Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.81 Rating 9,324 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packagingM as well as pioneering vegan milk and white chocolate...among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Email:

sales@friars.co.uk

Location:

6-8 Main Street, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
First time buying from friars. Purchased 4 items as gifts. One arrived damaged and was replaced but missed the birthday I’d planned it for. Can’t say I’m that impressed with flavours. I’d rather hotel chocolate , won’t be using again I’m afraid as expensive and disappointing
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello Jayne, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and that one of the products was received damaged. We are pleased that this was able to be sorted for you but apologise that this did miss a birthday. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 weeks ago
Two problems. At check out there was no confirmation that the transaction had taken place, therefore i commenced the procedure again, ending up with two orders for the same item. The optional gift tag was disappointing, folded untidily, and the back looked like an invoice. No point whatever in offering this option.
Posted 1 month ago
The chocolates are purchased for a gift so have not been eaten yet. Was disappointed that I emailed to find out if overseas delivery was available and unfortunately my email was not answered.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Heather, thank you for your review. We do apologise that your email enquiry about overseas delivery was not responded to. We have followed this up with our sales team who have checked their email folders and could not find any emails using your email address they have on your order. We currently do not dispatch outside of the UK and do apologise for any disappointment this may cause. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
The chocolates are lovely but so expensive. “A pound a blob” as my husband said.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the product. We do state the weight and quantity of the product on the listing to give customers an idea. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Chocolates were tasty however there was not any indication what the chocolates in the box actually were. This meant pot luck which was not helpful
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Keith, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We do provide a menu of the product on the listing to give customers an idea and in the description it does say "We don't include a chocolate menu as traditionally a box of chocolates was an experience for the senses, where every bite is a surprise.". We are however looking into having this implemented as a way forward. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Nice chocolates but couldn’t taste any rum so slightly disappointed.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello DM Scrase, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Your feedback is important so we will pass this on to our production team. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Own brand chocolates very good,but less keen on the quality of the Kokoa brand that I bought, which were a bit "meh"
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Alan, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Never, never, never will I write a solicited review for anything. You'll be the first to hear if I have any complaints, however.
Posted 3 months ago
Afraid we weren’t too keen on these vegan chocs , slightly odd flavour- maybe it was because they were milk - my daughter thought the dark ones would have had a better taste
Posted 3 months ago
poor quality chocolate
Posted 3 months ago
Purchased the Vegan Iconic Easter egg. It cost about £27.00, without shipping. this comes with 6 truffles & a small chocolate block. The egg itself had strange odor. Kind of like crayons. The chocolate had a strange texture & didn't taste great. The truffles were much nicer & the chocolate bar (salted caramel flavor) was okay I guess. Wouldn't recommend & wouldn't buy again. There are definitely tastier options out there at a similar (if not cheaper) price point.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. We will however, pass your feedback on to our supplier. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Prompt delivery of g together usual excellent quality chocolate, so why just 3 stars? Sadly both eggs in my order were broken on one side - very little thought given to the packaging which was one layer of thin bubble-wrap between the egg and the bottom of the box. On top of the eggs was plenty of scrunched up paper - a shame that this wasn’t on the base too, then they would have been properly protected against shock. The telephone customer service team was however excellent and arranged a swift refund of the cost of the eggs and express post. Given the poor packaging, I would hesitate buying fragile items from Friars again, and only order normal chocolates.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We are glad that our sales team were able to resolve the issue of the broken chocolates for you, however, we will have a chat with our packing team to ensure sufficient packaging is used to protect the products. Again, we are sorry for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
The Dark chocolate cherry liquors and they are delicious. I also ordered a box of marzipan chocolates, which I found disappointing. The balance between almonds and sugar is not right. There is way too much sugar so it doesn't have the right texture and it doesn't taste enough of almonds.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the marzipan chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Can't review these myself, because sent as a present. Think they enjoyed them.
Posted 3 months ago
The products are very good but the packaging is so disappointing when you intend to give the items as gifts etc The KAKOA vegan peanut butter truffle eggs 72g look so cheap and basic in the pack, they were bought to give for Easter, I would not buy again to give to someone as a gift in this wrappings
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Allan, thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and we will pass your feedback on to our packaging team for a way forward. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Presentation was great but eggs still came cracked into pieces despite being made of thick chocolate. I needed them to be in half size as displayed for a recipe so didn’t really go as planned. Also service was very prompt.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Hayley, thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and we are sorry for the condition your chocolates arrived. We will bring this up with the production and packaging team for a way forward. Again, we do are sorry for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Got these as they were gluten free - spoilt by a thick coating of cocoa powder. For us just gave us an overall cloying taste of power masking flavours of the chocolate. Took ages to source quality chocolates gluten free but don't think I will buy again
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Denise, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. We will however pass your feedback onto our supplier. Again, we are sorry for any disappointment caused. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
To expensive for the amount of chocolate you get also they are not egg shaped. They are half egg shaped.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello David, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the item. We do list the weight, quantity and include an image of the product but perhaps we need to put more in the description to give customers an idea of the product, this will be addressed. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Chocolate arrived safe and sound, but I am a little disappointed at how expensive the products are for the quantity purchased. I will be splitting the items to make gift boxes for Easter, as individually they appear very minimal.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Diane, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the products your ordered. We do state the weight, quantity and dimensions of the product where possible on the listings to give customers an idea. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Chocolates were absolutely fantastic but the packaging that they came in could be a lot better
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Michael, thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and we will pass this on to our production team for a way forward. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.81 based on 9,324 reviews