Crunch Reviews

4.24 Rating 276 Reviews
81% of reviewers recommend Crunch

About Crunch: Crunch is a groundbreaking online accountancy firm for freelancers, contractors and small businesses. By combining accredited, award-winning in-house accountants with internally-developed cloud software, Crunch delivers a complete business accountancy service for a flat monthly fee. No costly extras, your own personal account manager, and maximum tax efficiency.

Crunch’s monthly fee of £69.50+VAT includes:

- Unlimited access to your own account manager and a team of accredited accountants
- Access to our simple, real-time online accounting software to help you stay on top of your finances
- Year end filings, Corporation Tax and VAT returns all included in your monthly fee
- Our team will handle the taxman for you with our Registered Office service
- Mobile apps for on-the-go bookkeeping
- RTI-compliant payroll included for two company directors
- A hand-picked range of additional business services

To learn more visit Crunch.co.uk

Visit Website

Phone:
033 3311 8000

Email:
review@crunch.co.uk

Location:
Telecom House, 125-135 Preston Road, Brighton, East Sussex, BN1 6AF

Category:
Accountants

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Crunch made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
"The software works pretty well but the company itsself basically does nothing for you. You do all the expenses and reconcilliation yourself and most of the tax calculation is automated or you have to do it yourself so the accountant only looks at it for the corporation tax return. They never suggest ways you can save tax apart from the most basic standard ways. They never consult you about expected earnings for coming years to put in place any tax saving strategies. They never do what they say they will do unless you hound them. When I finally decided to close my business they told me it would take a couple of months but a year later they still had not done it so then it gave me issues with my tax return. I've had 5 different account handlers in 6 years all of which seem a bit clueless. You pay standard accoutning fees for a computer to do the work for them and the little work an accountant does is done very very slowly or not at all. I'll use an old fashioned accounant next time as I paid a lot less tax than with crunch."
Posted 6 months ago
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review Crunch, I'm very sorry to hear the experience you've had has not been positive. Although I understand that you've closed your business, this is not the way we'd like you to leave Crunch, and we will be reaching out to you today to find out more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do at this stage to help you out.

Thanks,

Jen - Client Experience Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Visit Website
"My account manager suddenly left the company shortly after we completed my onboarding and none of the initiatives or specifics of my account were apparently handed over to my new point of contact. The anonymised way in which you must communicate with Crunch through support@crunch.co.uk makes it feel like all your requirements are simply being fed into a very generalised model that caters for the majority of customers, but perhaps doesn't perfectly fit those with slightly different requirements. I'm trying to leave Crunch at the moment and have been waiting for over 3 weeks to receive a meaningful reply to my emailed notice of termination. Their software is also very poor compared to something like FreeAgent. It gets the job done, but feels like something developers cobbled together with very little input from a UX designer."
Posted 7 months ago
I'm very sorry your recent experience hasn't been at the standard we would expect. One of our Team Managers is contacting you this afternoon to discuss everything.
Martin
Head of Client Services
Posted 7 months ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"I had a micro business with a small number of invoices & expenses. With a bit more effort I could have run my accounts from Excel, but found using an online accountant suited my needs. I was with Crunch for 5 years, at which time I only used their 'actual' accountancy services a couple of times for some very simple queries. The service, to be honest was fine during that period - but bear in mind I was only really using their web services and my accounts were beyond simple. Where I feel Crunch's exceptionally poor service was exposed was when I closed the company. They charged for over £200 to do the following: - End of year accounts - Send a form to de-register from VAT (must have take 5 minutes) - Send a form to Companies house notifying them of the company closing (another 5 minutes) - Send my final PAYE to HMRC and notify them of ending my PAYE scheme. Bearing in mind that the end of year accounts were 'part of the bundled service', and that the PAYE notice is literally just a checkbox/boolean flag on the final submission I felt this was somewhat taking the proverbial. When I pointed out that I had been with them for 5 years, and had hardly ever contacted their accountants, and they should take this into consideration regards the fee I was politely told there was no room for negotiation. So I paid the fee. What followed over the next 3 months was frankly a shambles. Passed from pillar to post, chasing them for updates, chasing them to close my accounts, chasing them for final Corp Tax / VAT figures (bearing in mind all of this is meant to be bundled in - its just final figures, not recurring). Not to mention, they filed the wrong VAT figure to HMRC, so I had to phone HMRC to sort it out. What really was annoying & I find frankly unacceptable was their 'final figures' . They had decided to change my dividend amounts, and sent me a baffling explantation, which I had to ask for clarification several times, and I felt never really satisfactory. In the end, I had to go through the last year's accounts, sales, PAYE, dividends etc with a book-keeper to sort out what Crunch's accountants were doing. And in the end - they'd missed 5K in figures which I needed to declare to HMRC for 16/17 tax year. Just avoid this company - the minute you need some advice, or come to close your business, then you'll be left wishing you had gone somewhere else. They've also not really changed their software in (at least) 5 years - apart from a styling change about 2 or 3 years ago which made it worse."
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Ben,

I'm sincerely sorry to hear that you're experiences have been below our level of service. My name's Andy and I'm the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch, I'm going to drop you a quick email to discuss your situation and see what I can do to help put things right.

I will also review all correspondence between yourself and our Accountants who produced your closing company accounts.

Please leave this with me and I'll be in touch as soon as I can,

Many thanks
Posted 2 years ago
All advice has been checked by our Senior Technical Accountant and any mention of incorrect advice should be ignored. We will be requesting a full retraction of the review.
Posted 2 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"I have a very simple contractor business with Crunch for 2 years. During this time, there was minimal service, which is partly expected. At the request in August, to close accounts, the process was disorganised and passed through a number of teams which I needed to be explain from the start a few times. Finally they advised they could finish the books in October 2016. After much chasing and extensions, I have now been told it will not be until March 2017. Speaking as an accountant, it is the simplest set of books you can possibly have and everything is wrapped up, I cannot understand the delay. The communication is very poor and the standard of work is low"
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there,
My name's Andy and I'm the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. I'm very sorry to hear that there have been delays in producing the closing accounts and will arrange to have these fast-tracked as soon as possible. We strive to maintain excellent turnaround times on all accounts but I can see that we have let you down in this instance so I am sorry.

I'll be in touch as soon as I've spoken to the closures team handling your accounts.

Many thanks
Posted 2 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"I heard about the company on internet, and communicated with their online adviser to learn more about their services. The adviser interrupted the conversation in an unexpected and unkind manner after he heard that we are not UK resident although the company for which we request assistance is UK-based. I personally and professionally felt disturbed, the conduct was pretty unprofessional."
Posted 2 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again No
"I knew nothing about tax when signed up to crunch. I now a lot more as I've had to learn as they do nothing for you unless you ask. They dont advise you. stick to a good old fashioned accountant. you'll save more money in the long run as well."
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,

I'm very sorry to hear that you've not had the best experience with Crunch so far. We've tried to contact you in relation to your concerns as we want to to see whether we can help and perhaps look to improve.

Please keep an eye out on your inbox as we're very keen to get more feedback and resolve any issues.

Looking forward to speaking with you,

Andy Tyrrell - Client Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again No
"Very polite but I felt they provided poor advice. Having now moved to another accountant I have had to spend alot of time trying to figure out what was and wasnt done. I also found that the advice given was sometimes unclear, this led to a great deal of confusion. In the end a small accountancy firm has been far better at explaining to me what I need to."
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide some insight into your experiences with our service. I'm very sorry that you feel our advice was unclear in places and caused confusion.

We pride ourselves on keeping our advice as clear and consistent as possible and it forms one of our core values which our clients enjoy as we don't try to complicate accountancy issues. To help with this we have hundreds of support articles and video libraries along with a personal Client Manager and a team of accountants to help support your needs. These are part of our core service and our advice is unlimited, so should there have been any concerns over what occurred we would have been on hand to review at no additional cost.

Our records show that you chose to leave our service within 3 months of joining as you needed a face to face accountant. At this point you were in arrears and we were about to end our arrangement.

Please get in touch if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail. Many thanks
Posted 3 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again
"I have a small bussiness as a locum doctor, although very polite having now moved to another accountant it has become evident that the advice I was provided with was at times incorrect and very often I would have to ask several times for something to be done before it happened. I am unseure as to the expieriance level of the accountants they have working for them whom very often seemed uncertain as to the best course of action. I know of two other collegues whom had the same poor expieriance and whom have subsequently left. Evidently from the below reviews it is not a service suited for everyone."
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Sam,

I'm sorry to hear that you feel you've received incorrect advice and would like to assure you that if you our advice seemed unclear, we would always be willing to explain further.

I can see that you left our service around Sept 2014 but I would like to see if I can either assist with any query, or review any advice that you believed to be incorrect or unclear.

To clarify, the experience of our accountants range from part AAT qualified to ACCA, similar to most accountancy firms.

Please feel free to email me with any of your concerns to andrew@crunch.co.uk and I would like to see if I can help.

Kind regards

Posted 4 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again
"I recently became a customer of Crunch following some good work by their sales team; the cloud based system seems quite straightforward too; however that's where the good bit ends. Many of the 'helpful' guides provided are woefully out of date and much of the 'guidance' received has either been wholly incorrect or materially incorrect and misleading. Consequently, I've had to spend previous time verifying pretty much everything they tell me by checking guidance on HMRC and gov.uk websites, contacting reputable accountant forums such as accountingweb and generally doing all the things I'd expect to be done by the team. On one occasion, when I asked the account manager to get clarification, the accountant simply quoted directly from gov.uk and included a link to the relevant page (which I'd already read and found irrelevant). Simply put. Not enough focus on actually helping the customer to successfully use their system! Somewhat shocked, quite surprised and very disappointed."
Posted 4 years ago
"Very slow in answering simple emails. I will move on to a different accounting company, I don't mind spend more if the service is good, so far has been poor, overal is like I am paying for an excel spreadsheet not an accounting service."
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Diego, I'm very sorry to hear you have experienced a some concerns during your first week with us. I can see that you've been with us for 5 days and we've been able to reply within an hour of each email so far until yesterday evening.

I will make sure that your account manager gets in touch asap and I'm more than happy to have a chat about your experiences so far.

We will always aim to get back to our clients within a few hours of receiving an email and guaranteed on the same day, if received within normal working hours.

I am confident that we will be able to resolve any issues that you have and I would hope that you feel comfortable in allowing us a little more time to show you what we can do in terms of the software.

Warm regards
Posted 4 years ago
We're pleased to see that you have remain a Crunch client and have even gone on to recommend a colleague.

Kind regards
Posted 4 years ago
Crunch is rated 4.24 based on 276 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access