Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

4.53 Rating 331 Reviews
89% of reviewers recommend Swindon Caravans Group

About Swindon Caravans Group: Award winning dealership selling new and second hand touring caravans. With branches in Swindon, Oxford and Reading. We cater to all your caravanning needs, from caravans sales and caravan & awning accessory shops to our workshops and aftersales service.

Visit Website

Phone:
01793772096

Email:
tom@swindoncaravans.com

Location:
Greatfield, Royal Wootton Bassett,

Are you a business owner?
Click Here
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
"Hand over was not positive The guy who showed us around the caravan was great but it all went downhill after that. Waited ages to see a person from the sales team, items missing from van, motor movers not fitted correctly and fitter had a bad attitude and rude. Still waiting for Lee to answer 2 emails."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Used to live in the area
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"The service we received from Lewis in sales was excellent."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We met them at the show and went from there. Seemed nice people and were very helpful
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We have just taken possession of our new caravan from Oxford Caravans and it was a great experience. Went through everything in the new van not rushed at all. A real attention to customer service even fitted our number plate for us. Thanks Alistair for making it a great experience. Now off for Easter in our new van , family very excited."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Google search
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Excellent service"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? there was a big selection of caravans, including the models we were interested in, plus there was a motor mover offer.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
"Our caravan and starter pack were ready when we arrived. The hand over was thorough and staff helpful. We were very pleased with our caravan."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Excellent service
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Our first caravan, we bought at Swindon caravans because of their price and service."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
"We have always had good service from the sales team. They help to make pick up day a special one. You never feel rushed and all questions are answered promptly."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Reading Caravans was recommended by a friend of ours who is a certified mobile caravan technician
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Reading Caravan staff provided me with an excellent service from the time I spoke to Simon, the manager, at the NEC through to picking up my new Bailey today. The staff member who provided the handover (Ian) was excellent - nothing was too much trouble and he was happy to explain things more than once to ensure that we understood."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Good range of Caravans Manufactures.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Lewis at Oxford Caravans was very helpful throughout the New Lunar Clubman CK purchase including the Handover."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Lots to choose from
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Very helpful staff also very friendly nothing to much trouble exilent allround"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? dealt with for nearly twenty years and never disappointed.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Friendly staff and no nonsense sales pitch."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Close to home
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Nothing was to much trouble and very helpful"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Met at the caravan show and very friendly
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Very friendly staff and service - thank you !!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Very fare on price and large stock
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
"I must say every person on there team made my experience stress free. I would recommend them to everyone. And the shop had every thing I thought I needed and more"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? The trudgians video bloggers highly recommended
Would you buy from one of our branches again? no
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
"In 25 years of caravaning this is the worse purchase experience & change over we have had, having owned four caravans & two Motorhomes in those years. We arrived with out part x Venus as we were staying overnight Saturday we had brought the bare minimum equipment with us & loaded the majority on the front floor, Lewis was helpful & moved our old van close to new one he said he would let us change our belongings over first, I thought this strange at the time as a damp check is normally carried out first. He told us to look over the new van & on entering the first thing I checked was the front cupboard door which was jammed closed when we first viewed the van back in February he agreed then he would get the jobs done, to our total dismay this job had not been done as the cupboard door still would not open. I then I checked to make sure all the European plug sockets had been changed, again the TV station socket had been forgotten. Lewis said he would get the jobs sorted straight away which I appreciate he did. As Lewis showed as around the van we came to the microwave on opening it we noticed the turntable & roller assy was missing we remembered that on veiwing the van these items were in the front chest draw, we searched but couldn’t find the parts anywhere. Lewis said he would try find the parts & Once the handover of new van was completed he then said he would carry out the damp check on our old van, I sat outside he was a fair time in our old van & then broke bad news that he had found two high damp readings one just inside the entrance door & in the corner of the bathroom, he said it was common on Venus models, none of these areas were obstructed when we first arrived so knowing the common damp area he could have checked these area’s as the were fully accessible before swapping our belongings over. All our Past change overs, the dealer has always checked for damp before proceeding with the sale. Lewis then hit us with a dire decision, pay an extra £1000 pounds or change everything back & take our old van home. We were left shocked upset to decide what to do for the best & because we had a Building Society Cheque already made out were so worried we wouldn’t be able to reimburse this & the £500 deposit so we agreed although leaving our financial situation in jeopardy to go ahead & take the new van. Lewis said he would get the microwave turntable & roller sent to us. We also noticed that the original microwave had been changed for a different model which is worrying. On reflection I should have refused to take the new van off your premises until it had a complete working microwave. Not only did I have to pay £1000 extra for our old van, we are now left with a microwave & van not fit for purpose. Feeling very cheated angry, disappointed & disgruntled! Will seek advice from Citizens Advice if parts not resolved or new microwave not supplied urgently! Regards Mr & Mrs Bridges"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Mr & Mrs Bridges,
It is always disappointing to receive feedback of this nature. The collection of your new caravan should be a memorable and smooth experience, unfortunately on this occasion that wasn't the case.
Lewis took the decision to perform the damp test once the caravan had been fully emptied. This would seem the logical thing to do instead of doing two partial tests; once on the areas that were accessible whilst the caravan was still loaded and another on the remaining areas once the caravan had been emptied. We maintain that that was the right and best course of action. It just so happened that the areas of damp were accessible whilst the caravan was loaded. Lewis wasn't to know that. If the areas of damp had been found in non accessible areas (due to the caravan being loaded) would that have changed your view and experience with us? The caravan has not been serviced since it was purchased from another dealership in 2016. As a result it is unfortunate that such outcomes are more likely.
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Good website
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"From arriving at the site to look at the various caravans on display.They had a very good selection of all price ranges. The salesman Alan wasn’t pushy at all,just let us get on with looking around. He was there to help us when we needed help and advice. Alistair today for the hand over was superb.Answering all my questions. All in all a very swift effective service from start to handover."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Caravans were clean and looked inviting and the staff were great
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"The staff were attentive and thorough going through the paperwork"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? You had the Caravan we were looking for at the right price
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Every thing went very smoothly today. Nothing was to much trouble."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We visited Reading Caravans for the first time in February, looking for a replacement for our problematical van. We were immediately impressed with the warm, friendly reception we received and the help and advice offered by the obviously knowledgeable staff. Reading Caravans is a developing site and offers a good choice of caravans, with the emphasis on Bailey. There is a very well stocked accessory shop and coffee facilities are provided as well. Well worth a visit!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We really liked the Dealer Special Swift Vogue that we purchased
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"This was a first time caravan purchase. The salesman Lewis in the Oxford dealership was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and made us feel totally at ease. He allowed us time to make our decision while answering all of our questions to the best of our abilities. The overall process to purchase our be caravan was simple and well managed. I wish to compliment Swindon caravans and Lewis personally for an outstanding service and I would highly recommend them and limited to anybody"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Swindon Caravans Group is rated 4.53 based on 331 reviews