L&C - London & Country Mortgages Reviews

4.66 Rating 1,437 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend L&C - London & Country Mortgages
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read L&C - London & Country Mortgages Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 953 0304

Email:

socialmedia@landc.co.uk

Location:

Beazer House, Lower Bristol Road, Bath

Shocking customer service! I was trying to get my first mortgage for a property. I was recommended by a friend. The guy called Daniel started out helpful, making promises that he would help me get the right mortgage then suddenly poof and he disappeared. Wouldn't respond to my email or telephone call. Very rude!!

I think L&C show you their high percentage of successful mortgages because they discard the ones who are less likely to be successful like a piece of Sh**.

I ended up going with someone else, was excellent, all my future properties will be with this broker. Thank you L&C for making me see the dark before the light!!
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We'd like to investigate your experience - please could you email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your full name, postcode and case number - and we will look into this for you. Thanks
Posted 3 years ago
Don't waste your time with L&C! I have never written a review of a company ever in my life however we were dealt with so poorly that I feel I need to warn other potential buyers. We are first time buyers and had heard positive things about L&C. We had initially approached them prior to getting an offer accepted and had been impressed by the service; we had given them our details and were informed to get back in touch once we had an offer accepted. When we got back in touch (on a Saturday)- we were first told that our advisor/nor any of his team were available and we could start again with a new advisor or try on monday. We opted to start again with a new advisor as we were keen to get on with the application. We were told they would phone us back- They never did. Later that day I phoned back myself and was then told actually mortgage applications could not be done on the weekend anyway and to phone back on Monday. On phoning on Monday we realised that the intial advisor was actually on annual leave and were forwarded anyway to a new advisor. He then asked us for huge amounts of information which we provided. We already had an idea of the mortgage we wanted to take with HSBC and we told him this. We were then told that he needed to go away to get potential mortgage offers 'approved' before he presented them to us and he would contact us the next day. When we heard nothing by lunchtime the following day we contacted him- we were told he was still waiting for approval. This process then took another 24 hours before he presented to us his recommended mortgage offer. This was with a building society we had never heard of and we were not happy to go ahead with. On asking him why he had not presented a few possible options to us we were told this is not the policy and they only offer one quote and if you don't like it that pretty much the end of it. So after 5 days of wasting our time we left in no better position that when we started. After complaining, he did tell us he could do another search for us to try and get the HSBC offer we had previously asked about- however this would take another 24 hours and the process would have to be approved again. The entire experience from start to finish was extremely unprofessional. They do not phone back when they tell you they will. They do not inform you at the start of the process that they will only present to you ONE mortgage recommendation, which had we of known we would not have bothered. Please BE aware and don't waste your time.
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Erin. We're so sorry to hear that it was a negative one. If you would like us to investigate your experience, please do email your full name and case number to socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
My mortgage procedings are taking place at a dipicable rate.
Due numerous discrepancies, none which are my fault.
Vital papers have not been read throughly which has lead to resending these documents as and time is running our due negligence .
Lack of correspondence.
Some incompetence as taken place along the line, which has had knock on effect and I am currently fighting against time for completion as I am remortgaging.
I wouldn't recommend London & Country to my worst enemy and would rather pay a premium for a finacial advisor.

Disgusting service
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to read this review, Jessica. If you would like us to investigate your experience, please email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk along with your case number, full name and postcode. Thank you
Posted 3 years ago
I was trying to source a buy to let mortgage for a couple of cottages and had been wondering the most effective way of doing this. As I work a away for my job, I was considering that my partner and I could move into one of them, therefore having one on a residential mortgage and then renting out our mortgage free house in Kent. However, on asking for advice from Perry, he immediately seemed to jump to the conclusion that I wanted to commit mortgage fraud, and when I told him my father lived next door, he grew even more unwilling to help. I had spoken to him a couple of times on the phone, prior to this, and he came across as unhelpful and unfriendly. I wished for him to come back with some potential figures from lenders and an agreement in principal, but he told me no lender would do this until the freehold of the combined cottages had been split. How is it that I have managed to obtain an agreement with a different lender then? Perry's attitude was appalling and he made me feel like a common criminal when all I was doing was asking for his advice. I know you must be a very busy and successful company who doesn't need my business, but I work in a customer care roll for a big corporate company, and I would never treat my customers in this manner. If I did, I wouldn't keep my job. I would be glad for some feedback from yourselves. I am still waiting for a vendor decision on the cottages, as he is trying them on the open market at a higher price first. If he doesn't sell, then he may accept my offer. I have an agreement in principal with another company but would still consider a more competitive quote from yourselves. Perry suggested that I look elsewhere...I clearly don't want to deal with him again. I look forward to your response.

Fiona Griffiths
Posted 3 years ago
It’s true what they say …you get what you pay for.
I contacted L&C to assist with my adverse credit application and was referred to Alex (broker).
I had already done my research and knew what my options were.
To cut a long story short, he didn’t know the lender’s borrowing criteria (I knew more than he did) and was sluggish at responding. He also gave me wrong advice about commission/ bonuses being factored into mortgage multiples!!
Complete waste!
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this and would like to investigate. Please can you email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your full name and your case number? Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
We are first time buyers and needed help navigating our first purchase. I called L&C to get an idea of what we needed to provide and I was bombarded with questions about our income/expenses/deposit without any official numbers in front of me which i explained several times. I also explained I was just calling to find out how to get the ball rolling...I felt rushed through and we were offered a mortgage in principle that night. We worked with the figures suggested and made an offer on a house which was accepted. Following up with the underwriting our case worker was very impatient, he didn't allow me time to ask questions and personally made me feel like we were unlikely to get a mortgage (he was very negative & not encouraging at all). We felt totally out of control but pushed on with L&C because we feared losing out on the property. Our broker told us he would only be able to provide us with one quote so we have to decide if we wanted a 2, 3 or 5 yr fixed without seeing any figures. He also only gave us one quote from Skipton (who have very good customer services btw) so we felt like it was a 'take it or leave it' situation. I honestly do not feel like the broker had our best interests at heart nor do I think we got the best deals/rates. The application was delayed because the advisors did not tell us we needed our gift letters on Skipton's official forms (which you can download straight from their website)...an avoidable delay!

Following on from the application, communication was terrible. Our second case worker only spoke to us briefly and would not return emails/calls for over a week. The main contacts we had were sales calls for us to purchase life insurance & home insurance. I also had an issue with the sales tactics....'I hate to think what you will do (my name) if anything should happen to (partners name)'...it was disgusting.

We actually found out our mortgage offer had been accepted directly from a letter from Skipton with L&C phoning me three days later to let us know the same news.

We will not be recommending L&C to anyone and I will be making sure this review is seen on other sites too. However I cannot fault Skipton or Premier Property Lawyers who have been wonderful and a huge relief to work with after the customer services of London & Country.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this Faye and we would like to investigate this experience. Please can you send us your details (including your full name and postcode) to socialmedia@landc.co.uk? Thank you and our apologies again for this experience, L&C
Posted 3 years ago
I rang to discuss mortgage options and the man I spoke to on the phone sounded very disinterested, I felt very insulted when he belittled mine and my partners earning, flat out said theres no chance of getting a mortgage till we get rid of a car and get better jobs, kept referring to our jobs as temporary due to the fact we're fixed contracts& was incredibly rude. I will be spreading the word about how I was spoken too& considering I am a first time buyer really put me off.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this and we would like to investigate this experience. Please can you send us your details (including your full name and postcode) to socialmedia@landc.co.uk? Thank you and our apologies again for this experience, L&C
Posted 3 years ago
Hard selling of insurance products
Posted 3 years ago
My partner and I contacted and we're very honest about my partners poor credit and sent a copy of the report as requested. We then 13 days later received a declind survey email. Not even a telephone call to discuss the issues or give advice poor poor customer service
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this Kelly. We've found you on our system and have noticed that you received an automated email. We're really sorry about that. We'll be looking into why this happened and we will contact you shortly to discuss.
Posted 3 years ago
Whats going on. They try to sell you their other products and will not give you any interest rates until you havr made an offer on a house. Told to use the internet to find the rates. Wasted an hour on the phone to get this info. How do we know what toboffer on a house if you wont give the interest rates and monthly payments! Ridiculous!!
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear that you were not given an indication of typical repayments Lee. We've spoken to your adviser and their supervisor who will be in touch this afternoon to rectify this. Thank you for letting us know and giving us the chance to read your feedback. L&C
Posted 3 years ago
I throught i would move with the times and try out these online morgage adviser's. I spoke to a person called Andrew at L and C he was set as my morage adviser. After a couple of minutes of speaking to him he said he had to finish another client and ring me straight back, waiting all night no reply. So i throught id give them another try the next day. Good to say the people i spoke to after was very helpful and gave me all the information i needed to do a remortgage and a buy to let mortgage. The sad thing was once i found the property i wanted to buy i got passed back to this Andrew witch once again said to me after speaking to very briefly. I cant get your report up ill ring you straight back. Two hours later i rang him, for him to say they hadnt sorted the problem but he was working late. So once i finished work he promised he would ring me that night and give me an hour of his time. Well im asumming these people didnt want to earn any money off me because once again the guy couldnt be bothered to ring me. But it did leave me in a sticky situation for a couple of minutes. You dont really want the hassle of explaining to the estate agents your making offers and you haven't even really got a backing of a morage company. I had to make a few phone calls and thankfully im glad to say a big thank you to Andrew for letting me down I found a great morgage adviser. May of cost me 250 pound but worth every penny. To have someone who actually advises you instead of giving you figures off a computer screen. I wouldnt like to say all people who work for this company are bad or unreliable but when i needed them they let me down.
Posted 3 years ago
We're really sorry to read this review and to hear that you felt let down from your experience with us. We appreciate that's it's probably a little late to help you with that situation now and we wish that we'd known sooner. We'll be taking a look at your case and your account of events with the adviser you spoke with - to help improve our service going forward. Thanks for taking the time to feed back to us Colin.
Posted 3 years ago
I was trying to secure a mortgage last month through a broker at London and Country. I was pressured into making very quick decisions about which type of mortgage to opt for on the phone after 5 minutes of terms for various mortgages being reeled through. I was also pressured into purchasing life incurance through them, and despite being quite firm about not being interested in this I was spoken down to and pressured further, including being told about various illnesses I might get and how I would pay my mortgage if that happened. When I asked the broker to email me over the information for me to consider the options they did not do this but continued to send emails to pressure me into making a decision. The broker also asked for a lot of information which I had to contact my estate agent for to ask the vendor to supply me with - I have since been advised that this information is what is required for people looking to remortgage a property not people in my situation. In the end I had to search for an alternative broker last minute. Having experienced what the process should be like I am shocked at how difficult and stressful L&C made it.
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, Imogen. We understand that a member of our compliance team is currently investigating your case and will be in touch shortly. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
Seen as though my first review has been deleted & ive now received a letter trying to excuse L&Cs poor customer service & effort of a mortgage application, i'll write another one.
First of all we where passed onto 3 different people in the space of 9 weeks. Non of which would EVER answer their phones & only 1 of them I actually spoke to directly.
We where constantly chasing them trying to find out where our application was at & what was going on.
When we decided to take matters into our own hands & we called the lendsers direct they told us that L&C hadn't been in touch with them for 3 weeks. When we told our mortgage broker that the lender had told us this, he laughed down the phone.
Rude email replies when asked what is taking so long, now after telling them to no longer contact us, we are still getting letters trough the door excusing their poor service.
Leave us ALONE!
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to send your review, Holli. It would appear that your original review was moderated, as it specifically named members of staff. Our compliance team has been looking into your case, after receiving your complaint. As you wished, we have contacted you following our investigation and all replies have now been sent. We’re sorry to hear that you’ve been unhappy with the service.
Posted 3 years ago
5weeks down the line and still no closer to being accepted for a mortgage. Bank say they have not heard from L&C for almost 2 weeks! They do not answer my calls. I was so concerned that I went to the estate agent last night. They did all the checks and I have been accepted for a mortgage by the bank they recommended this morning.
If you are considering using L&C, save yourself a lot of stress, my advice is DON'T.
Posted 3 years ago
We're so sorry to read this Irene. Please could you email us so that we can find you on our system and investigate this for you. Our email address is socialmedia@landc.co.uk - if you could email us with your full name and postcode, we'll look into this. Thanks L&C
Posted 3 years ago
I've never written a feedback post before but in this instance I feel compelled to do so.
I was not informed of my rejection for my mortgage aparently days after it was turned down. To be more accurate I read the application and phoned my case manager and advisor who was "just about to get in touch with me". In the meantime L and C continued to request my documents I guess under the supposition that I would reman a loyal customer. We agreed (last week) to submit to a new lender yesterday but now I can't find either my advisor or a case manager to speak to me. I'm about to lose the house I'd spent weeks negotiating over. I'm okay with rejection by the lender however I expect my broker to communicate with me.
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this and we'd like to help Tracy. Please can you email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk with your full name and the name of your adviser? Thank you L&C
Posted 3 years ago
Awful service with unprofessional advice. Was advised to apply for a mortgage despite advising that I wouldn't meet their lending criteria. The service was also arrogant and rude; my requirements were not listened to. I have since found another fee free mortgage broker that has found be an excellent deal!
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, Pete. We're sorry to read this. If you would like us to send this to our complaints team, please email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thank you L&C
Posted 3 years ago
I have a number of buy-to-let properties and made a mistake of using L&C to remortgage one of them. Their inefficiency is shocking. I am being passed back and forth between different case managers who keep asking for bits of information which they already have, which is extremely frustrating; they will not give you an update unless you ask for it; the online system is useless as all info I have put into the online case tracker they have asked for again in an email, I can go on. Overall, I have a very straightforward case of remortgage which has so far taken over two month and is still far from being completed. I have just got off the phone with them again, responding to yet another request for information, to point out that they have it - and magically the guy at the other end did find it! Very disappointed, this has been a waste of my time and I will never use L&C again.
Posted 3 years ago
We're really sorry to read about this experience. If you would like us to look into this on your behalf, please do email us at socialmedia@landc.co.uk. Thank you, L&C
Posted 3 years ago
They treat you as if you are a machine. Can't handle a case with a difference to the norm and when your application is refused, they do not say why and refuse to help you further. Disgusting experience. Went to a different broker and despite the refused mortgage, everything went through fine. Their buyers insurance is a con as they wouldn't refund anything. Do not use them
Posted 3 years ago
i phoned with a query and spoke to somebody called Elliot..He cut the call halfway through and I've heard nothing since.
Posted 4 years ago
Hidden charges.

I invested huge amounts of time, over many weeks, providing paperwork to London & Country to pass on to the lender. Then, when it came to the final forms with the lawyer, it turned out the fees were far higher than I had been told they would be. I backed out, and wasn't charged.
Posted 4 years ago
L&C - London & Country Mortgages is rated 4.66 based on 1,437 reviews