Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.81 Rating 8,776 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 7th April 2021
Helen Bond
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 7th April 2021
Hilary Corbett
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th April 2021
Megan Wyn Roberts
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th April 2021
Janet Leng
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 2nd April 2021
Rosie Ashton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th March 2021
Julie Roe
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th March 2021
VICTORIA TOMLINSON
23
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This was a gift which was sent direct to my daughter. It was the 3 hens. It arrived well packaged and on time. I asked her what it was like and she said 'The chocolate was delicious and they were so cute it was a shame to eat them'!!
Posted 1 day ago
These chocolates were bought as a gift for my daughter and apparently they were beautifully presented and delicious too!
Posted 1 day ago
I would have given it no stars if I could. My husband paid over £30 for the Vegan egg KAKAO - it was truly awful. We opened it and tasted part of it and I have to say it resembled chocolate like rice pudding resembles concrete - in other words not at all. The egg looked beautiful but had a horrible perfumed smell and tasted oily and slick. We notified Friars who offered us a 20% discount. Joke. If this egg had been £5 or £10 I would have just thrown it out but at over £30 I think more should have been done by Friars. I threw it out anyway. So If you are Vegan and like your chocolate don't buy this awful, awful thing which should not even be sold as chocolate. There's much better out there for a lot less money.
Posted 1 day ago
I bought the chocolates as a gift for a friend, my friend was absolutely delighted with them. The actual shopping experience online and the very fast delivery time was amazing. I will certainly buy from Friers again, and can highly recommend the products and service to others.
Posted 2 days ago
Bought my mum some coffee creams as a surprise and she said they are the best chocolates she has tasted. Result :-)
Posted 2 days ago
These lego chocolates were a present for my 7 year old niece. She was delighted with them.
Posted 2 days ago
Lovely chocolate with gorgeous centres
Posted 2 days ago
Quick and efficient service and delicious chocolates. No complaints
Posted 2 days ago
Great fast delivery
Posted 2 days ago
I have eaten a lot (really, a lot!) of chocolate in my time, but nothing compares to the truly luxurious, deliciousness of these chocolates. Utterly sublime!
Posted 2 days ago
Delicious chocolate truffles with superb flavour and tremendous value, delivered fast.
Posted 2 days ago
I expected my chocolates to arrive after Easter since I was late in ordering but they arrived in good time to serve as a substitute Easter egg for my wife.
They are voted the best chocolates we have ever tried.
Well done, Friars, and thank you.
T.Batcheler
Posted 2 days ago
The chocolate eggs were very much enjoyed by the recipient. This was my second purchase from Friars and I will definitely buy again.
Posted 2 days ago
Very nice chocolate and well wrapped to avoid breakages.
Posted 2 days ago
These chocolates are delicious very well packaged and presented, with history of Friars enclosed.
Posted 2 days ago
The dark chocolate ginger chocolates are simply divine. Looking forward to trying other flavors in the future.
Posted 2 days ago
Excellent product. The sugared almonds are the best I’ve tasted. Delivered earlier than expected
Posted 2 days ago
Very quick delivery and excellent chocolates. Thank you.
Posted 2 days ago
If you want chocolate or sweets quickly, then this is your go to place, they sell the best sugared almonds I’ve ever tasted and my friend is swooning over the marzipan bar I sent her for her birthday, I won’t go anywhere else, don’t need to
Posted 2 days ago
Fantastic chocolate. Quick delivery
Posted 2 days ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.81 based on 8,776 reviews