John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,765 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We have just come through a nightmare of a transaction with one solicitor and the lender causing so much stress, anxiety and financial loss. However, Charlotte and Tom from Charcol managed to get us through the ordeal in the end.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Professional level customer service on buy to let and residential mortgages and remortgages for about 10 years. Lawrence Bolarinwa is fantastic and the execution support from Toni Ireland extremely good, chasing agents and solicitors.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Norbert and Steph at John Charcol couldn't have been more helpful, finding solutions where others had tried (not tried) and failed. Fantastic customer service, quick decisions, great follow ups with the lenders, what more can you want. Worth every penny of the fee. We wholeheartedly recommend to anyone who needs mortgage.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Once again, John Charcol’s staff made getting a buy to let remortgage simple and good value. Great communication at all times and very efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely awful, advised my mother into an abusive financial situation with a new partner after my father died. Advised her to give up a mortgage with only £10'000 outstanding so that her new abusive partner could go onto the deeds of her property whilst she took out over £100'000 in a bridging loan to fund his own personal endeavours. Failed to ask my age and if I was a contributor to the home, their advice lost us our entire inheritance from my father's estate. Avoid at any and every cost. We will never recover from their interference and enabling of a physically abusive, financially abusive and coercive man. I am shocked beyond belief by the lack of care of two vulnerable women. Their emails and correspondence fail to address these issues even when raised and they accept a person with no legal relationship to my mother borrowing money against her property to which he has no claim. I am disgusted by this company and their employees
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi there,

We are extremely sorry to hear that your family have been left disappointed with the service and contact they've have had whilst using John Charcol.

We take every review and all feedback seriously and will use it to prevent this from happening again. As this is a review on behalf of your mother - we would like to better understand what happened and how we can resolve this for them.

Are you able to email me at marketing@johncharcol.co.uk with your mothers reference number and who they were speaking to?

Many thanks,
Katherine Sellwood
Posted 2 months ago
From the start of my application I felt Charlotte Adams was on my side! She sourced a competitive mortgage really quickly and Charlotte and her colleague Molly Blacklidge were on hand at all times chasing matters along to bring the mortgage to completion which had involved quite a delay due to the complexity involved in registering a newly converted property with the Land Registry. I'll definitely be using John Charcol in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The customer service I experienced was of the highest level and with a personal touch. I was very impressed by the wide range of knowledge I was presented. Very professional and personal experience made the whole process extremely easy and methodical. I would definitely recommend to anyone I meet.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sergio Constantatos and Fiona Allan - what a fantastic team. These guys fixed 3 mortgages for us - this allowed us to buy a forever house without selling first. These were large loans but fantastic rates from high street banks with v low fees. We avoided the need to go to private banks with 10s of thousands in fees. The process was demanding and we joked that they ended up knowing more about us than we did about each other!! Really professional and thorough advice always presented with a great sense of humour. We would recommend John Charcol , Sergio and Fiona without any hesitation. Happy days Doctors Mike and Naomi and 5 kids. !!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We had quite a complex case and I have to say that the service we received from Steve Molina, Hayley Sydes and Tim who dealt with our original enquiry has been exceptional from start to finish. If you are looking for a mortgage or loan, no matter how complex your circumstances please look no further!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The customer care given by Samantha Walker and then Scott was excellent. Stephine worked closely with me to overcome obstacles to obtaining my mortgage, kept me informed of the process, and chased lenders and solicitors frequently. A Big Thanks to all the team
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The customer care given by Jyotin Bonomallyram and then Scott Hodder was excellent. They worked closely with me to overcome obstacles to obtaining my mortgage, kept me informed of the process, and chased lenders and solicitors frequently to keep everything on track. Would highly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Location of Adviser/Client Relationship Manager Southampton
Name of Adviser/Client Relationship Manager Harry Limburn and and Maisie Ryves
Great responsiveness to queries and management of the overall process. There wasn't a time when I felt the mortgage application process stagnated. It was always in motion up until completion.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Kept chasing mortgage company and kept us informed. Really impressed with Charlotte and Chantelle
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I would like to take the chance to formally endorse Mohammed Razzak, an outstanding employee of John Charcoals. There has surely not been anyone in the history of mortgage brokerage who was as professional, efficient and courteous as Razz was when providing us with assistance. I cannot begin to praise him highly enough, and would recommend him unconditionally.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I was really impressed with John Charcol. Steve Molina and Hayley Sydes were amazing at helping me secure the loan I needed to renovate my new home. They both gave great advice and worked particularly hard to make it happen as quickly as possible
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have used John Charcol for many years with highly satisfactory results; their account management, knowledge and attention to detail is excellent. I have recommended them to friends too, who have also returned time and again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service ,fast efficient and very knowledgeable staff a pleasure to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This was the second time that I'd worked with John Charcol and in each case Sener handled the mortgage application brilliantly. Sener and Lucy were always on hand to discuss my application and were proactive in their communications with me throughout, making the whole process run smoothly despite some complications with my application. I would use John Charcol again and would recommend to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This was our second mortgage application professionally handled by Jessica with Scott's able assistance this time around. Will definitely use again and would recommend to family and friends.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Help in finding the right mortgage years ago and now in switching to a new one. Very reliable and able to understand my needs
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,765 reviews