Swindon Caravans Group Reviews

4.48 Rating 279 Reviews
87% of reviewers recommend Swindon Caravans Group

About Swindon Caravans Group: Award winning dealership selling new and second hand touring caravans. With branches in Swindon, Oxford and Reading. We cater to all your caravanning needs, from caravans sales and caravan & awning accessory shops to our workshops and aftersales service.

Visit Website

Phone:
01793772096

Email:
tom@swindoncaravans.com

Location:
Greatfield, Royal Wootton Bassett,

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Met at the caravan show and very friendly
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Very friendly staff and service - thank you !!"
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Very fare on price and large stock
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
"I must say every person on there team made my experience stress free. I would recommend them to everyone. And the shop had every thing I thought I needed and more"
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? The trudgians video bloggers highly recommended
Would you buy from one of our branches again? no
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? no
"In 25 years of caravaning this is the worse purchase experience & change over we have had, having owned four caravans & two Motorhomes in those years. We arrived with out part x Venus as we were staying overnight Saturday we had brought the bare minimum equipment with us & loaded the majority on the front floor, Lewis was helpful & moved our old van close to new one he said he would let us change our belongings over first, I thought this strange at the time as a damp check is normally carried out first. He told us to look over the new van & on entering the first thing I checked was the front cupboard door which was jammed closed when we first viewed the van back in February he agreed then he would get the jobs done, to our total dismay this job had not been done as the cupboard door still would not open. I then I checked to make sure all the European plug sockets had been changed, again the TV station socket had been forgotten. Lewis said he would get the jobs sorted straight away which I appreciate he did. As Lewis showed as around the van we came to the microwave on opening it we noticed the turntable & roller assy was missing we remembered that on veiwing the van these items were in the front chest draw, we searched but couldn’t find the parts anywhere. Lewis said he would try find the parts & Once the handover of new van was completed he then said he would carry out the damp check on our old van, I sat outside he was a fair time in our old van & then broke bad news that he had found two high damp readings one just inside the entrance door & in the corner of the bathroom, he said it was common on Venus models, none of these areas were obstructed when we first arrived so knowing the common damp area he could have checked these area’s as the were fully accessible before swapping our belongings over. All our Past change overs, the dealer has always checked for damp before proceeding with the sale. Lewis then hit us with a dire decision, pay an extra £1000 pounds or change everything back & take our old van home. We were left shocked upset to decide what to do for the best & because we had a Building Society Cheque already made out were so worried we wouldn’t be able to reimburse this & the £500 deposit so we agreed although leaving our financial situation in jeopardy to go ahead & take the new van. Lewis said he would get the microwave turntable & roller sent to us. We also noticed that the original microwave had been changed for a different model which is worrying. On reflection I should have refused to take the new van off your premises until it had a complete working microwave. Not only did I have to pay £1000 extra for our old van, we are now left with a microwave & van not fit for purpose. Feeling very cheated angry, disappointed & disgruntled! Will seek advice from Citizens Advice if parts not resolved or new microwave not supplied urgently! Regards Mr & Mrs Bridges"
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Mr & Mrs Bridges,
It is always disappointing to receive feedback of this nature. The collection of your new caravan should be a memorable and smooth experience, unfortunately on this occasion that wasn't the case.
Lewis took the decision to perform the damp test once the caravan had been fully emptied. This would seem the logical thing to do instead of doing two partial tests; once on the areas that were accessible whilst the caravan was still loaded and another on the remaining areas once the caravan had been emptied. We maintain that that was the right and best course of action. It just so happened that the areas of damp were accessible whilst the caravan was loaded. Lewis wasn't to know that. If the areas of damp had been found in non accessible areas (due to the caravan being loaded) would that have changed your view and experience with us? The caravan has not been serviced since it was purchased from another dealership in 2016. As a result it is unfortunate that such outcomes are more likely.
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Good website
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"From arriving at the site to look at the various caravans on display.They had a very good selection of all price ranges. The salesman Alan wasn’t pushy at all,just let us get on with looking around. He was there to help us when we needed help and advice. Alistair today for the hand over was superb.Answering all my questions. All in all a very swift effective service from start to handover."
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Caravans were clean and looked inviting and the staff were great
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"The staff were attentive and thorough going through the paperwork"
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? You had the Caravan we were looking for at the right price
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Every thing went very smoothly today. Nothing was to much trouble."
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We visited Reading Caravans for the first time in February, looking for a replacement for our problematical van. We were immediately impressed with the warm, friendly reception we received and the help and advice offered by the obviously knowledgeable staff. Reading Caravans is a developing site and offers a good choice of caravans, with the emphasis on Bailey. There is a very well stocked accessory shop and coffee facilities are provided as well. Well worth a visit!"
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We really liked the Dealer Special Swift Vogue that we purchased
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"This was a first time caravan purchase. The salesman Lewis in the Oxford dealership was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and made us feel totally at ease. He allowed us time to make our decision while answering all of our questions to the best of our abilities. The overall process to purchase our be caravan was simple and well managed. I wish to compliment Swindon caravans and Lewis personally for an outstanding service and I would highly recommend them and limited to anybody"
Posted 2 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Local company, good display of new and used caravans all well presented.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Can not fault Swindon caravans, Paul in sales made the purchase go so smoothly and Dean on dispatch went through every thing on new caravan in fine detail, will definitely recommend to any one wishing to purchase a caravan."
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? location and price
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"all very good"
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"very pleased and happy with the service we got buying our "near" new caravan very helpfull young man (think his name is jock) went through everything thanks very much"
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We found the vans at both the Oxford and Swindon branches to be fairly priced.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"I paid a deposit over the phone to hold the caravan for a few days until we were able to view it. On arrival we were given the keys to have a look around it on our own. We were then joined by the salesman, Paul, who then answered our questions. Having decided to buy it, Paul sorted out having a motor mover fitted, our paperwork and collection. On collection, Dean did a thorough explanation of how everything in the van worked. We found the service at Swindon excellent."
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? My brother recommended that I visited when I mentioned that we had started looking at caravans and were considering buying one.
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"On day of sale we were put under no pressure but given all the help and advice we needed to help us decide. Because we were considering going over our original budget we were given a price reduction to help soften the blow and the deal with essential accessories was very welcome and saved us time and effort as well as being high quality items. After the sale we were welcomed when we wanted to visit to measure inside and any questions we had were answered honestly. On the day of collection our van was ready as promised and had clearly been prepared well, even the tyres had been replaced because they were old. The despatch team (Dean) was extremely helpful and despite being very busy due to staff sickness we were not hurried and everything was explained clearly. He even removed the paint from my tow bar and helped me fasten the towing mirrors to my car. I cannot fault the service we received throughout, the whole process from start to finish was painless and even enjoyable (despite the fact that I have just parted with a large percentage of our savings!) - and of course we were offered drinks every time we visited. We came to Swindon Caravans following a recommendation and I can fully understand why."
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? no
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Picked up caravan today few minor faults that your team put Wright pleased with caravan handover but on the way home brakes were very noisy."
Posted 3 months ago
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Best offer from a local dealer
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Very impressed with handover staff able to answer all our questions nice touch walking into new van and finding heating lights radio on"
Posted 3 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We were coming to Devizes in our old van and Swindon had the van we wanted
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"The service we received was excellent. The lady who dealt with the paperwork (sorry can’t remember her name) was so helpful and nothing was to much trouble for her. The staff if the shop were excellent. Jack who did the handover and was only 21 was brilliant and did not rush us and went over anything we didn’t understand. All the staff we dealt with were an asset to the company. Could go on and on listing the little extras they did to make the handover of our van a very special experience. The body work that had needed doing was done to a high standard and the van had been immaculately cleaned. We would definitely recommend Swindon caravans. In fact we are quite upset that we live so far away to have it serviced there. We are considering bringing it for a service and getting g bed and breakfast in the area. Thank you everyone at Swindon caravans for fantastic customer service"
Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? This was second purchase from the group and were pleased the first time
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"we were well treated and received informed friendly service and our entire purchase experience was extremely pleasent"
Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? Old costomer
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"Van was fully prepared and the peration of new van explained comprehensively"
Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? We have use dhem before for spares and bit and bobs for our old caravan
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"We got a good deal and an excellent caravan and the people were friendly and helpful Many compliments to Dean from the maintenance side - extremely helpful and went the extra mile for us even through the pouring rain"
Posted 4 months ago
Do you intend to use us for service and warranty work? yes
Why did you choose the Swindon Caravans Group? ease as we live in Swindon and the choice of models was great
Would you buy from one of our branches again? yes
Would you recommend us to your family and friends? yes
"we had our last caravan for 13 years and it did us proud but we were due for a new one and we couldn't be more happier not only with the Bailey we purchased but with the attention to detail Swindon caravan team give to their customers Paul Hopkins was excellent and couldn't help us enough also Jack, the lad that showed us round the caravan on collection is a credit to your company. I will certainly recommend your excellent professional company to friends and family."
Posted 4 months ago
Swindon Caravans Group is rated 4.48 based on 279 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support