Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care Reviews

4.55 Rating 2,987 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care

About Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care:

Established in 1938, Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is a family-owned and family-run business and today we have over 175 branches. As we continue to grow, we’ve made sure that our core focus has remained the same… “Providing our customers with excellent service and clinical excellence.” Our branch teams are trained to become customer champions, and we’re always working to improve the experience we offer.

Visit Website

Phone:

0121 456 8700

Write Your review

Tell us how Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I ordered and paid for a new pair of spectacles from Scrivens on 27th November 2020, having first had an Eye Test. I was told that they should be ready in approximatly 5 to 10 days. After numerous checks and promises from the staff, I eventually recieved them after FORTY ONE days on I believe, the 8th January,2021.
Being 78years old and defined as Clinically Extremely Vulnerable, (Covid advice), and new to the area, I do not go out unless absolutely necessary, all
enquiries were therefore made by my daughter, who also eventually collected them. On receiving them, I found that, when worn for reading, I became dizzy. I have been advised this means that the glasses need adjusting, however in the present Covid situation, I cannot go to the shop to have this done. MY REVIEW IS BASED ONLY ON THE OPTICAL SIDE WHICH WAS VERY POOR, though the original staff seen were very helpful. THE AUDIO SIDE WAS VERY GOOD, ordering Aids being fitted etc was very efficient, and the were delivered in approx 2 weeks with medical problems causing the delay.
Scrivens were advised and booked by my Doctor for new Hearing aids and whilst there I also ordered the new glasses, which are still not correct. I will when I am advised it is safe for me, have to have them corrected.
Posted 13 hours ago
The rude attitude of a member of staff at the Thirsk branch who was quick to judge without knowing the full situation who then took it upon herself to talk about me to her colleagues. It is a shame she did not know that branch was my opticians. So quick to judge. I shall now take my business elsewhere.
Posted 14 hours ago
Friendly, patient and caring staff help to provide their customers with an overall satisfactory experience.
Posted 1 day ago
Helpful good selection of frames lenses provide excellent vision
Posted 2 days ago
Helpful and friendly
Posted 2 days ago
Excellent and professional service. Thank you.
Posted 2 days ago
I would like to say a big thank you for the way Scrivens staff looked after me .
Polite, friendly nothing to much trouble.
Posted 2 days ago
Excellent care and knowledge and friendly staff
Posted 3 days ago
Very professional, very helpful and kind experts. The eye examination was the best I have ever experienced. So far, I have only had examinations in Hungary, where, for example, I never had my eye pressure measured. My glasses are good too, I'm happy with it.
Posted 3 days ago
Very welcoming staff who all obviously knew what they were doing and did it with a minimum of fuss.
Posted 3 days ago
First class service. Had to cancel my glasses after visit to local eye hospital. They were very helpful and refunded my deposit straight away. Will definitely use them again ASAP.
Posted 3 days ago
All the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Very efficient service. Staff are also very helpful when choosing glasses
Posted 3 days ago
Friendly staff very approachable & satisfied with my recent visit.
Posted 3 days ago
Very friendly would recommend
Posted 3 days ago
Great service and support. Highly recommended. From the booking to the eye test to the purchase of glasses, everything was exceptional and I’m glad to be able to see properly again😅
Posted 3 days ago
I attended Yarm Medical Centre on 14/01/21 for a hearing assessment which was carried out by Ms J Bennett. This turned out to be a very professional review by a friendly, knowledgeable Audiologist that put me at ease and explained every step of the process as it was undertaken. A highly recommended organisation.
Many thanks. Jim Maloney.
Posted 3 days ago
Hi James, thanks for the excellent review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we're happy to hear we hit the mark for you.
Posted 3 days ago
My hearing aids have changed my life. They have reduced the amount of tinnitus I experience now which was getting me down.
The help to get my hearing aids was a good experience as the person doing the testing was very patient and polite at all times.
Posted 3 days ago
Hi Mary, thank you for the excellent review and taking the time to share your experience. We're so happy that your visit went so smoothly.
Posted 3 days ago
I have moved here from having been a Boots customer for years.
James and his staff here could not be more patient.
Absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
You may pay a little more here than other places but you get a cery professional personal assessment of your situation.
I can't recommend this store highly enough.
And very Covid Aware.
Well done all.
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 3 days ago
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff in the Blandford store. I never felt rushed into making decisions about which glasses I wanted to choose, and despite them having to clean/sterilise every pair I tried on that did not seem to be any trouble for them. I felt the store was very Covid safe. The optician explained everything, and how and why my prescription had changed. They told me my glasses would be here by 16th January, and they arrived 3 days earlier than that. Excellent. Thanks. Recommend.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Andy, thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear you are happy with your new glasses. We'll pass your comments onto the Blandford branch, and we look forward to assisting you again in future.
Posted 6 days ago
The friendly, very capable staff in my local branch were more than happy to make repairs to 2 pairs of glasses which had broken over the xmas period. Thank you for being open and not turning me away!
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Angela, thanks for the excellent review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.
Posted 1 week ago
Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is rated 4.55 based on 2,987 reviews