Shepherds Friendly Reviews

4.67 Rating 2,402 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Shepherds Friendly
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.76 out of 5
Read Shepherds Friendly Reviews

About Shepherds Friendly:

Shepherds Friendly is one of the oldest financial mutuals in the world, with 190 years’ experience in providing families with financial security.

Visit Website

Phone:

01614281212

Email:

info@shepherds.co.uk

Location:

Haw Bank House,High Street,Cheadle,Cheshire

Write Your review

Tell us how Shepherds Friendly made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I have top cover paying over £80 p/m.
Not only is the customer services appalling,taking way over 3 weeks to reply but they will do anything possible to refuse payout!
I definitely do not recommend
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you are unhappy following your recent experience with us. Being there for our members is central to everything we do at Shepherds Friendly. As such, we are keen to look into this for you and see if we are able to offer any assistance. I have passed on your contact details to our Member Services team, and they will be in touch as soon as they can.

Kind Regards,

Aidan
At present this is a 1 star as the cashback that was the enticement has not been added to my top cashback account. I will be making a complaint today and if resolved I will change the rating to reflect the entire experience.
I sent an email 4 days ago and I have still to hear back - and I have a plan with Shepherd's Friendly.
Hello Nicholas,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t heard back from us yet. I've followed this up for you, and can confirm that someone from our Member Services team will be in touch soon to answer any questions you may have. If you have anything further you would like to discuss, you can contact the Member Services team on 0800 526 249.

Kind Regards,

Aidan
Awful website. I think a school child could have done better. No visibility on investment and the login logout is terrible. I am looking to move my investment to an upto date business.
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you have been experiencing issues with our new website. We have been working hard to fix any errors you encountered and I am pleased to let you know they have now been resolved. If you would like to discuss this matter or anything else further, you can contact our Member Services team on 0800 526 249 or via email at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.
Kind Regards,

Aidan
Really dissapointed - thinking of cancelling my policy. I took out an income protection policy nearly 5 years ago with 2 weeks waiting period. I had to make a claim after I got Covid19. Stayed at home for nearly 3 weeks, however my claim was rejected as I was “required to self-isolate for 10 days after positive test and therefore not incapacitated beyond waiting period”. I assume it means - according to Shepherds Friendly - I should have gone back to work after 10 days even though I have been still experiencing Covid19 symptoms (such as fever, fatigue, headaches etc.).
I would have gone back to work if I could (I am earning MUCH more from my job than I’d get in income protection benefits). However, I have to do quite a lot of manual/ physical labour such as carrying heavy stuff and was simply unable to do it due to ongoing Covid19 symptoms.

Therefore, I am really disappointed that I am not entitled to anything after paying premiums for nearly 5 years - now it’s not even a matter of money but a matter of principle. I cannot trust that I would be able to get help from Shepherds Friendly in the future, should I need them. I will look into the T&Cs how to cancel the policy.
Hello,

Thanks for giving us your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that your experience with Shepherds Friendly did not meet your expectations, our members are important to us and we are looking into this matter for you. If you would like to speak about this matter, or anything else, with someone from our Member Services team, you can contact them on 0800 526 249 or via email at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Aidan
The new website is terrible. Can't log in on mobile, can't reset password, can't believe it got approved to go live in this state.
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and getting in touch with us via email. I’m sorry to hear you have been having trouble with our new website. We launched early this morning and our team is working hard to resolve any issues you might be experiencing. If you have any other concerns, you can reach our Member Services team on 0800 526 249 or via email at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Aidan
Requested to open a plan on the 11th October. It’s now the 26th and I still haven’t heard from you so the rating is low.
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t received your Welcome Pack. Our Member Services team have now been in touch but unfortunately have been unable to get through.

If there is anything else that we can help you with, don’t hesitate to get in touch with the Member Services team on 0800 526 249 or via email at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Aidan
Don’t like it one bit false advertising
Hello, thank you for getting in touch. Your feedback is important to us, and it is always our priority to help our members wherever we can with their plans. Our Member Services team would be happy to speak with you about any feedback you have, who you can contact on 0800 526 249 or via email at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk. Kind Regards, Aidan.
I do not have a plan as I cancelled because your company is a far from modern evangelical front and racist to boot and does not even understand what a direct cremation is. My advice to one and all steer clear and go to Royal London a traditional mutual instead.
Hello,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent experience with us. We'd be happy to help you and discuss your plan application with us. We are sorry to learn that you are not happy with the service you have received. If you would like to discuss the matter further, our Member Services team will be happy to speak with you. You can reach us on 0800 526 249 or via email to members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk. Kind regards, Aidan
It really impress me how many positive reviews for this company.
My experience with them is really bad, after I got ill they said "they dont pay because they dont have my complete medical record, despite they already have it".
I contacted to QuotemeHappy happy and they said there is nothing they can do.
Have in mind that the longer it takes you to try to get payd, the longer youll be paying to them month after month, even if they are not going to pay you a penny. After I spoke to the broker, they said... yes, If you stop paying, theyll stop your case.
Beautiful.
Hello there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us.

At Shepherds Friendly, it is always our aim to put members first; as such, each case is reviewed and considered on an individual basis.

I'm saddened to hear that you are not satisfied with the service you have received. If you would like to discuss the matter further, our Member Services team will be happy to speak with you. You can reach us on 0800 526 249 or via email to members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.

Kind regards,

Melissa
Shepherds Friendly
Invested through quidco to recieve a stated £60 cashback. Once complete, only £25 was tracked. Cancelled on that basis. If they cannot be honest with that part of the investment, where else will they mislead you?
Hello Jeffrey,
Many thanks for getting in touch and letting us know about your cashback experience. Sometimes cashback may initially track at a lower rate at first but then it is updated to the correct rate on confirmation of your plan. We’re always happy to help our members with queries like this to ensure that they are resolved quickly and processed in an efficient manner. If you would like to discuss your cashback query with us please get in touch with our Member Services team on 0800 526249.

Thanks
Libbi
Shepherds friendly income protection insurance is a cooperate fraud scheme, by thieves and low lives who enjoys robbing people off there hard earned money. there application form was a Yes or No questions and has no room to explain any condition. After 2 years of paying £65 every month. I have been denied a claim, saying that my weight its too high and wont pay. I'm left with no payment, and don't know how I'm going to feed and pay my bill this month.
Hello Charles,

Thank you for getting in touch with us. We would like to support you with the feedback you have provided and address any concerns you might have. If possible, please contact our Member Services team on 0161 428 1212 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk and they’ll be happy to help.

Kind regards,
Lyba
DO NOT GET INCOME PROTECTION after having a sick note and case reviewed, which took a month they declined my case based on some sports physio I had two years previously, they then cancelled my plan. No customer service contact and my claim was for mental illness which was totally unrelated to the sports physio I had two years ago. Do not rely on this company for help!!
Hi Allison,

Thank you for getting in touch with us. Our Claims team have tried to get in touch with you but unfortunately they have been unable to get through. We would like to support you with the feedback you have provided and address any concerns you might have.

If possible, please contact our Member Services team on 0800 526 249 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk to discuss this in further detail.

Kind regards,
Lyba
Easy to set up and create direct deposit to their account. but as soon as you claim they disappear and ignore you and no answer what so ever...
Hello Linas,

Thank you for getting in touch with us. We’re currently receiving an increase in enquiries it may take our Claims Team 3-5 working days to respond, we appreciate your patience and understanding.

We would like to support you with the feedback you have provided and address any concerns you might have. If you would like to speak about this, please contact our Member Services team on 0800 526 249 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk and they’ll be happy to help.

Kind regards,
Lyba
My stocks n shares isa had a 20% reduction placed on any withdrawals or transfers. This was devastating, I had to cancel buying a property which was at exchange of contracts stage. I lost money with conveyancers, only by good fortune I checked my withdrawal balance before signing. Worse ever financial decision ever, scandalous.
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I just want to address your point to provide some context about the current situation.

The spread of COVID-19 has had a significant impact on financial markets worldwide. All investments carry some level of risk, and during periods of uncertain and challenging economic conditions, they may lose value. For this reason, you should always view investing with a medium to long-term outlook of five years or more.

While we understand that some of our members need access to their money currently for various reasons, and empathise with your situation, we also need to provide protection for our members who are remaining invested in the fund. To do this we apply a Market Value Reduction (MVR), which ensures that when members withdraw during adverse market conditions, they do not leave with more than their fair share of the assets. You can find out more about MVRs in your plan terms and conditions or by contacting our Member Services team. Historically, this is not something that has been common, and is not a decision that has been taken lightly. However, we do find ourselves in an unprecedented situation, and this is necessary to protect all our members who have money invested with us.

Following a review of the rate last month, I would like to let you know that we have reduced the MVR and this will continue to be monitored closely by us.

Please do get in touch if you would like to discuss this further. Our Member Services team are available on 0800 526 249 or at members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk.
On line site so smooth and easy to use
I hope everything else will be as straight forward
Hello Dorothy,

Thank you for leaving us a review.

If there's anything we can help you with, please feel free to contact our Member Services team on 0161 428 1212 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk

Kind regards,
Lyba
Avoid at all cost I have been off work with coronavirus symptom and made my first claim they took 12 weeks to get back to me and was more focused on my medical report and they refused to pay because I had not told them about me being off work for more then 2 weeks in 2018 with a muscle injury and all they offered me was my premium money back
Avoid , avoid taking any claims or benefits with this company. It is a massive big fraud system made legal ! I have been overpaying the company over a year and when it came to claiming first time ever being sick or receiving sick note from a doctor and all they are focusing about me not mentioning about my hobbies and by my medical record that mentioned I was injured doing boxing, which I do for fitness and they automatically assume that doing white collar boxing is my profession with income, they will find any reasons possible just to reject your claim. You are best to put your own money aside than to trust Sheperds friendly. I do not know why they call themselves that name , it should be more like Wolves friendly, I will be taking them to court and I will advise to anyone going to similar case, not to give up and to not let them take your money.
Hello,

Thank you for getting in touch with us.

We would like to support you with the feedback you have provided and address any concerns you might have. If possible, please contact our Member Services team on 0161 428 1212 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk and they’ll be happy to help.

Kind regards,
Lyba
Contacted mid March and now in mid May they finally decided to contact my GP and ask for supporting information which can take up to six weeks to process. Correspondence is once every 5-6 days, there is no understanding of the facts that I have given all the information I have already and a month later after emailing back and forth they are still asking for something I already spoke about in the beginning. I'm paying premium so I can have money from the claim after a week of not working.... Well its been more than two months now and doesn't seem like anyone is in a hurry from their side, I'm still being charged though. Their competenc is close to none.
Hello,

Thank you for getting in touch. Due to the current situation our team is having to work remotely and has been receiving an increase in enquiries, which is why it is taking us a little longer than normal to respond. We apologise for the delay and appreciate your patience and understanding.

We would like to support you with the feedback you have provided and answer any questions you might have. If possible, please contact our Member Services team on 0161 428 1212 or by email on members@shepherdsfriendly.co.uk and they’ll be happy to help.

Kind regards,
Lyba
My name is Calvin hanson.

I took My income protection policy out and Unfortunately had an injury at work and had to claim.

It took them over two months to come up with a decision But where I live pay cheque to pay check I could afford the second month

So they declined my case because I’ve missed a payment even though I said I would clear the payment the contract wasn’t cancelled or anything and they wouldn’t let me reopen another case .

The whole reason of taking out income protection is if anything happened to me it would pay out every month so I could pay my bills.

Unfortunately I cannot add a picture of the letter they sent to me but I will try to do it on Google reviews
Hi Calvin,

Thank you for your feedback. Due to nature of the claim process containing sensitive information, I have sent you a private message with further details and to help address your concerns.

Should you wish to further discuss the feedback that you have provided, please feel free to get in touch with our Member Services team on 0161 428 1212.

Kind regards,
Lyba
Shepherds Friendly is rated 4.67 based on 2,402 reviews