Charles Clinkard Reviews

4.76 Rating 35,014 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Charles Clinkard
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.63 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Returns Process
Easy
Read Charles Clinkard Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0345 241 7742

Email:

help@clinkard.co.uk

Location:

Eveline House, Cannon Park Way, Middlesbrough

Write Your review

Tell us how Charles Clinkard made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Usually really happy with Charles Clinkard’s service but it all went wrong this time. I paid extra for express delivery but it arrived the same day/time regular delivery was estimated. Was delivered to a different address as Clinkards changed my delivery address sometime between me ordering (correct address on order confirmation) and them dispatching the order. Luckily it was in same village & a post was put on Facebook saying where it was. I booked a callback to talk about what went wrong. They didn’t call me but sent an email after the booked time had passed asking for my feedback on the call that didn’t happen. After all that none of the shoes fitted😩 but that’s not their fault. Sorry Clinkards, I love you usually but not on this occasion :(
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. Express delivery is dispatched within 2-3 working days and does not include bank holidays. On checking the order, this was dispatched on the third working day for you. Express delivery is available on all items on a UK delivery, the stock may not be located in our warehouse and extra days allows time for the requested items to be posted to us ready for dispatch. We will ensure your comments on this service are forwarded on and understand how disappointed you are. With reference to your delivery, we can confirm there was no changes made by ourselves nor the courier however we notice that althought the postcode is the same-the delivery address looks like it has defaulted and added in the first available address for this postcode. The details of this have been passed on to the technical team to check into incase there is an issue for other customers. When placing a new order, just give the confirmation a look over and if you spot anything which doesnt match just give us a call and we can assist with this. We are very sorry for this experience and we hope you will take the opportunity to allow us to restore your faith in our company. Your order is now returned and refunded. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 days ago
The bag which I ordered to use for my daughters wedding was lovely but the wrist strap broke almost immediately - thankfully just before I walked down the aisle to take my seat. I had to use the shoulder strap which was disappointing as I particularly wanted a clutch with a wrist strap …
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry to hear the strap snapped on the handbag. Our Customer Services Team have been in touch regarding this and your replacement is on its way for you. We hope you will return to us again and will ensure your comments are passed onto Peter Kaiser. Kind regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 days ago
Disappointed with the lelly Kelly school shoes I ordered, they were not cheap and when they arrived they had obviously been tried on and all the paper was ripped and not back in the shoes also they didn’t have the free socks with them either, just a bit disappointing when you pay all that money for a pair of shoes.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry for the quality of the items received, we operate a rigorous policy when dispatching the items and are disappointed you received this pair. We will send on the missing items not included additional gifts for your little one and please allow 5 working days for these to arrive. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure the teams who took care of your order are informed of the issues you raised. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 days ago
Your Stratford upon Avon shop is excellent, friendly helpful staff. Needed to acquire a pair of Sketchers urgently for a specific purpose. Chose a pair that they didn't have in my size. Sarah kindly offered to order a size 6 in delivery within 5 days. Fine agreed. Delivery arrived, a size 7 with laces, I particularly ordered slip on. The shop apologised and immediately agreed to make contact, which they did and shortly after received a call from despatch, no apology, more required to send the wrong pair back. Excellent the slip-ons arrived very quickly again a size 7 and I specifically ordered size 6; all correctly ordered by the Stratford store. I did not intend to be messed about any more by the HO inefficiency/apathy towards customers and I kept them, they will become loose at some stage. Your Stratford upon Avon store 5 stars your back up really should be one star. Super shop, I may not return, don't expect this sort of hassle. Alan Wilding
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the incorrect style being sent to you, during dispatch it appears there was a mix up. We pride ourselves in customer service, and are disappointed to hear you were unhappy with the customer service you received. We will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and fully understand how frustrating the experience was. We hope you will take the opportunity to allow us to restore your faith in Charles Clinkard and if we can offer assistance further please do get in touch We are available 7 days a week via telephone on 0345 241 7742 and also via email sales@clinkard.co.uk. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 days ago
The size sent wasn’t the size ordered, was then told in the shop the sizes of that brand weren’t right on the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. The Skechers brand are a USA manufacturer and they will convert their sizing differently. We are sorry for any confusion and will ensure your feedback regarding this is passed onto the teams who add the items onto our webpage. We can see a refund is now issued for you and if we can offer assistance do not hesitate to contact us further. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 days ago
Ordered 3 pairs of shoes. One pair arrived and had to be returned as too narrow. Second pair arrived several days later, delivery note showed both outstanding pairs. As I had sent an email chasing the 2 missing pairs I received a reply the same day to say one pair not available. Though my order was accepted 5 days earlier and in the preceding 24 hours another email had been sent to me showing "Styles you might like" including the style I was told was unavailable. As returns are at customer expense, felt it was not acceptable to send in separate packages. Need to return the second pair as they are too flat! Hence this order has cost me two lots of return postage, and feel that customer service was poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry you have found the styles ordered unsuitable for you. With regards to the one item which we could not fulfil, the stock was located with our Hotter supplier and at the point the order was placed the sandals were showing. Hotter then contacted us to advise the sandals were no longer available and they requested we contact you to advise. We fully understand how disappointing this would be and have contacted you via your order with further information which we hope will restore your faith in shopping online with us. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
Can buy cheaper - will not price match
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are disappointed with your feedback as we do offer a Price Match scheme which a link is included for : https://www.charlesclinkard.co.uk/price-match-promise-i282 We have sent a seperate email privately regarding this Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
Very disappointed with this whole experience. Very slow delivery, slowest of any on line shop I've done. I always take size 9, but these slippers are too big. This has never happened before with other retailers. So they need to be returned. Just discovered that the return address slip isn't pre-paid so Clinkards expect me to pay for return postage. No other retailer that I've dealt with fails to provide pre paid return option. Returning the items to a shop means a 25 mile round trip plus exposure to the risks of Covid. All in all a very poor experience and I won't be shopping with Charles Clinkard again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for any delay in your order reaching you, this was sent direct from the merchandiser and should have been with you in 5 to 6 working days maximum. With regard to the fitting of the slipper, this is a wide fit gentlemans slipper so may be why it was found to be on the larger side. We do hope that you find something that is better suited to your needs. It is in our terms and conditions that we ask customers to return at their own cost if an item is unsuitable. Some customers may order many pairs and we have an arrangement with Collect + that for £4.49 you can return a package of up to 10 kilo back to us for this one low cost. However as you are aware, you can also take back to any Charles Clinkard store and we allow up to 365 days (1 full year) for this at the present time to allow for people who are isolating to feel safe to go into the stores. We are sorry that you were disappointed. Kind regards, Janice - customer services.
Posted 1 month ago
I am sorry to only give a score of 2 I feel I should be refunded for the suede cleaner The shoes are amazing have given a 10 for those However the suede cleaner is worse than poor !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry you are disappointed with the cleaner. We have emailed you directly regarding this to gain more information Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
Shoes are lovely very prompt service but DPD said they had tried to deliver and they didn’t do it took another for days to collect from a pick up point. Change your courier
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review We are sorry to hear of the concerns you had with your DPD delivery, on checking the details-delivery was attempted however they were unable to locate the address We are pleased you were able to pick up the parcel however we do have Royal Mail as an alternative option to DPD which you are welcome to ask for. Please note, once you place the order you would just call our Customer Services Team on 0345 241 7742 and we can add this request to your order. We hope you will return in the future Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I bought a pair of red Gabor Ruffle shoes online and the shoes were each a different colour, one was faded. Are shoes not checked before they are sent off ? I took the shoes back to Charles Clinkard's Shrewsbury branch for a refund. I will not be buying hoes from the company again. The Charles Clinkard website always has been difficult unlike John Lewis, M&S, Boots, Seasalt and many more.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We would like to thoroughly apologise you have received your shoes in a poor condition. We employ a rigorous quality check procedure in our dispatch area and we would like to apologise that on this occasion it seems your order had been missed. Please be assured we have passed your comments onto the team taking care of your order and we are disappointed you received this pair. Also, we have set up the website to offer a user friendly experience and are sorry you found this difficult, if you can email sales@clinkard.co.uk with any further information this would be most helpful. We hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in shopping with us and if we cna offer further assistance please do get in touch. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Im totally bemused by the sizing of Birkenstock Arizona. Ordered my size 5, they were huge, returned and ordered size 4. They were still so big I thought Id ordered the size 5 again by mistake? Returned these, will now order 3 and hope they fit?!?!? Never bought shoes 2 sizes below my size?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. As size is personal, although you may have ordered your usual size there is no guarantee of the perfect fit. Also, each style will offer a different fitting experience and the last used will be different for each style of Birkenstock manufactured. We are sorry and hope your new order is more suitable for you. If we can offer further assistance please do get in touch Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Please be aware when you purchase a brand of shoe from CC that they do not stock all brands in their warehouse but pass on your order to the brand supplier who may not have your size in stock . To check the actual brand website would be better. I have to say although i was disappointed Nicola tried her best to help.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do hold large stocks of all styles in a main warehouse as well as in our stores, but to offer a larger variety and availability, we do have some styles that are delivered directly from the brand supplier. I'm sorry that we weren't able to supply you with the style you wanted on this occasion, but I am glad Nicola was able to help the best she could. If you would like any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards Dawn - Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I bought a pair of Gabor sandals which I love, off Charles Clinkard, I paid £85 for the sandals so I was very disappointed when I realised I could have bought the same sandals off the Look Again catalogue for £16 cheaper so I have now ordered a black pair off that catalogue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry you are disappointed. We do offer a price match (https://www.charlesclinkard.co.uk/price-match-promise-i282) service however the following terms must be verified before we are able to process this: - The item our price is being compared to must be the same style, colour and size and must be in stock to purchase from the comparison company. -The company providing the comparison product must be comparable to Charles Clinkard. This means that the company must have a UK presence that is not solely based online (ie high street presence ) and must also not be in administration or in ‘final clearance We hope this information will be helpful and do not hesitate to contact us further Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I was happy with the delivery. However, the sandals were not suitable so decided to take them back to Nottingham for a refund. Google shows the store to be located in Victoria Centre. After paying to park and walking through the centre I was told by someone that the shop hadn’t been there for 2 years. We had to then pay to park somewhere else so that I could go to the correct location. We were not happy and well out of pocket due to parking charges.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. Our address in Nottingham 17-19 Long Row Nottingham NG1 2DH This is the one that is shown on our website so we apologise if you have seen our old address somewhere. Kind regards, Janice - customer services
Posted 2 months ago
Shoes arrived in a timely manner but were not the usual fit that I have had from Gabor in the past . Very narrow . I was dismayed to find that I had to pay the return postage , had I realised ,I would have ordered from a different site.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thankyou for your review. We do ask for returns to be paid for by the customer and you can return via any method convenient to you although Royal Mail is a popular choice. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with our returns policy, we will ensure your comments are passed onto the relevant team involved in processing the order. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I was informed that the shoes had been dispatched. I had to contact the company on 3 occasions to ask for a tracking number which I never received the shoes. Unfortunately, I never received the shoes. The company did make the refund promptly but I’m afraid the shopping experience was below par
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry you did not receive the shoes, these were dispatched directly from the supplier and we fully understand your disappointment. We hope you will give us the chance to restore your faith in Charles Clinkard, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can offer assistance in the future Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Slippers were way too small and tight. Was looking for a wider fit slipper but put off because of having to pay for returns.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for leaving your review. Your comments about the slipper will help others when they are browsing. With regard to the returns, we deliver all orders over £40 free of charge and do ask if the customer can cover the cost of returns. If however, you wanted an exchange, we would again cover the cost of the postage to you. We do review our customer comments and take them into consideration so will pass this on. We hope that you find something that you find to be a better fit. Kind regards, Janice - customer services.
Posted 3 months ago
QUICK DELIVERY Expensive trainers comfy BUT - grease blob on the top of the leather on one foot. Box they came in battered squashed with a big rip across the lid so they looked a mess before I had taken the lid of - Trainers discounted for the grease, Asked for replacement box to keep them in (2nd contact ) - was told the discount was for the box. It wasn't It was for the grease stain Looked like they'd come from a pile at the bottom of a box all battered and squashed. How they were allowed to come out like that I shall never know and to be refused a decent box to keep them in is just mean The 1st person who helped with the grease stain on chat was very helpful The 2nd was patronising and did not value the fact I told her I wanted to but them in more colours but would like a decent box ( its a cardboard box ) but she was disinterested and simply said no on chat and couldn't care less if I repeat purchased other shoes or not. If you don't value your customers - someone else will.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The order I placed was not confirmed by email, so after a few days when I ordered again, the confirmation immediately showed up and was delivered expeditiously. Then a 2nd order arrived. I opted to keep all 4 pairs of shoes because I know they are perfect. I am now on my 3rd/4th (!) incarnation of these trainers, which I wear all day! They are good looking, but really robust. I particularly like the side zip. At some point I suppose Gabor will stop this design, so I decided not to make a fuss, and would recommend Charles Clinkard notwithstanding.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Pat, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive an order confimation for one of your orders. We have taken a look and there is one order with an incorrect email address, it is almost the same, but the number within the address is written twice and not once. This will be why you have not received the email. We are really pleased that you like the shoes, and if you decide that you do want to send some back, you have up to one year so long as they are unworn. Kind regards, Janice - customer services
Posted 4 months ago
Charles Clinkard is rated 4.76 based on 35,014 reviews