Turfonline Reviews

4.63 Rating 2,704 Reviews
91 %
of reviewers recommend Turfonline
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Turfonline Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01832777111

Email:

contactus@harrowdenturf.co.uk

Location:

Harrowden Turf Ltd
Colpmans Farm
Islip, ,

Turfonline 5 star review on 29th April 2021
D Harman
Turfonline 5 star review on 29th April 2021
D Harman
Turfonline 5 star review on 27th April 2021
N Anderson
Turfonline 5 star review on 27th April 2021
N Anderson
Turfonline 5 star review on 24th April 2021
R Evans
Turfonline 5 star review on 23rd April 2021
J Siddons
Turfonline 5 star review on 22nd April 2021
A
501
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Every piece had sharp pieces of flint embedded in it which had torn holes as it had been lifted by the turf cutting machine. Many of the pieces of flint came out as the turf was unrolled but where they were sticking through the turf, we have done our best to remove them but are still worried others remain and will be sharp should we or our children go bare foot on the lawn. We have collected half a large bucket of large stones out of the turf.
Posted 1 week ago
Delivery didn’t arrive on day it was due. Staff were rude on phone. Finally arrived late. Yet to see if it will grow!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Arrived more than 24 hours late, on a broken pallet so delivery was even more delayed. All packets of soil were broken and so we lost lots of that. More troubling is that I have had no response from the company despite contacting them about this. Currently hoping the turf didn’t die while sitting in a van. UPDATE: They are now refusing to refund for any of the bags of soil which were destroyed in transit, or if the turf dies having sat in a van for 48 hours. This despite the courier admitting that the pallet was smashed, no doubt causing the damage. Terrible customer service - don't buy from this awful company, they will scam you out of money for damaged products and try to foist the blame off to anyone but themselves.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Gill - very sorry to hear this. I have looked into your order and I am afraid I can't add very much. We are seeing unprecedented demand at the moment and delivery firms have been under very high pressure as shops have re-opened. I'm sure you can see that our reviews are usually much better - but we have not done well enough for you on this occasion.
Posted 3 weeks ago
The grass was good quality but was very badly cut at the ends making laying very time consuming and tricky, un like other companies. When fed back they were very dismissive patronising. Shame as other wise the grass was good but would not recommend for their bad after support and not accepting their machine had been set to cut wrong even when I emailed them video of the badly cut grass roles.
Posted 7 months ago
Paid for 8-2 delivery and turf only turned up after 4:30pm. Called several times to get info on delivery from about 10am but was not given any info until 30 mins before delivery. Had a terrible time trying to lay turf by torchlight that evening. Received pathetic refund of just £10 for the early delivery slot. Phoned to ask for better compensation and have had no contact since. Very poor delivery and customer service.
Posted 7 months ago
Well, the turf is very good when it isn’t dead on delivery. I had 2 pallets (137 rolls) of turf delivered and laid the same day, I noticed that one side of both pallets the rolls were very hot, in fact steaming. I tried to revive them and laid them and watered twice a day. 2 days later I realised that it wasn’t working so I contacted Turfonline and they told me to see what it was like in a week but by 2 days later I could see that it wasn’t going to work so I sent them photos and an email with the problem, that the pallets must have been stored over night next to a heat source. They got back to me with an email that because I didn’t contact them the same day that any replacement would be at my cost but they would do it at cost. This ending up being £2.98 a roll compared to the normal price of £3.50. No big saving. As far as I’m concerned the issue was either down to Turfonline or the transport company they use, the one person not at fault was me the customer but I’m the one who had to pay. Not even mentioning the fact I had to take another day off work a week day to lay the replacement and also fine a way of getting rid of 65 rolls of dead turf. Yes almost half of my order arrived dead. Very bad service, I used Turfonline from a recommendation of a neighbour, but I will be telling anyone who asks me to use any company other than Turfonline.
Posted 7 months ago
Terrible turf!! Arrived late after paying for early delivery. 10 days down and still not rooted into the top soil and is going to brown rot at the bottom. Will have to replace the lot..
Posted 9 months ago
Very poor delivery service - turf arrived late in the day (after delivery driver complained that he had got lost and been driving around for two hours in 30 degree heat with our turf in the back) and then delivery driver said he couldn’t get it off the van unless we had a forklift truck! Absolute chaos - Ended up having to lift each turf by hand off the truck and onto the road. I would definitely caution against using this company.
Posted 9 months ago
Turf arrived very dry on a day it was supposedly cut. Was laid on the same day however after a week the yellowish patches remain and parts of the turf are drying out suggesting they are dying out. A lot of effort was put into preparing the soil which was pre fertilised. Very disappointed to say the least.
Posted 9 months ago
Customer service is awful!! Very disappointed dealing with customer service staff!! One of them has disconnected my phone call while I was still talking and explaining about my order. They’re not clear about ETA and confirmation of delivery!! Anyway , lesson learnt but so inconvenient and frustrating with my first and only order!!
Posted 9 months ago
Very bad quality. The turf was very dry on delivery and no were near the advirtised product. I am very disappointed. I want to remove them and start all over again.
Posted 10 months ago
I am laying a new lawn. I was duped by Turfonline's (Harrowden's) description of their product. Quotes like ...Highest quality, grade 1.,top 2.5%.,high quality top dressing ., nutrient rich screened loam ., can be brushed into cracks., rakes out to a smooth surface., ready for new seed, etc. The price of £119 per ton was significantly higher than average. I had bought some bagged topsoil on offer at Massams for £20 for 10 bags of 25kg. Equating to £80 per ton. This was lovely crumbly clean soil. Foolishly I thought at £119 per ton Harrowdens soil would be far superior, so I had two tons delivered. I was desperately disappointed. I spoke to a very pleasant lady called Jade who asked for photos of the debris in the load. which I duly provided. She gave me a discount of £10 per ton for the extra 2 tons I needed, and said she would follow it up. The second load of two tons that Jade said she was going to do something about , turned out to be even worse than the first load! I haven't bothered to contact Harrowdens since, but they have twice asked for feedback, which I very much doubt they'll do anything about, like the first time I politely mentioned tried. To sum up I feel, a) let down, because the quality of the topsoil was far inferior to a product at Massams. I have already removed about a bucketful of debris of various sizes, ranging from endless chippings about 20 mm long, to a piece of brick and other larger pieces of aggregate between 50 and 80mm in length. I am still removing small stones from the seeded surface. b) Somewhat cheated, because even with the discount of £20 on the second load I paid £456 for 4 tons . Massams would have provided 4 tons of topsoil for £42 per ton and £8 delivery each load of two tons. Making a total of £184. or I could have bought 4 tons of the bagged variety at Massams for £320! Ps. Recent heavy rain has exposed a plethora of sone clippings of all sizes which will be a real hassle to remove when I’m able to walk on the new grass. I'm very disappointed. Yours sincerely Tony Tame. 4 Lancaster Close, PR8 2LD Ps. Topsoil full of weeds as well
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered Jubilee turf but was sent a lower quality turf. Have emailed with pictures that show it’s is a lower quality turf but have not received a reply
Posted 10 months ago
DO MOT USE THIS COMPANY! Turf arrived and was laid within 1 hr of delivery to find it was brown & dried up it looks like like straw! There customer service is no help and infuriates you further by there inability to do anything other than play silly games and string you along email after email. There are plenty of NEGATIVE reviews read them before ordering.
Posted 11 months ago
Turf turned up at my house all dried out on the back of a lorry from a company called debach in stowmarket it was his last delivery of the day,then when I unrolled the turf a number of them had large holes in them.
Posted 11 months ago
I have not received the item so cannot make a review other than of the service
Posted 11 months ago
Bad experience , late delivery and trouble with the order office and management , will not use or recommend this organisation ever again
Posted 11 months ago
Don't buy from this company. Paid £ 120 for topsoil - it's brown sand. Usually buy from another supplier who is half the price but because needed this quickly, decided to spend the extra money. Also, the driver wouldn't come down the drive, so my 80 year old father had to wheelbarrow it 300 yards to his new flowerbed. Appalling.
Posted 11 months ago
An all round harrowing experience !! I would not recommend dealing with Harrowden Turf as my experience was truly dreadful. Ordered the product online on a Saturday morning, provided correct house name, correct street name, correct town, correct county and a postcode with one digit typed incorrectly). Phoned their sales office on Monday morning to confirm order details and advised their sales assistant to check the access on Google Maps as I was concerned about the size of the delivery vehicle. I was assured it would be fine and they would deliver to my address on the appropriate size vehicle. After calling them on the day my delivery was planned for, I was eventually advised they required an additional £40 to deliver the Turf, alternatively they would keep my prepaid £189 and I would receive no turf at all. (what a way to treat a customer). Their feeble justification for applying the additional charge was my delivery was planned on the wrong vehicle due to one digit of the postcode being wrong (despite them having the full address and me calling their sales office to check the access at the property). After several discussions with their Ops Manager I reluctantly paid their £40 charge and attempted to recover this once I received the delivery. After 6 weeks and numerous emails and tel calls with a company Director I eventually received a partial £20 refund. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever endured. It appears to me that this organisation refuse to accept any responsibility for their errors and look for any reason to apply additional charges once they have your order.
Posted 11 months ago
This was an unfortunate situation but it highlights the importance of accurate delivery address and other information. The delivery postcode is critical as it used for delivery scheduling and small errors can, as in this case, lead to a order being allocated on the wrong delivery route by a depot. We purely sought to pass on the cost we incurred from the 3rd party courier to redeliver the following day. We had no recourse to the delivery network due to the incorrect delivery address provided by the customer and as a gesture of goodwill we agreed to share the cost.
Posted 11 months ago
All ready sent review in but wrong date Turf was laid on 19th not 20th May
Posted 11 months ago
Turfonline is rated 4.63 based on 2,704 reviews