Performance Direct Reviews

4.19 Rating 449 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend Performance Direct
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.38 out of 5
Read Performance Direct Reviews
You offered insurance for my vehicle at what seemed a reasonable price until you added all these extras not impressed I hope other people do not fall in to your trap
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Simon

Thank you for sharing your experience and bringing this to our attention. I have raised this with our customer liaison team who will look into the concerns in your review.

Regards

Emma
Performance Direct
Posted 1 year ago
I was informed via email at about 18.50 on Thursday 27 May that my policy was automatically being renewed,on 29 may, there mail didn't give any information about the card that payment was being drawn against, neither the option to decline. I discovered that the funds were taken from my bank account, after several e mail I was advised that the monies were being refunded. I thought these dodgy practices were a thing of the past, obviously I was mistaken. Andrea Williams
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andrea

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will investigate this with the relevant team today.

Regards

Emma
Performance Direct
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andrea

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and bringing this to our attention.

I have looked into this with our Client Liaison team and can confirm the renewal notice, sent 20 days prior to renewal, confirmed we would automatically renew the policy.

This is due to continuous insurance enforcement legislation.

Your refund was then processed following your advice that you did not wish to renew the policy.

I hope the above helps to reassure you, however if you require further assistance, don't hesitate to let me know.

Regards

Emma
Performance Direct
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID Extremely unprofessional ‘Company’ (found on go compare) insist you contact to confirm details, or policy will be cancelled. Cancellation fee of £55 Guess what...you can’t get get through, email bounces back from THEIR link. Also attempted to take payment TWICE. Phone call made (within 3 hours)to cancel procedure (which isn’t valud until you confirm your details-their request) & I’m being charged £55 for cancelling a policy which was never started???
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah

Thank you for sharing your experience and bringing this our attention.

In order for our team to look into this please update your review with a valid reference policy number.

Without this, unfortunately I can't trace you and offer any further comment.

If you prefer, we also have feedback forms on our website www.performancedirect.co.uk that can be filled in and are sent directly to a team to assist with queries. These forms are under the 'Existing Customer' tab.

Regards

Emma
Performance Direct
Posted 1 year ago
I am another customer who was treated to a revised quote following a telephone call. Similar to others on this site a £350 additional premium and then despite the insurance not being active they charged £55 for returning my money. Its a nice earner they have my money for 5 days and charge me for the privilege without providing any service. I read the negative reviews before going ahead with the purchase but unfortunately ignored them - to others reading this please do not make the same mistake. This company is associated to another provider with similar reviews on GoCompare so beware and avoid
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm another customer who has been caught with a £55 cancellation charge within minutes of buying a car insurance policy. During the telephone confirmation they found a need to correct the given info which they said would need a requote. After several minutes they came back with a 'best-they-could-find' quote of ANOTHER £250! That's on top of the £200 I had already paid them. I decided to cut my losses and say no thanks. I went back on to Money Supermarket and got a very competitive price using the corrected info.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
FRAUDS I made a payment online to confirm car insurance with performancedirect.co.uk. on GoCompare - in order to confirm it they sent me an email with a number to ring. when I eventually managed to get through to them they told me one of the items I had noted on the form was incorrect (for a parked garage) they said this meant I would need a different insurance policy and I asked them to get me another quote they said the only quote they could get was £2000!!! the initial quote was £316. They then told me they would charge my card £50 for making the mistake on the form (stating my car was in a garage - which it is and other insurers accept) because I did not want to go with the £2000 insurance. This is clearly a rip off service never in my life have I had this experience with an insurance company. This is fraud!!! BE CAREFUL Edit
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Wished I had read some of the reviews before I used them, as when I wanted to change my insurance to another vehicle they quoted me an additional £158 for the remaining term which is about 8 months or £50 to cancel. I told them it was daylight robbery and canceled, I went on line and got 12 months insurance for £182. Do not use this insurance company.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very argumentative and unhelpful staff. Very rude and made a lot of charges that I eventually argued down to a smaller figure. Not at all happy with their service. Avoid at all costs.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolutely disgraceful company, they are cheap but like anything it's when there are issues that you find out what a monumental mistake you made having insurance with Performance Direct. My advice is AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Most un-professional insurance company. It is quite clear that the staff are on very low commissions otherwise they would take the job more seriously. Staff tell blatant lies. Beware as you may end up having your insurance policy cancelled due to their incompetence.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Having sent all the information requested, they failed to read it properly. Insurance cancelled.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
AVOID AT ALL COST Performance Direct increased the initial quote by more than £200. Once purchased we moved to a different postcode and PD wanted additional £200. we cancelled the policy expecting a refund of at least £170 (which included deduction of admin fees and 20% off premium , which is a rip off in itself) but were told by Emma (extremely rude individual) that as it is a classic car, the underwriter is keeping the full premium. This is not stated anywhere in Performance Direct T&Cs which were issued to us. Performance Direct agreed to refund £13 which is a joke. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID. Bunch of cowboys and scavengers.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I did an online quotation, for my 20 year old car. Nowhere in the quotation process was I told that I had bought a Classic Car policy. Classic Car cover is not suitable for me or my vehicle. No problem, I thought, the risk has not even begun yet. However, after talking to them, I am being forced to either pay £60 for a non-Classic Car policy, or a £55 cancellation fee! Rip off!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
did not stick to original quote. refused to acknowledge my level of no claims and consequently increased my premium. the service and price i ended up with was not what was originally offered.
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
They have recently cancelled two policies now I'm stuck with two debts by default which I don't need. After selling one car they wouldn't cancel my policy and so I was left with the remainder of the balance to pay off, really helpful!! This has happened in succession and being out of work currently this has put me in an awkward position, in future I'll go elsewhere for my classic car insurance, I'd rather pay more than be stuck with a policy I no longer need, they really adhere to the customers needs, NOT. I've used them on and off for years no loyalty for returning customers what so ever really angry right now, that's an understatement. The customer relations officer was useless and she achieved nothing I will escalate this matter further, I remain unsatisfied. I've just found they have blocked me on Twitter how childish the truth hurts does it? I noticed on here I'm not the only one who has been left liable for the remainder of the policy how disgusting!!! I'm going to highlight this further it's wrong to rip so many people off. Im not the only person this has happened to, look at the review sites and google the company this is widespread and you could be next...
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I would like to make an official complaint. I am incredibly disappointed with your customer service. As your client I trusted you and your offer but I lost all my discounts for a year, as a result of the bankruptcy of the insurance company. This is my first insurance for this car and now I have to pay a higher insurance for a next year. Another outrageous thing it's your offer of the new insurance for me. My previous insurance was £600, however you offer me £1700 or above that. I wish to emphasize that insurance on moneysupermarket.com oscillate around £600.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I wanted to insure my 'leased' van. I received quote via comparethemarket.com- performance direct was my second choice. Details given to performance direct were as per details given to comparethemarket.com. My first choice, returned my deposit as they did not have a cover for leased van for short term. My second choice, performance direct, based on the same material fact given to comparethemarket.com and to the first choice, also couldn't start a policy due to the 'lease' aspect, but decided to clear my bank account for their fraudulent claim for cancellation and admin fees! That was done some 10 minutes after my online payment as deposit AND before even a policy was written or set up! It took just that 10 minutes for them to steal my money! Needless to say that the matter is in the hands of Financial Ombudsman now! Performance Direct and your parent company Grove& Dean, your are fraudsters and theives!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Too bit outfit, they just take your money and run parasites, my car got stolen and they went down every avenue not to pay out.
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Hi Alwan;

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, I'm sorry to hear that it hasn't been the most positive.

Essentially, this matter falls under that of your claims handler and not us as your Broker. We can help to assist with the matter by contacting your claims handler for you, but ultimately, this lies with them.

We understand that making a claim or having your car stolen is frustrating, if there's anything that you would like me to investigate or look into for you, please let me know as I'd be happy to help.

Regards;

Lauryn
Performance Direct
Posted 3 years ago
Stay clear of these jokers worse insurance company out there modern day thiefs !!
2 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Do not use this company they are robbers we paid in full to insure our 4x4 but 2/3 weeks after taking policy out we decided to sell it .we rang and told them we knew we would lose some money on the policy but not the amount we did it was eye watering plus they were charging us £15 to send the policy out i asked why it cost that much i was given a load of waffle (we did'nt have it posted)When you do ring your waiting ages so i asked if they would ring me back they said yes right away but it took the next day to do it.they have no people skills at all i would never recommend this company to anyone after all its your money so shop around
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Performance Direct is rated 4.19 based on 449 reviews