Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care Reviews

4.57 Rating 2,142 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care

About Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care:

Established in 1938, Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is a family-owned and family-run business and today we have over 175 branches. As we continue to grow, we’ve made sure that our core focus has remained the same… “Providing our customers with excellent service and clinical excellence.” Our branch teams are trained to become customer champions, and we’re always working to improve the experience we offer.

Visit Website

Phone:

0121 456 8700

Write Your review

Tell us how Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
All of Staff in the newquay store are very helpful, polite and efficient. Great selection of glasses.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 hours ago
I got my glasses in lest than two weeks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 hours ago
Excellent friendly service from start to finish
Helpful Report
Posted 8 hours ago
Thank you Michael for taking the time to leave us such a nice review!
Posted 8 hours ago
Poor service and a shoddy pair of glasses which I rejected and got a full refund on. I was also frog-marched into the hearing test room for an unwanted hearing test on my first visit. Not recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 hours ago
Thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. If you could email customercare@scrivens.com we will look into this for you
Posted 8 hours ago
Lovely helpful friendly staff , no need for improvement a completely calm and relaxed environment and a pleasure to own new spectacles, Thank You 🌞
Helpful Report
Posted 8 hours ago
Thank you so much for your review Dorothy! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our branch.
Posted 8 hours ago
Very comfortable and pleasant experience resulting in a new set of glasses on which the staff were very helpful and a comprehensive hearing check which was explained and carried out very efficiently.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Thanks for the excellent review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.
Posted 13 hours ago
I think the staff at Hawthorn road branch is desperate need for retraining I was I went into the shop to make an appointment there was a assistant dealing with a customer. so I took a seat next to a customer already waiting then another customer came in and sat down next to me eventually another assistant came rom the back of the shop didn't say a word and took the last customer that came in and served him first under normal circumstances I would hit the roof so I shall return to Spec Savers who seem a lot more customer focused
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi Stephen. thank you for your review. We’re sorry to read you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.
Posted 13 hours ago
Very professional and helpful. Reassuring and excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review! We’re so happy that your visit went so smoothly.
Posted 3 days ago
.
Posted 3 days ago
Very professional opticians very pleased with result. Will use them on a regular basis.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 5 days ago
Scrivens rent a room at my local doctors surgery. On the face of it I thought it was an NHS hearing test centre but found out this wasn’t the case when I went several weeks ago for a hearing test. I was provided with a pair of hearing aids matched to my hearing requirements for just under £4,000. Unfortunately, the hearing aids didn’t perform very well with me constantly taking them out to hear conversations (and yes, they were switched on). I had to wait 2 weeks for my next appointment and decided enough was enough and handed them back for a full refund provided under the 30 day trial. I was reliably advised that I would get the full refund of my money in 10 working days. Unfortunately, Scrivens appear to not honour the return of your money and when you phone they tell you someone will phone you later the same day to credit your credit card. As you might guess, they don’t phone you back. You try again the next day and once again Scrivens promise to phone you back with a refund and the phone never rings. To date the refund or return call has not happened despite waiting for up to 30 minutes on the phone while they say they’re ‘sorting it out with another department’. I can draw no other conclusion other than that they provide a very substandard service and don’t honour (to date) any refunds. I’m currently taking the matter up with my credit card provider and my doctors surgery as Scrivens have not lived up the the professional standards I would have expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you for posting your review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We'll make sure the Customer Care team gets in touch with you today.
Posted 5 days ago
Polite and very helpful with choice of frames.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review!
Posted 5 days ago
I recommande it to all my friends, the staffs are very friendly and care also helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for the excellent review! We’re so happy that your visit went so smoothly.
Posted 6 days ago
Friendly staff always willing to help you with you choice of glasses
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi David, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review!
Posted 6 days ago
Had a sight test and Mohammed touris Ali the optometrist was very good and he picked up that I had double vision would definitely recommend him and all the staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Charlene, thank you for your wonderful review! We’ll pass your comments onto your local branch, and we look forward to assisting you again in future.
Posted 6 days ago
This was my first visit to Scrivens and I found the staff to be professional, welcoming and very helpful. I appreciated the advice given on type of lens and frame.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for your review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.
Posted 6 days ago
An overall good experience , very friendly staff and a welcoming atmosphere. Would just like 1 thing to improve, I'm a very nervous person and suffer from anxiety so telling someone i couldn't afford the glasses i wanted and having to choose a free per in front of other customers was a very awkward situation i wished i wouldn't have had to be in. Other than that one thing i would definitely use Scrivens again. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Paul, thank you for letting us know about this, your feedback helps us get better. We’ll pass your comments on to the appropriate department for you.
Posted 6 days ago
This concerns your Lymington branch: having been prescribed and supplied with EAR AIDS (as my little grandson calls them!), I was delighted. Then I had a problem with one. Into the branch, two busy ladies sprang into action and my aids were given an M.O.T., I know what to do another time, and I am a happy bunny. Thank you for such brilliant, cheerful service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to assisting you again in future.
Posted 6 days ago
Excellent friendly service from the Newark Staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Ben, thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our branch in Newark.
Posted 6 days ago
I had my eye test x hearing test a couple of weeks ago x the staff were very helpful x kind x polite I will come back when my next eye test is due
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Ruth, thanks for the excellent review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.
Posted 6 days ago
Very professional treatment with a wide range of spectacles. Hearing test available if requred.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 1 week ago
Scrivens Opticians & Hearing Care is rated 4.57 based on 2,142 reviews