Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.79 Rating 3,112 Reviews
95% of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk

About Friars.co.uk: Friars is a family business specialising in luxury chocolate and unique gifts. Since 1927 the business has evolved from a gift shop/cafe to a specialist chocolate and gift store.

Our online business was launched in 2010 and more recently we have opened a second ‘Ye Olde Friars’ high street store in Ambleside to support our flagship store in Keswick.

Our gifts are designed in house so you will not find them anywhere else. We want to make it easy for you to be original, so you can give gifts that taste and look amazing and will be remembered.

We love new products (perhaps because we get bored easily!), so every Valentines, Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas we launch a new range. It certainly keeps us entertained and hopefully our customers interested.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
97%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
5.00 out of 5
"Ordered 10 tasters only received 9 emailed Friars but still waiting a reply Friars will never receive another order from me and I will never recommend to anyone"
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Jayne,
Thank you for your message, we are very sorry you haven't received your order or had a response to your email. We have checked our emails it doesn't appear that we have received your original email. We have sent you a private email if you could let us know what is the best option for yourself.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 weeks ago
Visit Website
"The chocolate console control gift was out of it sell by date on delivery. I was very disappointed with this level of service. Although the customer service was very quick to rectify the issue."
Posted 3 months ago
We do apologies for this error; we have now put more steps in places to rectify this error so it avoid this happening again in the future.
Sorry once again
Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
"Disappointed by the size it was pathetic for the price"
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed in the size of the large sheep however, we do state the weight and height of the product on the listing, to give an idea of the size of the product. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
"Shocked at the size of the tractor !!! Thought it would be twice that size !!"
Posted 4 months ago
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed in the size of the tractor however, we do state the weight and dimension of the product on the listing, to give an idea of the size of the product.
Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
"Ordered a gift and upon visiting the recipient discovered the wrong item had been sent. Exceptional disappointment"
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Sally,
We're sorry that your order was packaged incorrectly and for the disappointment that was caused by this error.
We have sent the correct item, along with an apology to the recipient and we will let our packing team know of this issue to ensure that this type of error does not happen again.
Kind Regards
Posted 6 months ago
"Just placed an order for 4.20 and the cost of postage 3.95 no warning till it went through! Outrageous price for postage!"
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Kim,
I'm sorry that you found the delivery charge to be high. The delivery charge and product costs are broken down on the summary page of our website prior to proceeding with payment for orders so that our customers are fully aware of what they are paying for.
We monitor our delivery charges to remain competitive with other online retailers and they are reviewed on a regular basis.
If you wish to cancel your order, please contact us directly and we can arrange this for you.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 6 months ago
"I paid for Next Day delivery and that obligation wasn't fulfilled."
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Linda,
I'm sorry that your parcel didn't arrive as it was supposed to the following day. On looking into your order, I can see that it was delivered a day later than expected. In light of this, I will refund your delivery charge in full and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this error.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 6 months ago
"Terribly overpriced! Absolute rip off, just because they are sugar free. Disgraceful exploitation!"
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Michael,

I am sorry that you were not happy with the price of the chocolates you purchased. We do state the weight and quantity of chocolates on the website listing to ensure customers know what they are going to receive. Unfortunately the no added sugar chocolates do tend to be more expensive due to the process required to make them. You can return the order for a refund if you wish, the return address will be listed on your invoice.

Regards,
Friars Customer Service.
Posted 7 months ago
"My chocolates arrived and they had obviously been left somewhere warm as they had part melted A real disappointment In the past everything I have purchased has been perfect"
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Tony,

I am sorry that the chocolates arrived melted, this must have happened during transit as we do not have any direct heat sources anywhere near where the chocolate is stored. If you could please contact us directly we will resolve this issue for you.

Regards,
Friars Customer Service.
Posted 7 months ago
"I have not recv my order yet S.cranfield"
Posted 8 months ago
Hello,
I have looked into your order and can see that a delivery attempt was made 2 days after your order was dispatched but there was no answer at the time. Your parcel is currently showing as being prepared for redelivery following a response to the red card that was left at the delivery address by Royal Mail.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 8 months ago
"Extremely disappointed. Very overpriced for what you get. Considering the weight, the postage is also very high. Would not buy again."
Posted 8 months ago
Hello Peter,
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your purchase from us. The price of some of our chocolates have recently had to be increased to cover the increasing cost of cocoa. Our postage charges are monitored on a regular basis and we try to remain competitive with other online retailers.
If you wish to return the goods, please contact us directly and we will be able to advise you on how to do this.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 8 months ago
"Paid for next day delivery, it was for a friend’s birthday. Item arrived broken, too late for an exchange. Waste of money."
Posted 9 months ago
Hello,
I'm sorry that your chocolate tractor was broken on arrival. We always like to know if our products don't arrive in the perfect condition we would expect them to and I will pass on your feedback to the packing team to ensure this doesn't happen again.
I will refund your order in full by way of apology.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 9 months ago
"Terrible plastic chocolate, the fillings all taste the same. I have had better from a supermarket."
Posted 9 months ago
Hello,
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you ordered from us. The floral creams are made with Belgian chocolate and we have had very few negative responses to this particular product. Due to the way these chocolates are produced in batches, the flavours can vary from time to time.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 9 months ago
"I would like to know when the "gold taste award" was given to the floral chocolates, I feel its a valid question? As you point out in replies that; These chocolates are a previous winner of the Gd Taste Awards, how old exactly is that award? Thanks"
Posted 9 months ago
Hello Summer,
The floral creams were awarded the Gold Taste Award in 2010 and the confectioners were also awarded the Gold Taste Award for their products.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 9 months ago
"All I can say is I am disappointed. The photo on the sales site shows a glass with the hamper. 5 cans of beer and a packet of crisps for £25 is not food value for money. I will not be using Friars again."
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Mark,
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the craft beer hamper you ordered from us. The description on our website listing details what is included in the hamper, however, we will add a disclaimer on our listing to state that the glass is not included, so as to avoid any further confusion.
If you would like to return the hamper for a refund, please contact us directly and we will arrange this for you.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
"I bought what I thought were bars of no sugar added chocolate from Friars (as they were advertised on their website) but when I received them, the milk chocolate bars were labelled low sugar."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Su,
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your purchase from us. Our no added sugar chocolate products are made without refined sugars being added and are sweetened with natural alternatives. However, they do contain naturally occurring sugars, as stated in the description and ingredients list on our website.
If you wish to return the items for a refund, please contact us directly and I will arrange this for you.

Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
"I am still waiting delivery!!"
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sandie, I'm sorry that your parcel didn't arrive as expected due to an error with the delivery address. As you have contacted us directly, this has now been resolved and your parcel will be resent on 08/05/18 when collections with our courier recommence after the Bank Holiday.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
"The chocolates looked amazing, however they tasted artificial, stale and no flavour, completely disappointing , only ordered as love the coffee flavour but unfortunately very little coffee in chocolate!"
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Lucie,
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. The Coffee Collection is our most popular chocolate box and we sell a lot of them. With regards to the flavours, the chocolates are handmade in small batches, so the flavours may vary from time to time. I can assure you that all of our chocolates are fresh as they are produced on a regular basis due to the popularity of this box and they are made without any artificial flavourings.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
"Extremely disapointed. I paid a premium so the delivery would come in time for a birthday gift however it was delayed, really frustrating after the additional cost I paid for this to come in time. I highly suggest reviewing internally to understand how this would happen, particularly as an expensive additional cost is paid for early arrival. Thanks Lydia"
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Lydia,
I'm sorry that your parcel didn't arrive when expected. I will look into this further and inform our dispatch team of the issue you have encountered so that we can resolve any further potential delays.
I understand that you are unhappy, as you paid extra for a service that you did not receive and I will refund your delivery charge in full by way of an apology.
Thank you for highlighting this issue to us and I hope that we can resolve it satisfactorily.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
"The cherry liqueur chocolates I have been buying since last autumn are delicate and on 3 occasions arrived damaged in the post. First 2 x Friars apologised and replaced promptly. Third time Friars offered refund but "not prepared to post any more of these to my address"... ever. I am blacklisted from purchasing this product. Friars tell me they think the sorting office is to blame as they must mis-handle them and it seldom happens anywhere else. The chocolates are not marked fragile and I am told this is because that would be a pointless exercise. It the first time my custom has ever been refused because I have been unfortunate enough to receive damaged good on 3 occasions. I have photographs of the box I just collected from the post office and you can clearly see how the contents of the cherry chocolates has leaked. Told I am welcome to purchase the chocolates on the shop in Keswick. Great ... as I live in Newcastle. Furious and will never purchase anything from Friars again."
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Lesley,
As explained on the phone we send 100s of these out a year and a small minority do get damaged. To have them break on 3 occasions is unprecedented. We have no doubt that they did indeed get damaged in transit but there seems little point to continue to send goods in the knowledge they are highly likely to be damaged in the post.
We pride ourselves on our customer service but feel we couldn't continue to supply you with this specific product.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 1 year ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.79 based on 3,112 reviews