John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,957 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My advisor, Randeep, had helped me with a couple of purchases now and has always come up with great solutions. Highly recommended.
Posted 6 days ago
Randeep was brilliant at explaining exactly what we needed to do for our remortgage and at finding us the right mortgage provider and rate. We're very happy with the service!
Posted 6 days ago
Randeep Sodhi’s service was excellent every step on the way. It wasn’t the most straightforward transaction, and he was very patient and resourceful at getting things sorted. Would highly recommend Randeep in particular.
Posted 1 week ago
This review has taken me much much longer than it should have done, but when moving in a new home life becomes hectic for a while. However, we first contacted Razz over a year ago now, and have recently (a month or so) moved into our house. I can not express enough how easy going Razz was, how quick he got things done but also how laid back he was and wasn’t pushy when we laid back on the house move in the middle of it. When we did get back in contact, he was very quick to start where we had left things. Razz is the most friendliest person throughout the whole house move I have had to deal with, things were always straight forward for him, never a worry on our side and no job was too big for him to complete for us. With being first time buyers and a young couple, there was a lot that was understood as easy on our behalf, but Razz made that very straight forward and spoke in plain English to explain a lot easier to us. Both me and my partner are overwhelmed by his help and without him, the mortgage side of things would have not been as easy, let alone the best deal we could have wished for. I for one was really impressed when we got the figures back. Towards the end of the house move things started to drag and become quite stressful, which had nothing to do with Razz, however, I contacted him with my concerns and straight away he contacted the relevant people and all of a sudden things got moving very quick and in the week we had a moving in date. I will forever recommend Razz to anyone I know who may be moving house. Thank you for the bottom of our hearts to John Charcol and especially Razz for making our lives that little bit easier, being so very friendly and just one call away on every little question or situation I had. Razz your the best at what you do and we will forever be in your debts for making a first time buyer at so much ease with everything. We both really can’t thank you enough, when some companies we used were hard work, YOU lifted a massive weight of our shoulders by working along side you! Your not only known as amazing by us but also by a lot of others I know! Thanks again! Jordan and Lee.
Posted 1 week ago
John Charcol have been absolutely amazing! As first time buyers especially in these uncertain times, we were really anxious about getting on the property ladder but our mortgage adviser Lawrence was brilliant in answering all of our questions and making sure we were comfortable with all of our decisions. Samantha was also fantastic with explaining all our options regarding insurance policies and the “serious stuff” which made the whole process much easier to understand! We couldn’t recommend John Charcol more highly and are so grateful and lucky to have their expertise during our journey!
Posted 1 week ago
As two young(ish) self-employed people, my partner and I weren't convinced the type of mortgage we were looking for was going to be possible for us. We spoke to a couple of other mortgage advisors first who weren't able to find the right thing for us, but after speaking to Sophie at John Charcoal, our minds were instantly put at ease. Sophie found us the perfect mortgage so we could buy our dream home in time to save on the stamp duty holiday. After that, Samantha dealt with the rest of the process right through from receiving our mortgage offer to moving into our new home. We couldn't have asked for more helpful advisors. I believe the service was well worth the money, and wouldn't hesitate to use them again in the future.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Really really happy with the service provided to me from John Charcol and in particular Razzak, I have already recommended them to friends and family and will continue to recommend this company to all. Professionalism was spot on and they go above and beyond to make the process easy. I was struggling to find a mortgage for a few months and after speaking with Razzak I was given a mortgage offer within under a month. Once again thank you very much for your services
Posted 3 weeks ago
John Charcol were extremely professional throughout my purchase process, I couldn’t have asked for a more responsive and efficient service. They found the right mortgage for me within a couple of days and dealt with all that comes with it at every stage through to completion, not just a mortgage advice service but a dedicated team that delivers a high quality service throughout.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Professional and friendly service from Randeep would recommend
Posted 1 month ago
Scam advisor, stay away Stay away from John Charcol, time waster and stolen my hard earned money £520 Initially, i was told, i have no pay no money till mortgage is fully approved. After few weeks, i have received a call from my broker Natasha, i have to pay £520 for survey and application fee of 199, application fee of £199 are transferable or refundable in case, there is an issue with a property. After few weeks, I received an email from her, neither of the fees are refundable. What a scam! Stay away from them. Look for better mortgage adviser. Impossible to get hold of them on phone too.
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your adviser was correct when she stated that John Charcol do not charge a fee for our advice until your mortgage is fully approved. As your mortgage has not been approved, you have not been charged your fee. With the majority of mortgages, the lender (not John Charcol) charges a survey fee and for the lender used for your particular circumstances, a non-refundable assessment fee was also charged at outset. These fees were clearly documented and provided to you prior to your mortgage application with this lender. Many thanks, Alice
Posted 1 month ago
Buying a home is stressful enough, particularly in the current climate, so it's great to know that you have someone fighting your corner. We've been very happy with the service and support we've received throughout and they come highly recommended.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks to my John Charcol advisor Randeep Sodhi, my mortgage journey has been a painless and smooth process. He has been very professional but friendly at the same time, super communicative and helpful throughout the process and kept me informed at every step. It's been a pleasure working with Randeep. I'm a very happy customer and would recommend John Charcol highly to anyone in the market for a mortgage.
Posted 1 month ago
Fantastic service from start, kept in the loop with everything
Posted 1 month ago
John @John Charcoal couldn’t have been better. Highly professional, quick response rate, accurate and timely advice. Very happy all round.
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely brilliant. It has been a very long road to finally owning my own home but Randeep has been there all along and just at the end of the phone. The mortgage process was very slick and they found me solicitors and a company who sorted out all my utilities too. Couldn’t recommend them more!
Posted 1 month ago
Chris L at John Charcol recently helped us as first-time Homebuyers. Not only did Chris find us a brilliant deal that enabled us to find our dream home, he was also very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful throughout the entire process - perfect if like us you've not done this before! 10/10 would recommend Chris.
Posted 1 month ago
Scott Barron provided an amazing service for a few key reasons. Firstly, as a Kenyan resident (ex UK), he found a product for me. This wasn't easy to find and certainly took time to get approved. Scott was constantly in touch, updating me all the time and pushing the lender for confirmation regularly. Felt like he was really taking care of my interests. I'm very grateful to Scott and the team at Charcol.
Posted 1 month ago
I have just done my second mortgage application with Scott Barron and as usual his service was first class. He has helped me outside of his normal working hours and his determination to get the best for me was faultless again. I will always use Scott for my mortgage needs. Toni was also excellent and communicated throughout professionally and made the process simple for me. Can’t recommend highly enough.
Posted 2 months ago
I would highly recommend John Charcol. Emily and Andy Cairns were brilliant! Emily was always available to explain and assist with what was not an easy situation and I am happy to have exchanged and completed on my new house. Many thanks to both of them
Posted 2 months ago
Scott Barron and Chantelle Parker were extremely helpful and communicative throughout the process. They helped me find solutions to my slightly complex mortgage situation. I would refer family and friends to Scott and Chantelle.
Posted 2 months ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,957 reviews