CARZ Dundee Reviews

4.8 Rating 2,993 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend CARZ Dundee
Read CARZ Dundee Reviews
Visit Website

Location:

11 Broomhill Road, Dunsinane Industrial Estate

CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 28th September 2021
Siobhan Guiheen
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 24th September 2021
Lois Gow
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 24th September 2021
Doreen Black
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 30th August 2021
William Letson
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 30th August 2021
William Letson
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 30th August 2021
William Letson
CARZ Dundee 5 star review on 26th August 2021
Simon McQueer
100
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible experience. Shocking communication from most of the people who I dealt with and the valet of the car was awful. I was reluctant to come back to Peter Vardy after a bad experience in the past and certainly won't be making the same mistake again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Haven't enjoyed the process of buying my first car at all. Call backs not carried through with, certain buying incentives such as "the car will come with a full tank of petrol and we'll cover up to £750 worth of repairs on your first MOT if they are needed" don't seem to materialize seeing as my car only had about 10 miles worth of petrol in it when I picked it up and I have no written evidence of the £750 repairs offer so I'm doubtful that will be carried through with. When I took the car for a test drive before deciding to buy it, I noticed the brakes were really, really squeaky and was told they would be sorted for me before I collected the car. This wasn't done. I bought a car with knackered brake pads and I've had to chase yous up constantly for days to get it taken in and the pads replaced. Was told it would be done same day as dropping car off and then after yous have already had my car for 5 hours, I've received a call telling me it won't be ready until tomorrow now. So I'm now without a car until god knows what time tomorrow. No offer of another car in the meantime or anything. I'm not happy one bit really and I very much doubt I'll ever use yous again or recommend yous to anyone. Also still waiting on my £100 refund to be processed, which I had paid "to reserve" my car and stop it from being advertised ....although this didn't actually happen and it was still advertised the whole time I was waiting to hear back from finance companies for approval so not really sure what I paid that £100 for at all really and have had to chase yous up for that to be refunded to me. Constantly having to explain and re-explain things to each new person every time I make any contact with yous to get anything sorted, things that yous should be sorting without me having to remind yous or ask yous about. The whole process has just been so stressful when it should not be that way at all!! One good thing I will say is that Andy who has taken over things for me is brilliant and seems to genuinely care about customers, I feel sorry for him that he has to deal with these annoyances caused by others.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good Morning Ms Hodge Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. We have been in contact with our management team in regards to this. The team will be in contact shortly. Regards, Team PV
Posted 8 months ago
Poor customer and internal communications caused a number of significant problems: - failure to respond to my initial and follow up requests for car details resulted in a £700 increase in the cost to buy - communications largely instigated by myself not the company - delays in delivery of the car, only ascertained by my contact - on delivery, poor handover (nice lad delivering but with little knowledge of the car) - on checking no sat nav card had been installed, necessitated yet again contacting Peter Vardy, card now being posted to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon Mr Gott Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your experience at Peter Vardy. We can ensure this is not the standard we aim to provide. We have passed your review along to our management team on site. Regards, Team PV
Posted 9 months ago
I had few issues with my delivery. I called day before my delivery and I have been told that the car wasn't ready due to incomplete body work. I would have wasted a day if i wasn't made that call. It would be nicer if anyone let me know the issues instead of me finding out. On the day of delivery, I have noticed visual chip marks (lot) on the bonnet can be seen 2 meters away. Still the sales person and his manager argued that was prepared to the standard. I ended up paying extra to repaint the bonnet and they confirmed car will be delivered to my address. So the car was delivered without Auto glym cleaning kit and certificate which i paid for I sent an email to remind the sales person before delivery haven't received any response. Sent an email after I notice the cleaning kit was missing still no response.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon Vijay Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. We have been in contact with our management team in regards to this. The team will be in contact shortly. Regards, Team PV
Posted 9 months ago
Not at all happy as when I have picked the car up there was no screen wash in the car. Wheel alignment was way off. Also having to go back aswell not my first time with them but second both times very unpleasant but was promised it would be perfect this time round to which it's not.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of these issues you have experienced. We will pass your feedback along to our management team who will be in touch soon. Thanks, Team PV
Posted 10 months ago
Car is good, but the rest of the experience was fairly poor, now the actual people in the store were really nice, but the communication was truly awful. No one was aware that I had a car to trade in when I arrived to pick up the new car, also the new car wasn't ready. It was then ment to be delivered in the afternoon, when I called to find out a time, again no one knew anything about it. When I agreed to buy the car, the sales man was then told to move on to a new customer and my paperwork was filled in by a manager, I also didn't receive any paperwork away with me, I had to call to find out what the reg was for the Insurance. The whole place feels like they want to get you in and out as fast as possible, probably won't go back again
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Glen, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your experience at Peter Vardy. We can ensure this is not the standard we aim to provide. We have passed your review along to our management team on site. Who will be in contact shortly. Thanks, Team PV
Posted 11 months ago
Wasn’t impressed with my overall experience at buying a car from Peter Vardy car store Dundee. Seemed to be one issue after another starting with travelling to Dundee to view a car which I was told was ready to be viewed only for it not to be there on arrival. Then sorting a deal I principle with ‘free’ product for my trouble, which tuned out not to be free at all, with one manager quoting ‘well you don’t get anything for free’. Waited a week to view the car which then wasn’t suitable. Fair enough. Spoke to another manager and saw a car on Aberdeen which was brought down to Dundee and was suitable. Then waited well over a week for issue after issue to be resolved before finally being told the car was ready. Went to pick it up and that was another 2 1/2 hours waiting because actually ‘ot wasn’t quite ready’. Drove away in a bit of rush as was having to do a school run and I. The following days driving have found more issues with the car which need to be resolved so it’s going back in again to have them hopefully resolved. Doubt I’ll be back.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good Afternoon Andrew, We are sorry to hear of your experience. Can you contact customerservice@petervardy.com with more information so that we can look into this further. Thanks, Team PV
Posted 11 months ago
My car is lovely, however the customer service upto this point has been less so. Collection date put back a day as it wasn't ready,only to be faced with a car that was still not ready when I picked it up with a scratch on. Was then told I had to call back to get it sorted. A long rigmarole of calling to try and get it sorted and I've now to wait until later in May!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jacqueline, We are really sorry to hear that the over all communication could have been better. We have passed your concerns onto the handover management team who will be in contact with you shortly. Team PV.
Posted 1 year ago
Happy with the car and the service I was given on the day I first went through. No updates given after I reserved the car. I had to contact dealership to find out what was happening. Finance agreement was to be sent to myself by email but email failed to send. Wasn’t informed of this and had to contact dealership myself to find this out. On day of pickup informed of another £300 that was outstanding which I wasn’t made aware of. I had already paid my initial deposit prior to pick up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Colin, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. We have contacted our management team regarding this. the team will be in contact soon. Thanks, Team PV
Posted 1 year ago
There was some scratches on the car and I was told they would be touched up before I collected the car. When I went to collect it, the scratches were still there so I had to wait an hour for it to be sorted and I could take the car home. I was also charged £5 extra for my car tax which I was told was an admin error and they would send a cheque in the post. I know it's not a lot of money considering how much I spent on the car, but I have still not received my cheque a month on. I love my new car but I don't think I would go back to Peter Vardy as I felt that they weren't interested once they had my money. UPDATE: After submitting my review, I received a call from the store manager Alastair Page, apologising for the after sales service I had received. He offered me £50 in total as a gesture of goodwill, which has been promised to be in my bank account by 1st October, he also asked me to amend my review by 30th September which is today. (not sure why the money can't be in my account today?!) He stated that the stars for "would you recommend us" is actually for the salesperson and not the company! I will have to take his word on this as I had no issues with the Sales Advisor Gordon Halliday. He was polite, friendly and not at all pushy. Therefore the 5 stars are for Gordon.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good afternoon Lesley. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. I have escalated your concerns to the onsite management team. Many Thanks, Team PV.
Posted 1 year ago
I would say having purchased a vehicle before from this store I was very dubious about returning, this was due to various faults and the length of time taken to fix it out, i did try at the time to understand and think maybe it was just teething problems with the new store etc. Then after constant phone calls asking if we wished to change our car after 3 years we decided to have a look..we did find a model we liked and decided to purchase, thinking this time we would be lucky and it would be a better experience...I would say once the sale was made the customer service was dire and not what I would expect ......or maybe I should have expected in hindsight from a company who messed up previously....on collection the young lad who was dealing with us had no idea what had happened during the previous week through no fault of his and did his best, which really was a shambles, like he had been told to just get out and deal with us and get us gone. I'm not one for negative reviews but once bitten twice shy ....third time round I'll give my cash to someone who values the customer and treats people how they would like to be treated.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good afternoon Tracey,we are sorry to her this,I have contacted the management team regarding this. Kind Regards Team PV.
Posted 1 year ago
The showroom is lovely, modern, wide open, clean and warm, all indoors which is great. The welcome was second to none, friendly staff, they have a temperature-taking camera and safety procedures in place. I was highly impressed with all of that. My car, once delivered was clean and had been valeted inside. The reason for the low score is what happened after I purchased. I was hassled to come in and collect the car despite telling them I had an urgent medical appointment. I was harrangued about them meeting their targets (it was the last day of the month) and I reiterated that I didn't care about targets when I had to deal with my health. As it turned out the car was not ready at all, but their insistence caused me to transfer my insurance over, leaving me without transport. After several phone calls (I made) it came to light that a part was on order and it could be days or weeks before the car was ready. To their credit they gave me a courtesy car and as luck would have it the part arrived quickly. Unfortunately I had to do a 45-mile round trip to collect the courtesy car and was kept waiting for 25 minutes because the relevant person didn't realise I was there (even though I saw the reception staff radio through). The poor internal communications, coupled with the terrible communication with me have resulted in the score. The impression I have is that all the customer service is front-loaded to get you to part with your hard-earned cash, then they cast you aside as an annoyance once you've paid. I did try to speak to them afterwards, so far two unanswered emails, so I've given up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment ,if you would like to PM your contact details,I will inform the site management team. Many Thanks. Team PV.
Posted 1 year ago
Calls not returned, handover team didn’t contact me with date. Sales did the handover when we collected the car. Car very poor valet if indeed any. Faulty tyre sensor, earliest date for a replacement two weeks away with no courtesy car available. Local garage replaced with Kia part next day. No offer of refund for replacing part at local garage. Sale team did call me back and tried to help as much as they could, but rest off the organisation was poor. Handover team and after sales.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Craig, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. If you have any outstanding issues please email customerservice@petervardy.com Team PV
Posted 1 year ago
I would not recommend Peter Vardy Car Store Dundee because, even though they had the car a week longer than the original pick up day, we still had to wait 1 1/2 hours past the pickup appointment time ( 3.30pm) leaving work early. My wife had to leave without the car to do something else at 5pm leaving me to drive the car home. As soon as leaving the dealership the tyre pressure warning light came on. Both wiper blade attaching points are very faded and clearly been on the car for considerable time. On inspecting them, i found the end of one blade separated from the base. I have since spent £17.00 on ebay for new ones. I was never given any evidence of the cars service history or if it had been serviced or checked if it needed a service. One of the very first questions i was asked about my trade in was, does it have a service history. The engine oil on this new car is black so i don't know how much mileage its done. When i put a deposit on the car, the mileage was 53,965 miles. When i picked it up, it had 54,050 miles ???. Also one of your staff had time to bluetooth their phone to the car, (Darren) no doubt while driving it around. Was this when the suspension spring broke or was this not spotted when/if the car was checked.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
On picking the car up with my sister she wasn't shown any thing about the new car nobody went through the fixtures or controls which to me wasn't a handover
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very disappointed with purchase of car this time around, standards at Peter Vardy have dropped considerably. MOT requested by sales staff, this was not done prior to collection of vehicle, had to go back to be done. Finance settlements not done correctly I had to tell sales staff myself. Technician argued with me with regard to damaged wiper blades. Salesman told me day before collection he would see me tomorrow ( but knew he wouldn't as he was on holiday). 22/02/2020 ( I sold my car to you on 25/01/2020) I had notification from DVLA that I still owned my previous car which I was assured would be dealt with by the Peter Vardy Staff, who said it was not necessary for me to return slip to DVLA to notify sale of vehicle they would do it on line. DVLA were demanding road tax for a vehicle that I did not own any more. Had to ask staff to stamp warranty exchange for continuation of warranty on vehicle. The whole procedure felt like a conveyor belt, get them sold get them out, compered with our previous experience which was so easy and efficient. Do better Peter Vardy
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Initial enquiry was responded to quickly, I travelled over an hour to see the car and speak with Robbie and was told 'yes yes yes' to everything and basically promised the world which turned out was not the case. I understand after the first couple of issues that Robbie said he was new, however, after the first misunderstanding this then should have been supervised by someone who was more familiar with the business and process for the customer as there were repeated issues. I was actually made to feel very stupid about buying a car when in fact I was pretty clued up during the process but was being mislead on different occasions. This lead me to getting my partner and family members involved as I felt as if I was not being taken seriously and false promises kept being made to me then taken away. After receiving my new car, sadly there was still issues with something I had been promised which again took weeks to fix and I had to go out of my way to take my car to the garage when it should have been fixed prior to the car arriving.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Together with my car I had an extra service of Ł110 added without my permission nor knowledge. Tried to claim the money back but was going nowhere when calling them or visiting the store. Finally I contacted Trading Standards who dealt on my behalf and got my money returned to me after 4months. Please be aware when you buy a car from the store as there might be added extras that you are not aware of. In my case it was Supaguard, I had not received the service so could not understand why I had to pay for it especially they had not had my permission.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Peter Vardy are more than happy to sell you a car cant do enough in that department but God help you if you find a fault with the car they drag their heels in booking the car in for inspection and even longer if the car needs repairs the after sales care is pathetic I wanted 3 weeks to have a door mirror replaced on an astra apparently it took that long for the part to arrive
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Walked into the car store looking to trade in current vehicle for a more affordable car. I'll say from the outset, this was achieved. While in the show room we were listened to, valued and got the right deal, however, after leaving the showroom its been a poor show. We had agreed for our new car to be delivered and old one taken away from the house, I had to chase up multiple times, to be told each time I'd be phoned back, this never seemed to happen. Upon delivery of the car, it was dirty, clearly not valeted to the standard I was being sold in the showroom. There's also been a few problems with the car which again, after phoning several times and getting no where, I had to take time out oh my holidays to arrive at the showroom to speak to someone about these issues. This has definitely been a negative experience from the car store, when I've received better service from a Peter Vardy garage in Perth (although I was told the car store did things better). Issues are ongoing so will see if car store can redeem itself
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Afternoon Mark, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your concerns. Please contact us at customerservice@petervardy.com and the team will assist you further. Thanks, Team PV
Posted 2 years ago
CARZ Dundee is rated 4.76 based on 2,993 reviews