Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.81 Rating 9,324 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packagingM as well as pioneering vegan milk and white chocolate...among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Email:

sales@friars.co.uk

Location:

6-8 Main Street, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
On 28th July 2021 Purchased 14 packs of Truffles for a Special Occasion and was sorely disappointed to find the Best Before Date on 7 of the products expired End of August 2021. This makes me feel, product will not be at their freshest.
Posted 1 day ago
Hello Mrs Burns, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and the expiration date on 7 of the products. The truffles you purchased are on a special and the best before date is included on the listing to make the customers aware. We do apologise if you missed this. You are more than welcome to return any unopened items for a refund. Again, we are sorry you are disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
Weren’t tasty at all presentation poor too I should have got a refund but can’t get out of the house total disappointment
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Jane, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 month ago
THe box was much smaller than I expected and the middle section of chocolates had all collapsed into mush. Also you could hardly taste the ginger in these chocolates. A really disappointing gift to my dad for his birthday.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Sheila, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight, quantity and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size. If you could also please contact our sales team directly either via email or telephone with regards to the middle section of the chocolates that had collapsed into mush so that this issue can be resolved. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
The chocolates I had ordered as a birthday present to my wife never arrived; instead I received a black cardboard box in which I assumed were the chocolates, but when I opened it later, discovered that it contained a large packet of male urine-absorbent pants. I could not get in touch before because I had unwisely deleted all our previous e-mail correspondence Anthony Paish
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Anthony, we are very sorry you have not received your order and are rather concerned by what you say you have received. We have checked the Royal Mail tracking information which does say your parcel was delivered on 26 May 2021. Although our chocolate boxes are black we do not dispatch them in a black cardboard box but use standard brown postal cardboard boxes. Please could we ask that you do contact our sales team directly either via phone 017687 72234 or email so that your issue can be resolved. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
I got these for a present I had to go out and get some ordinary milk tray.i have a disability so it was hard to get ready and go out.it looked very poor when I got them.didnt know each chocolate was?
Posted 2 months ago
Hello David, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were dissappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We do provide a description on the listing along with a photo of a menu to give the customer an idea of what they will be purchasing. The description does say "We don't include a chocolate menu as traditionally a box of chocolates was an experience for the senses, where every bite is a surprise." Your feedback is important so we will pass this on to our production team. We are however looking into having a menu included with the product. Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
didn't like them made poorly didn't look good.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Robert, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Why do you only post the pathetic glowing reviews and not the negative ones
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Kevin, thank you for your feedback. We do not hide reviews as we do believe that all feedback is important and that a balance is kept. We will however have a look into this. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Despite ticking the unsubscribe box on every email which is invariably ignored, I have been deluged with adverts since I made the mistake of buying some at Easter. Nothing will stop them. BE WARNED!
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review, we do appreciate all feedback and we do ask if you could please get in touch with sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
I really hoped for the best but am just very disappointed about the taste. It was good service, the chocolates look delicious. With packing two small packs cost me £15 but I was so struck by the idea that I could buy vegan chocolates that looked like those from a normal selection box, for the first time in 20ish years (I am dairy intolerent), that I decided to treate myself. I used to think dairy free chocolate had to taste like these do, bland, a bit nothingy, but it doesn't. I have had some really delicious free from chocolate in the last few years, chocolate you wouldn't know was dairy free. These were a great disappointment i'm afraid, like the cheapest of the dairy free chocolate I've tasted, like it used to taste.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the vegan chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
I would have given it no stars if I could. My husband paid over £30 for the Vegan egg KAKAO - it was truly awful. We opened it and tasted part of it and I have to say it resembled chocolate like rice pudding resembles concrete - in other words not at all. The egg looked beautiful but had a horrible perfumed smell and tasted oily and slick. We notified Friars who offered us a 20% discount. Joke. If this egg had been £5 or £10 I would have just thrown it out but at over £30 I think more should have been done by Friars. I threw it out anyway. So If you are Vegan and like your chocolate don't buy this awful, awful thing which should not even be sold as chocolate. There's much better out there for a lot less money.
Posted 3 months ago
Sadly I bought this for our dairy free 1yr old grandson for his first taste of chocolate but it has milk products in it ???? Why does it come up as dairy free??? They looked so pretty and was so disappointed when my daughter pointed out the ingredients.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Sharon, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your chocolates you received from us. We have checked the information that was provided for what you ordered and what would have appeared on our listing. The description and the ingredients all do say the product contains milk chocolate and was not under the diary free category. If you did put "milk" in your filter this may have bought everything up containing the word milk. We do apologise for this and will have this looked into as to how to make this clearer. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Bought a "thick" easter egg. Very misleading imagery, thick rim quickly reduces to average thickness for most of the egg. Nice chocolate, but overpriced for how little you get
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do list the weight of the product but perhaps we need to include the dimensions also, this will be addressed. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Vegan champagne truffles should be luxury tasted like washing up liquid. The company did not even care and did not refund my money. Vegan truffles nothing special , just ok and over priced both items and POOR quality just like the response I received when contacted them POOR: STILL no REFUND
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Julie, thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We do appreciate all feedback and we hope that our customers find our products enjoyable. We have received a number of 5 star reviews for the Kakoa brand products, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Cannot describe how disappointed I was when this small box arrived and when I opened it I discovered it was my wife’s Easter egg. The price charged for this product is an utter disgrace, add to it the postage I’ve paid nearly thirty pounds for an egg that is not much different to the average egg in the shops that sell for two to four pounds. Never ever would I buy again from this company or recommend it, I will go back to buying the Large egg I usually buy plus truffles from the local chocolate supplier. If I wasn’t recovering from COVID and had energy I would have gone to trading standards as I can’t believe it’s morally right to charge such an amount.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Anthony, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price and size of the product. We do state the weight, contents and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size. If you would like to return your order for a refund, please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
The person who received the chocolate gingers said they were delicious and delivered promptly,well packaged etc...no complaints there. HOWEVER if I had noticed that Friars made chocolates in the shape of women's breasts,and advertised them as such I would not have bought anything from this company, and will not buy anything from them again.
Posted 4 months ago
I ordered a pair of casual shoes for my partners Birthday. However they were so slim across the top he could not get his foot in passed his toes. We’re these made for children? They were size 9
Posted 4 months ago
Recently bought bulk kilo of truffles. Very disappointed they were all the same and also tasted very stale. Friars apologised but offered no refund or return. Will not be shopping with again. Very poor.
Posted 4 months ago
I didn't like the chocolates at all, they tasted like cooking chocolate. I far prefer Hotel Chocolat's range, which are tastier, far cheaper, and more variation in flavours/textures in their vegan range. These Kakoa chocolates are overpriced, bland and not my kind of vegan chocolate.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Wendy, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
\Your advert says items 'in stock' but they aren't in stock but unavailable.
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Barbara, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you could not find what you were looking for. Please could you contact our sales team directly either by telephone or email and they will be more than happy to assist you so that this can be rectified. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Bought what I thought were traditional chocolate lacquers for my Wife for Christmas. They arrived promptly and looked nice in their wooden crate.... Job done! Alas, imagine my disappointed when my wife spat the first one out saying it was horrible. Oh well... maybe they'll get consumed during a summer bbq.
Posted 5 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.81 based on 9,324 reviews