The Original Bed Company Reviews

4.76 Rating 1,058 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend The Original Bed Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Original Bed Company Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 4640875

Email:

sales@obc-uk.net

Location:

597, King's Road, London

Write Your review

Tell us how The Original Bed Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Bought the Julia single which is just ok. Expensive for what it is, lots of exposed joints and joins. Looks like much cheaper ones I’ve bought in the past. Quite disappointed to be honest
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there,  Many thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear your disappointment. If you can, please kindly send us some photos for the issue and we are more than happy to send out the part replacement as soon as possible for you as we provide a 5 year warranty against manufacturing defects. However, if you would like to return or exchange your bed for any reason within the first 30 days of receiving it, we will accept a return for either a full refund or exchange.    Best wishes,  The Original Bed Company
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service isn’t great. No communication after purchase. I had to contact them myself and have been told that my bed is leaving their warehouse in a couple of days, four days later I had to call them myself again and have been told that my bed is only going to leave their warehouse in 3 days and at best is going to be with me in 8 days which is a delayed from a promised delivery date by a week. Why I have to find all that out myself. Why no one bothered to keep me up to date when I’m spending big amount of money.
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Luke,  Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We’re really sorry to hear your disappointment.  Please note that our order confirmation email contains all the necessary information including the lead time. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing some unprecedented difficulties and delays since the beginning of the pandemic restrictions. However, we have been trying our best to service all our customers in a timely manner.  Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, and also please kindly note that we are always here to assist all our customers in anyway possible.   Best Regards,  The Original Bed Company
Posted 3 months ago
The bed arrived when it was supposed to, nice bed easy to put together with two people, but I only give three stars because of the poor customer service the impression I got got was they didn’t seem bothered if they got my order or not.
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Denise, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are glad that you’re pleased with the bed you ordered. Unfortunately we found out that your email address provided for the order wasn't correct, therefore, our order system failed to respond correctly.  Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. With Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 8 months ago
All Black King Size Cast Iron Hamilton Solo Bed: Pros: Sales; Usual pleasant patter. Delivery; Arrow, Spot on. Price: Think it should be cheaper! Width & Length: Good Height; Choice of 2 Levels. Building Bed Frame; Almost 3 hrs from packaging to built. Optional to paint bed in your chosen colour; £89 (Promised me a small pot of same paint in case of any chipping) : Never received it! Albeit, mine came out deep grey instead of bluish black. Cons: Bed is Not remotely akin to Original Antique. I just got rid of my Broken Antique Cast Iron Double; 120 yrs old Black/Brass. Comparisons: My Old Bed: 4 Posts were thinner; more refind. Had Wheels on ends All Black Mouldings were deep carved and clear. The Head & Foot Boards were much heavier/solid 4 Egg Shaped Brass Finials Building it: Took 10 minutes; Hooking System. Original Bed Company Bed: Cast Iron: Far lighter in weight! Mouldings: Surface only; poor. Bed Posts: Awful! Far too thick/broad, Clumsy looking, just huge! Finials huge too. I screwed my old Antique Egg Shaped Brass Finial on instead of the Balls. My Antique Egg finials looked completely lost on these posts. Gutted! Wooden Slats: No choice; Arched only, not Flat. £200 to replace them too! No Side Rail hooking system: Instead, this bed has black brackets with large shiny silver, not black, screws, which can all be seen if not hidden by a duvet! The footboard and headboard have to have centre metal rods put through them to strengthen the foot and head boards. Unusual! I think that's about it! Mainly Just gutted at being told it was akin to an original when nothing really like it at all! If the 4 Posts were made slimmer it would improve the overall appearance of the bed for sure! Sadly, a Great Disappointment!
Posted 10 months ago
Unfortunately, it has not been an amazing experience, the day of the delivery of the 2 beds I have bought I have got the storage slats for one the two beds longer and then they have posted me the slats a week later but again the slats were wrong.
Posted 1 year ago
Bed was delivered chipped and with dents, a replacement bed was delivered the next day which was also chipped and with dents. Third time lucky and I now have a lovely bed. Don’t rate the quality control of this company at all! However, the customer service was really good and very helpful.
Posted 1 year ago
Sturdy, functional bed. You get what you pay for - the quality and finish reflect the low price - but hey, you’re going to have your eyes closed most of the time, or be focussing on more important things (and it doesn’t squeak).
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, I'm glad that you like the sturdy nature of the bed, and the fact it does not squeak. We are certainly about the bed looking good too, and the powder coat finish is something we get lots of positive feedback on. We will contact you direct regarding your bed, as it sounds like there may be a manufacturing fault on your particular bed. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 1 year ago
I finally received my bedframe on 23rd Oct 2019. I ordered the item on 5th October, partly because the website stated 3-5 day delivery service. Malcolm was helpful in trying to track down my item following a couple of phone calls. It turns out that Arrow (and probably most major delivery companies) do not venture further north/west than Glasgow as far as Scotland is concerned. Instead they farm out the delivery to a third party. Can I suggest to OBC that you state this situation regarding delivery on your website. I spent 2 weeks longer than I expected sleeping on a mattress on the floor and had a back problem to start with which is worse now. While I am very happy with the bedframe, I probably would have looked for a company who delivered direct within a short time frame.
Posted 1 year ago
The bed looks and feels good. However the instructions for the Sunderland pleated are poor and caused hours of frustration compared to the iron bedstead I bought previously
Posted 1 year ago
We are pleased with the finished bed and how it looks although have yet to sleep on it. However having spent the afternoon trying to assemble the bed and drawers we were not impressed with the instruction manual which was not clear at all, especially for the drawers. The diagrams don't show you close ups when putting bolts together and for the drawers it was photos rather than diagrams which are very difficult to interpret. Also the drawers are rather flimsy, they just hook onto the frame, and are not part of the bed and so we wish we hadn't bothered with them.
Posted 2 years ago
The bed looks attractive and is comfortable. It was fairly straightforward to assemble. However I was disappointed by how much noise it made for such an expensive bed. The company advised me that I needed to put electrical tape around the inner top of the leg extension to stop the noise. This has got rid of the noise but I’m not sure how long it will last. It feels like I’ve had to use a botched solution when surely this component should have been coated with something to prevent the noise occurring. For the high price paid I was disappointed.
The Original Bed Company 3 star review on 5th January 2019
Posted 2 years ago
Starting on a good note...I love my new bed! Bad news is....I ordered the bed on a Friday expecting a 3 to 5 day delivery date. The soonest date available with their courier was 11 days later. I was told it would be delivered between 10am to 12pm....they didn't arrive until 4pm. No call telling me they would be late. Thank goodness my bed looked so nice in my room....took away the stress of the crazy delivery system they have!!!
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely product, and very helpful customer service. BUT - delivery was poor, late, and in a rented self-drive van with one poor little (he was physically very small) to heave two beds in. He also didn't speak English. And prior to delivery I was sent an email with all the component bed parts listed and asked to confirm that this was what I had ordered. How would I know????
Posted 2 years ago
Great bed, pity we had to wait so long for it. Also the wrapper and box it came in was filthy, which made us wonder how clean the bed would be but OK once unwrapped.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear William, Many thanks for your review. Rally glad to hear that you're happy with the bed. Looking at your order, it seems like your bedstead did come into stock within the 6-8 weeks advertised for that particular size and colour. We're sorry this left a feeling of disappointment, but we do try to be as clear as possible on the product page by displaying lead times. I will be sure to look into the box being dirty, and am glad to hear that the goods were nice and clean. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
Excellent product and very happy. Unfortunately the delivery process is a mess! Seems like there is poor communication between Bedstead and Arrow (courier). Order placed 16.08.18 but we kept on chasing the scheduled (3-5 day) shipping for essentially ten days by calling both parties with not much luck. Finally, discovered that our bed is just sitting with the courier for almost a week! Eventually after perseverance Arrow agreed to deliver it on 25.08.18!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Shahzad, Glad to hear you are very happy with the bedstead. Sorry to hear that your delivery experience did not match up to this though. We despatch any product that is in stock to our delivery company straight away, so it's disappointing to hear that they had it in their warehouse for seven days before it was delivered to you. We will be sure to investigate why this happened. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
After placing the order I was told I had to wait 8 weeks for the goods,which was a little disappointing as the bed frame was an Anniversary present!!Plus I think it's a real pity the Original Bed Company do not offer the lovely black& gold antique finish for their frames anymore....I would have been willing to pay extra for it!! On the other hand glad they still offer a choice of bed heights.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review. Sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the textured black with gold highlight finish. Unfortunately we did not sell sufficient quantities in this finish to continue offering it. The option to change the height setting of the base does remain popular though, so we have kept this feature on our iron bedsteads. In regards to the lead time, this is always displayed pre-purchase to ensure that customers can either plan around a lead time, or choose one of the many other models in stock. I do hope your partner was pleased with the present despite it being a late one. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
I ordered the Timolin in black. The quality is far superior to cheap imports from China but not as good as a good condition antique; still I didn't pay for an antique which would have cost 3 times as much. So happy with the bed. Obc need to tighten up on their delivery logistics and use another courier apart from Panther because my in stock bed was scheduled for a Monday, didn't come and was promised everyday until Thursday when it finally arrived. Good job I work from home!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you are really happy with the bed. In regards to your delivery experience, it is disappointing to hear that Panther have not provided the level of service that befits the product. After careful consideration we have made the decision not to use Panther in the future, and will closely monitor our new delivery company to ensure they meet the same high standards we have when making our bedsteads. Thanks once again for your feedback. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
I have never had so many parts to put together in a self assembly bed. It took me and my partner several hours to put it together and the instructions were not clear. However, once finished the bed is very attractive, Next time i would pay someone to do it for me.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you find your bedstead very attractive. Our beds are designed to both look good and be extremely strong and functional. We also take great care in ensuring that our bedsteads are easy to assemble with clear instructions. Over 99% of customers assemble the beds themselves, and we get lots of positive feedback. I have sent an email for more detailed feedback on which steps were unclear. We look forward to hearing your feedback. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Company
Posted 2 years ago
I am very happy with the bed that I have chosen but you should know that it wasn't easy, and took a long time, to assemble because two of the screws would not screw in fully. They appear to be in tightly enough to be safe but nevertheless they are not completely 'in' as much as they should be. It felt as though the frame was slightly off centre or out of 'true'.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Mary-Louise, Thank you for your review and we're glad to hear that you are very pleased with your bed. However, it should not be the case that two of the screws don't go in fully, and whilst we are also confident it will hold, we want your bedstead to be perfect. All holes are made slightly bigger to allow for small variations in tolerance, and it certainly should not be the case that any of the screws aren't able to screw in fully. We have left a voicemail and sent an email to get a better understanding of which two screws it is, but should you get this message before, please do get in touch so that we can resolve the issue. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Company
Posted 3 years ago
The pre delivery support including the ordering process were very good
Posted 3 years ago
The Original Bed Company is rated 4.76 based on 1,058 reviews