The Original Bed Company Reviews

4.76 Rating 1,058 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend The Original Bed Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read The Original Bed Company Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 4640875

Email:

sales@obc-uk.net

Location:

597, King's Road, London

Write Your review

Tell us how The Original Bed Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Will not use again. Bed 2 weeks late. Arrived with wrong slates. Holding bolts cross threaded. Customer Service guy made all the excuses under the sun each one picked apart until he hung up having to band sid his ego. All of the above for a bedstead costing £450.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Kevin, Apologies that the slats were incorrect, I can see that a new set of slats were sent out immediately on a next day service, which is great, but sorry if the person you spoke to was not more understanding whilst on the phone in regards to your frustration about the error occurring in the first place. I was surprised that you mentioned the bed being late, as our lead times are extremely reliable at present, despite the current climate. Looking into it, your order was quoted at eight to ten weeks and was despatched within that timeframe. Our couriers then deliver within 3-5 days. I'll certainly take it up with them as to why this particular order took longer. I'm sure you will have the bed for many years; I've had mine for 14 now, and it's as new. Exceptional longevity for £450. When it does come to changing though I hope you will feel less aggrieved by your experience and may once again consider us. Repeat custom is a massive part of our business. I completely accept your position if you do not though. Apologies once again. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 months ago
We ordered a double wooden bed from this company. Having paid £1000 I was disappointed that I received very little from them in communication of when we would expect the delivery. Further I was then told it was ready and given the details of the delivery firm. This firm was only offering one date for delivery. Then when I rejigged everything to fit in with this, the delivery team sent me an email saying they would deliver from 7am to 9am. The delivery guys were really great, they called beforehand and couldn't have been more helpful however organising the removal of the old bed and sorting out logistics is not easy in lockdown. The main issue is the actual bed - the instructions were not for the model we ordered so completely useless and very complicated. The parts are not named and neither very importantly is whether certain boards are fitted up or down - this is very important in the base because the holes are not central and without the instructions, it is impossible to know which way up they go until you've put that section together. The spanner supplied was very cheap and did not fit on the nuts easily and further there was not room to turn the nuts in the recesses. In short, if you want to make lockdown utter hell, order one of their wooden beds - it looks two of us 6 hours to put together! 6 hours!!! Cheap parts, the packaging was ridiculous and took almost an hour to unpack... there were NO proper instructions!!! and 100s of unmarked parts. I would never ever order a wooden bed from this company again. The only upside was we slept well because we were utterly exhausted by the time it was finally put together. There is also a scratch on the headboard but there is no way I'm taking this apart again to fix a new one... Very very disappointing overall...
Posted 2 months ago
Hi there,   Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We’re sorry to hear your disappointment. Please note that In regards to Arrow XL delivery service, 90% of the time they offer multiple delivery days. In remote locations with no nearby towns vans can sometimes only be in that area one day a week. Unfortunately I can see by your postcode that your address fits within the group. I'm glad that the two hour window and pre-call were made. We are partnering with Arrow XL because they are very efficient with Large & Heavy deliveries. Arrow XL is the UK's leading 2-man home delivery specialist company and deliver over 2 million customer orders every year. We do have grouped instructions for some beds, as they are assembled using the exact same process; with the holes and fittings being identical. Most customer's find assembly fairly easy and we include a picture for each step, this helps guide a customer as to which way round a specific part should be attached, for those holes that aren't centred, we'll be sure to look at these again though to see if it can be made any clearer. All our boxes are labelled and flat packed with standard and secure packaging process. The additional labels will be added and updated accordingly. We will also contact you directly about resolving the damage to the top of the bed, in a manner that does not cause any inconvenience to you. Please also kindly note that we are always here to assist all our customers in anyway possible.    Best Regards,   The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 months ago
Headboard threads damaged won't order from you again for my other bedrooms very disappointed
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Stuart, Many thanks for your review. We’re truly sorry to hear that the headboard threads were damaged. Please kindly send us some photos for the damage and we’re happy to send you the part replacement right away. With our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. The Original Bed Company
Posted 7 months ago
I ordered my first bed and it arrived dented, then I ordered a sprayed bed which took 5 weeks. When this arrived it hasn’t been sprayed to a high standard. The paint had run and it had been painted over a black bed, the paint began to come off. Because they had not even primed the bed. The screws for the bed were bent, the planks for the bed some were chipped, they tried to blame this on me.
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Lesley, Many thanks for your review. Sorry to hear of your disappointment. Some models do take longer than others, with the lead time for each design being advertised on their particular product page. Our sprayer is very conscientious, and any drips are sanded and resprayed to ensure a smooth finish. I'm unsure how he missed this one but I will pass on your disappointment to him. In terms of the chips, I can see that these are positioned under where the collars of the Selkirk sit. Because these are made of metal and have fairly sharp hidden inner edges, when pushed tightly into place there can be some chipping under the collar. This is completely hidden, and I can assure you though that the paint has completely bonded, hence why it has only occurred in this particular position. We pre-fit each screw fully to ensure that they are straight and have no cross threading, so it would be great if you could send us a picture as per our telephone conversation, allowing us to get an understanding of which ones were bent. Finally, in regards to our heavy gauge sprung slats, we have used these for many years, and should customer's have any issues we are more than happy to send out replacements straight away. I've been onto your order and can see that your full refund has already been processed in accordance with our 30 day no quibbles return policy. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 9 months ago
Approximately 10 years ago we purchased a Braemar bed for £1100 from Dreams beds, they sold this bed on behalf of the Original Bed Company at the time although it was a lot of money we thought it would be nice for the children, a heirloom to be handed down to them. We'd had the bed for roughly 5 or 6 years and we noticed that the brass was beginning to tarnish so we contacted Dreams and they were very good and they replaced the bed with not to much trouble at all. That was in 2016 now the same thing is happening again. With the Dreams shop now closed in Leicester we decided to contact the Original Bed Company, having contacted them they said could we send them photos of said faults, which we did. We then received an Email from the company, saying that they were very sorry about our complaint, but there was nothing they would be able to do about it because the 5 year warranty had expired but that we should have the bed refurbished by a refurbishing company. We recently had a look at the website of the said bed company and found that the £1100 bed we paid for was now £1700. Although we wont be able to get anything done about our problem, I just wanted to warn other potential customers of being taken in by false promises
Posted 1 year ago
One of the slats was rough and a piece of rage wood has cause a hole in a brand new mattress
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered a bed And mattress 9 weeks ago. Other than the email saying they had my order I have had no notification from the company with any expected dates, etc. I phones two weeks ago to see when to expect delivery and was told it was down as the week of the 25th of November. As I yet again have had no contact from the company I have spent the whole morning trying to contact anyone at any of the phone numbers online and they all just ring out. No please wait, no please leave a message. I just want to know when the Bed is due to arrive. Why can I not contact you?
Posted 1 year ago
Bed and mattress ordered 29.03.19 with 6-8 week delivery period. Due 10-24 May 2019. Now on 9 weeks and still not here. Been given 2 delivery slots a day apart and both were cancelled by courier Arrow XL during the time slot I had been given. So have taken time off work for no reason. Only contact is by text message confirming slot then cancelling. Cannot get through to Arrow XL on web chat or answering phones which go on and on with a 0333 charge number. I waited 16 mins before giving up. Emails to Original Bedstead go unanswered and have left 3 voice messages today on their various numbers and no-one has rung me back. Paid a LOT of money for a bed and mattress and wish I had just gone to John Lewis......
Posted 1 year ago
When I opened the boxes my heart sank seeing so many parts and fixings (screws, bolts, nuts) etc. However this was just the start of our problems. The instructions were not fit for purpose. Illustrations were inconsistent such that pieces were shown one way round in one illustration and then another way round in the next one. The parts were incorrectly (and inconsistently) referred to by number - i.e. the same part was referred to by two different part numbers at different stages of the instructions. But the biggest issue of all was that the struts/mattress support design bore no resemblance to the instructions. I telephoned customer service who were also confused. They admitted the warehouse had changed the bed design but the instructions hadn't been updated to reflect this. In other words the instructions were for a totally different design. In fact they told me they didn't have any instructions for our design and had to talk me through it. At this point it become clear the fixings packs also hadn't been updated as we didn't have enough of any one type of nuts/bolts to assemble it. We had to improvise ending up with odd parts used and many pieces left over. I let customer service know but instead of responding they stopped communicating with us. No apology, no offer to check the installation or to send out new fixings.
Posted 2 years ago
Booked a delivery and a day off work advised delivery would be between 13.30 & 15.30 only to then be told it would not arrive until 19.30. Having spoken to both the delivery company and retailer neather wished to take responsibility and advised if I wasn't in for the delivery to book another date.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Steve, Many thanks for your review and apologies that your item will be delivered late. On phoning us we stated that we would need to liaise with our delivery company to get an understanding of why the delivery was late, which we did as soon as you got off the phone to us, ten minutes before you left the review. Sorry if you felt that this was not taking responsibility, we simply couldn't tell you why the item was late or provide a solution without speaking to the delivery company first. We have now learnt that the vehicle carrying your bedstead broke down, so they sent a new vehicle to load the undelivered goods onto, to ensure that customer's weren't let down. All customers were then contacted to advise a new delivery time, with the driver working out of hours to ensure they get done. I completely understand your frustration. However, I hope that on receiving your bed you will begin to feel that neither the product, nor the service received after the delivery vehicle breakdown were one star experiences. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
The obc bed I received, the headboard was badly finished with many marks. But the worst is the design change. I’ve got 4 other obc beds, and no problems. The skates on these beds clicked in. Now the slates just sit on frame. They are of less quality and guess what. The bed creaks. This is not the frame but the slates that lay under mattress. I wish the bed to be returned and full refund. I would like one of the original designs and not this bad design. Photos attached. Please note. Not delivery damage. Manufacturing issue.
Posted 2 years ago
I ordered a bed 2 months in advance of when I needed it for. I had to have it delivered on a specific date, therefore gave plently of notice. I called a week before the delivery date and was ensured everything was in place. 1 hour before the delivery slot, I received an e-mail to advise only part of my order was being delivered !!! To cut a very long story short, the 2nd part of my order was scheduled to be delivered the following week - however, no delivery, no phone call !!! I then had to take a day off work for it to be delivered mid week. First delivery driver was rude and sarcastic too. Bed is beautiful and great quality, however, would never us the Original Bed Company again, until they change from using Panther Group as their delivery providers.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Irene, Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear your positive comments about the look and quality of your bedstead. In regards to your delivery experience, it is disappointing to hear that Panther have not provided the level of service that befits the product. After careful consideration we have made the decision not to use Panther in the future, and will closely monitor our new delivery company to ensure they meet the same high standards we have when making our bedsteads. Thanks once again for your feedback. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 2 years ago
The Original Bedstead Co. use the worst courier that I have ever encountered but their own customer service is appalling. Totally wet, not responsive or proactive and having to be led by their customer. First of all, when the courier company send a text to tell you when your order is due to arrive, the text comes from an anonymous number and contains no information about where the order is from. Secondly, the company managed to split the two parts of my bed by not loading both packages onto the truck they were supposed to be on. When the driver tried to deliver only half a package, he seemed shocked and quite rude about the fact that I wouldn't sign for it or accept it. I called the Original Bedstead Co. and whoever I spoke to was useless, wet and offered no compensation nor seemed particularly eager to help me out. A day later, the packages were reunited and a new delivery date organised (and another day away from the office for me). Guess what, no delivery because of, according to the tracker, a "loading failure." What a joke. I've yet to contact the bedstead company other than by email since but I expect them to be as completely useless as they were before. Avoid these incompetent, useless people.
Posted 2 years ago
This company are not up to the mark when it comes to delivery. They failed twice to deliver. A mess really and then had to wait three days to get my money back. Appalling service.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review, and sorry to hear of your disappointment. We have looked through our email trail and can only see one record of any request from you for delivery. Despite the request being made at late notice, we arranged a special collection from our courier, who unfortunately failed to get your bed to you within the promised 24 hours. For this we are sorry, and we have requested an investigation by their management as to why this happened. We have provided a full and immediate refund. It takes approximately 3 days to show in your account due to the processing systems of the card company, and not because we have not processed the payment. Sorry once again, and I'm sure that had you allowed for delivery to take place tomorrow, you would have been very happy with your Timolin bedstead. Best wishes, The Original Bed Company
Posted 3 years ago
Slats are not laminated, frame was damaged, part of frame is twisted. Tried 3 times to get laminated slats but quality each time was rubbish - really rough wood that has damaged my mattress. And when you try to sort out the problems customer service is an alien concept
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Andy, Sorry to hear of your disappointment with the slats. We bond multiple layers of wood together under high pressure, with the grains at right angles to provide extra strength. These are then cured at high heat before being machine sanded with fine paper. They form part of a base which has been awarded the BS EN 1725 durability certificate. We have been using this design of slat for a number of years, and as you can see by our reviews, we get great feedback on the all round quality of our bedsteads, of which the slats form an integral part. That said, we take all customer feedback on board and I have forwarded your thoughts onto our production team for review. In relation to customer service, we will always endeavor to resolve a customer complaint, as we did on this occasion by hand lacquering sets of slats for you. Regarding the frame being twisted, we would certainly look to resolve this too, as our frames are made from heavy gauge materials and should not be twisted. This was not mentioned in any previous correspondence though, so we will email you directly to get further information on this. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Company
Posted 3 years ago
I put in an order 8 weeks ago and it has still not arrived, despite chasing several times. I've been told it will take another 3 weeks, despite this being a standard white frame, not a made to order colour. When I contact customer service it either takes a long time to get a response or I don't get one at all. Really regretting placing this order.
Posted 3 years ago
Would not recommend buying a bed from this company. Customer service and delivery is disappointing. I have waited for 6 weeks for delivery. Now being told that delivery won’t happen for another 3 and a half weeks. Had to email three times (without any response) in order to get an update on this.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Sophia, Apologies for the delayed response and that your bedstead will be delivered 1 week after the quoted timescale. We experienced a particularly busy period which resulted in some orders being late; sorry for this. We have been working hard to catch up and are now back within the quoted delivery period. I'm extremely confident that once your bedstead arrives, you will be very happy with the quality. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Company
Posted 3 years ago
I'm getting really scared now that my beds will not be delivered. Full payment has been taken, I ordered these beds two weeks ago and according to their website they are beds in stock i.e. 3-5 working days delivery. I have emailed, left a voicemail, tweeted and messaged on Facebook. Nobody has come back to me to assure me that my delivery is on its way. This is my last attempt before I start trying to get my money back, if someone can update me on the delivery I will remove this review. Thanks, Ashley
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Ashley, Apologies for the communication breakdown and we will be sure to monitor our social media accounts more rigorously. I hope that you are happy with the beds you bought now that they have been delivered and assembled. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Company
Posted 3 years ago
The company offers free delivery "worth £45" if you buy both a bed and a mattress. Having placed an order I foolishly expected that they would offer a service that was indeed worth £45, and deliver the bed to the room of my choice (unsurprisingly, a bedroom located upstairs). Had I read the terms and conditions, I would have realised that "delivery" actually means "abandonment at the front door". Prior to leaving a review, I have spoken to two people at the company about my dissatisfaction, one of whom was very patronising, and kept referring to it costing them £20 to have the bed delivered. That pretty much explains everything...it is actually a service worth £20, but if you had to pay, they would charge you £45! Also, no timed delivery slot...anywhere between 8am and 6pm, and the phone number to track, had to forward my call twice, when they could still only tell me that "it will definitely be today". Used Beds on Legs last year...much better, and will stick to them in future.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Louise, Firstly, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the views of all customers, be they positive or negative. Sorry that you feel so disappointed in the delivery service offered. We do attempt to make the delivery process as clear as possible by outlining it on the page of every single bedstead rather than hidden away in the terms and conditions. We also provide a link right next to the delivery cost which takes you to the details. Until now we had felt that this was both clear and concise in terms of visibility and language used, but we will be sure to review this in order to make it more clear. As a company we always aim to bend over backwards to resolve customer complaints, and receive really positive feedback relating to this. We appreciate your views though and will look at whether your complaint could have been handled any differently. Finally, I think there may be some confusion on the delivery cost of £20, as that relates to orders that simply entail a bedstead. We get charged a further £25 by our courier company for a mattress which we usually pass onto the customer. With your order though there was no delivery charge at all, and as such you received free delivery worth £45, as advertised. Once again, sorry that the delivery experience was not what you expected. Whilst we do offer an assembly service, we will also look to investigate and implement a cost effective delivery service to the room of a customer's choice. I do hope that once the bedstead has been assembled and taken pride of place in your bedroom for many years to come; it's design and quality will be what you remember the Original Bedstead Company for. Best wishes, The Original Bedstead Team
Posted 4 years ago
I bought a nickel coated bedstead from this company some years back as I was after a quality bedstead but the finish has deteriorated that the coating has not lasted in places. Though it is sturdy I am rather disappointed in this purchase.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Caroline, I do apologise that you've had an issue with the finish. If you email us at sales@obc-uk.net with a order number and some images of the damage to the finish we will gladly try and sort these issues out for you. We aim to stand by our product and quality. Best regards, OBC
Posted 4 years ago
The Original Bed Company is rated 4.76 based on 1,058 reviews