Canada Travel Specialists Reviews

4.85 Rating 317 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Canada Travel Specialists
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read Canada Travel Specialists Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0330 094 8379

Location:

85 Oswald Street

Write Your review

Tell us how Canada Travel Specialists made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
My wife and I have recently returned from holiday in Canada which was organised by Barrhead Canada Specialist Michelle Holt. From the onset, everything was meticulously organised, and this continued throughout the entire trip. Transfer arrangements and timings ran like clockwork, organised excursions were on time and well run, and all accommodations we stayed in were pleasant and well located for our needs. I would happily recommend to others planning to explore Canada.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Sophie King organised our flights and accommodation through our visit to Canada and onto the Rocky Mountaineer Train - we had a fantastic time and everything Sophie booked from flights to hotels and transfers went well. I will certainly use this route again when booking my next trip Brian
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent and rapid turnaround help with organising a holiday at short notice. Got us a interesting looking itinerary with elements of everything we wanted - helpful suggestions - at a reasonable price and quickly. Recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
No idea where to visit in Canada so contacted travel agents and drew a blank. Noticed on the web Canada Travel Specialists. I rang them and talked to Scot in their Glasgow office. I hit the jackpot --Scot was able to put together for us a great itinerary as he had been to all the places so knew exactly what we were looking for. He gave us confidence and was so positive about the trip we booked there and then. Also he was able to get discounts Flights trains etc. Having now returned back home I can say that everything Scot told us happened --it was slick and we had a great time. This holiday would not have happened if we had not talked to Scot as we were about to give up on the idea. Thanks Scot you are asset to your Company
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We visited Canada in July 2019 and booked through Canada Travel Specialists. May Malcolm was our main contact but we also spoke to Sophie King a few times. Both of these ladies were very helpful, knowledgeable and always courteous. We spent quite a lot of money on this trip but we saw and did so much it was worth every penny. The only slight complaint was some of the transfers did not go too well. I would recommend for most of the time to just book your own taxis or private transfer. May is at the moment trying to obtain a refund for some taxi vouchers we did not use from Discovery Travel. Overall the trip was amazing and we will remember it for a long time. Well done to every one.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We had a fabulous four weeks in Canada. Three nights in Calgary to visit the sights, three weeks in an RV and three nights back in Calgary to experience the Stampede, which was absolutely fantastic. The only drawback for us was having our base in Calgary centre. Had we known that Canadream do a free, or cheap shuttle, to and from the airport and airport hotels we would have opted for an airport hotel. As do the airport hotels but neither Canadream or The Sandman City Centre operated a shuttle service either into or out of the city. The C-Train runs by them all and for only $7 or so you can ride anywhere on the train or buses all day if you wished. Our journeys to and from Calgary centre would have cost us $28 altogether. Because we had to get taxis - airport to Sandman City Centre, Sandman City Centre to Canadream, Canadream to Sandman City Centre then Sandman City Centre to Airport on our last day. That's four taxi journeys at $50 each makes a total of $200 as opposed to $28 if we'd known about the C-Train which our 'Canada Travel Specialists should have known about. There were some hidden extras when we picked up our RV which again should have been pointed out beforehand. Also, it wasn't abundantly clear that we needed to book up the major campsites months in advance of travelling. We travelled in June and should have been booking up campsites certainly before the end of March. As it happened we were lucky and in many cases managed to acquire the very last site. Everything Barrhead Travel booked for us from the flights to the RV and accommodations were all spot on but I do think a little more advice about a) public transport b) booking up campsites and c) the hidden extras at Canadream we could expect, would have been much appreciated. However, we can thoroughly recommend a motorhome (RV) holiday in Canada. We did get to see quite a lot of wildlife at close quarters. Please Barrhead Travel just give your customers some vital information which can help them have a more fulfilled holiday. Afterall you are the 'CANADA SPACIALISTS'! Cheers
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We had the holiday of a lifetime in Alaska and Canada. Though we had a wishlist of things we wanted to see and do, Adla did a marvellous job of sorting the bookings for our big group of 16. Everything went smoothly, flights to Vancouver from Gatwick , Celebrity cruise to Alaska, the Rocky Mountaineer to Jasper , travel to Banff and Calgary and finally our stay in Toronto. The inclusive tours and excursions were great ! The hotels were in good locations at every place- though the inclusive breakfast at Rosedale on Robson at Vancouver wasn't the greatest. Chelsea hotel in Toronto seem quite modern from the outside and the lobby but the rooms were quite dated. That apart, couldn't find fault in any arrangements. Adla was great in clarifying all our queries and we would thoroughly recommend her to anyone wishing to visit Alaska or Canada.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Now that we have returned from our trip to Canada which you arranged for us I would like to report on how well all the arrangements proceeded. In summary, every connection connected, every contact was expecting us and we were absolutely thrilled with the success of all your efforts at arranging our trip. All the four hotels we stayed in were of excellent quality and very well located for our needs. The Lake Louise Inn, however, lacked an elevator, and the residential blocks were some walk from Reception; this might cause problems for less mobile guests. Dinner at the Inn was excellent in a pseudo-rustic setting with a good choice of restaurants with appropriate menus and pricing. Just a few points you might note. At Calgary airport we found the office for the Brewster Express Coach, but it was located a few yards down the corridor between Exits 5 and 6: however, they were expecting us. Banff was a marvellous place to visit and required at least the two whole days. The Banff Gondola was fantastic and is accessed by either a free bus from the town centre “Downtown Banff” or the local bus service. Of note is that the public transport system in the Banff National Park, centred on Banff, called the Public Transit, operates inexpensive bus services around Banff itself (for $2, seniors $1) and to outlying areas (for $6-8, seniors $3-4). These included Lake Louise itself, village and lake, the Moraine Lake as well as the magnificent Lake Minnewanka. This latter lake well deserves a mention as there are some excellent walks around the lake as well as the possibility of a boat trip around it. There was a problem at Lake Louise as the station was closed owing to a landslip and we were all bussed back to Banff to pick up the Rocky Mountaineer. This train did run a bit late, but this did not spoil our trip. The train journey through the Rockies was truly spectacular with constantly changing scenery, following rivers, especially the “Mighty Fraser” all the way to Vancouver. We were not sure what to make of our intermediate stop at Kamloops, as it was almost dark when we arrived, and there was no time to explore. In Vancouver we made good use of the “Hop on, hop off” bus pass. Actually this was valid for two days, which was needed as there were two routes, each nominally taking around one hour, but with stop-offs effectively took the whole day. It was an excellent way to explore downtown Vancouver. Again I’d like to thank you for the care you took in organising this tour and will be recommending you to our friends. Should we make a future trip to Canada we shall certainly make use of your services. Anthony Cooper
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Adla Toal was the perfect travel agent to work with. She used her experience to advise whilst also listening carefully to what we were looking for and ensuring that our needs were met. Nothing was too much trouble for Adla. She responded quickly to all our questions and referred matters back to Barrhead Travel's Canadian partners when needed to ensure that our holiday was as perfect as it could be and it was! All thanks to Adla. We are so grateful for all her hard work. Jean & Alaine
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Our trip was a few days in Vancouver, nice city, then rocky mountaineer to Banff which was fab, then self drive in the rockies taking in Jasper, Clearwater and Whistler. All arrangements and accommodation were good. We especially enjoyed the Alpine Meadows resort in Clearwater. The highlight of the holiday, at the suggestion of Hannah, the Canada Travel rep, was a 3 day trip to Knights Inlet to see grizzly bears.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Excellent road trip to Alberta and British Columbia. accommodation pre booked was above expectations. Driving was easy. Wildlife plentiful we were lucky enough to see bears coming out of hibernation to eat the dandelion at the roadside. We would book with Canada Travel Specialists again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Went in to speak to Sophie King with a wish list of things to do in Canada for this October. She came up with a wonderful itinerary for us despite the short notice. She was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and has instilled confidence in me that our holiday will be truly exceptional.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We dealt with Anne MacAldowie who arranged our entire trip and whose advice and help made this a trip to remember. From start to finish every thing went through perfectly. Anne recommended the Loden Hotel in Vancouver which turned out to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. (Highly Recommend). The Cruise on Celebrity Eclipse was excellent and exceeded our expectations. One recommendation is to take a Seaplane ride over the Glaciers at Juneau. As far as the Rocky Mountaineer is concerned this was fantastic and should just be enjoyed. Our stay at the Fairmont in Calgary was as expected first class. The Stampede was exceptional and exciting. The show and fireworks after the Wagon racing was excellent and advise anyone to stay behind to see this. Our flights out and home with Air Canada (business) were top class and thank you Anne for arranging this for us. We have nothing but praise for Canada Travel and Anne in particular.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We have just returned from a fabulous holiday to Alaska and Canada , the whole itinerary from start to end , had no hiccups , it was perfect , and with the help of Adla , from the very beginning , made it a perfect , stress free holiday . Thank you once again Adla, I would highly recommend you to friends and family .
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Everything was so well organised and went like clockwork. Trips and pickups were spot on and couldn't have wished for anything better. Spoke to others who were with Canada Travel and not one had anything but praise for this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We dealt with Sophie King who from the initial contact was friendly and efficient. She arranged every aspect of our cruise to Alaska including hotel accommodation for 2 nights in Vancouver which was perfect and one nights hotel accommodation in Anchorage, which again was a great choice, being outside the town but close to the airport. We did experience one problem concerning the taxi transfer from Whittier to Anchorage which was included in our package. This was not the fault of Canada Travel. The taxi did not turn up and we incurred a cost to arrange a private transfer, however, Sophie followed this up and despite us not having a receipt for the payment made obtained a refund for us. We were very impressed with every aspect of the service received.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Having just returned from Canada — I would thoroughly recommend Canada Travel — I spoke to a lovely lady called Hannah who made a trip to our wishes and it was amazing and flowed like a dream — nothing was to much trouble and when ever I rung to ask like the best place for visa- information was emailed straight away — All staff are so friendly and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
A friend of mine recommended I contact Canada Travel since she had just organised her Western Canadian holiday with Sophie. From the start, Sophie listened to our requirements and then went on to tailor the holiday and travel arrangements to our schedule, going above and beyond the norm to ensure we were happy. All the transfers worked like a dream. No request was too much trouble and it was a pleasure to deal with her. We returned to the UK on Wednesday this week, having had a great Alaskan cruise, trip on the Rocky Mountaineer and stays in several hotels/cities along the way. Thank you, Sophie!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
My wife and I were wanting to visit Alaska and a part of Canada but could not find a travel agent to advise us on an itinerary. Very fortunately friends of ours, who had recently completed a similar trip to the one we were contemplating, recommended we contact Adla Toal of Canada Travel Specialists. Adla proposed an itinerary which, with some modifications on our side, became the a 20-night trip of a lifetime for us. We live in Cape Town, South Africa, and so barring three of four phone calls the whole trip, which included a land tour in Alaska, a cruise down the Inner Passage, and a trip on the Rocky Mountaineer in Canada, was assembled via email. Adla was always quick to respond to the plethora of emails we sent her and no question was left unanswered. We found her recommendations to be helpful and worthwhile, particularly when it came to the choice of excursions. The pricing seemed reasonable and all the arrangements made prior to the trip worked out perfectly. In short, we were very pleased indeed with everything Adla recommended and arranged for us, and so we can unreservedly recommend her and her company to travelers seeking a similar destination experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Having seen an advert in one of the daily papers, re holiday to Canada and Alaska decided to contact Canada Travel Specialists. Initially speaking to Scott who discussed tour/cruise advertised, change of flights etc. Scott looked at alternative flights, best deals etc.Placed no pressure on booking the trip, there and then. Holiday booked, low deposit- bonus. My no fault to Scott or Canada Travel Specialists, changes re the rail trip and flights but again Scott looked at alternatives and again left final decision to me. Being a golden oldie I had some difficulty proving Holland America with pre cruise details and printing off cruise check in papers but one telephone to call and he sorted things out for me. Nothing seemed to be 'too much trouble' courteous and patient whenever I needed assistance as we're other members of his team in his absence. Brilliant service offered. This review was completed upon my return from holiday and everything went according to plan.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Canada Travel Specialists is rated 4.85 based on 317 reviews