Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,948 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 20th February 2021
Claire Rushton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th February 2021
Marc Richardson
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th January 2021
Julie Vlacos
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Sally Harris
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Linda OBrien
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I didn't like the chocolates at all, they tasted like cooking chocolate. I far prefer Hotel Chocolat's range, which are tastier, far cheaper, and more variation in flavours/textures in their vegan range. These Kakoa chocolates are overpriced, bland and not my kind of vegan chocolate.
Posted 1 day ago
Hello Wendy, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 day ago
\Your advert says items 'in stock' but they aren't in stock but unavailable.
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Barbara, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you could not find what you were looking for. Please could you contact our sales team directly either by telephone or email and they will be more than happy to assist you so that this can be rectified. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
Bought what I thought were traditional chocolate lacquers for my Wife for Christmas. They arrived promptly and looked nice in their wooden crate.... Job done! Alas, imagine my disappointed when my wife spat the first one out saying it was horrible. Oh well... maybe they'll get consumed during a summer bbq.
Posted 1 month ago
I cannot write this review because the goods have not yet arrived!
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Robert, we’re sorry you have not received your order yet. We have checked the Royal Mail tracking and do see this was last updated on the 7 December 2020. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
I haven't received my order
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, we are sorry to hear you have not received your order. We have checked your order and do see it was dispatched on the 5 December 2020 and also checked the Royal Mail Tracking information which does say the parcel was delivered on the 8 December 2020. If you would like to contact our sales team so that we can look into this for you. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
My goods arrived packed in a box so small that the chocolates had to be laid on their side - one or more had leaked and a good proportion of the sprinkles had fallen off, they mixed with the liqueur which had leaked out of the box and rendered the whole a filthy mess - certainly not a a presentation acceptable for a Christmas present. I expect you will wish to replace the goods - suitably packed - at your earliest convenience and at your own expense in time for Christmas
Regards Trevor Cross
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Trevor, we’re sorry for the condition you received your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. Please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email so they can get the issue resolved for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Very disappointed at the quality of chocolate.
Posted 2 months ago
The product looked like it came from a pound shop.
I would be embarrassed to give it as a gift.
High end price for low end product.
Very disappointing. Won’t ever buy from them again.
Would not recommend.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Joanne, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the product. We do list the weight of the product, quantity and include an image but perhaps we need to include the dimensions also, this will be addressed. Again, we are sorry that you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Extremely disappointed with purchase.
Not worth the money.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Teresa, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. If you would like to return your order please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Not good I’m afraid, I haven’t received the goods I ordered, and you haven’t replied to my email asking where the goods are.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Neil, thank you for your review. We are sorry that your order has not arrived. We will pass this on to the sales team to make sure this is resolved for you. Again, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Happy to write my review.i have not received my order
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Evelyn, sorry to hear you have not received your order. We have checked your order and do see it was dispatched on 21 October 2020 and have also checked the Royal Mail Tracking information which does say the parcel was delivered on the 23 October 2020. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can investigate this for you further. Kind regards Friars Customer Services.
Posted 4 months ago
Very expensive chocolate. £1.40 each over the top
Posted 4 months ago
Hello William, thank you for the review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the price including the postage of the Vegan Dark Side Hazelnut Truffles. We do state the weight, dimensions and price of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Coffee chocolate disappointingly light in coffee flavour. Can’t see myself repeating the mistake of purchasing.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Chris, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Customer service was excellent, but the product received was a complete rip off! Basically I received a box of packaging with some tiny items wedged in between. It was a disgrace for the money, hence it was returned. To be fair, when I did, the contact was apologetic and very helpful
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Julia, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the product you received from us. We do list what is included with the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size. We have passed your feedback on to our packing team for consideration. Again, we do apologise that you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Dreadful delivery service which took a week. We tracked it over that time and it was sent to Knowle then Birmingham before getting to Nottingham.
Also, we ordered online via what we thought was the Thornton’s website and were surprised that it defaulted to you - we assumed that you must be part of Thornton’s and initially complained to them!
Posted 4 months ago
Hello David, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you were disappointed with the delivery service. We have checked your order and the Royal Mail tracking information and noticed that the post code for the delivery address is the same as the billing address even though the delivery address is different. This is what may have caused some confusion for Royal Mail but pleased to see that they were still able to get your parcel to you. With regards to Thornton's, we have no affiliation with them and not sure how you were defaulted to our website if you were on theirs. Again, we do apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
The chocolate arrived smashed at the corner i was unable to use as a gift
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Grainne, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order and your order arrived damaged. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Disappointed at the quality of chocolate in comparison with the price, very badly matched, i was looking for a quality chocolate other than Hotel Chocolat, i ordered 3 packs, which with delivery cost £20 for 18 chocolates, i still have 17 chocolates and went and brought a toblerone, i contacted friars customer service.......service? if thats what you can call it, was told if i didht like them send back the unopened ones, that will make them even more expensive so guess there'll make a stocking filler instead.
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Bonita, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Our sales team would have been more than happy to refund you for any of the returned unopened packs. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 5 months ago
The product was amazing but I paid for next day delivery which was more than the chocolates..I got them in two days..very sad as this let them down
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Peter, thank you for your review. We are glad you were pleased with the product and do apologise about the misunderstanding about the next day delivery. We do have a cut off of 3pm which is in our terms and conditions. We have checked your order and do see that unfortunately this was made after 3pm. Your order was dispatched the next day and delivered the following day. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 5 months ago
Very disappointed, chocolate was dull and dusty, and tasted stale, seemed to be well over edible stage and quite honestly not fit for consumption!!
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Sally, we’re sorry you were disappointed with the chocolates you received. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 5 months ago
I haven’t even received my parcel yet! So I can only comment on things so far, which are rubbish!
Posted 6 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,948 reviews