Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,890 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 20th February 2021
Claire Rushton
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th February 2021
Marc Richardson
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th January 2021
Julie Vlacos
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Sally Harris
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 28th January 2021
Linda OBrien
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th December 2020
margaret Campbell
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
8
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Thought the bars of chocolate would be bigger
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Rossana, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
seems to have been despatched promptly but it's not yet arrived
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Sandra, we are sorry that you have not received your order yet. If you could please contact our sales team directly either by email or phone so that they can get this issue resolved for you. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I was disappointed this year as you no longer have the small marzipan bars available. My son who has disabilities looks forward to them in his Xmas stocking
MERRY XMAS
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you are disappointed but unfortunately we are streamlining the selection of products that we have available on our website. We do have a couple of other small marzipan bars available but perhaps these were not what you were looking for. We again apologise for any disappointment this may cause. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Look good in the little package but was surprised that they just came in a cardboard box with a bit of tissue rather than gift wrapped and that the film they are covered in does not appear to be bio-film.
Posted 2 months ago
Very very small packets for what you pay, not impressed.
Posted 2 months ago
I was a little disappointed that the box arrived slightly fog warred snd I had though I was buying a jar. Perhaps the Jarvis in the box but as it is a present I have not opened it.
Posted 2 months ago
Very small for the price
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Lorna, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the item. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing to give customers an idea of the size but again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Really lovely products and great prices. Maybe packaging could be a little better? My chocolate has been knocked against the plastic case and has quite a few marks on it. Would still buy again though with this company x
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Natasha, thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. If you would like to return your order, please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I received the wrong Turkish delights.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Bethany, thank you for your review. We do apologise that you received the wrong Turkish Delights. Please could we ask that you contact our sales team either via telephone or email so that we can get the issue resolved for you. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
I have made several purchases from Friars and have always been satisfied. However, this time not so - I ordered the chocs on Sat 28th Nov and paid for next day delivery, they were not delivered until Weds 2nd Dec. Notwithstanding that 28th was a Saturday, Wednesday was a long time for delivery.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Kevin, thank you for your review. We are sorry that your order was delayed in getting to you. We do only dispatch orders Monday to Friday and we do see your order was dispatched on Monday 30 November 2020. Please contact our sales team with regards to the Next Working Day delivery charge. Again, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Items were a lot smaller than expected and if I had known they would be so small wouldn't have ordered. I'm sure they taste delicious, but pictures on the website are a little misleading.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Natasha, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the products you received from us. We do include the weight and dimensions on most of the products on the listing to give customers an idea of the size. Perhaps we need to make sure the dimensions are included with all the products. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
The box of chocolates arrived on time and looked good, I was very disappointed that they were not cellophaned sealed for freshness and protection from contaminations.
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Rachel, We’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback on to our packaging team. If you would like to return your order, please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Was a bit disappointed as the chocolate fishing rod was broken!!
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Angie, we’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. Please contact the sales team directly via telephone or email so that we can get this issue resolved for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Hi'
Too early , They are part of a 80th birthday present.
Posted 2 months ago
I cannot rate the quality of your chocolates as they are for my husband's birthday and it's not his birthday yet but the delivery was prompt and the packaging looks nice. Ask me again after the 6th December.
Posted 2 months ago
Very disappointed with packaging, bought them as potential Xmas presents, however they are plain and cheap looking, certainly I expected much nicer presentation in view of the prices.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Allan, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the products you received from us. We do state the weight and dimensions of the product on the listing as well as an image to give customers an idea of what the product will look like. We will however pass your feedback on to our production team for consideration. Again we are sorry you were disappointed. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
The chocolates arrived promptly and taste nice but be very clear, these are not Cointreau Liqueur Chocolates. They are another orange liqueur and not as good. As I say, nice but not as advertised.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Kevin, thank you for your review. We are sorry you are disappointed with the chocolates you have received from us. The supplier did change the ingredients slightly which they had not made us aware of but have since been updated on our listing. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 2 months ago
Arrived like it had been shaken etc in the post :-( marks on the cover and chocolate where the chocolate has been hitting the screen. Not their fault but as they are presents for Christmas not overly happy.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Karen, thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Services
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely chocolates but disappointed with they way they looked after delivery. They were a bit bashed and not perfect quality which I would expect for the money I paid.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Shama, thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. If you would like to return your order, please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Bought as a gift, I'm sure that the chocolates will be excellent; however I'm somewhat disappointed with what I'd consider to be inadequate postal packaging. The products were packed very tightly into the box up to the sides and edges, allowing no space for any bubble wrap, etc., for protection from possible transit damage. As the received box showed evidence of crushing and scuffing it would appear that this damage was transferred to the products. The main casualty appears to have been the cappuccino chocolate buttons with quite an amount broken. Thanks anyway.
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Peter, thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were disappointed with your order. We will pass your feedback to the packing team to make sure it's packed more securely in future. If you could please contact our sales team directly via telephone or email so we can resolve this issue for you. We apologise once again for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,890 reviews