Mango Bikes Reviews

3.92 Rating 580 Reviews
71 %
of reviewers recommend Mango Bikes
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 80%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 90%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Mango Bikes Reviews

About Mango Bikes:

Award-winning and affordable lifestyle, commuter, urban and road bikes, hand built in the UK.

Visit Website

Phone:

02828 163030

Email:

sales@mangobikes.com

Location:

Kilbride Road, ,

Quality bike service terrible, poor communication, Christmas present ordered 5 weeks before Christmas received 5 months later.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Nice bike, easily put together on arrival & good value for money. BUT be prepared to wait 5-6 months for delivery! Painfully slow to arrive with very little contact, and the emails I did get were heavily scripted rather than anything from a genuine person. Sadly the whole process was tainted by the slow and impersonal service. I would think twice before ordering again.
Posted 4 months ago
Tough one to call, the bike is great, I expected a delay but it took 5ish months to arrive (I expected a bit of a delay due to covid but it did get a bit ridiculous. I received a bit, but not much communication, and when I did it sounded slightly insincere. Great bike (although the extra strong tyres I bought had a puncture after a few quick trips). Id say if we weren't in a pandemic, go for a bike with Mango as they are lovely bikes. Id say to management etc, maybe keep me in the loop better I.e a bit more communication on how long it will actually take and what's stopping the bike from being shipped. Also saying things like 'i made a boo boo with your order, I know it's a friendly way of dealing with things as an independent company, but at times it seemed a little insincere. 3* is fair.
Posted 4 months ago
This is a 3.5 star review with communication the only reason for docking stars. The pandemic has been good for the bike industry because everyone wants one but bad because supply is down, hence all those bikes being stolen from sheds and elsewhere. I knew this when I ordered a handlebar and tape to replace the original on a 8 year old single speed but I was surprised to see the status of my order as "added to the build list": why I don't know, they're components, but suck it up, this could be a long wait. A couple of weeks later the bar and tape arrived: whoop, whoop !!! A couple of weeks after that an e-mail told me my items had been dispatched and were on the way. Operator error, computer glitches, software over-whelmed? We have two Mangos in the family and they have taken our two key workers to hospital and school all the way through Lockdown 1 and 2 without missing a beat so I'm not critical of the product [we're thinking of adding a 3rd, maybe the OG1x 10 speed] I got my bar and tape at a good price in good time so I'm happy but maybe a tweak to the the customer facing bit?
Posted 5 months ago
Ordered a bike in May on a 6-week construction time. Bike arrived in October. Happy that I received updates re: delays, however was reassured that there would be some form of gesture received for patience, which didn't happen. Bike is great, the promised however wasn't upheld
Posted 6 months ago
Yeah, I'm sorry that Covid hit you and your supply chain, so hard, albeit providing a positive with increased demand, I expect. I have to say that while I could understand the delayed delivery (>2 months from order)I was disappointed with the absence of communication throughout - effectively until the near-delivery, where a new gearing was offered. Not much that could be said, but at least it would reassure customers that you were still working to overcome the challenges. The bike is great (so my son tells me) The delivery links were transparent and good.
Posted 6 months ago
Great bikes, & great value for money. When it arrives, everything is fine and in good order - no problem with the bikes at all! 5 stars for that. No stars for non-existent customer communication. The point Mango makes about the Corona pandemic messing up supply chains for all bike companies is true, but there are things they could have done.. 1.) Stop buying paid advertising on Google to promote sales of bikes you can't deliver 2.) Put a statement on your website homepage about supply chain issues and give an approximate and realistic delivery date (3 to 4 months seems about right from most people's comments on social media - mine took just over 3 months from order to delivery). Especially do this if you're still running paid advertising, to give people a chance to make a decision before they order. 3.) Send some emails every couple of weeks to keep people in the loop. If you're having trouble picking up the detail on every order, your emails can be generic, but they have to be honest. Most people will get it if you say "we're working through Corona supply chain issues/ we expect your bike to take around 3 months/ we're sorry we can't be more specific, but we'll stay in touch". Give people the option to cancel the order and get a refund when you do this. You'll lose some orders in the short term, but you'll limit a lot of damage to the brand. 4.) Don't argue with unreasonable people on social media. Most people are normal and understand real-world problems. If you're honest and straightforward about what you know and what you don't know most people can deal with that. If you get the odd nutter on social, leave it alone - the rest of your customers can recognize unreasonable comments when they see them. I get that you need to keep the business moving, and people need to get paid. But going dark on customer communication, and openly arguing with customers on social media, kills customer loyalty and scares people off. I ordered the bike for my daughter before she went off to uni. By the time it arrived, she'd moved to a new city. I tried to get you to change the shipping delivery address but couldn't get in touch, so I had to pay for a courier to ship it on. Despite all this I would buy from you again - your bikes are great and great value for the money! Hoping you'll get better at straightforward, honest customer communication next time. Good luck! x
Posted 6 months ago
Good, but not great.... To begin this review I will mention I ordered my Bike on June 12th. I received the bike 28th Sept.... When I ordered the bike the website said the dispatch date would be the end of July. July came and went and no communication to say any different. It was not until I had got in touch that I finally received some communications to let me know they had been 'swamped' with orders. I appreciate that they had not anticipated the increase in orders since covid hit but given that I feel their response has been quite poor, I feel that they could have focused more on completing orders rather than misleading customers and continuing to receive orders that they would not be able to complete. Finally at the beginning of sept after lots of emails requesting an update I was finally given a more realistic dispatch date. It seems that Mango had started to receive their stock to make the bikes and where starting to get on track. Communication after this became a little more regular. The bike was dispatched on sept 25th (17 weeks after ordering). No tools where included in the box with the bike to attach wheel/pedals/seat/handlebars. I have tools so it was not an issue but Mango had said there would be so…… Apart from that the bike is great! Instructional video was very helpful, so far seems like a very sturdy build, very light, very fast So all in all I am happy despite the very lengthy waiting time. Also thought it might be worth mentioning that in one of the emails received from Mango they had mentioned some “extra freebies as a token of their appreciation for sticking with them”, which if that meant the small packet of Haribo sweets thrown in with all the accessories I had bought then…..thank you? (update) - I was then given a £30 discount on a £40 spend Overall I have been quite disappointed with the overall experience, because although the bike is very good, the lack of communication, time taken, and now money I have spent on public transport when I could have been using the bike to get to and from work/etc has not been the best. Having said that, the bike is excellent so take from that what you will. I'm sure that once they get orders under control Mango will be the cool bike company they aspire to be, but for the time being, they leave a little to be desired.
Posted 6 months ago
--Ratings-- Bike -- 4/5 Service -- 2/5 Overall -- 3/5 --Service-- I ordered my bike at the end of May 2020 and received it in mid-September. I expected a delay due to the Covid pandemic, but the Mango team did not communicate this well. I received several Estimated Dispatch dates until one was finally clarified for September. The bike still arived several days after its predicted delivery date. Communication was generally slow, although I understand the team were stretched. I ordered via the Cycle to Work scheme, and by the time the bike arrived I had already made four monthly payments towards its lease without riding it to work once. There has been a shortage of bike components recently, which I understand. However, I had to pay an additional £30 to upgrade my wheelset the the next model up in order to get the wheel colour I ordered. Also, The helmet colour I ordered in May was out of stock by September, so I had to settle for a different colour. Not the end of the world, but Mango advertise that accessories should be dispatched at point of order, not when your bike is dispatched. Also, given Mango is a brand that sells itself on its customisability this didn't sit well with me. --Bike-- The bike itself is well-constructed, looks very slick, and was easy to assemble. The stock griptake on the handlebars is quite thin, but that is a very very minor complaint. I had to file down a bit of metal on the left-side brake lever as it cut me quite badly on a ride—make sure to check yours! The one big issue with the bike—I paid £45 for the "puncture-resistant" GatorSkin tyres, yet I have had two rear-wheel punctures having taken the bike out less than 15 or so times. Unsure whether this is a manufacturing issue or just bad luck, but it's worth looking into others' experience with the tyres. --Overall-- I'm happy with the bike now that it's here. The process of ordering to receiving it was not smooth, but a certain allowance must be made for the pandemic, although communication from the team could be improved. I am disappointed about the tyre problem—to have to pay £45 for "puncture-resistant" tyres only to get two within a couple of weeks of receiving the bike leaves a bad taste in my mouth, especially after waiting so long! In summary—the bike is good, but enquire about the availability of what you want beforehand. It might be worth seeing what you can get locally if you need something quicker, and also you know you will get what you order.
Posted 7 months ago
Love my bike, but it took an age to arrive (not Mango's fault in a pandemic, but communication could have been much, much better). Also, I didn't get any instructions on how to put my bike together, or any tools...... There's an 'instructional video' on the website but it's about as much help as a chocolate teaspoon. The actual bike is great though, no complaints there!
Posted 7 months ago
Love the bike, but the delivery and customer service experience was really unacceptable to be honest. The bike arrived 4 months late, with very little to no communication. I do get the guys at Mango are a small company with an overwhelmingly amount of orders, but even a reply to an email or a message would go a long way.
Posted 7 months ago
I will start with saying despite my 3 stars my custom single speed bike is really fantastic and I am really happy with it. I am just very disappointed that the communication with Mango between me placing my order (24th June) and when my bike arrived (2nd September) was very poor. After a few weeks a date finally arrived on my account as ‘start of August’ and then a generic email saying that the frames had finally arrived and the bike would be ready soon.....I contacted Mango twice, once via email and once by phone - neither time got a response. Whilst I appreciate that they had a huge backlog due to the pandemic, I didn’t even get an apology! All I see is Mango congratulating themselves. Well done your bikes are incredible but work on your customer service!
Mango Bikes 3 star review on 7th September 2020
Posted 8 months ago
It’s took 3 months rather than the 6 weeks estimated at point of sale to get my bike. Communication during that period was patchy & not that great. However when my bike did arrive I was & am very pleased with the actual bike itself.
Posted 8 months ago
I ordered this bike around April time and it finally arrived end of August. Long delay was apparently due to materials shortage due to Covid-19 which was fair enough. However, any email I sent to this company over this period (which weren't that many - maybe once a month) was completely ignored. Customer service is borderline non-existent. When the bike arrived, the front tyre had a puncture in. I emailed asking for a replacement and it true Mango bikes fashion, was completely ignored. Otherwise the bike is nice and well made but if you have a problem with yours I wouldn't expect any help from this company.
Posted 8 months ago
The Single Speed is a fantastic bike, a really smooth ride and looks great, I’m really happy with it. HOWEVER... it took over 90 days to arrive and customer service is an automated email response followed by an unhelpful blanket email of a delay. I get it, it’s a busy time but shouldn’t you be trying to keep your customers happy?? I very nearly requested a refund. (Glad I didn’t as the bike is class) When the bike did arrive, there was no toolkit in the box to assemble. Rating the Bike - 5 Stars Rating Mango - 1 Star
Posted 8 months ago
i love the bike now i have it! a 4 month wait was just ridiculous but i understood the time we are in. I'm meant to get money sent back for not getting my cage pedals and i haven't had that yet? But i'd definitely get another bike on the off chance it won't take so long, customer service was a bit slack but they kept me updated when i needed it and understood they were going through a crazy period.
Mango Bikes 3 star review on 23rd August 2020
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I received no instructions on how to build the bike
Posted 8 months ago
My helmet didn’t arrive with my order and there weren’t instructions included to put it together which wasn’t very helpful...
Posted 9 months ago
First time I've ordered from this company. Prices seemed competitive but customer service needs improving. The tyres I ordered were slightly thinner than I was previously using (my fault for not checking). Asked if it was possible to amend the order to the wider tyre as the price was the same but had no response to my email. Also phoned up and left a message but no response to that either. Original order then turned up a day or so later, so in good time. Then received an email reply a couple of days later just saying that the order had gone out. So first experience....items arrive in good time and pricing is competitive but customer service needs improving. 3 stars.
Posted 9 months ago
Love the single speed bikes - bought a second one when my original was pinched. Coloured parts and accessories are great (although fade pretty quickly if stored outside). Recently ordered new 6-spoke back wheel. Delighted with how it looks and runs. However .... No info for about 10 days regarding delivery date. Used online help to ask for delayed delivery, because by then I had gone away on holiday. Reply came 5 days or so later, by which time wheel had been delivered in our absence. Then realised that the gears are 18 rather than 16 teeth. Not a disaster, but not as described on the website, and I’m still waiting for a reply to my request for an explanation. Communication is the key to customer loyalty - more important to me than regular marketing emails.
Posted 9 months ago
Mango Bikes is rated 3.92 based on 580 reviews