Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,948 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 20th February 2021
Claire Rushton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th February 2021
Marc Richardson
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th January 2021
Julie Vlacos
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Sally Harris
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Linda OBrien
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very disappointed with this product I thought the chocolate controllers would be similar seize to a real game controller . My grandchildren was disappointed also with how small they were .I haven’t seen them for a year and wanted to surprise them as they love playing PlayStation. So I thought it would be a lovely surprise
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Jack, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
Very disappointed with the boxes I ordered, have had better and cheaper chocolates elsewhere.I wouldn’t order again
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.
Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 week ago
I was wanting nut free chocolate for my son who has a SEVERE NUT ALLERGY. This means he is Anaphylactic and could possibly die if he ate nuts. The chocolates on your website said no nuts. When they arrived fortunately I checked the ingredients and they said 'May contain Almond, Walnut & Hazelnut traces.' Disappointed, and mislead customer!
Please in future make sure your NUT FREE chocolates are COMPLETELY NUT FREE!
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Sarah, thank you for your review and we are sorry that you are disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and that you felt mislead, especially with your concern due to your son's severe nut allergy. All the information on our products is on the listing on our website which includes the ingredients and traces. Our sales team would have been happy to answer any questions for you if you were not sure. We do not have a Nut Free section under our Dietary section of our website for this reason as we unfortunately cannot guarantee that the environment where all our products are packed are 100% nut free. We will however, pass your feedback on to our management team to see how we can make this clearer on the website. Again, we are sorry that you are disappointed and for your concern. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service, arrived in 48 hours. However the vegan chocolates, that I spent £40 on, were not nice. My husband couldn’t even stand the smell of them, they did smell odd. Not sure if we had a dodgy batch but they smelt old and the fillings were grainy. Wouldn’t buy again. The peanut butter and the orange creme were edible but the rest went in the recycling bin.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Karen, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
I haven’t received my last order unfortunately so can’t comment
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Sally, we are sorry you have not received your order and for any disappointment caused. Please could you get in touch with our sales team either via email or telephone so that we can get this resolved for you. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Great chocolate over sweet fillings
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Christopher, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with over sweet fillings. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
I have not opened the mixed liqueurs yet, but they look fine.

The cherry liqueurs arrived damp and smeared on the bag they were in, but all were intact so I don’t know why, perhaps they ‘sweated’ in the cellophane bag. I could not gift them, so I ate one, unfortunately the stone had fragmented so there were gritty shards in it. Not great really. I threw the rest away.

Sorry to leave this negative review, but perhaps there is a manufacturing issues
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Priscilla, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your cherry liqueurs. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
I sent a review saying that the tin was smaller than l thought. Well size doesn’t matter l brought them for my husband. He said that they were they were the best Turkish Delight he had ever eaten. So thank you very much for making my husband happy Jo Dodson
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Jo-Ann, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Very expensive for what it is
Posted 2 months ago
Very expensive postage charges for one small box of chocolates.👎
Posted 2 months ago
They were meant to be an xmas present for my wife but I was so disappointed with the size of the individual fruits, I decided to just open them. They taste was beautiful as expected and well presented. I just felt for a 454g box priced at £27.99 + p&p I expected more. I should have returned them really but couldn't be bothered with the hassle, but would not order again.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do list the weight of the product as well as the quantity but perhaps we need to include the dimensions also, this will be addressed. Again, we are sorry that you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
The sweets are expensive and as I had never tried them before, I thought I would test the ‘Milk Chocolate Buttons’ before placing an order. I was disappointed in the taste, and felt the chocolate tended to clog up in my mouth rather than melt. I didn’t find the chocolate creamy nor sweet. I actually checked the bag as I thought I may have been sent a form of Diet Chocolate. I didn’t enjoy it and would not buy it again.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Charlotte, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the Milk Chocolate Buttons you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Disappointed how small some of the items were lipstick didn't travel well and wouldn't us it as gift
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Sylvia, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your order and the size of the items. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve the lipstick issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
You addressed my order with the wrong house number so the parcel didn't arrive for three days.
I hope the other order I have made with you doesn't get delayed as it is a Christmas present.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We do apologise that your first order had been incorrectly labelled causing a delay in the delivery. We have checked and do see that your other order does have a request from yourself to delay dispatching. If you would like to confirm all the details we would recommend contacting our sales team to ensure all is in order. Again, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused with your first order. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
The plastic box was very cheap considering Amazon had it for the same price in a colourful, decorated box. I only chose you over them because you offered next day delivery and I needed it quickly. However yours took 3 days to arrive and had chocolate crumbs all in the bottom corners. Not up to standard for someone's birthday present. Very overpriced and I regret buying it
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Sarah, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you are disappointed with your order. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product and provide a photo on the listing to give customers an idea of what the product looks like. We have also checked your order which was dispatched on the 13 November 2020 and checked the Royal Mail tracking information which does say the parcel was delivered on the 14 November 2020. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered this as a gift for a work anniversary, paid extra for guaranteed next day delivery and the gift was delivered a day later quite disappointed.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Marielle, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you are disappointed with your order and that it was delivered late. We have checked and do see that your order was dispatched on the 13 November 2020 and looking on the Royal Mail tracking information, this does say your parcel was delivered on the 14 November 2020. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
I was really disappointed in my order as one of the items was purchased as a Christmas gift, but the best before date was January (even though the website stated all non sale items had a long date). I was obviously sold old stock. I was offered to return the chocolate at my own cost and they would send newer chocolate out. I declined as why would I want to spend more money on behalf of friars' error. I believe a goodwill gesture of my postage being refunded would have been more of an appropriate thing to do.
As for the chocolates, they were a lot smaller than expected and disappointingly didn't live up to my expectations. Won't be purchasing again.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Francesca, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your order and the best before date of end January 2021. We have a standard policy of a 3 month shelf life with our products we pack to ensure that they are kept fresh with them being a perishable item and replenish our shelves as the stock is needed. We do list the weight of the product but perhaps we need to include the dimensions also, this will be addressed. Again, we do apologise for your disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered 2 Friars Butter Tablet to give to a friend. They were delivered on the 2nd November with a Best Before Date of 01.11.20. Need I say more!
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, we're sorry you were disappointed with your order. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once
again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Not been tasted yet as this 'chocolate games controller' is an add on Christmas pressie for a 13yr old. Bit disappointed on receiving (packaged well, arrived in good condition) as not even sure if it is made by Friars as there is no mention of the Friars brand on the box so maybe they just sell this item. I paid more hoping for delicious chocolate when i probably could have purchased the same item elsewhere.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed that the Games Controller you received did not have the Friars name on the box. We did have some stock with the old packaging without the Friars brand which has recently been updated. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Bit lackluster this time round.
Bought about fifty pounds worth of chocolates. One box of rum truffles must have been old or faulty. My partner said a couple of them were solid and dry.
Spend hundreds with them before and all been ok.
Makes me start thinking about looking elsewhere.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Julian, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order, especially the rum truffles. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,948 reviews