L&C - London & Country Mortgages Reviews

4.67 Rating 1,420 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend L&C - London & Country Mortgages
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read L&C - London & Country Mortgages Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 953 0304

Email:

adam.jones@landc.co.uk

Location:

Beazer HouseLower Bristol Road

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Poor customer services - being calling the company for over 4 days without no luck. Get through to someone many time, I was told they will connect me to a mortgage adviser and at the end, no one is available. This being going on for over 4 days. I want to talk to mortgage adviser to go through my application I submitted online on their website. Its very disappointing. Poor services. Avoid this mortgage company.
Posted 10 months ago
I'm sorry to hear you've had such a disappointing experience with us and we'd really like to work to get this fixed for you. If you could please email your customer reference number or full name and post code to socialmedia@landc.co.uk I will arrange for an adviser to give you a call ASAP. Best wishes, the L&C Team.
Posted 10 months ago
If I could put 0 stars I would.. trust me. So this seems like a good idea, the form is straight forward to fill in. Got a call from an “experienced mortgage broker” within 10 minutes who ran through the details of my form. Took all the details including height and weight. And promised a callback Monday at 4.30. Low and behold, I got a call back exactly as I was promised. Again. Great experience so far. So Tuesday, I emailed my mortgage broker. No response. I then called and proceeded with my agreement in principle application. I heard nothing from my broke & then got email confirmation yesterday from Atom Bank (suggested lender) . I received contact from my Case worker today when checking I noticed the property price and deposit amount did not match what was discussed. So I called to query this stating I did not want to speak to my mortgage advisor so I was due a callback from his supervisor Dan. My phone rang shortly after with my mortgage broker explaining he had applied to a company that doesn’t lend under a certain property value. My offer was accepted in writing on Tuesday and he was informed of the amount but still signed me up for this company. I then asked what to do and he confirmed I would need to increase my deposit amount and potentially increase my offer. WHY WOULD I SPEND MORE THAN WHAT MYSELF AND THE SELLERS ARE HAPPY WITH? I then called and spoke to someone from the switchboard who assured me I’d get a callback to discuss my complaint. An hour later, no callback. I called again spoke to another switchboard agent called Amy who I told I did not want to speak to the mortgage broker I was dealing with originally. She assured me that she would escalate this. Then phone call from Sean the mortgage broker to ask if I wanted to proceed with another lender. I told him I did not want to proceed with L&C and requested my details are removed and my application is cancelled. I also advised that this is due to his error, falsifying figures just to make some commission at my expense. Will not deal with this company or Sean Bohill ever again.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Rayhannah

I'm sorry to hear this and understand Sean's supervisor has already contacted you to clarify the situation. If there is anything else we can do to help please let us know at socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thanks , L&C
Posted 2 years ago
Im very disappointed with the Service from L & C Mortgages, terrible Customer Service unprofessional case handlers.
I've been trying to arrange a Buy to Let Unfortunately still waiting after 2 months Into a proposal and still nothing. Terrible case handler not keeping me up to date plus very UnOrganised disgusting company to deal with, they may not charge now I know why because there Service is no where near a Chargeable Service...
WATCH OUT THERE NOT WHAT THEY SAY ON THE TIN...
Posted 2 years ago
Really slow to do anything took over 3 weeks to not get us a mortgage dip, approached another broker had dip within 6hours. So after 3 weeks of no urgency and lots of stress finally got to deal with a company and a person that was actually bothered and got us what we needed. Yes they did charge a fee they were not free but they knew what they were doing and didn't waste our time. Don't waste your time here there are much better options out there. Just because something is free doesn't make it a good deal. In this case you get what you pay for or don't in L and Cs case definitely avoid.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're really sorry to read about your experience.
Posted 2 years ago
I am currently In the process of using L&C. I would avoid at all costs.

The communication is non existent. More a case of persistent mis-communication. Mortgage approved with post office. House sale agreed. Given date for completion. Mortgage is then audited by post office. Absolutely no feedback from L&C apart from, "it'll be complete in 2/3 days". 4 weeks later, still waiting and still being told the same thing.

Despite suggesting looking at alternative providers, the advisor simply said no, we expect it to be completed in 3 days. Generallly dreadful service and clearly focused on commission not best interests of the mortgage applicants!

Avoid.
Posted 2 years ago
We're really sorry to read this, Shane. If you can email us your case number - along with the name of your adviser to socialmedia@landc.co.uk we will chase this up for you. Thanks L&C
Posted 2 years ago
We had a terrible experience before the mortgage was even arranged! The girl that we spoke to was very friendly and seemed very helpful to begin with. We managed to get an agreement in principal very quickly, so felt confident that they would be a good company to go through. Wrong. Once we had an offer agreed on a house we wanted to move forward and get the mortgage set up the problems started. After missing several agreed times to talk on the phone and ignoring several emails she finally got in touch with a mortgage that she felt was the best option for us. However, as it was a fairly unknown bank we wanted something to compare it to, so asked to compare the rates to that of a high street lender (just felt that it may be easier to pop in branch if there was ever a problem) however she didn't take too kindly to this. Said she would go off and get some other quotes, but then it was the same old story... not calling when agreed, not responding to emails, finally got in touch one evening but didn't have any details as 'the computer systems were down' but will phone tomorrow - surprisingly that never happened! Tried calling half a dozen times, sent a few emails chasing it up but then just gave up. and went elsewhere. After about two weeks she started calling us, asking us to get in touch immediately as she is back in the office now. If this is the kind of treatment you get as a potential customer, I can only imagine the problems you will have getting any kind of contact once the commission is in the bag. I would deflnatly avoid. We ended up wasting weeks just waiting around and getting no where, and no one likes being lied to, or arranging to be free for phone calls only to be ignored.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for getting in touch, Siobhan. We're sorry to read your review... If you'd like us to investigate your experience, please do email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your full name and case number. Thanks L&C
Posted 2 years ago
L&C stay away from them I had 1 issue and the call I got was sorry Santander said no because you house had subsided and bye I have Emailed them about the issue and they have not replied at all yes my house has subsided and yes its been underpinned I have also had a Engineers report done what said the underpinning was successful
Posted 2 years ago
Sorry to hear about this, I've asked a team leader to have a look into this for you this morning and someone will be in touch as soon as possible to see if we can move things forward. L&C.
Posted 2 years ago
Staff were not helpful, they did not know what they were doing advisors messing up and case managers. Worse mortgage brokers in the world.

Absolutely disgusting
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to read this Andrew. If you could email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your case number and postcode, we would like to investigate your experience. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
you name it.
Posted 3 years ago
What a shocking company, it took weeks to get any correspondence and i told them I would look elsewhere I also felt they were focusing me to only one mortgage company called platform which I have no doubt gives them the biggest commission.

Stay away from this company they are useless
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to read this review. Our advisers select the best product for each customer based on their situation and needs - this varies from person to person, but is never based on the commission they will receive (and we have processes in place to ensure this). Last year we had access to deals from over 90 lenders and we submitted mortgage applications with 73 different lenders. If you would like us to look into your experience with us, please do email your case number, your full name and your postcode to us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
Today I experienced the behaviour of a rude, bad mannered mortgage advisor who gave the impression that he didn't care if I got a mortgage or not and encouraged me to take my business elsewhere. He wasn't experienced, helpful and did not even try to get me a mortgage. I cannot recommend this company at all.
Posted 3 years ago
We're really sorry to read this. Please could you email us with your full name and postcode so that we can find you on our system and listen to your call? Our email address is socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
Really not a great service. As soon as it become apparent my mortgage application was not going to be the easiest the phone calls dried up, I would ring in and leave messages and would not get calls back when promised. After a couple of weeks of I went to another broker for a second opinion and had a mortgage in principle within three days with a high street lender and within two weeks I had a mortgage offer from the same lender. I have now completed on buying my first house despite the delays L&C caused.
Posted 3 years ago
We're really sorry to hear this, Mark. As part of our commitment to customer service, we would like to investigate your experience. Please could you send us your case ID, full name and your postcode to socialmedia@landc.co.uk and we will look into this for you. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
Broker never called me back, so chased up again with no success
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this. If you could email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your case number, postcode and full name, we'll locate you and look into your case. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
Applied for remortgage. Despite them having my correct email they sent KFI to an incorrect emIl address. They also notified this incorrect email to the sols who ended up sending all of the paper work to a third party. As a result nothing was received by me for weeks until I chased the matter. Discovered they had been sending everything to a third party. They failed to amend the email address on their records. Not only this but they also incorrectly advised the sols on fixed charges and failed to accept I had not received the KFI. Totally unacceptable service and failed to accept or acknowledge their faults.
Posted 3 years ago
We're so sorry to read this. Please could you email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk along with your case number and postcode - so that we can investigate this.
Posted 3 years ago
Useless! Had some credit issues in past but l&c are not interested! Only want 'prime' in and out cases! Will take forever to process any information and fob you off with Misleading information...you get what you pay for I suppose?!?
Posted 3 years ago
Sorry to hear this, it's certainly not the level of service we look to provide. If you can email your details to socialmedia@landc.co.uk we can find your case and look into this further. Thanks for your feedback, L&C.
Posted 3 years ago
Dreadful service and having told the broker the deadline for a £1000 cash back deal (which would have covered the cost of Home buyer's report), he simply ignored me - and then spent the final office hour on FRiday calling constantly and even though I was driving, asking for card numbers etc. Poor listener, poorly organised, arrogant and has lost me the £1000 cash back deal as he missed the deadline. Totally unimpressed - avoid like the plague! You can go direct yourself and have less hassle.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear about this. Please could you email socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your full name, postcode and case number so that we can locate you on our system and investigate? Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
I had to repeat everything despite saying i did not have much time. This was not a communication issue - the advisor had heard me but I got the impression he had entered some details into the wrong box. This happened twice, with no explanation or apology for my rapidly deteriorating time. After i went to ask my partner something (without using the mute button, so he would hear that i was only feet away and only going to be a few seconds) I told the advisor the answer. He said nothing, so i thought he was doing something on the computer. Minutes later, I said "hello?" to see if he was still there, and he had not even taken a note of my answer. Poorest call centre experience ever - on par with unsolicited sales calls from foreign countries, with slightly better line quality for the audio...
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Unfortunately we can't seem to match your email to our database. If you'd like us to investigate your experience, please do email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your case number, postcode and full name. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
An awful company to work with. My advice is do not use them under any circumstances.

They recommended a mortgage not based upon best value but on what was in their interest, we ended up with five different contacts which made communication nearly impossible. I found one lady who tried to get things sorted but was no better than the rest when it came to following through on promises.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this. In order to speak with your team and improve for the future, we just need your full name, postcode and case number. Please can you email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk and we'll look into your experience. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
We had an application going through sourced by L&C. The chosen lender then reduced the amount they were willing to lend. At this point L&C dropped the case like a hot stone. As soon as this happened no one at L&C was interested and we eventually drifted off to another broker who successfully secured the mortgage.

Getting any information from L&C about the reasons for the change was extremely difficult as was getting hold of a copy of the valuation that we had paid for. All their friendliness will evaporate if it appears they can't get an application through.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to read this, David. Please could you email us with your full name, postcode and case number so that we can locate you on our system and investigate? Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
Communication - Simply terrible, they don't return phone calls, emails are sometimes ignored too. Only given one option of a lender, all done behind the scenes where you don't get a choice.
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for reviewing us. Unfortunately we don't seem to have your email address on our records. Please could you email us with your case number, postcode and full name for us to investigate your experience? Thanks
Posted 3 years ago
L&C - London & Country Mortgages is rated 4.67 based on 1,420 reviews