John Charcol Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,855 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend John Charcol
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.94 out of 5
Read John Charcol Reviews

About John Charcol:

John Charcol is an award-winning team of independent mortgage experts who provide friendly and professional advice both over the phone and in person. We help thousands of people each year and have become one of the top mortgage brokers in the UK.

Write Your review

Tell us how John Charcol made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Having recommended a product with Godiva that had conveyancing included I subsequently discovered that my dog knew more about conveyancing than the appointed firm. I was ultimately forced to have the conveyancing carried out by my solicitor at my own cost. John Charcol were spectacularly disinterested in helping me with any redress - I can deal with this but I will never use them again.
Posted 1 year ago
I had to chase for update given the stressful process....will not use them infuture. Not great experience Sorry.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mary,

We are very sorry to hear that you have been left disappointed with the service you have experienced with John Charcol.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and we will use it to prevent this from happening again.

One of our team will be in touch with you to discuss this further.

Many thanks,
Katherine Sellwood
Marketing Manager
Posted 1 year ago
Fast to rope you in. Extremely slow to conclude a deal. I am not impressed at all with this outfit. Not enough people, not a good experience at all.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Frank,

We are extremely sorry to hear that you have been left dissatisfied with the service you have experienced with John Charcol.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and will use your review to prevent this from happening again.

Sarah Best our Head of Sales and Quality will be in touch with you later today to discuss this further.

Many thanks,
Katherine Sellwood
Marketing Manager
Posted 2 years ago
A pointless intermediary sums it up. Mortgage found was easily found on comparison websites, so they brought nothing to the table deal wise. The whole process was incredibly slow and they did nothing appreciable to improve the process. They add nothing basically, except a fee.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for commenting on your recent experience with John Charcol. We will now look to see why you felt dissatisfied with the service provided and respond to you shortly.
Posted 2 years ago
I had to chase the lender after hearing nothing back from JC, despite chasing. In the end, I managed the process directly with the lender myself. I appreciated the good rate, but I thought working with JC also meant minimal fuss/paperwork from me, it didn't.
Posted 2 years ago
Very slow, difficult to get to person who is dealing with it. Basically, I am going to be honest and would not hesitate to say that it is a legal factory.
(Southampton) - Posted 3 years ago
Whilst we appreciate your help with obtaining the mortgage I am frankly shocked that e mails regarding the mortgage where both my husbands and I would be responsible for the debt were only sent to my husband. There was only one e mail that I was copied in. My husband sent me this review our service - not yourselves!! Frankly it is oppressive to women and I'm somewhat shocked you did not e mail me also regarding the fact the mortgage went through!! You are women, you should know better and frankly I'm offended.
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
We're sorry you feel that way, however we don't feel your comments are justified. Our system can only store 1 email address for case updates, many of which are automated to ensure the fastest communication. The email entered is selected by the customer, not ourselves.
Posted 4 years ago
After sending the papers to the wrong solicitor our costs increased by £150 for the loan interest and extra solicitor time while this loan offer was sent to the correct solicitor -so not impressed at all
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
I'm really not sure what value Simply Legal added to the process.
(Southampton) - Posted 4 years ago
Not very good at keeping me updated, and everything seem to take months.
Posted 4 years ago
The person dealing with me was changed three times and i ended up chasing yourself and my mortgage company. Not happy with your service would not recommend
Posted 5 years ago
Very hard to get in touch with. Got moved between several advisors only one of which I actually met. Constantly misinformed with wrong information. Seemed very out of their depth and incompetent. Only saving grace was that they "got there in the end". To be honest felt more like by luck than judgement.
Posted 5 years ago
This company after helping me tremendously several years ago has SERIOUSLY let me down since. I had to, not only complain about them, but also take my complaint to the Financial Ombudsman for, what I felt, to be an unprofessional and unsympathetic mis selling of one of their products at a time when I desperately needed their advice. They have managed to destroy, not only my life but my trust and confidence in ever dealing with someone over the phone EVER again. I would NEVER deal with them OR recommend them to anyone else !! If you want to be sent in the right direction for what you are looking for when in financial difficulty, please DON'T contact Simply Finance !!
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you for getting in contact. We value all comments as we have been in business since 2006 and serve thousands of customers a year. We strive to provide the best experience possible for all clients at all times. We pride ourselves in trying to help and are satisfied we made all possible efforts into resolving your issue.
Many thanks
Adam, Compliance
Posted 5 years ago
John Charcol is rated 4.85 based on 1,855 reviews