Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.79 Rating 4,342 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

Friars is a family business specialising in luxury chocolate and unique gifts. Since 1927 the business has evolved from a gift shop/cafe to a specialist chocolate and gift store.

Our online business was launched in 2010 and more recently we have opened a second ‘Ye Olde Friars’ high street store in Ambleside to support our flagship store in Keswick.

Our gifts are designed in house so you will not find them anywhere else. We want to make it easy for you to be original, so you can give gifts that taste and look amazing and will be remembered.

We love new products (perhaps because we get bored easily!), so every Valentines, Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas we launch a new range. It certainly keeps us entertained and hopefully our customers interested.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Delivered safely, on time and in beautifully presented packaging. Really looked the part. Sadly my more 'discerning'vegan son really didn't enjoy the taste-finding them too sweet with a lack of depth of flavour. "cheap candy...leaves a nasty taste" So a disappointing gift that are remain uneaten.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that your son was disappointed with the chocolates you purchased from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 weeks ago
My delivery arrived on time but was completely battered, though the chocolates were very well protected which meant there was no damages to products themselves. Expensive chocolates, look appealing but unfortunately the taste and quality does not reflect the price paid. Unfortunately will not be buying again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Natalie,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that the package arrived damaged. We are also sorry that the you were not happy with the chocolates you purchased, we hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 weeks ago
Producy advertised as gluten free. When arrived the ingredients read 'may contain gluten' So wasted time and money. False advertising isn't cool.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We do not advertise our products as gluten free on the website, we do however have a section for products that do not list gluten as an ingredient. If there is a risk of traces being present with any of these products then we state this under the list of ingredients. Traces may be present due to the environment in which the products are packaged.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 weeks ago
Disappointlngly flavourless chocolates did not compare to Charbonnel and Walker.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Ruth,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 month ago
Two stars is for their service. With the exception of their fruit range which is novel and interesting I was bitterly disappointed by the rest of my expensive order. The signature range, and ginger range with heavy, sickly and simply nothing special. Given the reviews I was disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.

Kind Regards
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 month ago
Too expensive for size of package
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you thought the item was too expensive. We do include the number of chocolates and the weight in the listing to give an indication of what will be received. The vegan chocolates do tend to be more expensive due to the process used to produce the chocolates.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service
Posted 1 month ago
Had the pink meringue kisses, at least half were broken! Very dissapointed as I wanted them for my daughters engagement cake, was lucky I got 7 or 8 good ones, so was fine.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Geraldine,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that half of the meringue kisses were broken when they arrived. Unfortunately this is a delicate item and although we do check the boxes before packing them they can, on occasion, arrive damaged. We will ensure the person who packed your order is made aware of the issue in case insufficient packaging was used. We are glad you were still able to decorate the cake and again are sorry that they did not arrive in a perfect condition.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service.
Posted 1 month ago
Disappointed with my purchase as the glass was small and thought it was a normal size glass and no first time buyers discount
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They were adequate chocolates but tasted nothing like advertised - sticky toffee pudding Very disappointed for the money
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and they were not to your taste. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste.
Kind Rgeards Friars
Posted 2 months ago
I couldn't detect even a hint of coffee in the vegan barista cappuccino chocolates, dissappointing
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us and they were not strong enough flaviour to your taste. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. We will pass your feedback to the vegan chocolatier.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 2 months ago
What a waste of money. £75 hamper wasn't worth £20. Toffee vodka hamper was a joke. Returned both. Paid £13.14 to return. Friars emailed to explain wrong hamper was despatched , even though it had been checked! Refund given, and as a good will gesture they are refunding my return postage.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're sorry you received the wrong item. We are reviewing our processes to ensure this does not happen in the future.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
Dissatisfied guys. No proper lid, all the chocs were upside-down or sideways. For the money I expected more. Ttfn Alan
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Alan,
We're sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future.
If you would like to return your order, please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email.
We apologise once again for any disappointment caused.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
Order was placed quickly but I didn’t receive a notification to say if it has been delivered
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
We're sorry you didn't receive a delivery confirmation, sometimes these emails can go into your spam folder if our email address isn't added to your contacts.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
Postage charges are for to expecive for the size of the package.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you thought the postage was too expensive. We have a set standard rate for website orders which we feel is competitive with other online retailers.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
The service was very good with quick delivery but although the presentation of the Turkish delights was good, the product was poor, the Turkish delights are very tough to chew :(
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you were disappointed with the texture Turkish delights. We know it's down to personal taste but we'll pass your feedback on to our buyer.
Kind Regards
Firars
Posted 3 months ago
Speedy delivery but this was most definitely not a hamper just a very small box. Very disappointed! !!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, we do state the dimensions on the website however we will review the product title in the new year.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
Very irritated as I went on to a site to buy chocolate free of palm oil. Ordered the chocolate in good faith, but then read the ingredients - they contain palm oil. Why are you advertising on a site that purports to sell products free of palm oil? Will not buy from you again. P Barrett
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,
I'm very sorry you are disappointed that these chocolates were not palm oil free. However we do not advertise them being free of palm oil. We do have a section on our website dedicated to confectionery which is palm oil free, this may be why you came across our website.
Kind Regards
Friars
Posted 3 months ago
Chocolates came with crumbs in the box can’t give as a give. Told it could happen in posting not going to risk it getting a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The chocolate ruler was broken on arrival and as I cannot give a broken gift, I will be sending it back for s refund. Very disappointed!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Nothing like Buchanan's buttered Brazil's , I was disappointed the Brazil nut were small the butter toffee glaze was flat with nut in centre . This was meant to
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.79 based on 4,342 reviews