John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,855 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We were having problems getting a mortgage due to a complicated financial situation, but Jyotin Bonomollyram at John Charcol not only found mortgages available to us, but found us an interest only mortgage, which we really didn't think would be possible.
Both Jyotin and his colleague Scott Hodder gave excellent service and there was never a problem contacting them, which is a huge bonus if you need help or have a problem.
I would recommend the company and definitely recommend Jyotin and Scott to anyone looking to get a mortgage.
Posted 5 months ago
Our case was far from straightforward to the extent that we are in our retirement years but we still run several businesses which also created a rather complex financial context in terms of being eligible for a mortgage. John Charcol were the only brokers who had the cability and willingness to understand this especially the financial piece. They obviously have a very wide range of options/contacts within the mortgage field including organisations that go beyond box ticking. Our experience of John Charcol's front and back office was excellent. They are very professional, responsive and we always felt they had our back. In the end it was quite a long and protracted journey but Charcol persevered and stuck with it with us all the way to completion. Would thoroughly recommend without hesitation.
Posted 5 months ago
Norbert & Becky were fantastic! We had a complex case & instead of simply reaching for the most expensive option Norbert worked tirelessly to find the best option. As soon as things were moving Becky would keep tabs on all parties involved to avoid any hold ups & to keep things moving & kept us "in the picture" We would never think of going anywhere else.
Posted 6 months ago
Steve and Katy are brilliant! Have worked with them a number of times for specialist and also regular lending. Everything from start to finish is top notch! Very much worth the fees as the job gets done quickly and without any fuss!
Posted 6 months ago
We're so grateful. After several mortgage brokers from other companies had been too slow and inefficient to help us, we came across John Charcol, in particular Steve Molina and Hayley Sydes. The application process for a 2nd charge mortgage was lengthy due to our current situation, but Hayley kept giving us daily email updates - which was such a caring and approachable way to ease our minds that things were taken care of every step of the way. Anytime there were challenges, Hayley was there to promptly help, with both warmth and efficient action. Making us feel number 1 priority. And thank you to Steve for the excellent advice that led us to getting an offer, and then for helping us get another offer from a second lender when the first one flaked. Steve never gave up. Neither did Hayley. Excellent customer service, we will be back in future.
Posted 6 months ago
I have been working with John Charcol for many years and I have always had excellent service.
Thanks to Sarah Dormer and Michelle Gilbert for their professional yet friendly approach, excellent communication skills and resilient. I am happy to recommend their services to everyone and I will not hesitate to use their service again.
Posted 6 months ago
I find John Charcol very accommodating and helpful.
Posted 6 months ago
Such a smooth process. Steven was very responsive, efficient and kept us informed at all times. We're really happy with the mortgage we got.
Posted 6 months ago
The staff were professional throughout the process and found a deal that was suitable to my needs.
Posted 6 months ago
I honestly cannot thank Daniel Bowles enough!!! From the bottom of my heart I cannot recommend him enough- the phrase 'going above and beyond' springs to mind.
After I initially had a very poor credit rating, financial issues and basically been told by every other broker that I was unable to get a mortgage any time soon, Dan actually took the time in helping me and offering me phenomenal advice/support at the drop of a hat.
Without Dan I would never be in the position where I am today (a first-time buyer) and getting on the ladder. After seeing how horrible the property market can be at time (aimed at Estate Agents) Dan & John Charcol were a breath of fresh air in my first property completion as you could actually tell Dan cared about customer service and finding the right product for YOU.
Posted 6 months ago
We have been working with John Charcol for the past few years and we have been always very satisfied with great service. Thanks to Sener for his very high level of professionalism and excellent communication skills. We are very happy to recommend John Charcol to anyone requiring mortgage broker services even in complicated circumstances.
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent service from the first phone call to the final completion. Thank you.
Posted 6 months ago
I first started dealing with John Charcol around 9 months before our BTL remortgage actually completed. We had to try two or three different routes to get the mortgage we needed (due to a unique rental situation), so got to build a great relationship with the team, brilliantly led by Charlotte A. Charlotte was a great, prompt communicator, and each time we hit a problem, she always had an alternative avenue for us to go down. Thankfully, this persistence paid off, and we got the remortgage, raising the capital we needed for a renovation project. Thanks to Charlotte for all the support. I am very happy to recommend.
Posted 7 months ago
Great service and advice. Many thanks.
Posted 7 months ago
Very happy with Norbert arranging a bespoke mortgage for me. He kept me informed throughout. Reasonable price for a unique product. Highly recommended.
Posted 7 months ago
This was my first remortgage with John Charcol and I will never go anywhere else. Great advice and support throughout the whole process from Cristian and Thomas. I would definitely recommend to everyone! Cristian was brilliant and helped chasing up with solicitors.
Posted 7 months ago
This is my second re-morgaging transaction with John Charcol, the service is incredible. Penny and Toni were very efficient, professional and very helpful all the way.

Look forward to work with John Charcol in the future.
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent as always from Jack and Cristian at John Charcol. Superb advice and support throughout. A very professional and efficient service, great communication and valuable guidance on products and options, ensuring it is easy to make an informed decision. Really grateful. 10/10
Posted 7 months ago
I was leasing with both Hayley & Tiara for my mortgage application. I was more than amazed with the help that was provided which went far and beyond. Really appreciate both for their support and proactiveness on this matter through out the process. Thank you both for the smooth and prompt mortgage application process.
Posted 7 months ago
Great customer service, thanks Norbert.
Posted 7 months ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,855 reviews