Webuybooks Reviews

4.70 Rating 6,609 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Webuybooks

Write Your review

Tell us how Webuybooks made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I used this app twice recently, and found it very easy to use, they sent timely email updates, and paid into the account promptly. Very good service.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, Thank you for the review. Great to hear you had a pleasant experience using our service! Hope to see you again soon WeBuyBooks.
Posted 4 months ago
First time using this company to sell my books. I must say it was very easy, uplifting of books was super quick and payment made to me within days. Would recommend.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Susan, Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you were happy with the service! Hope to see you again soon. WeBuyBooks.
Posted 4 months ago
Used for the first time very pleased with transaction a great way to dispose of our surplus books and get some money towards the next purchases
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Martyn, Thank you for the review. Great to hear you had a pleasant experience using our service! Hope to see you again soon WeBuyBooks.
Posted 4 months ago
If I was to rate WBB whilst ignoring the difficulties frequently experienced when items are in transit to them, I would be inclined to award them 4 stars. Their offer prices (whilst a bit unpredictable) are on occasion good, their website functions reliably, payment is usually quite swift, and when there is a need to contact their customer services department, their answers usually speedily resolve the issue put to them. Sadly, reality kicks in, and I must also allow for the considerable friction introduced by WBB's decision to stick unquestioningly with transport outsource Hermes irrespective of the service their customers experience. This drags WBB's overall score down to 1 star. On occasion, Hermes in-store barcode readers malfunction, meaning that your package to WBB can't be accepted. Not much fun when it's a 20 minute round trip to the Hermes collection point. If you are sending in a heavy package via the Hermes courier service, then prepare yourself for disappointment. In my experience, you only have a 50:50 chance of their van turning up on the agreed date, so often, you wait in vain. Unlike other courier services, Hermes don't send you a notification on the day of what 1 hour collection slot you have been allocated, so you certainly can't plan your day. If you have any query about the package you've sent, and try to use Hermes' tracking system, prepare yourself for some bizarre, nonsensical "explanations" as to what is going on e.g. as regards a parcel which Hermes had collected and receipted last August, their tracking system said: Update on your parcel We couldn't collect your parcel as it wasn't suitable, please contact your retailer to make alternative arrangement Rubbish though a response such as that is, the worst is yet to come. Over the period February 2020 to January 2021, packages entrusted to Hermes had items mysteriously going missing 3 times. On 1 of these occasions, no less than 7 books (valued at £20+) "disappeared", and my correspondence with WBB to resolve the issue ran to over a dozen emails. It is true that on each of these 3 occasions - after intervention by me - WBB paid me in full for all the "missing" items. However, that does not compensate for the hassle experienced, and it means that you only feel safe handing over your package once you've taken the precaution of taking photos of each item you are boxing up, in case there is yet another mishap whilst the items are in Hermes' custody. Prior to 2020, WBB paid me on 5 occasions when I had waited for anything from 14 to 19 days after my package had been left at a Hermes collection point, but the parcel had still not reached WBB. Once again, after contacting WBB, full payment was made to me on each of these 5 occasions, but who needs this degree of hassle, delay and aggravation? After January 2021's "mysterious disappearance" of books, I contacted WBB and gave them full details of each of the 8 incidents I have just described above. I pointed out that when I trade through another online book buyer (who use "Collectplus" and "DPD"), I simply do not experience this degree of nonsense. I asked for an assurance from someone at Director level within WBB that they would take the issues I had raised seriously, and would insist that Hermes upped their game. WBB's initial response was an extremely bland one, delivered to me by a member of their customer services department. When I emailed WBB again, and repeated my request for some Director level feedback, I received the following response from the WBB Customer Services Manager: "We would advise that it is our choice as a business to use Hermes and this is not a subject for discussion with our customers. If you are unhappy with our chosen carrier and indeed the way your offers have been handled previously, we would respectfully ask that you no longer trade with us." So, to translate, WBB couldn't give a fig about Hermes' repeatedly poor performance, and have no intention of making Hermes deliver an acceptable level of service to WBB's customers. Like it, or lump it. In these circumstances, if I could award WBB a score of zero, I would do so; even 1 out of 5 seems generous.
Posted 5 months ago
Hermes is the worst but WeBeBooks is aweful. The labels they send don't turn up on time. The collections don't arrive on time. They are careless with handling your books and will not pay you. Save yourself the trouble and use Music Magpie.
Posted 10 months ago
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your selling experience. We send all labels first class for our customers, unfortunately we have no control if there are delays in the postal service, as no information has been left on the review regarding your trade, we are not able to look into what the issue was with Hermes but we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. We handle all items with care as we buy the items to find a second home for them, we have no reason to damage any items sent to us. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 10 months ago
I have many books at home and in this time of severely reduced income due to Coronavirus, I thought it was a good time to try to sell some. It is incredibly demoralising to receive £1 or less for a once-read pristine hardback recently purchased for £14.99 or more but I suppose it's something! What did annoy was that I sent a cardboard cased set of Dahl books - all in pristine condition. There was a small tear in the cardboard case but books perfect. I posted these but received the reply that they were wortthless & I'd receive nothing: £6 or so was deducted from my balance. Hard to take, especially considering all the 'as new' condition books I'd sent, which didn't receive any premium for being perfect & could easily be sold at a premium for being in excellent condition. It is disheartening but I suppose that's what the market offers? My daughter did compare with another site which was more generous which I may look at more closely next time. I have pristine contemporary fiction HB signed editions but as these scan in at the same as an unsigned copy of only acceptable condition, I think I'd rather give them to charity.
Posted 1 year ago
Selling my books couldn’t have been easier. The whole process was fast and efficient.
Posted 1 year ago
Glad I found you got rid of excess books and made a few bob from it. Great service.
Posted 1 year ago
We don’t buy most books would be a more accurate description
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy. Our acceptance is based on the popularity of titles offered for sale. This can be affected by a variety of factors e.g. seasonality, current trends and when the title was last sold. We do have a current list of popular book types below, should you decide to try our service again in the future... • Food/cookery books, • Arts and crafts books, • Text books, • History books, • Travel guides. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
First time I used Webuybooks. It is easy to use but got frustrated by the number of books rejected (Webuybooks was not prepare to buy them) and disappointed of the value some of them were given.
Posted 2 years ago
It is frustrating that you advertise the buying of books and yet the majority of those I tried to sell were "Not being bought at this time", without further explanation. I have worked put that you actually only are interested in buying newish books. Many of those I did sell were valued at 5p!! I currently have 9 books that you have accepted and quoted for - totalling £1.27 - a long way off your £5 minimum. However, the method of sending books and payment of monies due works well and is simple..
Posted 2 years ago
I have found Webuybooks a very useful way to de-clutter and use the proceeds to save up for something I really want . Prices paid vary of course from pence to a few pounds and some items are refused (too many already in stock) or are found to be damaged so rejected but still preferable to a bootfair ! ll in all they are fair .
Posted 1 year ago
Webuybooks is rated 4.70 based on 6,609 reviews