HomeProtect Reviews

4.45 Rating 2,300 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend HomeProtect
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.35 out of 5
Read HomeProtect Reviews

About HomeProtect:

We specialise in non-standard insurance
We cover unoccupied homes, listed properties, properties with a history of flood or subsidence, holiday homes, second homes, landlords, people who have had past financial difficulties or convictions, larger homes with more than 6 bedrooms, homes which have lodgers or are on AirBnB and many more!

We’ll protect your property, inside and out… in minutes
Our customers have saved money and set up their home insurance online, even if they've had insurance problems in the past.

Immediate online quote in most cases, even for very complex circumstances
We quote for a wider set of circumstances online than any other insurance provider in the UK.

Take advantage of discounts
You could qualify for a discount if you buy a combined Buildings & Contents policy, if you have a No Claims Bonus or if you have specific security measures at the property.

5 Star rated buildings policies
HomeProtect buildings insurance policies are rated 5 Star by Defaqto, indicating that the policy is one of the most comprehensive home insurance buildings products available.

Useful extra cover included
Benefit from Basic Legal Expenses and Home Emergency cover included in your policy, for no extra cost.

24hrs claims phone line
If the worst should happen, call our dedicated Claims team anytime. We’ll explain what information we need from you and we'll explain what happens next.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 660 1000

Email:

marketing@homeprotect.co.uk

Location:

CI Tower, St George’s Square

Write Your review

Tell us how HomeProtect made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
You only know how good a company is when you have a claim. I used their 24hr claims line but was told they don't have authority to approve any work. I phoned them at 7:30 am and was told they would contact me during office hours. It is now 12:30 and no call. I tried calling their claims line again (using different phone) and have been on hold for 3 hours. Today is possibly an exception due to last night's storm But I have a dangerous roof with loose tiles that could blow off at any time. I tried emailing but their reply states a 2 day timescale. Roofers are very busy in area and I was hoping my insurer could help me. Very frustrating (and dangerous).
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I have a house policy with you ,l had a email saying my policy was coming to a end and would be renewed on the date The next was the money was taken from my bank with no paper work or email to confirm my payment and my new policy. That was a month ago now today had a email asking me to enter a draw for results of your service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I received no notice of renewal at all. The first that I knew of it was when I saw the sum charged in my bank statement. I don't regard this as adequate.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Were sorry to hear of your disappointment Peter that is never our intention. We do send your renewal invite 30 days before the renewal date. If you could send your correspondence details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk we will be able to confirm that we have the correct details on file. Thanks, Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 week ago
I wish I had checked prices with other insurers as they are very expensive this year and I just let it roll on , it seems there is no loyalty with staying with them , I definitely won't be with them next year for my building insurance nor will my wife who pays for the contents lnsurance
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Were sorry to hear of your disappointment Greg that is never our intention. We do aim to offer the best prices we can each year. If you need to make any changes to the policy that may bring the price down please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and well be more than happy to help you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Contacted customer services 3/4 weeks in advance, as I was going to be away at renewal. No information about renewal was available. Representative said she would arrange for documents to be sent by email instead of post nearer the time. This never happened. Consequently I was forced to allow auto-renew to go ahead, and accept the usual loyalty price-hike.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment that is never our intention. I have passed your feedback onto the relevant team and emailed your documents to the address we have on file. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 3 weeks ago
New customer, clear and easy to use through comparison site. However, after reviewing the reviews I will hold judgment and then decide to move if need be. Sounds like existing customers get no rewards
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are positive you will not be disappointed and will amend this review to a 5 star! Thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
how can my price rise from £177 pm to a renewal of £476 no claims were made
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Vernon, we do try to offer the best prices available each year. If you could send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk we could discuss if there are any changes that will help bring the price down. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
needed two phone calls,repeating same information.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sorry to hear this! I hope we answered your queries for you. If you would like to speak to somebody please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I will ask somebody to contact you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
ACOID!!! Incompetent and don’t deliver on promises - a miserable experience. I raised a claim for the first time having been insured with them for nearly 7 years and not once did they do what they said they were going to do. I had to constantly chase for updates, despite assurances that they would get back to me (which they never did) and the whole thing has dragged on and on. Customer Service is very polite but simply not able to do their job within their own target response times.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Really sorry to hear this Chris, please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk as we would like to investigate this further. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
I have been a policy holder with you for years. I have had problems with storm damage and each time I get fobbed off with some nonsense about the storm not being wet enough or the wind speed fast enough. Your claims handling makes me feel cheated. I only stay with you as your rates are cheap, presumably because you have such strong claim handling skills. As I have had to replace my roof at my own cost I shouldn’t have to make any more claims for storm damage and fingers crossed you will cover me if I have a claim in future, but I live in fear. I am far from being a satisfied customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Chris that is never our intention. If you would like this investigated further please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co,uk. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 1 month ago
AVOID-AVOID-AVOID-Terrible company, they have caused myself so much stress with all their lies. Said put contactor/builders out to my home with a surveyor which I did not see. They excused myself of false allegations and adviced me to stop making these. When I sent them emails of proof I received an email back - apologies for any confusion 🤷‍♀️. I still have a damaged roof to storm damage which I was covered for but they claimed it was not storm damage. AllTradesLtd builder/contactor and surveyor said no its not due to storm damage. THEY DID NOT ATTEND MY PROPERTY AND HAVE PROOF OF THIS😡. I Cannot let this go and will not let it go as I know I am in my rights with this claim. Nobody should have to go through the stress of any company ripping them off, they took my money monthly without fail.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Lydia, Sorry to hear of your frustration. I can see you have received a Response letter from our complaints team if you are not happy with the response there are further steps for you to take which are detailed in the letter you have received. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 2 months ago
I would be nice to know what your paying insurance for. I.e key insurance. And no help during National lockdowns
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sorry to hear this Carl, please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk as we would like to put this right for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 2 months ago
Took my deposit, then took full payment, no refund yet of my initial deposit despite Two e.mails. Quite disappointing service to be honest
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Really sorry to hear this Alun, that is not how we like to operate. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk as we would like to put this right. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 2 months ago
I'm not a serial insurance claimer, in fact I can't remember the last time I did claim on my buildings insurance. Having said that at times there is a need to do so and having been insured by Home Protect for 2 years I called the claims helpline. They were only concerened with information that could invalidated my claim, did not request photo evidence of the damage or want to visit site. The true test of an insurance company is when a customer needs to claim for legitamate damage. If I could have given no stars I would have. My advice would to be read your documents very thoroughly. I will not be renewing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment that is never our intention. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk as we would like to look into this for you. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 2 months ago
I find it very confusing that we have to remember to login to a site to find even our renewal details for house insurance. This makes it easy to make 2 mistakes. 1. Miss our renewal date 2. Make it virtually impossible to find policy details when you or your family need them 3. Think you haven’t got house insurance and pay twice. Why don’t,t you send an email that clearly states house insurance was purchased and the date it was. This would mean a simple email search would reassure you that your up to date. I have just spent an hour trawling through every record I can think of to find a record of my insurance. Even my bank debit payment doesn’t say clearly house insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Sorry to hear of your frustration Simon. We do send your renewal documents via the post up to 30 days before your renewal date. If you would like your documents emailed to you please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I will action this for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 3 months ago
Dreadful. Happy to take your money for years but make every effort to refuse a claim when it comes down to it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Mark, that is never our intention. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk so we can look into this. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 3 months ago
My experience with HomeProtect has been awful. I would highly recommend you look at reviews from customers that have unfortunately needed to actually make a claim with this company and have felt lied to and have been left with a disaster on their plate. HomeProtect policies are distrustful and they will try and obstruct your claim. Avoid wasting your money here at all costs and find another company pronto!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Were sorry to hear of your disappointment Emma it is never our intention. We try to be as clear as possible in our policy wording regarding what is and is not covered. Thank you for your feedback. Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 4 months ago
I cancelled my automatic renewal in July last year, the company failed to process this and took the money. You state calls are recorded but they are not on withheld number. This is the excuse and covid as to why u can't track the call. Do not trust this company
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Sorry to hear of your disappointment Laura. Please can you send proof of cover elsewhere to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and we can look at resolving this for you. Thanks Angela.
Posted 4 months ago
No information about lost keys how can all keys be insured when. They only give you one fob
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Sorry to hear this Albert. Please send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and I can look into this for you. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 4 months ago
No toilet for over 15 hours. A bath full of sewage and still not resolved. Constant phone calls and apologies but no resolution. Lost a days work today, absolutely disgraceful service. Stressed out beyond words. 😡😡😡😡😡
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Really sorry to read of your disappointment Tara, that is never our intention. Please can you send your policy details to resolve@homeprotect.co.uk and ill make sure someone contacts you as soon as possible. Thanks Angela at The HomeProtect Team.
Posted 5 months ago
HomeProtect is rated 4.45 based on 2,300 reviews