Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,541 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th December 2020
margaret Campbell
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 16th December 2020
Dennis Blackford
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 9th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th November 2020
Lingjie Wu
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Expected chocs to be bigger, very expensive, will not be buying again
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Christine, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size and price of the product. We
do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size of the product. Again we
are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Unable to comment as these were bought for Xmas presents and not for personal consumption. However they look fabulous
Posted 2 months ago
Vegan chocolates were ok, but flavour was a bit lacking
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
The chocolates were too salty I ordered salted caramel ,but they were so salty I couldn't eat most of them ,but my niece liked them as she likes a lot of salt ,but I don't think I will order them again.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello John, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 2 months ago
Product supplied as described but Friars let down by Royal Mail as next day delivery took 3 days. However Friars gave refund with no problems.
Posted 2 months ago
I have awarded 3 stars just because the chocolate purchased is for gifts so I haven't tasted it.
Spolit for choice, really fast delivery and really good packaging I.e. choc gingerbread man well protected from breakages and incidentally a good size.
Posted 3 months ago
Recieved my Choclate cherries in 7 days (delayed 2 days) and found 2 sweets did not have liqeur in them.
Apart from that they were delicious
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Mike, thank you for your review. We do apologise for the delay in you receiving your order. We have checked your order which was dispatched on the 6th October 2020 and have also checked the Royal Mail tracking information which says the item was delivered on the 10th October 2020. We do advise with standard delivery to allow atleast 3 - 5 working days for delivery. We do also apologise about the 2 cherry liqueur chocolates that did not have any liqueur in them. If you would like to contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Box of chocolates were alot smaller than I expected for the money.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Very nicely packed chocolate.
Looks pretty but taste didnt match up unfortunately. Gave friars a try. But il stick to other well known brands.
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately, they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Sorry guys. The chocolate is not very tasty. Flavours leave a lot to be desired. I went by previous reviews which raved. I much prefer Thorntons so won't be buying again. Sorry...
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately, they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Recently purchased the 24 box of rose and violet creams and a tin of turkish delight for my Mum's upcoming birthday. I hadn't bought from Friars before but as Hotel Chocolat hadn't got turkish delight in stock I thought I'd give them a try. When the items arrived I was disappointed as the chocolates were packaged in a very cheap looking box. Looked like it was from a discount store, not worth supposedly £17.99!! The Turkish delight tin was tiny. Can't speak about the quality of the items themselves as they haven't been given yet but as the gifts look cheap I've had to buy further gifts. I contacted Friars but they wasn't very interested and just said they'd pass on my comments. Not even a discount off my next order to try and encourage me back. Think I'll stick to Hotel Chocolat in future!
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Belinda, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you were disappointed with the look of the chocolates you received from us. All our packaging and description of our products are available on our website for our customers to view prior to purchasing. Your comments have been passed on to our production team for consideration. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Service/delivery was fast items arrived fine. Some of the chocolates were not what I would call premium salted hazelnut chocolates that had no trace or taste of hazel nut. This was my first order and unfortunately based on the product the price was not worth it I dont think I would order again.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Jemma, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Taste amazing but expensive. Don't get much for your money.
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent service , but disappointed with the quality. It was very mediocre. Sadly, we won’t be ordering again.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Please contact our sales team if want to return any of the unopened items. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 months ago
Arrived quickly after I ordered in plain packaging which wasn't sufficient to stop a few chocolates getting squashed. There is nothing on the packaging to warn that the whole cherry liquors contains the cherry stone. I had not seen this on the website and nearly broke my tooth. If they are being purchased as a gift it would be useful to have a warning label. They are delicious despite the stone. All chocolates I ordered are very nice.
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Debra, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you almost broke your tooth on the cherry stone. It does mention on our website as well as on the wrap that goes on the box that the product is the whole cherry, stone included. However, we have taken your comments on board and will make this more evident on the back of the box. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 4 months ago
Nice, but overpriced.
Posted 5 months ago
I bought the Boozy Chocolates for my Dad for his birthday. He says that while they are good chocolates generally, they could hardly be described as boozy. He says you wouldn't know there was alcohol in them, and solved it by pouring a glass of whisky to drink at the same time!
Posted 6 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that your father was disappointed with the chocolates he received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 6 months ago
Overpriced - I had expected two layers- there was only one
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Gail, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the box of chocolates. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 6 months ago
Disappointing.
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Chris, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 6 months ago
We are enjoying the chocolates but I am glad I ordered them for me as when I opened the box the chocolates were scattered everywhere in the box and there were crumbs of chocolate in the brown packaging box as well. I was a little disappointed with that
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Sue, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order and how it was received. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. Please contact our Sales team via email or telephone if you would like to return your order. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 6 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,541 reviews