Webuybooks Reviews

4.70 Rating 6,605 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Webuybooks

Write Your review

Tell us how Webuybooks made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The reason for using WBB on this occasion was the ability to have the package of books collected from home. Hermes didn't arrive on the day requested. The WBB staff contacted Hermes for us with preferred dates for reorganisation, which were ignored and a short notice, inconvenient date was offered by Hermes which was then missed. Further escalation by WBB received no response so I eventually too the package to a drop off point. The 3 star rating is lower than I would give WBB for their work (although they didn't manage to kick Hermes into life they did offer compensation) and significantly higher than I would give to Hermes on this. Hermes' performance will make me cautious about using this service again
Posted 3 days ago
It takes about 7-10 working days to receive the payment. The offer is pretty low in general.
Posted 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with the prices offered for your items. We take many different factors into account such as prices when new, prices when used, supply/demand in the market etc when deciding if we can make an offer for items and, if so, how much for. These factors are usually out of our control, sorry. We hope to see you trading with us again soon. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 week ago
Easy to use but after 2 weeks I still have not received my cheque..... I have no idea if my delivery was or not on time.... I sent it by hermes
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Ruth, Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you found our service easy to use when trading with us. We received your offer and the items all met our guidelines; the cheque for this was posted on 14th July and should have arrived by now. If you are still awaiting this, please send us an email to info@webuybooks.co.uk confirming the postal address and we can look into this further for you. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 week ago
Arranged my collection which was for a day I would definitely be in all day. There is no time slot just eg 8am to 7pm so you're tied to staying in until you know more. On the day itself the time slot from the collection comp[any changed a few times and kept getting later and later. Late afternoon it said it would not be coming at all that day. When i went to the site to rearrange collection it said I had not been in when they called- this was untrue and made me feel angry! There had been an automatic rearrange for the following day but no option for me to change it - no one asked if this was convenient! It did happen to following day but I had to change my plans so that I was available. It's not like a delivery where your neighbour can take a parcel in for you, this is a pickup and a heavy box so not easy to just leave with someone else.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Jackie, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear of the issues encountered with the courier collection. It is designed to be a seamless service to get the items to us, therefore we apologise on behalf of the courier for this. There can occasionally be unforeseen delays with the courier which are unfortunately out of our control. In these situations, the courier automatically reattempts the following working day. We apologise that this was not as convenient as the date originally arranged. We can see that once the courier collected the offer, this arrived quickly and payment was promptly processed. We hope to see you trading with us again soon. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 month ago
Total lack of communication, I had no idea when/if the books had been received nor when I would be paid. The process took far too long, much longer than another bookseller who collected books the same day and kept me informed throughout.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the issues experienced with this trade. Our priority is to provide a positive experience for all of our customers; therefore we are very sorry if this has not been the case for you. We have looked into this further and can see that this trade was late arriving with us. We typically allow upto 5 working days for offers to arrive with us following collection, however, this too much longer. Although the trade was checked and paid for quickly once it arrived with us, we apologise on behalf of the courier for this delay. Thank you again for your feedback; we hope to see you trading with us again soon. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 month ago
Unfortunately you were unable to take a lot of books, DS games and DVD that I would like to sell.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear some of the items you wanted to sell were not accepted at this time. This is linked to the supply and demand on the market which is out of our control I’m afraid. We also consider our current stock levels when deciding which items we can accept. This is to avoid overstocking in any particular items. However, this demand changes regularly and is worth checking back in a few days/weeks to see if we are then able to accept these items and, if so, how much we can offer for them. We typically advise that items belonging to the following categories are more likely to be accepted due to a higher demand in the marketplace: Books: food/cookery, arts & crafts, education, history, travel DVDs: Exercise/workout, Disney classics, Box Sets, Chart DVDs Games: Exercise/work out, Chart games We hope to see you trading with us again soon! Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 month ago
Not bad. The process works, albeit quite slowly with the returns delivery (they use Hermes in the UK, so enough said!). The app is a bit flawed and not very user friendly: often scans too quickly and fails, offers either an unhelpful red cross with no explanation, or just says it isn’t interested in that book. Very occasionally a book will be worth more than a few pence and you might be offered between £1 and £3. Only worth three stars until the returns process speeds up, the app is improved AND the prices are more realistic.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear you have experienced issues with the app, however, we are grateful for your feedback so we can have a look into these issues and improve our service. When disputed items are returned, we aim to send these back via a quick and reliable method, however, there can be times where delivery is delayed due to reasons beyond our control. The red cross that appears when an item is scanned means we are unable to accept that particular item at this time. We operate on a supply and demand basis, so it may be that we have excess copies in our warehouse now or that the items do not appear to be selling on the marketplace to a level where we wish to purchase further copies. The demand and the value of items can change from a day-to-day basis, and it may be worth checking again later, perhaps in a couple of weeks. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you trading with us again soon. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 months ago
Some books give good prices and others are ridiculous priced. Efficient transportation and pick up.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Zarrin, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you were happy with our service. The prices we offer for items can change due to the change in demand in the marketplace, if you are not in a hurry to sell your items in the future, you could keep them aside and keep checking the prices. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 months ago
Prices are quite low. Since the books have to be in a single box for the minimum weight rather than just wrapped up or extra boxes used it only works economically if I reuse a box I already have. If you have to buy a box then it is not worth selling the books.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Philip, Thank you for leaving a review for our company. We buy books based on the demand for them in the marketplace, there are a number of factors that can affect the prices we pay including how many copies are readily available on the market. If you are in no rush to sell your items, it may be worth trying to sell them at a later date as the prices can change. If you have more to sell in the future, it is always worth asking in a local shop if they have any spare boxes, as they usually give them out for free. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 months ago
Not as good as they used to be or else the competition have surpassed them. Service is good but now let down by their prices and their courier.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. Our aim is for all customers to have the best possible selling experience; therefore, we apologise if this has not been the case. We are pleased to hear the service offered was positive, however, we are concerned to hear of issues with prices given and the courier service we provide. The prices we offer are closely linked to the supply and demand of the items in the marketplace. We try to be as competitive as possible with prices, however, the supply/demand that influences this is out of our control I’m afraid. The demand and the value of items can change from a day-to-day basis, and it may be worth checking again later, perhaps in a couple of weeks’ time. We apologise for any issues experienced with the courier collection. Our Customer Services team can be contacted via phone, email or live chat should you experience any issues. They have access to tracking for the collections and can escalate issues to the courier where necessary. Please do not hesitate to contact us in these situations. Thank you again for your review; all feedback is taken on board to improve our service. Best regards, WeBuyBooks
Posted 3 months ago
The selling process was easy and efficient. I received my payment very quickly, so absolutely no complaints on that front. My reservation concerns the number of books rejected, despite the fact that most of my titles were in the categories listed as most in demand. The first few were readily accepted, later it was a struggle to find any to reach the minimum amount. If I had not already spent quite a long time logging the books, I would have given up.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you found the selling process easy and efficient. There are a number of factors that affect whether we can purchase an item, it is mainly due to the demand for the item in the marketplace and how many copies are readily available at the time of scanning. However, it can change on a daily basis, if you are not in a rush to sell your items, it is always worth scanning them at a later date. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 3 months ago
The Process is very good. I am disappointed that many of my Books are not required?. The value on some is also very low/?
Posted 4 months ago
Hello William, Thank you for leaving a review. There are a number of factors that affect whether we can purchase an item, it is mainly due to the demand for the item in the marketplace and how many copies are readily available at the time of scanning. It can change on a daily basis, if you are not in a rush to sell your items, it is always worth scanning them at a later date. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
Took a long time to process and no communication
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear the process took longer than usual, packages usually arrive to us within 5 working days but sometimes it can be a little longer. It is not often there are delays, we hope to carry on trading with you in the future and this issue should not arise again. Thanks again for your feedback. Kindest Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
Only given 3 stars as booked courier to collect and they didn’t. I tried to find out why and got no response from courier company and Webuybooks said they would investigate and get back to me and no-one did. I ended up taking to my local drop off point, not easy as box quite heavy; hence reason for requesting courier collection. This is the second time this has happened to me. Suggest changing courier company as rest of service great and very timely.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry to hear of your recent experience with WeBuyBooks. We take matters like this very seriously as we want our customers to have a quick and easy sale with us. I can see our customer services team escalated this with Hermes to try and get the issue resolved for you, we are always looking to improve our service and take all comments onboard. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
Fast payment if you ever get an offer when scanning books. Many books we scanned just got a big Red Cross in the middle of the screen very frustrating especially when all that scanning eats your phone battery!!
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you received your payment fast, we want the service to be as quick and easy as possible for our customers. There are a number of factors that affect whether we can purchase an item, it is mainly due to the demand for the item in the marketplace and how many copies are readily available at the time of scanning. It can change on a daily basis, if you are not in a rush to sell your items, it is always worth scanning them at a later date. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 4 months ago
Very mean with their offers but super easy to do, very quick turnaround from posting off to being paid but maybe I would try a second hand book store or AR boot sale next time,
Posted 5 months ago
Books arrived sealed and perfectly packaged, which I absolutely loved. However, the delivery time needs a lot of improving.
Posted 5 months ago
Courier collection from your door and most books accepted just a waste time paper and ink printing labels. Zit bit you just have to write the order on the box and the courier gives you an hour when he will collect them.
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Diane, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you were happy with the service, we are happy to print and post labels to you in the future, we do this for a lot of our customers, as we understand not everyone has access to a printer, we can do this for collections and if you choose to try the drop off service, we send a QR code so the label can be printed in the shop. We hope this will make things a little easier for you in the future. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 5 months ago
At the end of the day I did get paid very quickly for the books I sent. However, I did find the website challenging. I first tried to scan the books which worked to a degree but then when I wanted to finish off the selling part on their website from my computer I got lost. I was helped when I asked for it by webchat. So I ended up manually putting in the ISBN number. What I also found disappointing was the number of books that they rejected. I know they explained they won't accept them if they have too many of a particular book in the warehouse. But it was a lot of effort just to offload a few books. Once you click on the sell button the books you have agreed to sell disappear and I was unable to find the list of the books on their website. So if they do keep this list in your account they need to direct you to the place. If they don't they need to set that up. Because of the issues I encountered I won't use them again. But if you want to deal with them they came across as a genuiune honourable set up.
Posted 6 months ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking to improve our service. Once you have created a trade with us, you can view the items that are in the trade on our website. This isn't shown on the app as it is mainly for scanning the items, for further details of your trade, you can find these on your account on the website. We are glad to hear you received your payment quickly and that you were happy dealing with us as a company, we would hope to carry on trading with you in the future. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 6 months ago
The company are good but their choice of collection and delivery agent (Hermes) is their business weakness. I waited in for a collection for 6 days and in the end had to physically take the boxes to an agent. Not acceptable. Webuyanybooks were unwilling (although able) to chase Hermes when I contacted the (on the numerous occasions that hermes collections failed).
Posted 7 months ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We pride ourselves in what we do and always take onboard any feedback. We are sorry to hear there was an issue with the collection, I can see a member of our customer services team contacted Hermes about this to try and get the issue sorted. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our company, we are happy to hear you think we are a good company, in regards to the comments on Hermes, we have noted this feedback and would like to apologise again for any inconvenience caused by this situation. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 6 months ago
Webuybooks is rated 4.70 based on 6,605 reviews