Turfonline Reviews

4.6 Rating 2,824 Reviews
91 %
of reviewers recommend Turfonline
4.6
Based on 2,824 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Turfonline Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01832777111

Email:

contactus@harrowdenturf.co.uk

Location:

Harrowden Turf Ltd
Colpmans Farm
Islip

Very carefull when you buy from them , especially bulk quantities they will mix old stocks, 20 to 30 % will be old dead turf. I don't recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Shadesman seed planted 7 weeks ago. About 5% has sprouted. Followed instructions. Not good. Previously bought Shadesman turf and 30% did not survive winter, especially in shaded areas of garden!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The turf is fine but the delivery was truly shocking. We paid extra for delivery before 11 as we had someone coming in the morning to lay the turf. The turf arrived eventually at 5.15, by which time our help had long gone, so my husband and I (both retired) were out until 8.30 pm laying it! We had to call customer services on numerous occasions and didn't feel we were getting an honest answer. We only got one call back when it was nearing 5pm and we were threatening to refuse delivery. Please be aware that this is a pallet delivery and the driver could not get the load up a very small slope onto our drive, I don't think this was made clear enough.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
This company does not ship to all of the UK but currently the firm lets your order and pay without telling you that. Poor experience and I hope they make it clear soon that they do not do business in all of the UK. Broke my back preparing the lawn in time and ended up getting cancelled and having to wait days for the refund. 0/10 will not do business again. Sort it out.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Somewhat disappointed with my sedum mat, there are several totally bald patches, a clump of grass embedded in the mat and an excessive amount of small red/orange pebbles scattered across the sedum. The pebbles cannot be brushed off because that breaks and damages the sedum, so I am trying to pick them all off by hand which is almost impossible. Also the sedum had been cut in half making it only 50cm wide despite you stating that it comes as a square metre. This could turn out to be a very expensive mistake!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Philippa, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Sedum. The mats are cut to 50cm wide x 200cm long which equals 1 square metre. The red/orange stones that you mention are crushed brick. This is part of the free-draining substrate that the sedum plants are grown in and is an important part of the mats. We aim to despatch our mats with at least 95% coverage. If you would like to send some photos I would be more than happy to look at the bare patches and advise further.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Ordered both cottage garden and regular turf, booked delivery date specifically when we were free to lay the turf. It was not delivered, got phone call saying it was delayed. Cottage garden turf arrived next day but no sign of regular turf, no communication so far and not impressed with the service! Wanted the complete order to enable project to be completed at weekend as work full time! This has not happened! Would not use this company again!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Although their product is good (I bought Sedum matting), their customer service is rubbish. I under-ordered and found myself around 7 square metres short. I wanted to order this at the same rate as my first order as I considered this an extension of that order. Despite several emails, they refused and treated this as a new order, costing me £60 more than necessary. I would not order from them again. 5 stars product, 1 star service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Awful awful service and poor quality product. Ordered one pallet of 50 rolls of premium. Delivery was good but when I opened up the pallet, the top 10 rolls were torn and fell apart in my hands when picked up. As I got down to the second layer the turf was good from then on, however I clearly didn’t have enough to finish the lawn. I laid what I could as everything was prepped but had to go to the garden centre for extra rolls to finish the job, costing time and money. Contacted turfonline to explain the problem and show pictures for evidence. Waited a week and was just told ‘often it is possible to near fully utilise these rolls for the cutting in.’ Hardly the case when 20% of the rolls aren’t up to scratch. Sent a follow up email, and another follow up email 2 weeks later. It has now been 6 weeks and I haven’t heard from them and they’ve made no attempt to resolve the issue. Have actively not recommended them since, was extremely disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Every piece had sharp pieces of flint embedded in it which had torn holes as it had been lifted by the turf cutting machine. Many of the pieces of flint came out as the turf was unrolled but where they were sticking through the turf, we have done our best to remove them but are still worried others remain and will be sharp should we or our children go bare foot on the lawn. We have collected half a large bucket of large stones out of the turf.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Delivery didn’t arrive on day it was due. Staff were rude on phone. Finally arrived late. Yet to see if it will grow!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Arrived more than 24 hours late, on a broken pallet so delivery was even more delayed. All packets of soil were broken and so we lost lots of that. More troubling is that I have had no response from the company despite contacting them about this. Currently hoping the turf didn’t die while sitting in a van. UPDATE: They are now refusing to refund for any of the bags of soil which were destroyed in transit, or if the turf dies having sat in a van for 48 hours. This despite the courier admitting that the pallet was smashed, no doubt causing the damage. Terrible customer service - don't buy from this awful company, they will scam you out of money for damaged products and try to foist the blame off to anyone but themselves.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Gill - very sorry to hear this. I have looked into your order and I am afraid I can't add very much. We are seeing unprecedented demand at the moment and delivery firms have been under very high pressure as shops have re-opened. I'm sure you can see that our reviews are usually much better - but we have not done well enough for you on this occasion.
Posted 1 year ago
The grass was good quality but was very badly cut at the ends making laying very time consuming and tricky, un like other companies. When fed back they were very dismissive patronising. Shame as other wise the grass was good but would not recommend for their bad after support and not accepting their machine had been set to cut wrong even when I emailed them video of the badly cut grass roles.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Paid for 8-2 delivery and turf only turned up after 4:30pm. Called several times to get info on delivery from about 10am but was not given any info until 30 mins before delivery. Had a terrible time trying to lay turf by torchlight that evening. Received pathetic refund of just £10 for the early delivery slot. Phoned to ask for better compensation and have had no contact since. Very poor delivery and customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Well, the turf is very good when it isn’t dead on delivery. I had 2 pallets (137 rolls) of turf delivered and laid the same day, I noticed that one side of both pallets the rolls were very hot, in fact steaming. I tried to revive them and laid them and watered twice a day. 2 days later I realised that it wasn’t working so I contacted Turfonline and they told me to see what it was like in a week but by 2 days later I could see that it wasn’t going to work so I sent them photos and an email with the problem, that the pallets must have been stored over night next to a heat source. They got back to me with an email that because I didn’t contact them the same day that any replacement would be at my cost but they would do it at cost. This ending up being £2.98 a roll compared to the normal price of £3.50. No big saving. As far as I’m concerned the issue was either down to Turfonline or the transport company they use, the one person not at fault was me the customer but I’m the one who had to pay. Not even mentioning the fact I had to take another day off work a week day to lay the replacement and also fine a way of getting rid of 65 rolls of dead turf. Yes almost half of my order arrived dead. Very bad service, I used Turfonline from a recommendation of a neighbour, but I will be telling anyone who asks me to use any company other than Turfonline.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible turf!! Arrived late after paying for early delivery. 10 days down and still not rooted into the top soil and is going to brown rot at the bottom. Will have to replace the lot..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very poor delivery service - turf arrived late in the day (after delivery driver complained that he had got lost and been driving around for two hours in 30 degree heat with our turf in the back) and then delivery driver said he couldn’t get it off the van unless we had a forklift truck! Absolute chaos - Ended up having to lift each turf by hand off the truck and onto the road. I would definitely caution against using this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Turf arrived very dry on a day it was supposedly cut. Was laid on the same day however after a week the yellowish patches remain and parts of the turf are drying out suggesting they are dying out. A lot of effort was put into preparing the soil which was pre fertilised. Very disappointed to say the least.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service is awful!! Very disappointed dealing with customer service staff!! One of them has disconnected my phone call while I was still talking and explaining about my order. They’re not clear about ETA and confirmation of delivery!! Anyway , lesson learnt but so inconvenient and frustrating with my first and only order!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very bad quality. The turf was very dry on delivery and no were near the advirtised product. I am very disappointed. I want to remove them and start all over again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am laying a new lawn. I was duped by Turfonline's (Harrowden's) description of their product. Quotes like ...Highest quality, grade 1.,top 2.5%.,high quality top dressing ., nutrient rich screened loam ., can be brushed into cracks., rakes out to a smooth surface., ready for new seed, etc. The price of £119 per ton was significantly higher than average. I had bought some bagged topsoil on offer at Massams for £20 for 10 bags of 25kg. Equating to £80 per ton. This was lovely crumbly clean soil. Foolishly I thought at £119 per ton Harrowdens soil would be far superior, so I had two tons delivered. I was desperately disappointed. I spoke to a very pleasant lady called Jade who asked for photos of the debris in the load. which I duly provided. She gave me a discount of £10 per ton for the extra 2 tons I needed, and said she would follow it up. The second load of two tons that Jade said she was going to do something about , turned out to be even worse than the first load! I haven't bothered to contact Harrowdens since, but they have twice asked for feedback, which I very much doubt they'll do anything about, like the first time I politely mentioned tried. To sum up I feel, a) let down, because the quality of the topsoil was far inferior to a product at Massams. I have already removed about a bucketful of debris of various sizes, ranging from endless chippings about 20 mm long, to a piece of brick and other larger pieces of aggregate between 50 and 80mm in length. I am still removing small stones from the seeded surface. b) Somewhat cheated, because even with the discount of £20 on the second load I paid £456 for 4 tons . Massams would have provided 4 tons of topsoil for £42 per ton and £8 delivery each load of two tons. Making a total of £184. or I could have bought 4 tons of the bagged variety at Massams for £320! Ps. Recent heavy rain has exposed a plethora of sone clippings of all sizes which will be a real hassle to remove when I’m able to walk on the new grass. I'm very disappointed. Yours sincerely Tony Tame. 4 Lancaster Close, PR8 2LD Ps. Topsoil full of weeds as well
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Turfonline is rated 4.62 based on 2,824 reviews