Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.79 Rating 3,114 Reviews
95% of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk

About Friars.co.uk: Friars is a family business specialising in luxury chocolate and unique gifts. Since 1927 the business has evolved from a gift shop/cafe to a specialist chocolate and gift store.

Our online business was launched in 2010 and more recently we have opened a second ‘Ye Olde Friars’ high street store in Ambleside to support our flagship store in Keswick.

Our gifts are designed in house so you will not find them anywhere else. We want to make it easy for you to be original, so you can give gifts that taste and look amazing and will be remembered.

We love new products (perhaps because we get bored easily!), so every Valentines, Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas we launch a new range. It certainly keeps us entertained and hopefully our customers interested.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
97%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
5.00 out of 5
"Very good to find Droste chocolates online at a reasonable price."
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"Grandson loved it"
Posted 1 week ago
"Packaged very nicely, prompt service. Coins of good quality, although, a little smaller than expected."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Coconut ice was beautiful tho initially a bit of mix up in payment as I paid from my visa debit tho it went out of my account it hadn’t read as paid to friars tho they refunded price of postage as apology"
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered taster packs, arrived on time. The lemon truffles were good, the coffee ones didn't have a lot of coffee flavour and the rich raspberry truffles, for me, would have been nicer without the alcohol but that's personal taste. My son loveds them...Its his birthday soon...."
Posted 1 month ago
"I ordered some chocolates as a gift for a family member. They were delivered on time which was great and as far as I know, have been eaten and enjoyed."
Posted 2 months ago
"The whole cherry truffels are very nice and the marzipan croquant (3 layers) is beautiful. I am not too keen on one of the truffels and the chocolate in itself coating the items. I am afraid, I am a Swiss buff when it comes to chocolate. Verdict: overall quite nice. Not opened the Captain Morgan chocolate bar as yet."
Posted 2 months ago
"Would give very good, however on of the bars was very dry of liquid, so like eating a sugar cube. The other bar was perfect. So must have had a bad batch. Andy"
Posted 2 months ago
"Lovely chocolates to give as a gift but sweet rather than chocolatey!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Good product (tasty and attractive for kids) plus prompt delivery. The only drawback was that the colorful foil was peeling off some of the chocolates (10-15%?)."
Posted 2 months ago
"Haven’t tried the chocolate yet as they are all gifts. Customer service was good. My only criticism is when I got a email telling me it is despatched it would be helpful if it had a estimated date on it, then I would know when to expect it and make arrangements for the delivery if I’m not in. You ask the question below was the delivery on time I can’t answer that as I wasn’t given a expected delivery date."
Posted 3 months ago
"Arrived on time and they were absolutely enjoyable"
Posted 3 months ago
"PS4 controllers are good, packaged well, no damage n taste good too x"
Posted 3 months ago
"Delightful selection of Easter treats. Wish I had ordered sooner as some lines had gone in the days before I made my mind up! Egg filled felt carrot bags and Easter Bunny with basket are really cute. Well packaged and delivered next day as promised."
Posted 3 months ago
"Items well described on line and the on line registering & purchase was easy. Great that you have a vegan selection of chocolates! The chocolates arrived at my friends within a couple of days and she wrote and told me how gorgeous they were. My only complaint and that's why I didn't rate you as very good was that there was no 'card/message' option. I had to email my friend and tell her that some chocolates would be arriving which rather took the surprise out of my gift. When I've previously purchased chocolates online through other companies I've been able to include a free gift message. I feel this option would have make my purchase perfect as I only purchase chocolates online as a gift for friends."
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Christina,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the option to add a gift message was not available when you purchased your chocolates, this was an error on out part which has now been rectified. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

Kind Regards,
Friars Customer Service.
Posted 3 months ago
"Good novelty value but expected items to be bigger"
Posted 4 months ago
"Well presented and well packed."
Posted 4 months ago
"I had a question which was answered quickly"
Posted 4 months ago
"After Thornton’s stopped selling their coffee creams and replaced with a coffee truffle we’ve been searching for a great coffee cream. These are real good! A slight bitter aftertaste means they’re not quite right but still very good."
Posted 4 months ago
"All good service only thing was that 2 of my chocolate bars in side were all pink and the other 3 were white and pink but very nice"
Posted 4 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.79 based on 3,114 reviews