HomeProtect Reviews

4.4 Rating 2,429 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend HomeProtect
4.4
Based on 2,429 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.4 out of 5
Read HomeProtect Reviews

About HomeProtect:

We specialise in non-standard insurance
We cover unoccupied homes, listed properties, properties with a history of flood or subsidence, holiday homes, second homes, landlords, people who have had past financial difficulties or convictions, larger homes with more than 6 bedrooms, homes which have lodgers or are on AirBnB and many more!

We’ll protect your property, inside and out… in minutes
Our customers have saved money and set up their home insurance online, even if they've had insurance problems in the past.

Immediate online quote in most cases, even for very complex circumstances
We quote for a wider set of circumstances online than any other insurance provider in the UK.

Take advantage of discounts
You could qualify for a discount if you buy a combined Buildings & Contents policy, if you have a No Claims Bonus or if you have specific security measures at the property.

5 Star rated buildings policies
HomeProtect buildings insurance policies are rated 5 Star by Defaqto, indicating that the policy is one of the most comprehensive home insurance buildings products available.

Useful extra cover included
Benefit from Basic Legal Expenses and Home Emergency cover included in your policy, for no extra cost.

24hrs claims phone line
If the worst should happen, call our dedicated Claims team anytime. We’ll explain what information we need from you and we'll explain what happens next.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 660 1000

Email:

marketing@homeprotect.co.uk

Location:

CI Tower, St George’s Square

Write Your review

Tell us how HomeProtect made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I opted for home insurance from HomeProtect for my holiday home but was disappointed to have highlighted in this years covering letter that as the property was unoccupied a lot of the time that Storm or flood, Subsidence or tree roots, Accidental damage, Theft, Escape of water or oil were not covered. I will be reviewing my options next year.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment, that is never our intention. When a property is unoccupied for some time, the risk of claims occurring increases. It is common practice for cover to be restricted in these cases. Thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
I haven’t had a bad experience but have paid a lot of money for the Policy, after becoming bereaved and not confident to make a change to what is in place. Friends tell me it is double what they pay. Maybe next year I will be strong enough to negotiate.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Were sorry for your loss. we are always happy to discuss any changes that may bring your price down. Thank you Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 5 months ago
Disappointed by the price of my premium. More competitive premiums elsewhere but I was stuck because I needed stock and equipment insurance for my business. Unhelpful customer service ruined my experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Sorry to read of your disappointment Lauren that is never our intention. I have passed your feedback onto the relevant team. Thanks, Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 5 months ago
Incredibly difficult to actually arrange any cover - the referrals team actually forgot and it was up up to the customer to do the chasing. This was eventually recognised and the service from the advisor in the referral team when I did finally get to range cover was very good……just took a long time t9 get to this point.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Ian that is not the level of service we would expect you to receive. Were delighted we managed to resolve this for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 6 months ago
The First Lady I spoke with was terrible. Very unhelpful and was being very awkward on the phone. By the end of the call I had cancelled my home insurance. However a few days later I called back and spoke with a lovely male, who answered all of my questions and went over and above for me. Therefore I renewed my home insurance. The only reason I never left 1 star is because of my second phone call.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Were sorry to hear of your first experience Michelle, that is not the level of service we would expect you to receive. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk as we would like to investigate this further. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 6 months ago
Our price was hiked.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Sorry to hear this, we do try to offer the best prices available. If you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk We can contact you to look at any changes that may bring the price down. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 6 months ago
You promised a £25 Amazon voucher which I have not received. I have emailed and got no reply. I used the code emailed to me, and was a consideration when choosing this insurance. Please honour it.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Really sorry to hear this. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and we will look into this for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 8 months ago
Renewal was far more expensive than first year quote. The only way to get a reasonable quote was to input all of the information again and sign up as a new customer, which took over an hour on the phone. The person on the phone was helpful, but would have been acceptable to just have a competitive renewal quote.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We are very sorry to hear that. We always aim to offer our existing customers the best price available. Could you please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I will look into this further. Thanks, Danai at the HomeProtect team
Posted 9 months ago
Our property had an issue with subsidence due to a faulty drain. This has been repaired to an insurance companies satisfaction and we are in possession of a structural engineers report stating hat there is o subsidence and no suggestion of a future recurrence but home protect insist on a £2500 excess as there is more likely to be subsidence at the property in the future. Can any one explain their reasoning to me please
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Stuart, that is never our intention. Unfortunately as there has been a claim made, when we run the risk information through our algorithm this is the best price and excess we are able to offer. we will of course review this each year. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 9 months ago
Poor experience trying to sort something out by email. Eventually I had to resort to sending documents by post. Many emails unanswered.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment, that is never our intention. Please can you send your policy details and queries to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I will make sure any queries you have will be answered swiftly. Thank you Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 9 months ago
Sadly, my initial dealings with HomeProtect has been less than positive. I needed new cover for home insurance and shopped around for the best deal, saving the best quotes. On completion day I started the cover and changed the date to show the start date. Unfortunately, on checking the policy it had the wrong date. Here my troubles began. Trying to get through on the phone took ages and once I did manage to get to speak to someone I was left on hold. After three calls, including being cut off it was finally sorted. It was also implied that the error was mine as I had applied online. (I was careful to change the quote to the correct date) I’m hoping the service will improve.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Really sorry to hear of your disappointment Lorna, that is never our intention. I'm confident your dealings with us in the future will not disappoint you. Thank you for your feedback. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 10 months ago
Card had expired for auto renew. Changed card. Got sent emails telling me it's urgent, and texts and a letter. Sent 3 emails before someone replied that I was insured which took nearly a week with me wondering if I was insured. Not good
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm sorry to read your review, that's not the level of service I would expect you to receive and apologise for the delayed responses. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
we change the mailing address But not receive new documents Of product we purchased
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to read your review. If you could please email me your policy details and correct address and I will ensure this is updated for you. Email: resolve@homeprotect.co.uk Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Took out a policy 24th December 2020 for an HMO property, paid just over £1,600.00 in full as one payment. very poorly explained, I asked for policy details in plain English showing me exactly what I’m covered for and the booklet explaining exactly what cover I have to be posted to me. Did not receive any booklet and everything is not clear online.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear that you've not received your booklet. Please email me your policy number and I will help to get this arranged for you. Email: resolve@homeprotect.co.uk Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Policy went up and never claimed, been with this company about 10 years
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It must be frustrating but there are lots of different factors that go into calculating premiums, based on each individual risk assessment. This practice is not unique to us, but operates extensively across the industry. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Process very slick and easy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Glad that we could take the hassle out of insurance for you Nicholas. Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Impossible to communicate with. Helpdesk wait greater than 45 minutes at premium rate , no response to claim forms for updates. Little progress on claim and very hard to chase. Not what I need from an insurance company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear you're having issues with your claim Keith. If you could please email me you claim number I can escalate this for you with the Claims Team. Email: resolve@homeprotect.co.uk Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Had to give 2 stars to point out all wasn’t well. On getting insured with Homeprotect last year the premium was good but it wasn’t pointed out that they would automatically renew without informing me. As a result had to go through the rigmarole of feeling duped and having credit card company check my transactions. Complained to Homeprotect via email, which took a couple of days to answer and was told I had been sent renewal notice in the post. I don’t recall seeing that and the post is pretty good nowadays why wasn’t it an email? Irony was the premium was pretty good, I was just left disappointed that was no prior correspondence.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm sorry if there was any confusion surrounding auto renewal, it's certainly never our intention to leave our customers feeling this way. Whether a policy is taken out over the phone or online, it is stated in our terms and conditions that are agreed to, that policies are set to renew automatically. We do this to ensure that you are fully insured without a break. This protects your property and belongings in the event of having to make a claim. Your renewal documents were sent out via post to on 7 August to allow you time to make a decision. If these weren't received please do email us with your contact details and I will investigate this further. Email: email.service@homeprotect.co.uk Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
I didn’t get an email to tell me my policy was up for renew, first I knew about it was when the money came out my account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm sorry to learn about your renewal experience, we typically send communication regarding renewals in the post to customers. I'd like to understand why this has happened and see if there's anything we can do. Please email me with your policy number and any other information about this issue and I will delve into this further. Email address: email.service@homeprotect.co.uk Zoe from the HomeProtect Team
Posted 1 year ago
Classic insurance company behaviour ...pushing through double digit increases - no explanation of course - in this environment of low inflation Disappointing and shows scant respect or valuing of previously loyal customer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to learn you are not happy with the renewal premium, we do try to offer competitive renewal premiums and it does depend on numerous factors. I am happy to discuss this with you and will send you a direct message to your email address. Kind regards Mona
Posted 2 years ago
HomeProtect is rated 4.44 based on 2,429 reviews