Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,844 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 20th February 2021
Claire Rushton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th February 2021
Marc Richardson
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th January 2021
Julie Vlacos
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Sally Harris
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Linda OBrien
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th December 2020
margaret Campbell
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
8
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good but expensive however kept peace and quiet from the wife until she eaten the last one so value for money in the end
Posted 36 minutes ago
Best chocolates I've tasted in a long time. You can taste the expertise in every bite.
Posted 1 hour ago
Will buy again as my friend loved them.
Posted 13 hours ago
Bought the dark choc brazils as a present for my husband's 91 yr old dad on his birthday. He is very fond of choc brazils but this is the first time we have bought Friars, and he really liked them (he is a very fussy gentlemen!!). The only down side was that the box was damaged when it arrived, both the outer packaging and the inner box. Not Frairs fault really, but I think the packaging could have been more robust. Damaged box didn't;t look very good as a gift!
Posted 17 hours ago
Excellent choc gingerss and marzipan.
Thought the cherry liqueurs were a bit " over the top""
Wasnt expecting a whole cherry including stalk and stone encased in the chocolate which was delicious but difficult to eat and could cause embarrasment for invited guests.
Excellent on line rapid delivery.
A little disappointed that there seems to be a one size only container for postage so that smaller items needed lots of packaging albeit recyclable but still wasteful.
The chocolate is defs top quality
Posted 17 hours ago
Good website easy to navigate. Chocolates arrived on time to a friend and it's reported they were delicious!
Posted 18 hours ago
Birthday gift- the chocolates are exceptional
Posted 19 hours ago
Lovely yummy chocolates. Delivery was prompt. I purchased these online, only because of lockdown but shall visit in person when allowed.
Posted 20 hours ago
I ordered a 720 gm box of Friars chocolate selection for my son and daughter in law. It was very promptly and safely delivered and greatly enjoyed (I have been told) by the receipients.
Posted 21 hours ago
It is so disappointing when you buy a box of chocolates and get just one coffee cream. I bought a box of Friars for my wife who just loves coffee creams. She said that they were the best she had ever tasted.
Posted 23 hours ago
Very good quality and presentation, and the chocolates were delicious, will definitely be ordering again.
Posted 23 hours ago
Given as a gift. Recipient phoned to say she loves them.
Posted 1 day ago
Yum! Yum! Yum!
Posted 1 day ago
Product was good quality, competitively priced and nicely packaged. It was expertly packed for delivery to ensure the chocolate shapes were not broken in transit. I would definitely use Friars for future gift purchases.
Posted 1 day ago
I found the lilac and rose creams a bit too sweet. However, the aroma was lovely and they came very promptly and beautifully packaged.
Posted 1 day ago
Great service, efficient delivery and gorgeous chocolates
Posted 1 day ago
I’ve ordered from Friars a few times now, and I’ve been very pleased with the speed of delivery from placing the order. The chocolate is yummy too. Will be using them again for sure.
Posted 1 day ago
Box of chocolates looked great. High-quality and worth the price. Gteat as a special present.
Posted 1 day ago
Order chocolate gift for a present, arrived quickly and looks really good
Posted 1 day ago
Easy to place order. Good selection for those who have a preference for no alcohol or no dairy. Sent as gift and recipient was very pleased. Would recommend to a friend.
Posted 1 day ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,844 reviews