The Luxury Wood Company Reviews

4.53 Rating 3,638 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend The Luxury Wood Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
96%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
95%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.98 out of 5
Read The Luxury Wood Company Reviews

About The Luxury Wood Company:

The Luxury Wood Company supplies premium kiln dried hardwood firewood and wood pellets on a nationwide free-delivery basis. Our wood is kiln dried and of the highest quality available in the UK.

Visit Website

Phone:

0115 697 1118

Email:

info@luxurywood.co.uk

Location:

Manor Business Park Darlton Rd

The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 4th April 2021
Andrew Vallance
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 4th April 2021
Andrew Vallance
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 28th March 2021
Anonymous
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 28th March 2021
Anonymous
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 28th March 2021
Anonymous
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 11th March 2021
Usman Waheed
The Luxury Wood Company 5 star review on 11th March 2021
Usman Waheed
76
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It’s been 21 days since I ordered from the luxury wood company, they have not delivered, they have not called to arrange delivery or made shy contact with me to indie me of any problems. I really hope to hear off them soon ☹️
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Tracey, We apologize for the delay. Sometimes there are unexpected issues that delay the process. However your delivery has been arranged for the 4th of May.
Posted 1 week ago
Recognising that the oak sleepers are natural wood and expecting a level of discrepancy, the consignment received was extremely disappointing. Accepting that sleepers were rough sawn and the overall width and thickness dimensions inconsistent (power tools proven to be invaluable), four sleepers could not be corrected. Two sleepers were significantly bent, whilst two had not been thoroughly machined showing evidence of the natural bark. Supplementary consignments on the initial delivery lorry however appeared to reflect sleepers that were expected (ie straight and fully machined)
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello Andrew, we are sorry to hear this and would like to discuss these issues to see if we can find a suitable way of putting it right. Please contact us on support@luxurywood.co.uk for further details.
Posted 2 weeks ago
No idea about the product yet, have not heard a thing about delivery (it’s day 21 since I put the order in). I asked about delivery a while ago and was told 20-25 days. It’s not good if you don’t communicate with your customers, they should not have to chase for info.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Steve, The product you have ordered is handmade on request and takes up to 6 weeks as per our website. As soon as we receive a delivery date from the manufacturer we will inform you via email.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dissatisfied with our last order as around 10% had worm and centres were just powder so effecting burn quality. Our previous orders which had been oak we were very satisfied with!
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Anthony, we are sorry to hear this and would like to discuss these issues to see if we can find a suitable way of putting it right. Please contact us on support@luxurywood.co.uk attaching some photographs for reference.
Posted 1 month ago
After the initial order very little information about the delivery however the delivery driver was very helpful. Disappointed with logs. We ordered the oak logs, very small in size quite a few only slightly larger than kindling!
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Gary, we are sorry to hear this and would like to discuss these issues to see if we can find a suitable way of putting it right. Please contact us on support@luxurywood.co.uk with full order details.
Posted 3 months ago
Very difficult to contact via telephone. Very limited choice of wood. Slow delivery and not on time. In the 5 years I have been buying from them their service has gradually gone from good to very poor.
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Stephen, We are sorry you are not happy with the service provided. We try to operate the best way we can but this is not always easy during those difficult times in the middle of a global pandemic and with the new Brexit regulations. We hope to be able to return to our normal standards as quickly as possible.
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered logs, kindling and a gas lighter, received email saying no kindling in stock about week after order! Options money back or deliver when in stock, approx 2 weeks, said OK, after 3 weeks nearly heard nothing about logs!!! Eventually got logs, no notifications! And still no kindling or heard anything!! But my money taken when I placed order!! How about letting me know what's happening! , normally you've been great
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Ian, We are sorry you did not get the delivery update regarding the kindling delay. You should expect the product the week commencing the 15th.
Posted 3 months ago
I have given just 2 stars, not because of the logs(they were excellent as usual) but the carrier that you use for delivery is so awful. My delivery was made on a snowy day in January. The driver unloaded my logs onto the ‘middle’ of the road. NOT kerbside. I told him I was unwilling to sign for them as they posed a danger to anyone driving along the road. Particularly on this day when visibility was bad. He said he didn’t need a signature due to COVID and it was the best he could do as the luxury wood company were cheapskates and not willing to pay for anymore than a pallet delivery service. If conditions meant he couldn’t make a kerbside delivery then he should just have taken them away and delivered another day. I suggested this but he said they were out the truck now. I then asked if he had any hazard tape or something bright that he could put around the pallet but he said no. Never in my life have I encountered such a rude and unpleasant individual. An example of all that is wrong with the world today. Please change your carrier or I may be forced to purchase my logs elsewhere. I would be happy to pay a bit more for my delivery to avoid having to deal with this ghastly creature again.
Posted 3 months ago
Dear customer, We are truly sorry for the bad experience you had with our subcontractor. We have been in touch with them and hope they will improve the service provided.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Bit disappointed with this delivery. Chose a mixed hardwood crate for a change as usually only order ones of a particular wood. This seems more seasoned rather than kiln dried. Logs very dirty with lots of bark and twigs in it. I know logs are a natural product but lots of thick bark and such dirties up the glass on my burner so quickly and is a job to clean off. Won't be ordering this again.
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Charles, I am sorry you are not completely satisfied with the product received. Please contact us on support@luxurywood.co.uk with full details and pictures so we can look into the complaint as a matter of urgency.
Posted 3 months ago
Have bought loads from this company,kiln dried logs are brilliant couldn't ask for a better product.However the heat logs are not the best I've purchased. There is a lot of dust in the bags and care is needed when handling not to break bits off. They burn with flame at the beginning of the fire but quite quickly turn to a black burn which stains the glass and they the produce a lot of ash. Will not buy again.
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Derek, I am sorry you are not happy with that new product. You can try Co-Firing where you combine kiln dried logs with briquettes for better results.
Posted 3 months ago
A long wait for delivery with no notification of when wood would arrive. Kerbside delivery meant a good bit of work to move wood - again, not specified. Pine wood briquettes produce quite a lot of ash. Huge amount of plastic wrapping - not environmentally friendly
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Lyn, we are sorry to hear this and would like to discuss these issues to see if we can find a suitable way of putting it right. Please contact us on support@luxurywood.co.uk at a convenient time for you.
Posted 4 months ago
Way too long to deliver. Took them 2weeks won’t be using them again
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Shona, Although we always try to deliver as quickly as possible sometimes we encounter unexpected issues. The standard delivery times at this moment for the firewood are approx 7 working days.
Posted 4 weeks ago
The delivery was very efficient but at least 2 of the posts were badly cut and are effectively scrap I have not yet unpacked most of the consignment so there may be more defective ones to be found
Posted 6 months ago
Dear customer, All of the oak sleepers/posts we offer are classed as a landscaping grade and some imperfections are to be expected as per our description.
Posted 4 weeks ago
The wood was left on the pavement boundary with my property and impeded pedestrians , particularly those with push chairs and wheelchairs. The wood ordered was meant to be mixed hardwood species but was entirely low grade ash covered in dirt which makes it hard to light. The plastic cover was ripped in several places and the wood got wet in the rain
Posted 6 months ago
Delivery took far too long with for too many complications. Been a customer for many years at my farm tried to get a delivery at holiday cottage will revert to the Log Company. Disappointing
Posted 6 months ago
We bought the large crate thinking it would save stacking the wood from a bulk bag however it didn’t work out as the delivery driver wouldn’t come into the drive so we had to carry a large crate of wood up from the drive as they left it on the roadside at 7:30am! Not only was that a huge disappointment as it was the main reason we purchased from this company, the wood doesn’t appear to burn very well. It keeps burning out and large charred logs are left in the log burner. Logs I’ve previously bought elsewhere burn to the finest ash. Quite disappointed and won’t be ordering again for a number of reasons.
Posted 6 months ago
I've been getting a regular annual order from the Luxury Wood Company (LWC) for some years and generally have been satisfied. I buy from the LWC rather than a more local supplier because I have a typical size domestic log burner and don't have the means to chop up large logs. A couple of years ago I received some large logs and the LWC said they would speak with their supplier. Last year I was happy only to receive logs that were all of a usable size. I got this year's order two weeks ago and am disappointed as some of the logs are so large I can't even get them through the door of my log burner (see two pictures) and many others are double the typical size (two more pictures).
Posted 7 months ago
Very disappointed with the lack of Communication regarding delivery date, plus had to wait over 2 weeks for for delivery and we are not even in winter yet!
Posted 7 months ago
The logs as usual are fine, but on this occasion the delivery was poor. We stayed home all day for to receive delivery, I phoned to see if there was a rough idea of time and was told 4-5pm. Nothing arrived that day - which was a Friday so I was unable to make any contact the following day. We were out for much of the day but I called in at home at 1pm to find the delivery van outside the house, I have no idea what would have happened if I hadn't returned because the rather grumpy delivery man asked if there was a man to help (sorry, just me, 73 year old lady and 9 year old granddaughter!), he didn't think his trolley was working (it was) and if he could get it over the dropped kerb (he did). I complained to the LWC, they apologised and said it had been noted. I certainly hope so.
Posted 7 months ago
Unhappy with the packaging. Ordered Birch and hardwood heat logs expecting them in two pallets but they where all in the one! It was unsafe and nearly toppled over twice when moving it. Spoke to LWC but no response. Heat logs provide good heat and last a long time.
Posted 7 months ago
The Luxury Wood Company is rated 4.53 based on 3,638 reviews