John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,986 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
John Charcol have been excellent brokers for us as first time buyers. The service has been clear and communicative and has helped us greatly. Harris has been marvellous.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Very helpful as always with a prompt & professional service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Very satisfied with the service. Andrew went above and beyond and always went out of his way to make sure the process went smoothly. He also kept us highly informed at each stage of the process and offered very insightful advice regarding product choice.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Really quick, clear and efficient service. Good range of product offered with good customer service throughout the process.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Excellent service...efficient, professional and polite. Recommended !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
My experience of John Charcol has been great; the customer service was excellent and very efficient. I was impressed with the quick responses I received and very grateful for the way everything was explained to me clearly.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
We were in need of a later life mortgage to achieve a move to the sea in retirement. Andrew Ireland of John Charcol gave excellent, timely service both in finding the right product and dealing with a switch in property in mid purchase. Always responsive and helpful he also helped with the specific formalities of buying a new build property. I would recommend Andrew and John Charcol without hesitation
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Very good service from Randeep. Always provided me with an update when requested one. Thank you for your hard work.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
John Charcol did manage to secure a joint borrower / sole proprietor mortgage for us, for which we're grateful, but my! What a protracted and stressful process it turned out to be! We grew increasingly concerned that the seller would pull out in view of the extended timescales: fortunately we finally received our offer just in time to meet a completion deadline set by the seller. Some of the delay was caused by the building society, for which we've raised a separate complaint. Our concerns relating to the service we received from John Charcol include: at times, no response to emails and calls going to voicemail (on one occasion, we were practically begging our broker to get in touch); lack of clear communication about the arrangement process and progress; delays in forwarding documentation to the building society (on some occasions, the building society told us it hadn't received documentation what we had been told had been provided); errors in the Mortgage Suitability Letter. Our broker voluntarily reduced the broker fee in view of the poor service we'd received but the reduction certainly wasn't enough to compensate for the stress and extra costs we incurred as a result of the extended timescales. What was very quick was the offering of additional services (insurance, moving) - but we were not inclined to take them up. And the request for payment of the broker fee was very prompt!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Neil, We’re very sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with the service provided by John Charcol. We acknowledge that this falls below our typical standard of service and we want you to be aware that we have taken everything you've said onboard to ensure that this does not happen again. We take every review seriously and we’d very much appreciate the opportunity to give you the support you need. We will be in touch with you to discuss this further.
Posted 1 week ago
Had Mortgage declined from a bank, found John Charcol online and spoke to Darren, brilliant person and guided us to a perfect mortgage @ a brilliant rate. Will definitely recommend to all family & friends.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent service. Polite, responsive and transparent about their costs. Throughout the service they have been proactive and made things happen without putting any pressure on us. Would highly recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent and responsive service in navigating an involved purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Clear, effective and proactive advice. 2 great mortgage deals in 4 years, won’t hesitate to use them again!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We have used John Charcol for years and recommended to family and friends for mortgage advice. Always helpful and will search out the best option
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We received excellent customer service from everyone at John Charcol. Our circumstances weren't straight forward but Andrew worked with us to ensure we got a mortgage deal which suited our needs. We were particularly impressed with the attention to detail early on in our conversations which ensured that the mortgage process was quick and smooth when purchasing our house. Communication has been fantastic throughout. We would definitely use John Charcol in the future and are happy to recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I dealt with Kathryn Toomer who arranged my mortgage. My case wasn't completely straightforward but Kat worked really hard to secure me an excellent deal with a high street bank and stuck with it over a protracted sale and purchase process. I cant recommend highly enoough.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scott Barron was fantastic start to finish. Him and his team couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely recommend to a friend. Thank you Scott!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Randeep Sodhi was first class. Got us a very good deal with HSBC. Worked extremely hard to get it whilst holding some other offers in the background as a reserve. Many thanks Simon
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Scott & Louise did an excellent job to get my mortgage to completion, I will come back to them in the future. Thanks again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
By giving us measured, sensible advice. By keeping in touch regularly and responding quickly to any questions. Our adviser was Lawrence Bolarinwa and he was a delight to work with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,986 reviews