John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,856 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Professional and efficient service. Quick to answer although a bit pushy at times. Most importantly, I would have expected a more rounded advise, taking my needs and preferences in mind and providing a range of available options, rather than pushing for the most popular mortgage product.
Posted 8 months ago
They made us by getting a mortgage offer close to what we wanted but we weren’t happy with the way the process was handled and the poor communication.
It took 2 months to get the appropriate mortgage offer because of poor communication and poor understanding of pay scales in the NHS.
Posted 8 months ago
John Charcol was excellent sorting out a good range of mortgages for me, and ensuring that things kept moving through the purchase of our property. However, the insurances associated with this were not in place by the time we exchanged and completed our contracts, and as a result I had to spend considerable time taking out a policy directly with an insurer.
Posted 1 year ago
We are happy that we were able to arrange your mortgage, but are sorry to hear that you have been left disappointed with the insurance service you have experienced at John Charcol. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and we will use it to prevent this from happening again.

We would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you are happy to, please send your contact to our Chief Commercial Officer, Luke Somerset:
Posted 1 year ago
Very slow and didn’t seem able to affect the poor performance of Barclays.
Other than finding a deal in the first place, very little value was added to justify a fee.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Keith,

We are very sorry to hear that you have been left disappointed with the service you have experienced with John Charcol.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and we will use it to prevent this from happening again.

One of our will be in touch with you later today to discuss this further.

Many thanks,
Katherine Sellwood
Marketing Manager
Posted 2 years ago
After a very unprofessional and inept performance by one of the Charcol team, the situation was rescued and rectified by his superior, who was extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient.
Posted 2 years ago
Ok. Problem. I asked for £15,000 advance from remortgage, and due to costs I ended up £2500 less than I asked for, including you fee, mortgage arrangement fee, freehold permissions, solicitors fees etc. This should have been accounted for by my broker. That you?
Posted 2 years ago
Took a very long time to process and a lot of chasing on our part.
Posted 3 years ago
They kept us well informed throughout the entire process.
Posted 3 years ago
they didn't
(Southampton) - Posted 3 years ago
They found me the mortgage I wanted
Posted 3 years ago
Would like a little better response to emails you send instead of having to make calls as well to find out how your case is going.
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
This transaction took 3 months to complete why I don't no but I am sure there must be reasons
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
I think a bit more professional headed brokers are required, they carry the brand name and represent the company . If issues occur with the broker the customer are entitled to feedback to the company Simply Finance not the outsourced freelance broker themselves. I feel that Simply Finance need to take ownership on customer queries.
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
The transaction of remortgaging my property started with lots of energy. However, it lost momentum and took over half a year to go through.
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
Dear Christine, we received your application on 3rd September and we obtained an Offer from the lender 6 weeks after that date, having reviewed how our team managed your application I am happy with how your adviser and case handler worked your application. You instructed your own solicitors, I can only assume you are as frustrated as we are with that firm as they are certainly difficult to deal with! We look forward to helping you again in the future as and when you need us.
Posted 4 years ago
Our broker, Celeste, was excellent - very well informed and helpful. Unfortunately when the case moved out of her hands and onto the 'processing' team it was a pretty painful experience. Things moved very slowly, they didn't keep me updated with progress and I ended up having to do all of the chasing to keep things moving at the right pace - I was effectively doing the job I had paid them to do!
Posted 5 years ago
There was a lack of continuity and didn't feel I got the personal service I experienced when I last used the company. The BS confused my application leading to delays and requests for additional, not easy to provide information. Which were not questioned by staff until I raised concerns.
Posted 5 years ago
It has been ok - in fact I would rate higher but for the suggestion of using Gordon's solicitors who I did not find helpful. I have sent them a separate review. In short they overlooked an extra £500 I had to pay (unexpectedly) until the day of completion. Ok - errors happen but I then spent 45 minutes on the phone trying to get through to them to pay. This is not a one off - the previous time I had to call had a similar waiting time to get through. They also charge £0.95 to pay a bill by debit card. I can understand charges for credit cards (just!) but to do so for debit cards when you are paying £500 for their service is insulting. I would never use them again.
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Allan
Thanks for leaving feedback, we're sorry to hear you didn't feel the solicitors offered the same level of service as we do, we encourage customers to liaise direct with us where possible so that we can do the leg work with the solicitors for you (albeit this isn't always possible).

We hope the solicitors don't reflect directly on ourselves and you will continue to use us!
Posted 5 years ago
For the first time in my dealings with your company l have had to chase for an update only to find out that the new lender had not received some of the documents that were sent in one email from myself to Steve Blinman, this delayed the process by 1 week and caused an over payment to my old mortgage lender an entire month which l now have to wait for 2-3 weeks l will be out of pocket, by £926. Completion date 22/4 and the mortgage payment to the old mortgatge lender sent 20/4.Not very happy.
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Sharon
We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the completion of your mortgage application, we appreciate you have used us many times which makes this even more disappointing.
The documents you emailed Steve were forwarded on to your lender, but we were informed their scanning team had missed some pages. You will get a refund from the lender for nearly all of the £926, without wanting to pass the buck the issue with the lender not scanning your document caused the delay.
We hope you will continue to use us in the future and thank you for the feedback.
Posted 5 years ago
average service, administration costs too expensive compared to other brokers, product knowledge good. after sales service poor.
Posted 6 years ago
End result was good in that I believe a competitive deal was brokered.

Initial point of contact was excellent thereafter things wenrt downhill rapidly. As is the custom you clearly invest heavily in recruiting the best people in your salesforce. It is equally clear that once you have secured the customer the service that follows is decidedly second rate.
Posted 6 years ago
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that we managed to achieve a competitive rate for you, but I am sorry to hear you didn't have a consistent service from initial contact to completion. Our focus as a business is to provide excellent customer service and feedback like yours is much appreciated. Hence we will look into what happened on your case and arrange further training to avoid a repeat experience.
Thanks again
Adam, Compliance
Posted 5 years ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,856 reviews