Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

Farrar & Tanner Reviews

4.8 Rating 9,325 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Farrar & Tanner
Read Farrar & Tanner Reviews

About Farrar & Tanner:

Farrar & Tanner specialise in personalised gifts, offering a carefully curated range of luxury pieces designed and crafted to last a lifetime. Sourcing from heritage brands and premium crafters from Britain and beyond, the collection brings together products chosen for their quality and timeless appeal. Our in-house engraving transforms these beautiful pieces into meaningful keepsakes.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 5678365

Email:

sales@farrar-tanner.co.uk

Location:

24, Lansdown Estate, Cheltenham,
24, Lansdown Estate, Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
Gl51 8PL

Write Your review

Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 13th September 2026
Phyliss
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 12th September 2026
Anonymous
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 17th August 2026
Julie
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 13th August 2026
Theona
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 13th August 2026
Theona
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 25th July 2026
Paul
Farrar & Tanner 5 star review on 11th July 2026
Angela
567
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
“My initial contact was extremely disappointing,in that I was not able to speak to a member of your sales team.....please hold you are number one in the queue. I abandoned the call,after TWENTY MINUTES The following day I contacted your showroom,and was able to secure a purchase.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. My sincere apologies for the issue you had with calling us. We had some technical issues with our phone lines that were out of our control, so we missed a lot of calls that week. I can only apologise for that. They are back up and running now, so hopefully it does not happen again. I'm happy to hear you were able to come into our showroom to purchase! Best wishes, Stacey
Posted 11 months ago
“Unfortunately I had to send the pocket watch back it looked cheap and it rattled”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“Great product however the engraving instruction / request were not delivered. This detracted from the overall gift experience but not the performance of the product…”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“Bought a wallet for our grandsons’ 18th birthday. The packaging was damaged and the wallet box was bashed and the wallet also looked a bit bashed! Not impressed with the engraving, could hardly see the initials. Unfortunately I will not be using Farrar and Tanner again.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Linda, I am so sorry to see this. I can see you've not been in touch with us regarding this so we've not had the opportunity to rectify this. If you email us on customerservice@outdoor365.co.uk we can get this sorted for you as soon as possible. Best wishes, Stacey
Posted 1 year ago
“Only gave this because I didn’t receive my bag as out off stock”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“I purchased a mantle clock with a personalised plaque. The clock was delivered promptly but there was a hair (approx 2cm long) inside of the glass - I emailed F&T and I was informed that this would of happened when the plaque was inserted. I therefore had to unglue the plaque, carefully remove it and take out the hair with some tweezers. Beautiful clock; poor QC checks.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Will Apologies, once again, that you received the clock with a small hair attached to the plaque. Please understand this in not our normal level of service. I can see from the email thread that we advised you how to remove the hair, which you did with success and were satisfied with that outcome. I also noticed that we offered you the option of a free return and replacement. Many thanks Kind regards Sue Customer Service Farrar & Tanner
Posted 1 year ago
“My first order arrived poorly packed and broken in pieces. However, the complaint I put in was dealt with quickly and courteously, and a replacement was sent to me well packed and in perfect condition- thank you.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“Lovely item, delivered promptly but missed off gift note.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Charlotte, Thank you for your review, Having checked your order, you did not request for any gift options to be included with the order. Kind Regards, Farrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
“A small problem waiting for a reply 4days later.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Elizabeth, Thank you for your review, I'm so sorry to see you had an issue with your order. We did respond to your email on the 28th of August at 8:14, and are awaiting a response from you. Kind Regards, Farrrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
“I have previously purchased a knife before which was excellent however my recent purchase wasn’t even close in quality the metal clasp around the blades keeps twisting not allowing me to fold away the blade”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Anthony, Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear about the issues with the clasp. I can see that we haven't had any contact from you regarding this, and we'd love to opportunity to fix this. Please can you return the knife using our free returns service. We can then dispatch a replacement knife with the engraving included to you. https://www.royalmail.com/track-my-return#/details/6633 Kind Regards, Farrar and Tanner Customer Service.
Posted 1 year ago
“Order fine & goods as expected but let down badly by Royal Mail who twice said delivering - then no show so stayed in whole day which was completely wasted ! Eventually after two days delivered by my own personal post man with normal letters & as the items were glass expected they would come on the van !”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“I like the knife but it has not been personalised. There was an offer to personalise it with my name so when I placcewd the order I asked that my name be engraved on the handle: Jenny Betts. When it arrived there was no engraving. Can you check what happened and suggest what can be done please? thank you. Jenny Betts: email: jenny@jennybetts.com”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jenny, Thank you for your email. I'm really sorry, no engraving was added to this order, nor were you charged for it. You're more than welcome to use our free returns service to send it back to us to have an engraving added? Please contact us on customerservice@outdoor365.co.uk if you'd like to proceed. Many thanks! Best wishes, Stacey
Posted 1 year ago
“Wrong order received.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“Really disappointed 😔 The amount of money I paid for the chess set as a birthday present and it looks really cheap. The clasps holding the board together feel as though they will snap off after a few uses. It doesn't feel 'quality', particularly in comparison to the one other board we have. There's no luxury/craftsman style feel for over £80. Quite disappointed unfortunately as I took time to research products and the photos look really nice. The lettering looks golden and almost embossed in the pictures but theyre a flat yellow which looks like it did scrape off easily.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Lynsey, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you're disappointed with the chess set. We aim to represent our products as accurately as possible, so it’s disappointing to hear that the item didn’t meet your expectations. I’ve checked our records and it doesn’t appear that you’ve contacted us directly — we’d appreciate the opportunity to resolve this for you. Please feel free to get in touch with our customer service team, and we’ll be happy to look into it. Our email address is customerservice@outdoor365.co.uk Kind Regards, Farrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
“Arrived OK after a few days (not as fast as Amazon!); poorly packaged, so the original product box was crushed, although appreciated that cardboard and no plastics were used. Very happy with the product ordered.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“The wallet arrived promptly and was well packaged.It is made of lovely soft leather, but unfortunately, the engraving is hardly visible. Disappointing.”
Helpful Report
(Cheltenham) - Posted 1 year ago
“I was disappointed with the poor quality of the gift wrapping for which I paid extra. I ended up re-wrapping it myself with proper wrapping paper. The item was also smaller than I had envisaged and didn't stand out as a quality product. Relative to the £125 I paid (including delivery), i was disappointed.”
Helpful Report
(Cheltenham) - Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, and I’m really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your order. We completely understand how important presentation is—especially when it’s a gift—and it’s disappointing to hear that our gift wrapping didn’t meet your expectations. I have refunded the gift wrap fee. We also regret that the product itself didn’t feel like good value for the price paid. We aim to provide both quality items and a great overall experience, so I’m sorry we’ve let you down on this occasion. Your comments have been passed to our team to review both the gift wrap quality and the product presentation. If you’d be happy to share any photos or further detail, we’d really appreciate the opportunity to make things right. My email address is Jamie@outdoor365.co.uk Kind Regards. Jamie Customer Service Farrar and Tanner
Posted 1 year ago
“The product and ordering process were both excellent but the service is undermined by the awful Royal Mail delivery service. 2 failed deliveries and the actual delivery outside of the time slot. Exactly what I have come to expect from RM but still very frustrating when you need to stay in to accept the delivery. Strongly recommend you change delivery partner.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Nick, Thank you for your review and feedback. We’re delighted to hear you were happy with the product and ordering process, but we’re sorry to learn about your delivery experience. As this is a bladed item, the law requires us to verify that the recipient is over the age of 18 at the time of delivery. We take age verification very seriously to ensure these items are delivered responsibly and in compliance with legal requirements. This includes ID checks both at the time of ordering and upon delivery. We understand that delays and missed time slots can be frustrating. However, please note that any courier used for delivering bladed items must follow the same legal requirement for ID verification at delivery. Thank you for your patience and understanding. If there’s anything further we can assist you with, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Kind Regards, Jamie Farrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
“I ordered a travelling chess set adorned with a brass plaque. Upon initial inspection, I was quite pleased with the product; however, opening the chess set revealed a somewhat disappointing level of care. The padding was cheaply glued to the inside of the set, and some pieces were not adequately sanded. I am a bit surprised these imperfections made it past quality control. On the whole I was quite pleased, although, I doubt this product will stand the test of time as it is not expertly manufactured.”
Helpful Report
(Cheltenham) - Posted 1 year ago
Hi Quinlan, Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear set came in such a poor condition, this isn't our usual standard. I can see that you haven't contacted us regarding this. Please can you email us with your order information and some images of the chess set, and we can exchange it for you. Our email address is customerservice@outdoor365.co.uk Kind Regards Jamie Farrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
“I bought a Filofax for my son. I didn’t feel it was value for money as I queried as to whether it was leather. I was assured it was and therefore I kept it. Unfortunately I cannot find replacement inserts to fit it. A5 too big and A6 too wide.”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Kareen, Thank you for your review, I'd like to reassure you that the Filofax you purchased is made from genuine leather, as confirmed by our customer service advisor. Regarding replacement inserts, we recommend contacting Filofax directly, as they offer a range of sizes and options that should work for your model. Their customer service team will be happy to assist you in finding the correct fit. Kind Regards, Jamie Farrar and Tanner Customer Service
Posted 1 year ago
Farrar & Tanner is rated 4.8 based on 9,325 reviews