenses. Just not a good overall service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service could do with improving, not that friendly on front desk. Also you pay extortionate amount for the cheapest pair of glasses possible and scrivens have even managed to save on their glass cases by making them out of plastic.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 1 year ago
My spectacles from the previous year were porr quality and just did not stay on, so I was anxious to change. Recent eye test, new optician, all seemed to go well and was promising. Some extra care on frame choice too made it feel it could be different. The physical arrival was a bit of a mess, and then when I got the specs the prescription was not quite right-a downgrade from where I was. However the “old”pair were so awful that I have decided to keep the new ones, SIMPLY BECAUSE THEY STAY ON.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Allan, thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 1 year ago
Friendly, efficient service. A bit, pricy and not to my personal expectations of after care.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Your feedback helps us get better. We’ll pass your comments onto the appropriate department for you.
Posted 1 year ago
You supplied me with some varifocal glasses last week and I am tryung to get used to them. The intial prblem was that I had to make my eyes look down further than normal to benefit from the reading sector. So, at the Ashby shop the lady adjusted the height on my nose and the formerproblem has gone away but the distance sector goes blurred looking through at normal long distance head position. I am not sure that I can get used to this. William Moore
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi William, thank you for posting your review. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com, we will look into this issue for you.
Posted 1 year ago
A warm welcome at reception and good customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Posted 1 year ago
Staff friendly and helpful. However it has cost me a total of £387 to finally get glasses I can use. Bifocals are not suitable for using my iPad so after paying extra to have first pair altered I have had to buy a second pair of glasses for using the iPad. Last year at another opticians I had 3 pros glasses for half the price.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi. My first and only hearing test at 87 years. Rather strange at first, took a while to get accustomed to the "new" sounds but worth the effort, made me realise what I had lost. Could not have had better service and after care. Will pass the message onto others who just turn the TV up. Cheers, James Youell (Crawley)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
HI James, thank you for the kind words! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 1 year ago
Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is rated 4.55 based on 3,779 reviews