Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.79 Rating 4,114 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

Friars is a family business specialising in luxury chocolate and unique gifts. Since 1927 the business has evolved from a gift shop/cafe to a specialist chocolate and gift store.

Our online business was launched in 2010 and more recently we have opened a second ‘Ye Olde Friars’ high street store in Ambleside to support our flagship store in Keswick.

Our gifts are designed in house so you will not find them anywhere else. We want to make it easy for you to be original, so you can give gifts that taste and look amazing and will be remembered.

We love new products (perhaps because we get bored easily!), so every Valentines, Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas we launch a new range. It certainly keeps us entertained and hopefully our customers interested.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
They were adequate chocolates but tasted nothing like advertised - sticky toffee pudding Very disappointed for the money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and they were not to your taste. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.
Kind Rgeards Friars
Posted 1 week ago
I couldn't detect even a hint of coffee in the vegan barista cappuccino chocolates, dissappointing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi,
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and they were not strong enough flaviour to your taste. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. We will pass your feedback to the vegan chocolatier.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 1 week ago
What a waste of money. £75 hamper wasn't worth £20. Toffee vodka hamper was a joke. Returned both. Paid £13.14 to return. Friars emailed to explain wrong hamper was despatched , even though it had been checked! Refund given, and as a good will gesture they are refunding my return postage.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're sorry you received the wrong item. We are reviewing our processes to ensure this does not happen in the future.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dissatisfied guys. No proper lid, all the chocs were upside-down or sideways. For the money I expected more. Ttfn Alan
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi Alan,
We're sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future.
If you would like to return your order, please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email.
We apologise once again for any disappointment caused.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 4 weeks ago
Order was placed quickly but I didn’t receive a notification to say if it has been delivered
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi,
We're sorry you didn't receive a delivery confirmation, sometimes these emails can go into your spam folder if our email address isn't added to your contacts.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 4 weeks ago
Postage charges are for to expecive for the size of the package.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you thought the postage was too expensive. We have a set standard rate for website orders which we feel is competitive with other online retailers.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 4 weeks ago
The service was very good with quick delivery but although the presentation of the Turkish delights was good, the product was poor, the Turkish delights are very tough to chew :(
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you were disappointed with the texture Turkish delights. We know it's down to personal taste but we'll pass your feedback on to our buyer.
Kind Regards
Firars
Posted 4 weeks ago
Speedy delivery but this was most definitely not a hamper just a very small box. Very disappointed! !!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we do state the dimensions on the website however we will review the product title in the new year.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 4 weeks ago
Very irritated as I went on to a site to buy chocolate free of palm oil. Ordered the chocolate in good faith, but then read the ingredients - they contain palm oil. Why are you advertising on a site that purports to sell products free of palm oil? Will not buy from you again. P Barrett
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,
I'm very sorry you are disappointed that these chocolates were not palm oil free. However we do not advertise them being free of palm oil. We do have a section on our website dedicated to confectionery which is palm oil free, this may be why you came across our website.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 4 weeks ago
Chocolates came with crumbs in the box can’t give as a give. Told it could happen in posting not going to risk it getting a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The chocolate ruler was broken on arrival and as I cannot give a broken gift, I will be sending it back for s refund. Very disappointed!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Nothing like Buchanan's buttered Brazil's , I was disappointed the Brazil nut were small the butter toffee glaze was flat with nut in centre . This was meant to
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Chocolates breasts were good but I expected bit bigger package than a little rectangle due to the price I ended up paying around £7.50 for six little breast's . Rather disappointing. It's the delivery charge that catches u out
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
One of tree decorations had no string on. Liquor chocolates were so small.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed in the size of the liquor however, we do state the height of the product on the listing, to give an idea of the size. We are sorry one of the strings was missing, this must have become detached whilst packing your order.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
very surprised and disappointed to receive whole order of hard toffee with just 6 weeks best before date. I wont be buying again from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear you are disappointed of the date of the hard toffee you have received. If you could kindly email us we will be able to organise a replacement to be sent with a longer date.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Very dissapointed as the three packets of toffee i bought last week via post as a gift for someone only had less than a month best before date.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Susan,
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear you received your toffee with such a short date. We do try and send all product with at least 3 months before there use by date, on this occasion this has been missed, we apologise for this. If you kindly let us know if you would prefer a refund or replacement to be sent we can arrange this for today.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 6 months ago
paid over £20 & was disappointed in size of box when arrived. They were a gift
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed in the size of the chocolate box however, we do state the weight and dimension of the product on the listing, to give an idea of the size of the product.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 7 months ago
I was really excited to try the vegan truffles as there were white chocolate options which are really hard to find. I got the pink strawberry champagne truffles and the Easter vegan truffle eggs but I found all the flavours to be far too sugary and the chocolate didn't melt in the mouth. It's a good effort but I won't order again.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hello,

Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding the vegan chocolates. We will pass your comments on to our chocolatier. Thanks again.

Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 9 months ago
Item was lovely but unfortunately arrived chipped so will be returning it.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hello,

We are sorry that your item arrived damaged, we will pass this information on to the packing team. A returns label has been sent to you via email for the return of the item and we will refund the order in full.

Regards,
Friars Customer Service.
Posted 9 months ago
The vegan chocolate is grainy and very sugary. It doesn't taste like luxury chocolate at all, and is actually quite unpleasant. I tried two of the truffles in a box of six and had to give the rest away. There are many better - and cheaper - brands, such as Moo Free and Vego.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for your review and your feedback on the vegan chocolates. We will pass this on to our chocolatier. Thanks again.

Friars Customer Service.
Posted 9 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.79 based on 4,114 reviews