Permagard Reviews

4.81 Rating 1,320 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend Permagard
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
98%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.93 out of 5
"Efficient ordering service - product arrived as stated on order confirmation. Delivery charge is disproportionately high. Cannot comment on quality and performance of product (Microshield Ultra), as it's only just been applied and therefore too early to tell."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Neil,

Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad that you were happy with the ease of ordering. In regards to delivery, unfortunately most of our products are classified as chemicals meaning that delivery is more costly. This is something we are currently working with our delivery company to try and reduce.

We hope you are pleased with the results of your product – if you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Posted 6 days ago
"The materials were delivered next day. Great. Unfortunately, application was tricky. The cartridge leaked from the piston on the inside while pressing the trigger. The extension tube was very insecure and had to be held in place on the nozzle while applying the cream, but not without a lot of leakage. Its too early to say if the damp problem has been cured. No improvement within the first week."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Hugh,

Thank you for your valued feedback. The 310ml cartridges that we pack the injection cream into are commonly used for other applications like sealants etc. If they are over-compressed it can cause the contents to leak from the piston side of the cartridge - we have passed your comments on to our packaging company for feedback.

With regards to the injection, it can be up to six weeks before you start seeing the wall start to dry out. Masonry dries at a rate of approximately one inch per month. However, you can start remedial works to reinstate renders etc. earlier as per the technical guidance.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

The Permagard team
Posted 1 month ago
"An excellent product and very fast delivery as promised. Only one problem, their must have been a slight leak or contamination in one 2.5 pack as their was a large chunk of cured resin in the resin side prior to mixing. Luckily it was the second coat so there was sufficient material when mixed to complete the job."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Neil

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the product and your experience with Permagard. We’re glad that you were pleased with the speed of delivery but sorry that you weren’t 100% happy with your product.

Unfortunately it sounds like the second unit was slightly damaged and the resin had reacted. We are glad that you were able to complete your project but if you have any problems, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

The Permagard team
Posted 1 month ago
"Great! no problem"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"No delivery to my address although mainland Scotland and only 20 miles from the County Town"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi,

We’re really sorry that we are unable to deliver to your home address. Unfortunately, our delivery regions are specified by our courier TNT. Addresses that are not included in their standard delivery regions are considered high rate areas and attract large delivery charges which we feel would not be the best value for money to our customers.

We’re really sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

The Permagard team
Posted 1 month ago
"Good value product but TNT as a delivery compony is really poor. They only deliver on a week day, do not advise when they're coming and expect me to drive a 50 mile round trip (portsmouth to alton) to pick up from the depot."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Brian,

We’re extremely sorry for the delivery issues you encountered. It falls well below the standard we expect for our customers. We've made a report on your experience and will feedback to all relevant parties.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for this again. We’re glad you were happy with your order and if you need any help please let us know.

The Permagard team
Posted 1 month ago
"Product and service excellent but dismayed paying £19 for delivery on a £9 product this could have been put in a padded bag and posted for a lot less as time was not an issue"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"love the material ,price and easy contact . Would prefer call backs as promised even for an update if goods not delivered."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Mr Wilson,,

Thank you for your review. Apologies for any inconvenience caused when TNT attempted but couldn't deliver. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee the driver will call ahead if the location is hard to find but we do our best to keep you informed once we hear from the courier. We are glad that you received the goods the day after and hope this will not affect you using us again.

Regards

The Permagard Team
Posted 4 months ago
"Bit soon to tell. Injection only happening today. Difficult to locate mortar between bricks in this old property."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Postage was overpriced"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We work super hard on keeping our product prices as low as we can for our customers, however currently delivery prices reflect what we are charged by the courier. We really value your custom and thank you for ordering with Permagard.

Steve
Posted 5 months ago
"Bought the dpc permagard presumed it cam with tape when I ordered the tape had to pay for delivery again delayed the job please make it clearer to me it’s not a kit without all the kit"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We’re sorry for any confusion around our kits and exactly what’s included. We try our best to make it clear exactly what is included in our kits in the product descriptions and imagery. Your feedback has been taken on-board and we may look to include tape in the future. The Permagard team.
Posted 5 months ago
"All fine, except did not arrive on the advised day. Out of their hands, apparently."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Mr Driffill,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and always welcome any feedback so that we can look to improve our service.

Unfortunately, although we offer a next day delivery service as standard, we cannot guarantee the delivery, as very occasionally our couriers encounter an issue which delays the delivery as was the case with your particular order. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are glad you received the order the next morning. Please let us know if we can help with anything further.

Kind regards

The Permagard Team
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Mr Driffill,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and always welcome any feedback so that we can look to improve our service.

Unfortunately, although we offer a next day delivery service as standard, we cannot guarantee the delivery, as very occasionally our courier might encounter an issue which delays the delivery as was the case with your particular order.

We are glad you received the order the next morning and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Kind regards

The Permagard Team
Posted 6 months ago
"Products were perfect only issue is paying delivery of order over £600 bit of a joke really and to charge £25 for delivery bit expensive."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Unfortunately, we're not currently in a position to offer free delivery. We work super hard on keeping our product prices as low as we can for our customers, however currently delivery prices reflect what we are charged by the courier. We really value your custom and thank you for ordering with Permagard.

Steve
Posted 8 months ago
"Delivery issues!"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Product ok Service not good. Membrain turned up. Fitings turned up 2 days later! 2 days behind on the job Client not happy!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Gerald

We’re extremely sorry for the delay that you encountered in receiving the fixings. It’s quite simply not good enough.

The service provided by our courier on this occasion was way below what we would expect. Unfortunately, TNT occasionally splits consignments when long lengths are involved. They normally get delivered on the same day just by separate lorries. This did not happen for you and we apologise.

We are now looking into a way to include the fixings in the roll packaging to stop this from happening again.

The Permagard team
Posted 11 months ago
"Simple white plastic vent. Does the job. A little pricey on my opinion"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I did not realise that you have to use the material immediatley after mixing the contents of the 2 tins, therefore can be problamatic if you don't want to use all the contents staight away. If you followed the instructions and wanted to apply 2 coats then you would need 2 lots of material. I actually poured part of the contents into a separate container in a roughly 2 to 1 ratio. Drying time was actually a lot longer than expected, and was still tacky after 24 hours, maybe due to the temperature, although it was still quite mild last week. Also did not find that it started to solidify 30 minutes after mixing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to review your order.

We’re sorry that your experience with the product was not as you would have expected. We pride ourselves on including all the information needed on the product, label, data sheet and website. Unfortunately, in this case, it seems you were unable to find what you needed.

We will double check everything from our side to make sure it is easy to get the information required. For all future orders, please remember that our friendly and knowledgeable team are always on hand to help with any questions.

Steve
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordered online and was delivered to wrong address. Took 2 days and speaking to 3 different people to rectify and for my order to be delivered."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your order. We’re very sorry that you experienced delays with your order – your experience fell well short of the high standards we expect at Permagard. The delays were down to an issue with the courier that we will address with them. We hope you are happy with your replacement delivery.
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordering and Delivery time was good but Epoxy resin was slightly opened, tried it anyway but result was not great wish i had contacted straight away to get changed but to late now. Also need more information about mixing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with Permagard. We’re glad that you were pleased with the speed of delivery but sorry that you weren’t 100% happy with your product. Our friendly team are always on hand if any problems arise or if you would like more information about the product. We’re always happy to help.
Posted 1 year ago
"ORDERED THESE 3 VENTS AND 1 WEEK LATER NOT RECD. CALLED AND THE LADY WAS VERY HELPFUL AND DISPATCHED NEXT DAY ASAP, SO THEY MADE UP FOR IT."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Permagard is rated 4.81 based on 1,320 reviews