Webuybooks Reviews

4.70 Rating 6,705 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Webuybooks

Write Your review

Tell us how Webuybooks made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have sold a few books but may not bother any more as I am constantly told that they are not buying the books I want to sell. Not sure what kind of books they want.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hello Jan, Thank you for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear that we are not currently purchasing some of your items. Although we try to buy as many items as possible, this decision is linked to the supply and demand on the market as well as our current stock levels. It may be that we have a surplus of these items in stock at the moment or the items are not selling to a level where we would buy more at this time, however, the supply/demand and our stock levels change quickly and it may be worth rescanning the items in the near future. We typically advise that books relating to the following categories may be more likely to be accepted: food/cookery, history, education, arts/crafts, travel. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you trading with us again soon. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 days ago
I have used Music Magpie and they keep you updated of the progress of the order. I didn’t know what was happening with we buy books.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Gill, Thank you for leaving a review. We want to keep our customers updated during the process, we send an email when we have received the items and when the payment is going through as we know how important this is. We are sorry to hear you hadn't received these emails, we will be looking into why this error has occurred so it doesn't happen again in the future. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, we hope we are able to continue trading with you in the future. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
Have recently had 2 books returned because you said - "there was damage to the book spines" On return there was no damage at all and in my opinion, nothing else at all adverse visibly. Not very impressed, probably won't bother using you again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Duncan, Thank you for leaving a review. We buy the items to find a second home for them so we cannot accept them if they have damage to the binding unfortunately. The damage can get worse and the pages can end up loose in the book. We want our customers to have a positive selling experience but cannot accept items if they don't pass the condition guidelines, sorry. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 5 months ago
I sell books for charity This company seemed ok when I sent the first box- took ages for the cheque to arrive but we’re generous with their offer! The second box - a different story! It was only a small box BUT they said I’d forgotten to put in 7 books and 2 were damaged!! This is totally untrue and they should be ashamed of themselves!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We're really sorry to hear of your recent experience with our service. We take matters like this one very seriously. Occurrences likes this don't happen often but when they do, the missing items are usually found with the customer, delayed or in an extra parcel we were not aware of. We would kindly ask you to check these options for the missing items and if any of these instances can explain why the items were missing, please get in touch with us, one of our customers services team would be more than happy to assist further. Kindest Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 5 months ago
very slow going on my 3 orders unprocessed
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Daiva, Thank you for leaving feedback. I can see a member of our customer services team has looked into this for you and your offers are in the payments process, there is one offer that has not yet been paid, we have emailed you regarding this and are just waiting for you to respond to the email we have sent, you can update the offer and put it into the payments process by following the link at the bottom of the email. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and want to provide the best service possible and would therefore like to get your last offer into the payments process. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 6 months ago
Only accept a very small percentage of books scanned so it really won't help you declutter. Made less than £10 after scanning 100s of books, CDs and DVDs. Obviously very time consuming and not worth the effort. Will be sending the 95% not accepted to a charity shop once they start accepting goods again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hello , Thank you for leaving a review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the number of items we were accepting. There are a number of factors that affect what we buy, it is mainly due to the demand in the marketplace at the time of selling and the number of copies we already hold. Due to this, what we buy can change on a daily basis, if you are not in a hurry to sell your items, it may be worth checking if we are looking to buy them at a later date. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate your comments as we are always looking to improve our service. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 8 months ago
Overall, I had problems utilising system on my phone. I had to contact customer services for label - could not fathom what button to press to get this sent. Also had problems being able to check and verify order. The company gave reasonable amounts to book, but overall quite low. It was a longer process than anticipated.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hello Kirsten, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear the process took longer than expected, I can see the items arrived in under the estimated time, it does put a slight delay on payment if the label is to be posted due to waiting for it to arrive to get the items sent off. We hope if you are to use us in the future, there won't be delays in the postal service and your label arrives with you quicker. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 10 months ago
Scanning books and having them collected was really simple and quick HOWEVER the app claims fast payment of a couple of days. I had to wait just over 3 mths with regular email chases ups once every 2 or 3 wks before I received my cheque. Will not be using again.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear there was a delay with the payment, I can see your first Cheque had not been delivered and another Cheque was sent out, unfortunately a small number of items get lost in the post, we also pay by bank transfer and Paypal. If you trade with us again in the future, the payment method can be changed on your account, you can then get your payment the next working day once the items have been checked. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 10 months ago
Very slow service. Been over two weeks and still not received one of my payments.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Victoria, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry to hear you haven't been paid, please can you email your offer ID to info@webuybooks.co.uk? One of our customer services team would be happy to look into this for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 11 months ago
We had to take the books to a pick up point as they didn't turn up to pick them up from home and could not resolve why
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Judith, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with your collection, I can see a member of our customer services team contacted Hermes to try and resolve this issue for you. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this situation and hope you will consider us again in the future for any further trades. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 11 months ago
I'm a bit worried as I packed my books up and sent off 2 weeks ago, had confirmed arrival but have received no cheque. I thought I would of received by now.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear you haven't received your Cheque, if you contact us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with your offer ID, we would be happy to look into this for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 11 months ago
The books were slightly damaged so they refused to pay me anything for them. I wanted to return the books but I had to pay the delivery which was extremely expensive
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. Unfortunately we cannot buy the books if they don't pass our condition guidelines, as we buy them to find a second home for them. We pay the postage costs to receive the items under the agreement that they will be in a good condition, we therefore cannot also pay the return postage costs. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Very disappointed this time. Mix up with collection/drop-off. Changed the method twice due to printer issues but the courier didn't seem to receive any notifications regarding the changes. Still haven't received the payment even though this trade was completed 14th Aug. Have queried but had no response to date. A shame because my first trade was brilliant.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Frances, Thank you for leaving a review. I have looked into your offer and can see your payment was issued on the 14th of August, please can you check all possible bank accounts and email us at info@webuybooks.co.uk if you have still not received it? We can then pass this to our payments team who will get it sorted as soon as possible for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Good collection service but getting payment for the books you have sent is like getting blood out of a stone!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I have looked into your offer and can see you had opted for a Cheque payment, we offer payment via bank transfer and Paypal if you are looking to receive future payments quicker, you can update the payment details on your account, all payment details are encrypted to ensure they are safe on your account. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
The pricing up the book and the getting my money parts were great but getting hermes to actually pick it up was an absolute nightmare. I went through 3 different collection days until it finally got collected. It shouldn't have been that hard. I probably wouldn't use the service again until I've exhausted all other avenues because of this.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Shaun, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear of the delay with Hermes collecting the items but we are happy to hear you were pleased with the rest of the service. Sorry for any inconvenience caused, we hope in the future you would consider using us again. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
I was very disappointed with this service. They are arbitrary on which books they select, offer peanuts for them (really low prices) and then took about 3 weeks to pay. They said they hadn't received the books, after a prompt, and promised to reimburse me immediately. This didn't happen, the following week the books 'had been delivered' but it took another week to get the money. The customer service was not brilliant, rather patronising, so sadly I won';t be using them again. I have a library of books to sort though so will have to send them to Oxfam or similar.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear there was a delay receiving the payment. We want our customers to have a positive selling experience and to be paid as soon as possible but sometimes there are delays in the postal service. It was taking us a little longer to check items whilst adhering to social distancing rules but this will no longer be an issue as we have things in place to ensure the safety of our employees and to get the items checked as soon as possible for our customers. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Disappointing. I submitted an order of a value which made it qualify for an additional 5% payment. This was never received despite several emails of enquiry which were rudely ignored. Unlikely to use this service again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Paul, Thank you for leaving a review. Please can you email us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with the offer ID? I have checked our emails and our website and cannot find anything under your name. Could it be that you have traded with another company, not us? If you send us an email we will be happy to look into this for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
The whole process seems a lot slower than previously. My books took 12 days to arrive at the depot and I still have not received my payment. The books were collected on 15 January, it is now 5 February.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Jaqueline, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that it has taken longer than usual, there have been some delays at Hermes but this has been sorted now and we are working through getting the backlog checked. Please could you contact us at info@webuybooks.co.uk with your offer ID? We can then look further into this for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
We don’t buy most books would be a more accurate description
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy. Our acceptance is based on the popularity of titles offered for sale. This can be affected by a variety of factors e.g. seasonality, current trends and when the title was last sold. We do have a current list of popular book types below, should you decide to try our service again in the future... • Food/cookery books, • Arts and crafts books, • Text books, • History books, • Travel guides. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Good price. Books hard to scan, had to mostly put them in manually, but this isn't much worse than other apps on the market. Main issue was with collection, I had to rearrange 3 times as they kept not turning up and when I contacted by email they said that there had been no reason given for the no-show and that I would just have to keep rearranging and hope. Eventually after the 3rd no show I hadn't got round to arranging another collection when they just randomly showed up on a different day (luckily someone was in) and asked if we had a parcel to collect.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear there was an issue with your collection. Unfortunately I am not able to provide any information regarding the issue with the collection as we don't have your offer ID. There had been an issue with the Hermes collection bookings at one point, it may have been this that affected it and could explain why the driver arrived on a different day. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Webuybooks is rated 4.70 based on 6,705 reviews