Crunch Reviews

4.24 Rating 276 Reviews
81% of reviewers recommend Crunch

About Crunch: Crunch is a groundbreaking online accountancy firm for freelancers, contractors and small businesses. By combining accredited, award-winning in-house accountants with internally-developed cloud software, Crunch delivers a complete business accountancy service for a flat monthly fee. No costly extras, your own personal account manager, and maximum tax efficiency.

Crunch’s monthly fee of £69.50+VAT includes:

- Unlimited access to your own account manager and a team of accredited accountants
- Access to our simple, real-time online accounting software to help you stay on top of your finances
- Year end filings, Corporation Tax and VAT returns all included in your monthly fee
- Our team will handle the taxman for you with our Registered Office service
- Mobile apps for on-the-go bookkeeping
- RTI-compliant payroll included for two company directors
- A hand-picked range of additional business services

To learn more visit Crunch.co.uk

Visit Website

Phone:
033 3311 8000

Email:
review@crunch.co.uk

Location:
Telecom House, 125-135 Preston Road, Brighton, East Sussex, BN1 6AF

Category:
Accountants

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Crunch made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"Poor customer service and lacked the ability to relate law to personal circumstances. Answers to questions I raised were generally in the form of heavy caveats and what seemed like copy and paste of law rather than how it impacted me. I had to do the leg work to work out how it impacted me. I expected more. I can read the tax law, I want my account to apply it to my circumstances. Additionally their software sometimes gets updated unknowing to you which can cause hours of frustration. For example, the process for uploading bank statements changed, nothing was communicated to me and after several emails asking for help the resolution required me to re-code around 9 months of bank statements."
Posted 1 year ago
Visit Website
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"Been using them since 2014 and I sincerely am beyond fed up with their appalling accounting service and customr service. They're so unprofessional and when you desperately need them no one will help and you get bounced around. I've had enough and been too busy to change but will change accounting firm. Please save time and don't use them, pay more for morep rofessional and prompt service where they don't mess up your accounting!"
Posted 2 years ago
"I am giving one star as I can't give zero. I would strongly recommend avoiding this company at all costs. They messed up my payroll, my VAT and I am not sure whether the rest of the work they did is correct. I had to take out a bank loan to pay for the incorrect VAT and personal tax which was a couple of thousand out. After many calls to the HRMC I finally got this corrected myself. I am currently paying interest on a loan because of their mistakes, I complained but they aren't willing to offer compensation. Their attitude until I complained was very flippant."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Adam,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us, my name's Luke and I'm the Client Experience Coordinator here at Crunch.

I'm very sorry to hear that things haven't gone quite as expected, I'd like to take some time to thoroughly review the situation and get back to you with a more in depth response.

Hold tight and I'll be back in touch on Monday.

Kind regards,
Posted 1 year ago
"Late filings similar to the stories below despite chasing. I expect them to pay the Companies House and HMRC fines. Currently they haven’t accepted liability despite me telling them to get on with the accounts months before. Avoid."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jez,

My name's Andy and I'm the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. I'm really sorry to hear of your experience and will be in touch as soon as I can.

Please leave this with me to review for now.

Kind regards
Posted 1 year ago
"Crunch have unqualified or under-qualified staff who don't care about their clients. About a month ago, I requested that my self assessment be done for me. I supplied all the relevant information (with the exception of 1 income source which I forgot to mention). After 3 weeks (which, by itself, is aweful as I'd expect 1 week, at the latest for a response), I was asked to approve my self assessment, when I remembered about the extra source of income. The accountants and I agreed that the income didn't need to be stated on the self assessment, which is fine. Here's the problem, on my first self assessment, it was stated that I should have a £1.20 tax rebate. On my second self assessment (revised version), I owed £28.80. So, of course, I questioned this, to which the accountants' response was "I apologise for any confusion. Upon review of your self-assessment we noticed that the tax deducted at source amount was slightly higher than stated on your P60. This is what resulted in showing a rebate of £1.20 and now with a tax liability of £28.80." Now, let's assume I hadn't remembered the extra income (which would've been my fault obviously), I would have approved the first self assessment, which is incorrect and that would have been sent to HMRC and I would be committing some sort of tax evasion crime (I'm not a lawyer so don't know what crime it would be but there's no way it would be legal). So, let's assume HMRC found out that the figures were wrong, I would be the one who gets penalised with fines, not Crunch, because the accountants are incapable of completing a self assessment correctly. This shows that the accountants literally don't care. If it was me as the accountant, I would literally bend over backwards to make sure the self assessment is completed with absolute accuracy, because I would be well aware of the penalties and consequences of submitting an incorrect self assessment. This is not the only problem, some others include, but are not limited to: unspecified ad hoc services and up to 2 days wait for a response to emails. The service is absolutely unacceptable and I would not recommend anybody to use Crunch."
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Richard, since raising your concerns our Accountancy Managers have been working with you to resolve them. I'm very sorry this experience caused you so much frustration, which is the absolute last thing we would have wanted for you and we are committed to ensuring you have what you need going forward.

Martin.
Head of Client Services
Posted 9 months ago
"As a customer for 2 years I paid a £200 company closure fee 6 months ago and they still haven't closed the company. They will not forward any mail and are leaving me in the dark about everything. I am seeking legal advice on the position of my company. If you value your business I would not recommend Crunch, there are much better providers out there."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joseph,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback and we're sorry to hear that you're having diffuclties with our closure process.

Our notes show that your accounts were completed some time ago however we both agreed not to close down the company - this was in your best interest.

We'll ensure that somebody is in touch with you this morning to discuss in more detail.

Hold tight.
Posted 1 year ago
"I couldn’t agree more with all the bad reviews below. I have been a customer since 2012 and noticed the services getting poorer every year. At this day, their services looks more like a bunch of automated emails rather than a true service helping you handling your tax efficiently. I am now dealing with the worst customer experience, with late fee payments and been forced to pay a full year of subscription despite my wish to leave. I am currently seeking for legal help as anywhere else is a pro-rata based type of subscription. I thought that a start up would had the decency to consider their old customers who endured the up and down of their development. I am shocked of their very poor ethics and consideration against freelancers and small businesses."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Tom

My name's Andy and I'm the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. I'm really sorry to hear about your experiences and will review first thing tomorrow when the office is open.

Rest assured we'll review and and be in touch as soon as we can. We'll pit things right if things have gone wrong.

Thanks for raising and leave it with me to review.

All the best
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"I found the Crunch online system and app, practically impossible to use. But the main problem came when I asked for advice on several personal, and business tax questions. I asked to speak to an accountant 7 times, each time I was deflected, and either given contradictory advice from client managers, or told to search the topic and read an article on the crunch site. Several things were not filed with HMRC, despite me receiving emails from Crunch stating that they had been filed. Crunch is not cheap for a Ltd company, at £1000 a year - and this doesn’t include and personal filings. I now have an actual accountant, who is apauled at the advice crunch gave me. I’ve had to spend thouasands of pounds rectifying the problems caused by crunch. I really don’t know what crunch are providing...there are easier to use online systems for £3 a month. Crunch try everything to stop you speaking to one of their accountants, even though they advertise ‘unlimited advice from accountants’ so what you are paying for, I don’t really know. My accountant advised me to ask crunch for a full refund for any premiums I paid, which I have requested - but I haven’t yet heard anything back. The client managers all seem very nice, but you get different advice every time you speak to someone."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Thomas,

My name’s Luke and I’m the Client Experience Coordinator here at Crunch. I’m sorry to hear that you’re unhappy with the service you received during your time with us.

Our Client Experience Manager, Andy, has been looking into your complaint and will be contacting you separately to discuss the issues you have described.

Please leave this with us and we’ll be in touch as soon as we can.

Kind regards,
Posted 1 year ago
"Used to be a great company. Now totally disorganized and give incorrect information via emails. Sorry crunch... what started as a good company now needs to up it's game if you want to compete with self-serve platforms such as Xero."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jamie,

We're sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service. We'll be in touch as soon as we can to see what's been going on.

Hold tight.

All the best
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"If I had the option to give Crunch 0 out of 5 I would. Firstly, my 2016-17 accounts were filed late. Admittedly I didn’t complete my accounts until December, however this was something I had always done with my previous accountants. I assumed it would be the same with Crunch especially as all the bookkeeping was done digitally so I assumed there wouldn’t be much that an accountant would need to do, especially as I’m a freelancer. I was never chased by Crunch or made aware of any deadlines but once I had submitted my accounts I was told they wouldn’t be filed in time and I would be fined £150. After exchanging several lengthy emails with my account manager where he argues with everything he said and blamed everything on me I was left with a fine of £150. Next it was time to do my personal tax, I followed the link in the automated reminder email I received to remind me to fill the form in before 14th December, on the 14th December, and filled in the form. A message appeared telling me someone would contact me. Nobody did contact me and it was only when my account manager chased me several weeks later that I told him I’d filled the form in and discovered that I had actually filled in 15/16’s form in error. I explained that I had followed the link in the email and he said he could see I had filled in the form within the deadline so I should only have to pay the £75 rather than the £175 it cost if you missed the deadline. However after various long winded and defensive emails from various team members it was concluded that I would have to pay £175. At one point I waited a week for a reply from one email only to be told I would have to pay the £100 extra because there was only a day left before the deadline and I had left it too late to complain. The fact that Crunch spent so much time and resource arguing over £100 is obsurd. It would have cost them that in time spent dealing with my complaint and due to the outcome they have also lost my business and good will. My experience with Crunch showed me they are after a quick buck rather than wanting to offer their customers a good and fair service."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi K,

Thanks for sharing your experiences, I can understand that it’s always unpleasant to have to make payments that you had hoped to avoid.

I am sorry if you feel that we’ve been unclear with our requirements however on review, all reminders about responsibilities and deadlines have covered the due dates of the company accounts. Your Client Manager assisted you throughout the year creating .csv files of your bank statements that would usually be charged as an additional bookkeeping service.

We have a clear pricing structure for self assessments with early bird discounts, starting as early as July the following tax year, that is advertised via our marketing and newsletter emails. I’m sorry if you did not read these and the offers were not taken up.

It’s always our aim to provide first class service and we’re sorry that you felt let down in this instance.

If you’d like to discuss this further, my name is Luke and you can contact me on cx@crunch.co.uk

Kind regards,
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolute mess. All the advice they gave me was either wrong or so poorly communicated as to be ineffectual. Filed my VAT 3 weeks late despite me calling up several times to try and push it along. Now I am still getting letters from HMRC asking me where the money I owe them is despite it having been paid immediately. I feel like I have been completely ripped off and effectively paid for nothing but headaches and a waste of time. It's worth paying a bit extra for a higher level of service. I can honestly say I'd have been better off going it alone with a spreadsheet."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joe,

My name’s Andy and I’m the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. I’m sorry to hear that you’re unhappy with the service and I’ll be looking into this straight away.

I’ll be in touch as quickly as I can so we can review what went wrong and where we can rescue this for you.

All the best
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"Cumbersome portal. Late account filing with Companies House. Inaccurate VAT return advice. Notification of fine from Companies House not forwarded for almost two months. Continue to receive VAT overdue alerts despite deregistration six months ago. Regular price hikes over and above inflation. Internal communication very poor. External communication very poor. Despite apologies and assurances from Mr Tyrell, level of service is still woeful. Would not recommend to anyone in it's current state."
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"They leave things until the last minute, until I complain, and after I have accrued fines. Just not what an accountant is for."
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Iain, I'm very sorry to hear that you're currently experiencing trouble with the service you're receiving.

My name is Luke and I'm the Client Experience Coordinator here at Crunch accounting, I've passed this onto one of our managers so that they can have a look into your situation.

Please leave this with us and we will be in touch as soon as we can.

Kind regards,
Posted 2 years ago
"Unprofessional unsafe practices crunch couldn’t give a dam. I requested Crunch 6 months ago to close my company to date still not done, what’s worrying they use unqualified people to do your accounts from what appears to be a script. I have lost thousands due to their incompetence. Complaints are ignored, when you try and escalate your fobbed off. Warning stay clear of this company. By far the worst company I have ever dealt with, this company will not be around in a few years won’t be long before BBC watchdog get there teeth into them Mel Grant MAID IS OXFORD LTD."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mel,

Thank you for your feedback and we're really sorry to hear that you've had a bad experience. This is not what we're used to hearing and we'll do all we can to put things right where we feel that we can.

We'll make sure that a member of the team is in touch as soon as we can and we'll review what has taken place on your account.

We have a thorough complaint process at Crunch and our records show that a Team Manager responded to your original concerns last month but we've not had a response until your review today. We completely disagree with your comments about our staff members and that our practices are unsafe.

We'll be in touch as soon as we can.

Kind regards
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again yes
"They are very helpful and my client manager Matt is always willing to help or give advice. I thought they would be a faceless online accountant, it doesn’t feel anything like that. It’s made me feel more in control of my finances."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Simon,
Really wonderful to hear your happy with the service from Matt. We've let him know and he's a very happy chappy indeed.

Lovely to hear that you find us to be personable service also

Thanks again!
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again yes
"Always available to assist and answer questions"
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"The level of service received from crunch is awful. I had a payment issue last year and I am still trying to get the issue resolved. They've never apologised despite the problem being on their side and have put in minimal effort on their side to get things resolved. Worse is that if I want to leave , all my data is stuck with them and I have to keep putting up with prices hikes. I would strongly advise using a product that is more independent (i.e.Xero) and finding an accountant separately."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, my name's Luke and I'm the Client Experience Coordinator here at Crunch.

I'm sorry to hear that the service you've received has fallen short of expectations, I'll look into this further and we will be in touch as soon as we can.

Leave this with me, again I'm sorry to hear that you're not currently happy with the service right now.
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"shocking and incompetent customer service and leveka if advice."
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there,

Really sorry to hear that you've not had the greatest experience - there's not a lot for us to go on based on your review and that it's anonymous so if you could send me a personal email to andrew@crunch.co.uk I can have a look and see how we can help.

Look forward to hearing from you soon,

All the best
Posted 1 year ago
Update: As of 28/09/2017 we haven't had any response to our attempt to reach out and contact this reviewer and we're unable to trace any link to them ever being a client of Crunch.
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"Crunch gets handsomely paid by their customers to turn them into ledgers of their own system. Great marketing: I chose Crunch to make better decisions about my finances and simplify things. The reality is that I am turned into a operator of their system and spend all my time and energy trying to work out instructions to place all information in the right format and in the right places, just for the system to process it, and for me not to miss deadlines and pay penalties. Yes the customer service is pleasant and accessible, but what you get is advice on these instructions; and while you get stuck in the minutiae you don't get the time to get advice on your finances and the things that matter to your business. The Crunch model is a lure and their marketing plain misleading if not totally dishonest."
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Fred,

My name’s Andy and I’m the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. Thank you for your recent feedback and I'm sorry to hear you've been experiencing issues with the service. I'd like to get in touch to understand a little more about how we can look to put things right and improve.

We built our software to be as user friendly as possible and offer first class support to help our customers use it. There may be times where our support is needed more and it looks as though something hasn’t been as straightforward as we hoped.

We're clear with our marketing how we operate and we are open with what the service is. We also provide a Premium Package which has an allocated bookkeeper help with the day to day transactions for people who want this.

I'll be in touch to see if I can offer my support and see where we can look to improve.

Many thanks
Posted 2 years ago
Customer Service
Would Work With Again no
"I have been with Crunch since 2011 and I use to really rate them highly, but now they have gone down hill in the quality of service! The has been a few issues this year and I have wasted enough of my own time trying to resolve issues which relating to incompetence! I have finally decided to take my accounts elsewhere."
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there,
I'm very sorry to hear you're unhappy with our service. My name's Andy and I'm the Client Experience Manager here at Crunch. I'll begin investigating what has happened and I'll be in touch as soon as I can.

Please leave this with me and again I'm sorry that you're currently unhappy with the service,
Posted 2 years ago
Crunch is rated 4.24 based on 276 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access