Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,948 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Sarah Owen
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 20th February 2021
Claire Rushton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th February 2021
Marc Richardson
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th January 2021
Julie Vlacos
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Sally Harris
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Linda OBrien
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Friars sugar free selection
Chocolates arrived smartly packaged. The chocolates were not sweet however the fillings were good without overwhelming the chocolate. I do not think that the artificial sweeteners added to the quality tho. I do intend to order more chocolates from Friars but not sugar free.
Posted 2 days ago
Glad it arrived when you said it would and they were very pleased with it. I would have liked to have sent a gift card, so they knew who it was from instead of having to worry about it.
Posted 5 days ago
I would like you to offer deals on chocolates. It would also be great to be able to make up your own boxes of your favourite chocolates.
Posted 6 days ago
Hello Lindsay, thank you for your review and your feedback. We are unable to do bespoke orders unfortunately, however, we will pass your feedback on to our marketing and production team for a way forward. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
Fantastic delivery. Bang on time. Great liqueurs. Would have given 5 stars but they forgot my name on package card so recipient had no idea who they were from til few days later.
Posted 1 week ago
Chocolates great wife loved them. Only one problem when chocolates arrived box was leaking.
Posted 1 week ago
Bought the dark choc brazils as a present for my husband's 91 yr old dad on his birthday. He is very fond of choc brazils but this is the first time we have bought Friars, and he really liked them (he is a very fussy gentlemen!!). The only down side was that the box was damaged when it arrived, both the outer packaging and the inner box. Not Frairs fault really, but I think the packaging could have been more robust. Damaged box didn't;t look very good as a gift!
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent choc gingerss and marzipan.
Thought the cherry liqueurs were a bit " over the top""
Wasnt expecting a whole cherry including stalk and stone encased in the chocolate which was delicious but difficult to eat and could cause embarrasment for invited guests.
Excellent on line rapid delivery.
A little disappointed that there seems to be a one size only container for postage so that smaller items needed lots of packaging albeit recyclable but still wasteful.
The chocolate is defs top quality
Posted 1 week ago
I found the lilac and rose creams a bit too sweet. However, the aroma was lovely and they came very promptly and beautifully packaged.
Posted 1 week ago
Delicious. Appreciated the replacement , thank you.
Posted 1 week ago
Goods came as ordered. Delivered promptly. Cannot comment on the taste as they were a gift to a good neighbour - I have had a nice thank-you from her.
Posted 1 week ago
Delicious. Melt in the mouth chocolate. Interesting flavours
Posted 1 week ago
The chocolates ordered, a gift for a family friend, were given full marks for an excellent boxed display which presented exemplary contents by the recipient. Friars delivered the chocolates in a timely manner.
Posted 1 week ago
We received a damaged order where half of the chocolates had been affected by heat of some sort. I called to report this and after a very helpful conversation with someone at Friars, we were reimbursed with a replacement (undamaged) box the following day.
Posted 1 week ago
Bought these as a gift for my sister. She loves all things salted caramel and said these chocolates were delicious. High praise indeed!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Arrived in good time well packed they are a present so as yet have not been eaten.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Really good especially the coffee cream’s
Posted 2 weeks ago
Delicious chocolate
Posted 2 weeks ago
Well packagedand quick delivery.
Posted 3 weeks ago
The chocolates were good but the price was a surprise because VAT was not included in the original telephone quote. They arrived on time and as promised.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Looks nice, quick delivery and was kept up to date on shipping.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,948 reviews