John Charcol Reviews

4.81 Rating 1,151 Reviews
96% of reviewers recommend John Charcol

About John Charcol: John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in

How would you rate John Charcol?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Fantastic service from start to finish! Penny made the whole process incredibly smooth and sorted out a mortgage without any fuss. Penny also introduced me to economical solicitors and surveyors. Excellent!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 hours ago
"I'd approached John Charcol because of their national reputation, but what actually surprised me most was how personalized and friendly an experience it was, thanks especially to Andrew Bennett, who was brilliant all along: quick, clear, patient, energetic, and extremely responsive from the start, but also persistent, flexible, and good-humoured when unforeseeable complications emerged. I was also lucky to have Iain Rossi shepherding the mortgage through what became a protracted completion with striking diligence and responsiveness. A flat purchase that had looked straightforward at the start turned into one of those fairly strenuous transactions where the brokers really do earn their fee, and I was (and am!) really grateful for their help. I wouldn't even consider doing this alone now."
Helpful Report
Posted 16 hours ago
"Amazing service provided. Sarah gave us great advice, she was so efficient with sorting out our product transfer mortgage and provided us with a brilliant rate. We were updated every step of the way and it was effortless on our part, what could have been a stressful time remortgaging, it couldn’t have been made easier for us. L We will definitely be using John Charcol again! Thankyou!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Excellent service and value add proposition. JC found me a product not available without a broker which was very competitive and managed the process really well. I would recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Superman works for John Charcoal undercover name Mandeep Rai! Joke aside: Excellent service! During the process they let you know on every step, one by one. Friendly staff, efficient service, well worth for the money."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Very fast response - found a mortgage that met my requirements when a different mortgage broker that i had started with had not suggested it"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"I had the unfortunate experience of working with a very demanding and problematic lender new to both myself and JC. The total time to complete on this purchase was in excess of 30 weeks, but despite numerous issues and complications JC's communication and levels of professional commitment to driving the process forward never wavered. A massive thanks guys!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Efficient straightforward and very helpful. All the stress of finding a suitable mortgage product was removed. Thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Nicola Jones and Cristian Lupu were helpful , friendly, efficient and pro-active in arranging the right finance deal for me. This is the second time I have used John Charcol and their customer service is excellent."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I went to John Charcol because I had issue getting mortgage for an off-plan assignment of contract. Sener Topal took the case and worked diligently. He was efficient, responsive and quick to the point. Not only he helped me secure the mortage, he also helped liasing with the developer to ensure all necessary assessments done in time. He did much more than just a mortage broker (in contrast my laid back lazy solicitor was just sitting around waiting things to happen). I would highly recommend Sener and the John Charcol!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Great availability of products, sound advice & superb client service. My thanks to Matt Daley & Louise Cheatle."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"This is my 2nd time where Steven Prior has sourced the right mortgage deal for me, after a fantastic experience 2 years ago. I would whole heartedly recommend Steven to my contacts and will continue to deal with him in the future. His manner is professional, is clearly very well informed and knowledgeable and was always readily available to speak either via email or on the phone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"An absolutely fantastic service provided by Penny Mathers and Fiona Allan from beginning to end; the whole process was effortless. Penny was very knowledgeable and highly professional with a good understanding of our needs. The process was extremely smooth right upon until completion day. Highly recommend John Charcoal Ltd"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I have used them for many years and have always been happy with their service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Rob Setter has been very professional,helpful and quick to reply to any queries."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The service provided by Matthew Daly is superb. Thoroughly professional, very knowledgefull and approachable and a very nice chap. The whole transaction was very smooth with good back up from his colleagues. Matthew found a good deal as expected and has also arranged finance for me previously. Fully recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Very slow and didn’t seem able to affect the poor performance of Barclays. Other than finding a deal in the first place, very little value was added to justify a fee."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Keith,

We are very sorry to hear that you have been left disappointed with the service you have experienced with John Charcol.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and we will use it to prevent this from happening again.

One of our will be in touch with you later today to discuss this further.

Many thanks,
Katherine Sellwood
Marketing Manager
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Ajay Waroo was very informative and maintained great communication throughout. Nothing was ever too much. Highly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Penny and Fiona were brilliant from start to finish. They always came back so quickly on any emails I sent and explained everything fully to me. They went above and beyond with their service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"very good service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
John Charcol is rated 4.81 based on 1,151 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This