Wheelfreedom Reviews

4.89 Rating 1,735 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Wheelfreedom
Read Wheelfreedom Reviews
Visit Website


0800 0258005




Unit 61 Barwell Business Park, Leatherhead Road,

Write Your review

Tell us how Wheelfreedom made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Ruptured my Achilles a week before due to fly to Spain. Hired a knee scooter from Wheel Freedom. Wow! Would not have been able to go without it. Meant I could get around independently without crutches. Used for about 4 weeks until I was weight bearing. Service from company was brilliant - both delivery and collection.
Posted 1 year ago
Very happy with the service (apart from operator couldn’t tell me how to tilt wheelchair to go onto pavement or bumps)
Posted 1 year ago
I didn't need to push fintan in a manual wheelchair
Posted 2 years ago
Fast delivery of light weight wheelchair.
Shame the 1st and 2nd replacement were slightly damaged/loose and unable to tighten them.
Very useful fast service to have but maintenance checks need to be more thorough.
Good customer service
Posted 3 years ago
I need a wheelchair as mine was in repair but I was a little disappointed with the wheelchair I hired no padded chushion
Posted 3 years ago
Service was brilliant but wheelchair left a lot to be desired.
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for your feedback.

Can I please offer our sincere apologies for the wheelchair not being up to standard.

All of our wheelchairs are cleaned and serviced before being sent out on hire.

If you could contact us on 0800 025 8005 we would like to discuss this matter further to enable us to ensure this does not happen in the future.
Posted 3 years ago
Service was brilliant but wheelchair left a lot to be desired.
Posted 3 years ago
Scooter didn t Work correctly..i stopped in the Middle of the street several times
Posted 3 years ago
Hiring a wheelchair is expensive from here £17.50 for wheelchair then extra for a cushion and a small cup for your crutches ending up to be £21.++ so if you have it for awhile it ends up to be expensive they tell you it goes down after awhile but for us it didnt we had it from july till 28 th september. You would be far better of buying one £65.00 from ebay sell it after if you dont need it that my advice free delivery , you have to pay £30.00 for the delivery here which is expensive in my opinion. It did the job as i got out at mh worst time but if i had to do it again id buy one tbh every 2 weeks it cost us £40 plus pound i could of purchased one 3+ times over
Word of advice supermarkets let you borrow one if you go further buy one
Posted 4 years ago
Too expensive
Posted 4 years ago
Service was efficient and punctual. The wheelchair was not in tip top condition, steering slightly off, and feet rest legs did not fit well, either to my feet or to the wheelchair itself.
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologise for the condition of the wheelchair you received. We will follow this up with our service team to ensure this will not happen again.
Posted 4 years ago
Was very easy to book, however was not very impressed that it was delivered to wrong part of the country and then I had to wait until 6 o'clock in the evening for it to turn up I paid £35 to get it delivered on a Saturday before 12.30 pm so expected to be offered some sort of refund on the delivery as it was very late . Getting it picked up was very easy though, after all said and done would still use again .
Posted 4 years ago
The chair and service were great. My only comment is that the man who came out to deliver the chair spoke very fast and very softly, despite repeated requests to speak more slowly and loudly as Dad is very deaf. As a result, Dad did not understand how to use some of the functions of the chair, and this led to him deciding not to buy it. In turn this means we can still only take him away to places that have height adjustable beds as his current chair doesn't have a lift function to aid transfers.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Ms Anderson,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the wheelchair and our service. We are sorry about the problems your father had understanding our technician, and we have spoken to him regarding this, as well as making changes to our training to ensure that our technicians are better prepared for dealing with customers with hearing difficulties.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any further feedback on our service.

Chris Sedgwick
Operations Manager
Posted 5 years ago
Overall happy with the wheelchair, it was a great help for our family holiday. My only criticism is that the chair seemed to veer to the left and was quite hard to push because of this, therefore only my brothers could push my dad in the wheelchair as it was too difficult for myself and my mum.
Posted 6 years ago
The wheelchair service was very good, but a bit pricey for a hire cost. The chair was quite difficult to attach to the straps in an ambulance. The service over all was prompt and easy to use, but people found the chair hard to push.
Posted 6 years ago
The service was good, but the payment method should be weekly. I dont think its fair to pay for more 2 weeks because of more one or two days.
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr Ferreira,

Thank you for your feedback and I’m pleased to hear you had a good experience of our service.

We take payments every 2 weeks in order to keep transaction charges down and therefore help us keep our prices as low as possible. However we will refund any unused weeks once a product comes back to us. The exception to this is the first two weeks, we have to have a 2 week minimum charge in order to cover the steam cleaning and servicing of the equipment between hires.
I hope this clarifys why we need to take payments every 2 weeks, however please contact me if you would like any further information.

Yours sincerely,

Giles Donald
Posted 6 years ago
I was left in a situation where I couldn't get through to the British Red Cross which was my first choice for my first time using a wheel chair, so, I found Wheelfreedom on line and decided to give them a call.
I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly and efficient staff and their delivery service was also excellent. However, that's where our experience began to falter.
I didn't take the chair out of it's excellent packaging until a couple of days later when I new my care visitor would be here as I new she had experience with wheel chairs, so the first thing we did was to put the stabilizers in place and neither one would go in to it's respective pipe with having to use a hammer?
Inside each tube there was a 'lip' which the stabilizer would not easily pass over and required significant force, the up shot of this was that it was almost impossible to get them back out which was needed if you wanted to easily re box the chair.
Next, I then noticed that the left tyre was not seated into it's rim, so I immediately called Wheelfreedom who to be fair did get a replacement dispatched and delivered for the following day and I also took that opportunity to inform them re the situation with the stabilizers, I was advised to send the original wheel back in with the chair in the box the chair came in when I no longer required the chair.
A quick call to ask how to change the wheel and it was explained how simple it was as it was a push button in the centre of the wheel. However, it took a little while to discover that the same button had to be pressed to remove the axle from the wheel.
So job done and we were ready to go, that is until I sat on the chair and we then discovered that the additional seat pad didn't have the opposite Velcro to that on the chair seat, which meant the seat pad would slide about, which isn't a comfortable experience.
When it became obvious the ramps at home were not going to be installed within the 2 weeks I'd initially booked the chair for I decided to return the chair, again a simple booking process but when it came to getting the chair with the stabilizers still attached and the extra wheel into and then close the box securely; we found we could only use one of the straps.
So my rating overall is the the route to getting the chair delivered is a pretty good experience, as is should you require additional items.
However, the checking of the chair and it's associated parts prior to being dispatched is at best poor!
For me at the moment and as I cannot leave my home these issues we resolved fairly quickly without causing me any distress but if I didn't have help and I include the hammer in that that these delays may have caused someone else distress.
Posted 6 years ago
Very quick delivery staff were very helpful. Unable to use the chair due to the left leg extension . The pad is hard plastic which was so uncomfortable there are newer versions out there which are padded returned chair unused within 1st week which is a pain when you pay by the fortnight
Collection was very quick.
Posted 6 years ago
It was great except for heavy battery and difficulty to slot and unslot the battery onto to scooter.
Posted 6 years ago
Wheelfreedom is rated 4.89 based on 1,735 reviews