Webuybooks Reviews

4.70 Rating 6,413 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Webuybooks

Write Your review

Tell us how Webuybooks made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I bought a book from them described as clean with some annotations (Alejo Carpentier's El reino de este mundo) The book is heavily annotated from page 1 to 74 (out of 153. When I sent photos to prove it, hoping it'd be a quick transaction – just an understandable miss checking from their side, I got two emails saying they could not see the photos despite them being sent in the regular jpg format. I honestly think that book, in that state, should be on sale and I don't think they managed customer service very well in this instance. I don't doubt they are a good company and I hope this serves to be more thoroughly next time. I'd add photos here but it's not giving me the option. Order Date: 28 April 2021 Sales Order Number: 698187207 Purchase Order Number: 630325919
Posted 3 days ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear there was damage to the book received. We want our customers to be happy with the items they receive, I can see a member of our customer services team has looked into this for you and has issued a full refund for the order. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 13 hours ago
I did not have 15% extra payment as stated.
Posted 2 months ago
Price quoted was reduced when received books missing and water damage all I can say is they were all there when posted and none had any damage they were mostly new. Checked the area where packed and nothing left behind. Beware if you are going to use we buy any books I am not the first to say this and no mention of payment for the books. They will charge me to return the damaged books but do not say how much or give me a chance to decide if it is worth it
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Judith, Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with your selling experience with our company. We have found that with other customers, if there are missing items, it may be that multiple boxes have been used and we are still waiting for the missing items to arrive. One of our customers services team has looked into this and sent you an email so we can find out where the missing items are and get the issue resolved. We have sent the email through again today as we are eager to get this sorted for you. Our main priority is for customers to be happy with the service, we hope to hear from you soon. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 months ago
If I was to rate WBB whilst ignoring the difficulties frequently experienced when items are in transit to them, I would be inclined to award them 4 stars. Their offer prices (whilst a bit unpredictable) are on occasion good, their website functions reliably, payment is usually quite swift, and when there is a need to contact their customer services department, their answers usually speedily resolve the issue put to them. Sadly, reality kicks in, and I must also allow for the considerable friction introduced by WBB's decision to stick unquestioningly with transport outsource Hermes irrespective of the service their customers experience. This drags WBB's overall score down to 1 star. On occasion, Hermes in-store barcode readers malfunction, meaning that your package to WBB can't be accepted. Not much fun when it's a 20 minute round trip to the Hermes collection point. If you are sending in a heavy package via the Hermes courier service, then prepare yourself for disappointment. In my experience, you only have a 50:50 chance of their van turning up on the agreed date, so often, you wait in vain. Unlike other courier services, Hermes don't send you a notification on the day of what 1 hour collection slot you have been allocated, so you certainly can't plan your day. If you have any query about the package you've sent, and try to use Hermes' tracking system, prepare yourself for some bizarre, nonsensical "explanations" as to what is going on e.g. as regards a parcel which Hermes had collected and receipted last August, their tracking system said: Update on your parcel We couldn't collect your parcel as it wasn't suitable, please contact your retailer to make alternative arrangement Rubbish though a response such as that is, the worst is yet to come. Over the period February 2020 to January 2021, packages entrusted to Hermes had items mysteriously going missing 3 times. On 1 of these occasions, no less than 7 books (valued at £20+) "disappeared", and my correspondence with WBB to resolve the issue ran to over a dozen emails. It is true that on each of these 3 occasions - after intervention by me - WBB paid me in full for all the "missing" items. However, that does not compensate for the hassle experienced, and it means that you only feel safe handing over your package once you've taken the precaution of taking photos of each item you are boxing up, in case there is yet another mishap whilst the items are in Hermes' custody. Prior to 2020, WBB paid me on 5 occasions when I had waited for anything from 14 to 19 days after my package had been left at a Hermes collection point, but the parcel had still not reached WBB. Once again, after contacting WBB, full payment was made to me on each of these 5 occasions, but who needs this degree of hassle, delay and aggravation? After January 2021's "mysterious disappearance" of books, I contacted WBB and gave them full details of each of the 8 incidents I have just described above. I pointed out that when I trade through another online book buyer (who use "Collectplus" and "DPD"), I simply do not experience this degree of nonsense. I asked for an assurance from someone at Director level within WBB that they would take the issues I had raised seriously, and would insist that Hermes upped their game. WBB's initial response was an extremely bland one, delivered to me by a member of their customer services department. When I emailed WBB again, and repeated my request for some Director level feedback, I received the following response from the WBB Customer Services Manager: "We would advise that it is our choice as a business to use Hermes and this is not a subject for discussion with our customers. If you are unhappy with our chosen carrier and indeed the way your offers have been handled previously, we would respectfully ask that you no longer trade with us." So, to translate, WBB couldn't give a fig about Hermes' repeatedly poor performance, and have no intention of making Hermes deliver an acceptable level of service to WBB's customers. Like it, or lump it. In these circumstances, if I could award WBB a score of zero, I would do so; even 1 out of 5 seems generous.
Posted 2 months ago
One of the worst booksellers I have ever bought from - and I buy all of the time! In my opinion they are fraudulent in their descriptions of books. See attached, some photos of a book I bought from them through Amazon. The description was 'Good. A slight tan to page edges'. In reality the book is ruined with heavy ink annotation and is very tatty. They defended this by referring to Amazon's definition of 'good' - but then why mention the tan to page edges? The answer is obvious: to mislead customers into thinking that the book is otherwise undamaged. The service is a con - buyers beware!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We can see you have left multiple reviews regarding this order, we have sent you an email regarding the order, please could you respond to the email we have sent? One of our customer services team would be happy to assist you further with this order. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 3 months ago
order my book on the 5th jan 2021, should have arrive by the 11 of jan 2021 . no help from customer service . and they refused to give me there CEO email address which i have now found . today being the 18 of Jan 2021 and still waiting have now gone to Ebay for full refund plus delivery cost . that why only one start would like to give you zero star .
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Mr Mills, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear you haven't received your order. Our customer services team have been trying their best to assist you with this order, I can see they have spoken to you on email, Facebook, another review site and live chat, they have been happy to help but you had not provided any order information, we had asked you for the information and you said it was too late, but we had not been provided anything to link you to an order. We want our customers to be happy and want to fix any issues but if we are not given any information, we cannot find the order unfortunately. We are glad to hear ebay have been able to give a refund for the order as we couldn't access it for you without being given any information. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 3 months ago
Books were rejected that I know were in really good condition. Ziffit would not have done this
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I have looked into your offer with us and can see we were happy with all of the items sent to us, all items were paid in full. Please could you check that the review has been left for the correct company? The items arrived with us quickly, were checked quickly and were paid the following working day. We would really appreciate it if you could check this for us, if the review was meant for us, please could you email us at info@webuybooks.co.uk from the email address you have used to set up the account with us? We have your offer ID, but the offer provided shows that the payment was issued in full. Thank you for your cooperation. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
I scanned 19 items and sent them in a single secure and well sealed box via collection by Hermes from a local shop. I hadn't heard anything so I contacted We Buy Books and was advised they hadn't received 2nd box??? I have them my tracking number then received an email advising me that 14 items were missing. Outrageous service. I have used Music Magpie and Zapper and have received 5* service. I will NEVER again sell using We Buy Books. I gave 1* as I couldn't leave no stars.
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Elaine, Thank you for leaving a review. If a box arrives damaged, we pay for any missing items, the box had arrived intact with no signs of tampering, we therefore had expected that the label had been duplicated and a second package sent . We have had this happen in the past and it has been that the missing items have been packaged wrongly and sent to another company, or are still with the customer, we understand that errors can occur, this is why we leave the trade open to receive the missing items at a later date. I can see payment has been made for the items received, unfortunately we are not able to pay for items until we have received them. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 5 months ago
The money didn't come.
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Hugh, Thank you for leaving a review. I can see you have opted to be paid via Cheque, we have sent the Cheque and it is on the way to you. If it has not been received with today's post, please email us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with your offer ID, we can then cancel the Cheque and issue the payment again for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 6 months ago
Took around 3 weeks to get payment by cheque. Very slow
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Paula, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry to hear your Cheque took 3 weeks to arrive. Unfortunately there can be delays within the postal system, we offer payment via bank transfer and Paypal. You can change the payment method at any point on your account, this will ensure you will receive any future payments the next working day once the items have been checked. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 6 months ago
Have arranged a collection for two parcels twice and no one has shown up. No courtesy call to let me know what is going on. Rang the customer services who said it is on their system but as I say no one has turned up. Also read on other reviews that quoted offers aren't honoured due to condition being bad in transit or various items missing in packages. I give up, probably better to sell on ebay.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear your items were not collected, if you email your offer ID to info@webuybooks.co.uk, we can contact Hermes and find out what the issue is and when the items will be collected. Items are only ever rejected in an offer if they don't pass the condition guidelines, we buy the items to find a second home for them, so they need to be in a condition that someone would be happy to receive them in. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
I have been waiting weeks and still haven’t received my payment. Very disorganised.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Lilia, Thank you for leaving a review. Please could you check that the review is left for the correct company? I have looked into your account and can see that you were paid via bank transfer on 22/09/2020. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
Price low, books rejected for damage despite two never having been opened. Not good experience
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We only ever reject an item if it doesn't pass our condition guidelines, we buy the books to find a second home for them, therefore they have to be in a condition that someone would be happy to receive them in. If you email us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with your offer ID, we would be happy to send you some photos of the rejected items. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
Hermes is the worst but WeBeBooks is aweful. The labels they send don't turn up on time. The collections don't arrive on time. They are careless with handling your books and will not pay you. Save yourself the trouble and use Music Magpie.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your selling experience. We send all labels first class for our customers, unfortunately we have no control if there are delays in the postal service, as no information has been left on the review regarding your trade, we are not able to look into what the issue was with Hermes but we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. We handle all items with care as we buy the items to find a second home for them, we have no reason to damage any items sent to us. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
A total scam. Avoid.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. Please can you contact us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with information of your trade? We are not a scam and would like to know why you would think this? Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
Worst experience ever! WeBuyBooks will try to cheat you. Take pictures of everything you send as evidence for when this happens. After several attempts to get a courier to pick up my package, I was informed days later that there was damage to some of the books. This could have only happened during transit as I double checked the conditions of the books to make sure they met the WeBuyBooks guidelines and I know that they were in perfect condition. However, WeBuyBooks is refusing to pay despite the fault being on their end. I would warn anyone thinking of using this service to not bother. There are plenty of other trade-in companies that won't mess you around.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I have looked into your offer and can see that the damage was to some of the books, not the full offer, if a package arrives damaged, we pay for the items and put in a claim with the courier, this was not the case with your items. A small number of the books had staining to the pages in the book, this is not the kind of damage that happens in transit, a member of our customer services team had offered to send photos showing this. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
The books I sold to you were dealt with efficiently, but I have sent around four emails enquiring about a number of Dr. Doolittle titles that you told me the antiquarian section of Webuybooks were considering. You have totally ignored my emails over the last few weeks asking about the decision that this particular section of your Business is supposedly dealing with. An answer would have been both polite and useful. In this instant the Customer Service, I'm afraid has been non existent.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Kathleen, Thank you for leaving a review. I have looked into this and can see multiple replies regarding your Antiquarian books, our team had asked for a complete list with publication dates, had passed it to the Antiquarian Team and had then sent a response regarding us not looking to buy them at the moment, we are sorry if you had not received the last email from us, we can seen we have had responses to our earlier emails we had sent. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
THE WORST COMPANY EVER!! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!! I GAVE THEM BOOKS OF MORE THAN £100 VALUE THEY MADE AN OFFER OF £12 AND PAID £1.50 !!! SAYING THE BOOKS DON’T MEET THE STANDARDS !!
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Marin, Thank you for leaving a review. The books you had sent to us were exercise books that had the answers filled in, unfortunately if we were to sell these on, customers would not be happy to receive them, they would not be of any use to anyone. We state in the condition guidelines that we cannot buy books with the answers filled in, had the answers not been filled in, the amount quoted would have been paid. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
THE WORST COMPANY EVER!! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!! I GAVE THEM BOOKS OF MORE THAN £100 VALUE THEY MADE AN OFFER OF £12 AND PAID £1.50 !!! SAYING THE BOOKS DON’T MEET THE STANDARDS !!
Posted 7 months ago
THE WORST COMPANY EVER!! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!! I GAVE THEM BOOKS OF MORE THAN £100 VALUE THEY MADE AN OFFER OF £12 AND PAID £1.50 !!! SAYING THE BOOKS DON’T MEET THE STANDARDS !!
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Marin, Thank you for leaving a review. The books you had sent to us were exercise books that had the answers filled in, unfortunately if we were to sell these on, customers would not be happy to receive them, they would not be of any use to anyone. We state in the condition guidelines that we cannot buy books with the answers filled in, had the answers not been filled in, the amount quoted would have been paid. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 7 months ago
Webuybooks is rated 4.70 based on 6,413 reviews