Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.81 Rating 9,324 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packagingM as well as pioneering vegan milk and white chocolate...among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Email:

sales@friars.co.uk

Location:

6-8 Main Street, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
These were bought for a birthday present by searching online for all dark chocolates. When they arrived there was no key to indicate the flavours; a print-off from the website was very unsatisfactory and vague to identify the markings on each chocolate. In addition, the flavours were all too similar with little variation. If I were to compare them with another well known brand of chocolates (Black Magic) they lacked variety.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Sam, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable. It does state on the description on the listing that "We don't include a chocolate menu as traditionally a box of chocolates was an experience for the senses, where every bite is a surprise." We are however in the final stages of getting this looked into. Again, we are sorry you are disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
Bought as a birthday gift for my sister unfortunately she wasn’t impressed with the chocolates, she gave them to me and I was of the same opinion
Posted 1 month ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 month ago
Very disappointed, very over priced.
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Paul, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the item. We do state the weight, quantity and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
The strawberry truffles were awful and unfortunately so were the lemon turkish delight, the rose turkish delight were edible. Expensive mistake.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Angela, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
A nightmare dealing with yr website
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Dennis, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have experienced some difficulty with the website. If you would like to contact our sales team directly either by phone or email so they can resolve your issue and raise a ticket. Again, we are sorry for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Product greatly received however paid for next day delivery (purchased on a Sunday) and was told Wednesday delivery which wasn't ideal - if you can only offer a 48 hr service please advise this. However the item didnt actually arrive until Saturday so very late and so had to give as a gift too late.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Lauren, thank you for your review. We do apologise that your parcel was not received with the Next Working day delivery service you had paid for. We have checked your order which was received on 26 April 2021 and dispatched on 26 April 2021. We have checked the Royal Mail tracking information and do see that you order was only delivered on 1 May 2021 which we do apologise for. Please could we ask that you contact our sales team directly either by phone or email so that they can get the issue resolved with regards to the Next Working day delivery charge. Again, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
This time unfortunately the chocolates appear old, with a speckled appearance ie past their best.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Ann, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order and the chocolates appeared past their best. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Disappointed 😞, Easter chocolate truffles were plain so did not meet expectations.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Colin, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Whilst chocolate quality is good, Friars online presentation flattered to deceive the product size. I was dissapointed with the size/quatity of chocolate received, and therefore overall value for money.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Paul, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We did state the weight, quantity and dimensions of the products on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
sorry but the packaging was hopeless, it had split and the pieces of chocolate were rattling around in the box and the decorations had come off. Maybe rough handling in the post but the plastic covering of the chocolate should have remained intact no matter what treatment the cardboard package received. Need for a rethink
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Graham, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
A lot of money for very little. Haven' tried the chocolates themselves yet because they are supposed for be for Easter. I wouldn't recommend.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Ysabel, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the item. We do list the weight and quantity of the product but perhaps we need to include the dimensions also, this will be addressed. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Macaroons were disappointing. I expected them to be even better than Waitrose - soft and a bit chewy, tasty, and melt in the mouth. They were more like crunchy biscuits and not very tasty. The comment I received from Friars was ''sorry that they were not to my personal preference''. Otherwise delivery was good.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Timothy, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the macarons you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable. We will pass your feedback on to our supplier and look at changing the wording on our listing. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Purchase Friars milk chocolate egg with bunny. The bunny arrived broken as it had been squashed in beside egg, and the foil on egg was torn black ribbon loose in box, the egg was broken. The caramel half egg chocolates had leaked and the whole thing was a mess. Very surprised as products are usually very well presented. Would be hesitant to order again.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Michael, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order and your chocolates arrived damaged. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Extremely expensive but it’s the only treat I can get my diabetic husband for Easter. Such a shame that people’s health conditions cost the earth. Great product though for someone who has no choice.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Sara, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of the product. The Luxury No Added Sugar Easter Egg you have purchased is the same price as our other Easter Eggs and the Perlege No Added Sugar Belgian Chocolates, this price is guided by our supplier. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Sorry but some of the chocs were quite hard ! I was expecting a much softer centre . Won’t stop me ordering Any more . x
Posted 4 months ago
The service and speed of delivery was excellent. Box looked very nice and personal message was attached all good. However the taste of the chocolates were awful not pleasant at all. they were a gift and sadly will not buy again. Maybe we were just unlucky .
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Lorna, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Very disappointed with this product I thought the chocolate controllers would be similar seize to a real game controller . My grandchildren was disappointed also with how small they were .I haven’t seen them for a year and wanted to surprise them as they love playing PlayStation. So I thought it would be a lovely surprise
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Jack, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Very disappointed with the boxes I ordered, have had better and cheaper chocolates elsewhere.I wouldn’t order again
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 5 months ago
I was wanting nut free chocolate for my son who has a SEVERE NUT ALLERGY. This means he is Anaphylactic and could possibly die if he ate nuts. The chocolates on your website said no nuts. When they arrived fortunately I checked the ingredients and they said 'May contain Almond, Walnut & Hazelnut traces.' Disappointed, and mislead customer! Please in future make sure your NUT FREE chocolates are COMPLETELY NUT FREE!
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Sarah, thank you for your review and we are sorry that you are disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and that you felt mislead, especially with your concern due to your son's severe nut allergy. All the information on our products is on the listing on our website which includes the ingredients and traces. Our sales team would have been happy to answer any questions for you if you were not sure. We do not have a Nut Free section under our Dietary section of our website for this reason as we unfortunately cannot guarantee that the environment where all our products are packed are 100% nut free. We will however, pass your feedback on to our management team to see how we can make this clearer on the website. Again, we are sorry that you are disappointed and for your concern. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent service, arrived in 48 hours. However the vegan chocolates, that I spent £40 on, were not nice. My husband couldn’t even stand the smell of them, they did smell odd. Not sure if we had a dodgy batch but they smelt old and the fillings were grainy. Wouldn’t buy again. The peanut butter and the orange creme were edible but the rest went in the recycling bin.
Posted 7 months ago
Hello Karen, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 7 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.81 based on 9,324 reviews