Charles Clinkard Reviews

4.76 Rating 35,899 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Charles Clinkard
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.63 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Returns Process
Easy
Read Charles Clinkard Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0345 241 7742

Email:

help@clinkard.co.uk

Location:

Eveline House, Cannon Park Way, Middlesbrough

Write Your review

Tell us how Charles Clinkard made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
My mother has bought several pairs of shoes from your Ilkley shop in the past, unfortunately upon purchasing her last pair of boots, once she got them home to try on, she realised that the zip was incredibly stiff. After returning the boots to the store she was very rudely told that there was nothing wrong with them, now I have also tried to use the zip and it is definitely not a quality item! The boots have not been worn and according to the website you offer 365 day returns, but this was not even offered at the time, again even though the boots have clearly not been worn. Extremally disappointing customer service given when previously my mother has always been satisfied with the service. I personally will be encouraging her to shop else where as this is simply not good enough in this day and age not to care about the level of customer service given.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hello Paula We are sorry you were disappointed with your experience in store, we pride ourselves on customer service and have sent a private message hoping to offer further assistance. Kindest Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
I ordered a pair of Gabor boots that were supposed to be wide. I went 1 size up after reading the reviews and they were far too small and not wide at all. I then arranged an exchange for a pair 2 sizes up and when they arrived they had a piece of metal sticking up inside the boot. After ringing again I was told that size had sold out. Through no fault of my own I have lost out on boots I really like. There appears to be no quality control and selling boots that are not wide when they are advertised as wide is dreadful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. The Gabor Bastia are classed as an extra wide fitting however as size is individual and many factors such as the shape of the boot, the arch as well as the materials and the last used when making the item can affect how an item feels to each customer. The style is now no longer available however we are very sorry you found a fault with the item, its not something we would expect from Gabor and the feedback regarding this has been forwarded directly to them. We are sorry you were disappointed and hope you are able to find a suitable wide fitting alternative on the website, I have included a link to a couple which may be of interest and if you have any questions regarding this you are most welcome to call our Customer Services Team or email sales@clinkard.co.uk https://www.charlesclinkard.co.uk/women-c1/boots-c3/ankle-boots-c100/briano-womens-ankle-boots-p42595#attribute%5B1%5D=32405 https://www.charlesclinkard.co.uk/women-c1/boots-c3/ankle-boots-c100/bolan-women-ankle-boots-p40156#attribute%5B1%5D=91 Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 day ago
I gave one * for return policy. I ordered 2 pairs of shoes of my size but both of them were too big for me , despite the fact that I had ordered the same size of shoes from your site before . It seems that shoes getting bigger? Or you give wrong information on your site? So I had to return 2 pair of shoes and then I realised that for to try shoes from your site is cost me about £8 -so much Royal Mail charge for to send shoes to you. Another option is Collect + but to print label I have to have printer which I haven’t got. To print label in library was impossible as libraries are closed in my area due to pandemic. So shoes is still here . I called to your customer service asked to send me return label for Collect + which could pay, but I have been told that it is impossible. Very careless attitude! No help at all. I think that during pandemic you could send return labels and not put your customers in such situation, bear in mind how expensive your shoes are you could sort out the problem with return and not be so nasty to your customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. Our Customer Services Team have already spoken with you regarding this and we look forward to receiving the items. We are sorry you are disappointed with our returns policy and will forward your comments onto the relevant teams. Kind Regards Nicola
Posted 1 week ago
I was really disappointed with my order as I had ordered the red boots and they came in black which I’ve ended up keeping as I was desperate for some winter boots but really preferred the red
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello Thankyou for your email We are sorry to hear you did not receive the colour requested, it appears there was a mix up and we are disappointed. We do have stock of the Red Rug available if you would like to order however as you have kept the black pair we are unable to accept these back if they are worn Should the items not be worn please contact our Customer Services Team on 0345 241 7742 or via email sales@clinkard.co.uk and we can assist Kind Regards Nicola
Posted 1 week ago
I was very disappointed with the quality of the shoes.particularly the soles.i actually slipped in them.i have bought many of the reiker shoes over the years because of the quality.i shant be buying anymore.why have you changed the product.they appear cheap.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the quality of the shoes. We will of course pass your comments onto the manufacturer. We hope you find another style within our range. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 weeks ago
I think it’s dreadful you have to pay for returns it cost me £11.00 to return my boots & the sizings are all wrong!!!! I ordered a size 6 boots as I always do & couldn’t even get them on my feet. Very disappointing indeed
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent purchase. It is difficult to determine fit without trying on the item, as different styles within a brand can fit differently due to factors such as width and shape. We currently do not offer free returns, however we appreciate the feedback regarding the returns policy and will pass this onto the correct department for you. Your return has been recieved and we have processed an exchange for the items which will be with you soon. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 weeks ago
The boots do not fit, as you wont pay for postage it is going to cost me £9! as the post office wont accept parcel so big! The nearest shop to drop off to is a 180 mile round journey!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Sharon Thankyou for your review. We do ask for returns to be paid for and include this information on the website to assist however we have sent a private message regarding this. If we can help further please do get in touch. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 weeks ago
This is the second time we have ordered boots and the size has been wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. The items that are on your order were sent directly from the supplier and we are sorry the incorrect size was sent to you. We will ensure your feedback is passed on directly to them to ensure they take more care with the orders in the future We can see a refund has been issued in store however we hope you have been able to find an alternative style from our range. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 weeks ago
I bought a pair of rieker shoes was not told they were not water proof, after It rained my feet were soaking wet try to return to shop but staff not helpful, eventually got a gift voucher for the price of shoes. Bought a new pair online
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the Riekers purchased, most of the styles made by the manufacturer are hand stitched and although will have some limited water resistance they are not a waterproofed item. Items which are specifically marked by the brand do offer this attribute We hope you were able to find a suitable alternative and if we can offer further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 3 weeks ago
terrible service - shoes ordered were faulty. shoes then resent but sent to a wrong address shoes then arrived but left out in the pouring rain
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused with your order. Our Customer Services Team have been in touch and hopefully you now have your items. Please be assured we have issued feedback to the teams involved as well as the courier who left the items in an unsuitable please If we can assist further please do let us know Kind Regards Nicola
Posted 1 month ago
Being asked to write a review on something that still hasn’t been delivered is a bit hard to do. I paid £20 for delivery and it was meant to be delivered by the 14th it’s now the 17th and still no sign. So at the moment not very happy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry, your original items were returned back to us by the courier service Our Customer Services Team have resent out the order for you and hopefully this will arrive with you soon. Kind Regards Nicola
Posted 1 month ago
My order ended up going to Ireland and I live in the UK! So it was delayed and I couldn’t wear the shoes for my planned occasion. Disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent order. Royal Mail in error routed your parcel to the incorrect office however we can see they noted the error and you have now got your package. Please be assured we have informed them of your disappointment and we do have DPD as an alternative option, just contact us on 0345 241 7742 when placing the order, this request will be added. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible customer service, despite following the size guide and having another pair by same maker, would not contribute to postage costs when had to return undersized shoes. Refused to answer my questions, just got platitudes and jargon.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. Brands develop their own sizing for the shoes they produce. ... Shoe lasts are moulded models of feet and they come in various shapes and sizes, and they're a big part of what makes each shoe manufacturer unique. In that sense, the difference in shoe size between brands is much like clothing. Although you may have worn a Rieker style before, there will be a different last for this, the process will also differ again making each shoe different. Also each customer has a personal fit and this can also affect how footwear feels. We ask customers to pay towards the returns cost if an item is unsuitable and we are sorry you are disappointed with this policy. We will ensure your comments are passed onto the teams taking care of your original order and appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
I bought your wide fit boots H on line expecting a comfortable fit. However they were not true to size and so I had to return them to one of your shops in Ilkley West Yorkshire where there was a very poor choice of wide fitting Gabor. Therefore I bought a German make of boot/ trainer. These will put me on til new stock arrives in Charles clinkard.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are sorry to hear the Gabor Bastia were not suitable , as each style is unique with a different fitting experience there is no guarantee they will be a good for for everyone. With reference to our store in Ilkely, we are disappointed you were unable to find another wider fitting option in Gabor and we will ensure your comments about stock availability are passed onto the relevant department. We hope this will not deter from ordering again and do not hesitate to contact us for additional assistance Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 1 month ago
This review is based on shopping online - shopping at cheltenham shop is worthy of 6 stars. It was 5:30 on a weekday and I needed to obtain a pair of ladies boots for my wife next day but I was in cheltenham that day. SO the stock was available and I set delivery to collect from Cheltenham store and paid delivery for next day. system changed the address to my home quietly and charged 5.99 for next day delivery. goods did not arrive next because it was after 5pm so next day is plus 1 - it does not stop you but it is buried on the internet somewhere. when asked by collect at shop was changed they do not permit courier to deliver to shops - why not????? - very poor systems - Did I get the boots on time - YES - i got into my car and did a fifty mile round trip to buy the boots and pay a second time following day the post arrived and I told him to send them back lesson - do not shop online with Clinkard - I will wait until cheltenham store is opne where the ladies there are excellent - it is a shame because yourproducts are good
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. It is correct that if you order before 5pm we can do a next day delivery for you. We do not have our own courier but use Royal Mail ad DPD who have a last collection with us at aproximately 5.30. Any item can be sent to one of our stores but this order was placed using your home address for delivery, we were unaware that you wanted it sending to store. Unfortunately your order came to us after 6pm and our offices and warehouse are closed. When your order was returned we refunded your postage along with the cost of the shoes. We did not change anything on your order. I am sorry that you felt that your experience with us was not a good one, we work hard to provide a good service to our customers and feel that on this occasion, we did not live up to your expectations. We do hope that you will continue to shop with us in the future and give us the opportunity to show how well online delivery can work. Kind regards, Janice - customer services
Posted 1 month ago
They didn't fit properly, a bit on the wide side
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that this lovely sandal was not a good fit for you. Your comments will help others when they are browsing. Kind regards, Janice - customer services
Posted 2 months ago
We ordered 4 pairs of school shoes, received no confirmation email until a few days later. By which time we had been into your shop in Northallerton to see what was going on, they checked the system and saw no evidence of any order so we bought shoes for my kids there and then. A few days later we got confirmation of the order and the shoes are now at your store ready to be collected. Not sure why there was a delay in the order showing up or the glitch but feel you should be aware of this as not the level of service we have come to expect from you as normally your service is fab.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your email We are sorry you never received a confirmation email, it may have gone into a Junk or Spam folder. We can see the order is still instore, we have sent an email against this order for you and look forward to your reply. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Let me down on a school shoe order and the shop they were being delivered to were very unhelpful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience ordering with Charles Clinkard. A seperate email has been sent to find out more information and we look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Parked mobility scooter outside by all bar one so we could keep an eye on our stuff whilst having one drink, asked to move them away from shop and park further up as 'that's an empty shop' , no blockage to his entrance..... Sad, apparently this is discrimination so I have been told.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Wanted slippers for a wedding trip away last week and sadly still waiting for them to arrive
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Thankyou for your review We are sorry for any delay Your order was available to collect from the store however we note a telephone number was not included and an email was forwarded to you which may have gone into another folder. If there are any further queires please do let us know Kind Regards Nicola-Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Charles Clinkard is rated 4.76 based on 35,899 reviews