Webuybooks Reviews

4.70 Rating 6,724 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Webuybooks

Write Your review

Tell us how Webuybooks made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very slow at sending payment
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Carl, Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear there was a delay with the payment, unfortunately at the moment we have found that there are delays in the postal system due to the current pandemic, I can see the items were checked within the promised time when we received them, but we do apologise about the time it took for us to receive the items. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Due to the coronavirus I have found myself out of work, with no income and selling off some prized possessions just to get by. I am a single dad, with arrears etc. Not only did I have to chase up my due payment on more than one occasion but the person I was dealing with my query promised me on a daily basis that the money would be credited to my bank the following day. That was Wednesday, then It was promised Thursday, then Friday. It finally was credited the following Monday just before 6pm. You had had a full explanation of my situation and you ignored it. Me and my daughter went hungry that weekend. I hope you are proud of yourself.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Tony, Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry there was an issue with the payment going through, I can see the payment was issued the next working day once we had been notified of this. When we received your items, we were waiting for another box to arrive as there were quite a lot of things had not been included, this unfortunately put a delay on the payment as we were not notified of this. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Paid me nothing for a book valued at £3.50 because there was a small stain at the base of the spine, literally 1cm square, the rest of the book was as new. Not impressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately we cannot buy books that are stained. We buy the books to find a second home for them and people buying books don't want them if they are stained. This is set out in our condition guidelines , we want our customers to be happy but unfortunately this is not something we are able to accept, sorry. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Pay very low money for your books
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We buy items based on the demand for them in the marketplace. The price can be affected by a variety of factors e.g. seasonality, current trends and when the title was last sold. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
It took almost a month to receive a £5 cheque. And they don't pay that much. Non worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear it took this time for you to receive your Cheque, it shouldn't take this long, there may have been an issue within the postal system to have caused this. If you could contact us with your offer ID, we can look into this and see if we can find out what the issue was. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Awful customer service. I bought a book on ebay and I accidentally confirmed the order with my old shipping address. My mistake I know. I sent them a message literally within 2 minutes of confirming the order telling them what happened and asking them to change the address. There were 3 items in my cart from 3 different sellers. The other 2 were Wordery and Books etc. Both Wordery and Books etc responded and said it was no problem to change the address. Webuybooks responded to say they wouldn't change the address after the "shipping process had started." How could the process have started! I sent the message less than 2 mins after I placed the order! They didn't mark it as shipped until 2 days later. They had plenty of time to just quickly scribble out and change my address. Instead, they continued with the process and, 2 days later, knowingly sent a parcel that they knew I wasn't going to receive and wasted my money, even though I had informed them that I wouldn't be able to receive it. I had no way to cancel it, no way to ammend the order, I just had to helplessly watch them basically throw my money in the bin. I could not have done anything. I couldn't have messaged them any quicker. They just flat-out refused to help me. They had read and replied to my message so they knew I wouldn't be able to get the parcel, yet they still went ahead and sent it anyway and took my money. They said if the parcel was returned to sender they would issue a refund, but that relies on whoever is at the wrong address taking care of that and I have no way to contact them. I feel robbed and I will never shop with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Archie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately we are not able to change the address if the order has already been printed. When the orders are printed, they are amongst thousands of other orders, it is not possible for us to search through thousands of packages to find it and change it. We get hundreds of emails a day, unfortunately this is not an immediate form of contact, as when you send the email, it is not read immediately, it goes into an inbox like many other companies, we aim to answer emails within 24 hours, and try to deal with queries as quickly as possible, when we had read your email, the order had already entered the shipping process. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
not recommend, cancell orders with no reason and with no explanation yo customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry your order was cancelled, if we have to cancel an order, we send an email explaining the reason, the email may have gone to your junk folder. Sorry for any inconvenience caused by this situation. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
Their cheque bounced. Form your own opinion!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Robert, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Is this regarding offer 554470? We had an issue with Cheques arriving late and had cancelled the Cheque that was late and sent out a new one. The Cheque you need to cash has the date 11/02/2020 on it. This will go through without an issue for you. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
items either arrive damaged or well outside of the delivery period!! this company just can't sell things as described with consistency or have deliveries arrive on time!! when politely raised, staff actually become rude & argumentative!! had to lodge a formal complaint with the book platform i used & then again for a second time when i thought to give them a chance again (second time around they cancelled my order & fraudulent gave the reason that I cancelled it which i most certainly did NOT!) HORRIBLE company to be avoided - especially after further reading of people's experiences when they sell books to them too. doesn't seem like there's many happy customers out there at all when you dig dirt on them... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, if a customer repeatedly claims not to receive their items, we recognise that this is not good for the customer or for business and we cease to fulfil orders. Kind regards, WeBuyBooks.
Posted 1 year ago
If you don't have access to a printer you cannot send your books as you need to ask them to send the address barcodes. This takes ages. Apart from that they at least pay quickly once receiving your books.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. When creating an offer, there is an option to have the label posted to you so you don't have to send an email to request it. Please could you send your offer ID? I can then check to see why it took a long time for you to receive the label. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 1 year ago
I have been waiting a long time for my money I have sent over a month and have not yet been credited to my account
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello Kaloyan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are having some technical issues with the website at the moment, sorry. Due to this we are not able to get on to issue payments today. Please be assured we are working to get this fixed as soon as possible. Kind regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 years ago
It’s a great idea. You should pay more for the books and change your collection provider as Hermes are awful. Twice they refused or claimed they couldn’t access my flat when no other delivery service has ever had an issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very sorry you had an issue with the collection. I can see customer services chased this with Hermes, but please accept our apologies for the delay with the collection. If you do choose to try our service again in the future, we buy books based on the current demand for them in the marketplace and we do have a list of popular book types below for which we tend to pay more... • Food/cookery books, • Arts and crafts books, • Text books, • History books, • Travel guides. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 years ago
The process was simple however it took a while to receive the cheque and then the bank advised me that the cheque has bounced I Am now waiting a response not sure I would use them again depends on the outcome
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have looked into this and can see a member of staff has updated the offer and put it back into the payments process. Sorry for any inconvenience caused by the situation. We are not sure why this has occurred but can assure you that it is not something that happens often and we will look further into it. We hope this doesn't affect your decision to use us in the future and that your payment arrives with you very quickly. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 years ago
Extremely poor. Having been given an offer I missed the 7 day deadline but was sent an email saying all I had to do was send my stuff and I would receive that amount. When I sent my books I was then told that I had to make a new offer or my books would be recycled. I shall not be using again and will advise others in my book club and other social circles not to either
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It states on the packaging instructions that we ask for the items to be sent off to us within 7 days. This is due to the value of the items changing. We are happy to check through the items as normal, we just needed a new offer to be created through the website so we can check the items under the new offer. Kind Regards WeBuyBooks
Posted 2 years ago
Webuybooks is rated 4.70 based on 6,724 reviews