“The chair itself was wonderful and the service was just as they said it would be. Delivered early on one day and collected early a week later. What I took exception to was being charged for two weeks (which they claim is standard) when I only needed the chair for one week as my mother was visiting for one week but I HAD to pay for two weeks! The chair was returned after a week so I and someone else is paying for the second week. Not good business practice. And so for that reason I won’t be recommending this service. The Red Cross do chairs for a donation which I will use the next time.”
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and I’m pleased to hear our service met your expectations. We would love to be able to offer a minimum charge of just one week (£12.50). Each of our chairs goes through a deep clean and service between hires, which in itself costs us more to undertake than the £12.50 and therefore unfortunately makes a one week charge impossible. I appreciate your feedback and understand the frustration, we will keep this under review incase there comes a time when we are able to make this change.
“Let's start with the fact you didn't even bother to spell my name right! I am deeply offended. It's NIKOLETTA not Nicola!!
The other matter is that you charged me £30 for 2 days! Shame on you!
Next time I find myself in a situation where I could do with your services, trust me your company 's name will be the first one I will think of. Not because I was so satisfied, but to make sure I do NOT contact you!
Posted 2 years ago
Please accept my sincere apologies for the mistake made in recording your name – this was an unfortunate case of human error, and we will be taking steps to ensure that we record names with 100% accuracy in the future. Our hire is done on a weekly basis, and as the wheelchair was retained for an additional four days beyond the expiry of the initial fortnight, we did have to charge for this third week of hire. As a gesture of goodwill, I have refunded half of this amount, £15 onto your card – this should be reflected in your account within the next week.
If there is anything further we can assist you with, please don’t hesitate to contact us.
“generally a very courteous team who know their stuff
very disappointing though that there was a lack of will to resolve an important issue.
I booked a wheelchair over the phone and drove to the wheel freedom offices to pick it up myself. Despite having detailed conversations with both the lady on the phone at time of booking and with the gentleman who gave us the wheelchair when we went to pick it up, no one told us at any point that we need to pick a box from the office if we choose to have the wheelchair picked up from us by their couriers at the time of returning the wheelchair.
Collection and delivery is £15 each way. I was told that and found it easy to pick up the wheelchair but needed it to be collected from our house for return to the depo. I had indicated this possibility very clearly to both members of staff who dealt with us but what they failed to tell me is that if I didn't have one of their boxes for packing the wheelchair in for their courier then the would charge me the cost of delivery ASWELL as pickup!!
If they had told me this before then I would have collected the box at the same time as colleting the wheelchair from the depo.
The member of staff insisted I had been told and refused to accept the possibility that she may be made a mistake. She also mentioned it wasn't the job of the man who gave me possession of the wheelchair to tell me about the box.
Being charged the extra £15 isn't as much an issue as is the lack of customer care and willingness to help, not to accepting that sometimes staff can make a mistake. Even accepting that and offering an honest apology would help.”
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Ms Khan,
Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for the situation you found yourself in.
It is true customers should be talked through the collection procedures when picking up chairs from our depot due to our couriers requiring the chairs to be boxed, and the costs sending boxes out incurs.
However, if you feel you weren’t given this information this charge should not have been applied.
Consequently, I have had the £15 refunded back to your card. We are also looking into our processes in order that this situation doesn’t arise again.
Please accept my apologies and please let me know if I can do anything further.
“Unfortunately the wheelchair provided had problems. Within 5 minutes of using it the tyre came off one wheel and did this a few times over my holiday. In addition the front small wheels continually turned sideways preventing the wheelchair moving forward. I won't be using it again.”
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Ms Shillibeer,
Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to hear of your experience.
We do offer a next day replacement service however a tyre coming off is not something that should ever happen in the first place. All our chairs go through a thorough service between hires and we will be investigating this further to make sure there is no chance of a similar event happening in the future.
We have refunded your hire in full and please accept my apologies for the impact the fault may have had on your holiday.
“The brakes on the wheel chair did not work efficiently when used the chair to a took a long time to stop despite holding down the brake hard . I used the chair once and was not able to use it again because of the faulty brake.”
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Ms Murray,
Thank you for your feedback regarding the wheelchair you hired from us. We are sorry to hear of the problems you experienced, but are slightly baffled by the issues you described. The wheelchair comes with parking brakes, which can be applied when the wheelchair is already at a complete stop to hold it in place – these brakes are not designed to be used when the wheelchair is in motion, as explained in the user manual supplied with the equipment.
We do offer a next working day replacement service to keep our customers mobile should any problems arise with the wheelchair – unfortunately we were not made aware of any issues during the hire, so were unable to assist in this way.
Please could you contact us on 0800 025 8005 to discuss the problems you experienced with the wheelchair, so we can look to resolve them.
“The wheelchair was supposed to be delivered before midday. It's 6pm and I'm still waiting. I hope I'm not being charged for using it today.”
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Ms Spychalska,
Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry that our service let you down on this occasion. Our couriers delivered the wheelchair at 11.21am on the day of delivery, and the concierge accepted delivery of the wheelchair on your behalf.
We have since spoken to our couriers to ensure that they attempt to deliver direct to the customer's door first, and only leave the wheelchair with a concierge if specifically instructed to in advance or if there is no-one in.
As agreed with one of our customer service team, we have given you an extra day's hire, to ensure that you were not charged for the day that you did not have use of the wheelchair.
Once again, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the delivery mix-up.
“We hired the wheelchair and power pack for a holiday, firstly it was delivered outside the delivery window which although wasted part of our hol would have been fine but it took 3 phone calls for the service team to eventually contact the courier to find there was a delay. When it arrived both the chair and powerpack had faults, forcing us to find a repair center to fix one issue a broken plug. Again the customer service from Wheelfreedom was very poor. Although they agreed to redeliver a replaceent the response was very poor with no apology and unhelpful comments like "we never have any issues" and "the products are checkd before dispatch". If this is the case it means the service is exceptionally poor, and basically indicated that we were responsible for the faults. We hired a chair from a local firm part way through the holiday at added cost to us, they were far cheaper but more importantly the service was first class.”
“Unfortunately, my experience wasn't great.
The Customer Service was fine, everything was explained clearly, in a friendly way and my order was taken down accurately.
I decided to pay extra to have the chair delivered on a Saturday morning (I had been housebound for over a week and I was desperately looking forward to getting out with my 3yr old to our local Picnic in the Park).
My son was so excited that Mummy would be able to come out. Since an operation that means I need to keep my foot elevated above my hip I've not been much of a fun Mum.
Sadly, a chair with the wrong leg extension was sent (right instead of left). I was not able to go out and nothing could be done because it was a Saturday.
Also, the breaks on the chair was so incredibly stiff that it was a real struggle to get them on and off. I am strong and relatively young (until my accident I was circuit training every week, running 3 times a week and swimming regularly) but I still had bruised hands trying to operate the breaks on this chair. Imagine if I had been elderly or had just had major surgery?
All in all I was pretty disappointed.”
Posted 6 years ago
Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that our service let you down. Receiving an incorrect product is very unusual; nonetheless we are taking steps to make sure these details are double checked before dispatch in order that this type of situation does not arise again. During the wheelchairs’ service, between hires, all the brakes are tightened in order that they safely hold the wheelchair firmly in position. However, we have had a couple of customers comment on the stiffness of the brakes in recent weeks and it has been highlighted that some chairs were being tightened to an excessive extent. All our brakes should hopefully now be easy to operate while still holding the wheelchair safely in place.
May I apologise again for the issues you experienced. I'm aware that we consequently sent the correct elevator out, refunded your Saturday delivery charge and extended your hire to reflect the inconvenience - however please let me know if there is anything further we can do.