Homeprotect Reviews

4.4 Rating 2,454 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Homeprotect
4.4
Based on 2,454 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.4 out of 5
Read Homeprotect Reviews

About Homeprotect:

We specialise in non-standard insurance
We cover unoccupied homes, listed properties, properties with a history of flood or subsidence, holiday homes, second homes, landlords, people who have had past financial difficulties or convictions, larger homes with more than 6 bedrooms, homes which have lodgers or are on AirBnB and many more!

We’ll protect your property, inside and out… in minutes
Our customers have saved money and set up their home insurance online, even if they've had insurance problems in the past.

Immediate online quote in most cases, even for very complex circumstances
We quote for a wider set of circumstances online than any other insurance provider in the UK.

Take advantage of discounts
You could qualify for a discount if you buy a combined Buildings & Contents policy, if you have a No Claims Bonus or if you have specific security measures at the property.

5 Star rated buildings policies
HomeProtect buildings insurance policies are rated 5 Star by Defaqto, indicating that the policy is one of the most comprehensive home insurance buildings products available.

Useful extra cover included
Benefit from Basic Legal Expenses and Home Emergency cover included in your policy, for no extra cost.

24hrs claims phone line
If the worst should happen, call our dedicated Claims team anytime. We’ll explain what information we need from you and we'll explain what happens next.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 660 1000

Email:

marketing@homeprotect.co.uk

Location:

CI Tower, St George’s Square

Write Your review

Tell us how Homeprotect made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
By increasing premiums by 11.8%, well above the rate of inflation.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Michael, that is never our intention. We try to offer the best prices we have available. If you would like to discuss this further, we can look at bringing your price down by making sure all your details are correct. Please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 4 months ago
A good price, hence three stars, but a very tortuous process. Because I run a small business I had to speak to someone in person, which was fine, but then I wanted to compare prices before I went ahead. None of the details of my quote, including the price, were saved, waiting times on hold were dreadful, I was promised a call back which never happened, most people I spoke to were helpful when I eventually got through, but one didn't have a clue. Policy details were not emailed out straight away as promised. The whole process meant me spending most of two days queuing on the phone. Just not acceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Sorry to hear of the experience you have had that is not the level of service we would expect you to receive. I have passed your feedback onto the relevant team. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 7 months ago
I bought the policy online, for a competitive price. It’s features suited me best out of what was available. However, I found some of the many caveats could prove extremely frustrating. For example, ‘Accidental Damage Cover’ doesn’t cover accidental damage to certain items in certain conditions, or restrictions on how the contents cover amount is made up in the event of a claim - only X% can be valuables that don’t need to be individually named. It’s so irritating, especially when I know that the total value of my possessions should fall well within the total sum insured. It’s just another example of insurance companies trying to restrict payouts. I really hope that I never need to use this insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We try to be as transparent as we can regarding what is covered in your policy. Thank you for your feedback it has been passed on to the relevant team. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 7 months ago
Reasonable customer service. Price was better in first year and therefore no loyalty discount even with no claims in 30 years. Couldn't get me a better price, which is a shame.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment we do try to offer the best prices we have available each year. Thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 8 months ago
Helpful but overpriced
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We do try to offer the best prices we can thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 9 months ago
Quick efficient online application, Despite trying to call to speak with someone, I never got through. Still waiting on the insurance paper work via post Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your feedback. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I will send your documents to you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 9 months ago
Product seems fine but why no warning of renewal? First I knew was when the money was removed from my account. No e mail, no letter, frustrating.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Sorry to hear this Chris, You should have received your renewal documents via post 30 days before the renewal date. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk so we can make sure we have the correct correspondence details for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 11 months ago
There are two elements to effective work from an insurance company at the time a client requires it. First is the the communication and support offered at the primary response level. Second is the quality of subsequent refurbishment. The craftsmen and businesses employed by Home Protect are excellent. They know their stuff and and did a first class job on putting our house back together after a flood. 5 Stars to them. By comparison however, the quality of the Home Protect team at the end of the phone when you contact them is incredibly poor. Even to the point of being told in our first call that despite having a house full of water, we had no claim. I am sorry to say that the person who then dealt with later issues at customer services was even worse. I hope that these were just temporary blips from Home Protect - perhaps regular staff were isolating? Given that you normally only ring when something bad has happened to you, this is an aspect of their service that they would wish to improve. 1 star.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Really sorry to hear of the service you have received from us Chris. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk so we can investigate this. We're happy to see that your claim was dealt with swiftly and smoothly. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 11 months ago
We got there after a long phone call. It was un auto renew and despite over a week before the renew date, the monies had been taken. The customer services was unable to tell me what name was on the card used or if it was Visa etc. 30-40 minutes later she gave me this exact information and then had to get that payment back as this had caused a friend who I borrowed money from the previous year to go into overdraft which meant I had to pay that bill as well as the insurance. The customer care wasn’t up to scratch, not able to sense my distress and didn’t seem to care. We eventually got to a satisfactory end and have taken off the auto renew which I hadn’t asked for and do not have on any other services.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear of the experience you have had. I have passed this on as feedback to make sure it never happens again. I'm pleased we managed to sort things out for you. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 year ago
I’m a home protect customer but only out of necessity. The turn around from raising a request to quote and then gaining a policy is appalling. Don’t get me wrong it might not have been a straight forward case but the timeframe for the underwriter was supposed to be 48 hrs and it was more like a week.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to read of the delayed response you had Dale. I'm pleased to see all is sorted for you now. Thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 year ago
starts cheap but goes up about 10% every year despite no claims or changes.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We do try to be as competitive as we can each year. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 year ago
The service is alright, but they are a bit slow.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Rafeeq, Sorry to hear we've disappointed you. Please can you email your policy details to us at: resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and perhaps a little more detail so we can look into this further. Kind regards, The HomeProtect team.
Posted 1 year ago
Service delivered was good
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review Sandra. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Cheap, they bribing me now to do a review with some vague hope I'll win an Amazon voucher and how can you possibly know til you've made a claim? Pointless exercise .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Finger crossed you never need to make a claim Greg, but thank you for picking us to be there should we ever be needed. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Used for house insurance for the last few years. Thankfully Not had to claim yet so can't say how well they deal with claims.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fingers crossed you never need to make a claim, but thank you for picking us to be there should we ever be needed. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Service to get insurance is great. Let’s see if I actually need to use they are equally efficient :)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fingers crossed you never need to make a claim, but thank you for picking us to be there should we ever be needed. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Business conducted well.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Easy to understand & purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm glad that we could take the hassle out of insurance for you Kim. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Wasn’t happy that the rises significantly again without ever making a claim.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry if we've left you disappointed in us. I appreciate it's frustrating when your price isn't what you were hoping for, but there are lots of different rating factors that are taken into account when calculating a renewal price. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
My house insurance was easy to arrange online. I am deaf, so it is too difficult to get quotes etc online. I needed cover for a listed building, which not many insurance companies offer, and I was happy with the price quoted. However, I cannot rate the service because I haven't made a claim - hopefully I won't ever need to.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fingers crossed you never need to make a claim, but thank you for picking us to be there should we ever be needed. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Homeprotect is rated 4.4 based on 2,454 reviews