Arthur Kay & Bro. Reviews

4.82 Rating 649 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Arthur Kay & Bro.
Read Arthur Kay & Bro. Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0161 834 0332

Email:

enquiries@arthurkayandbro.com

Location:

2, Market Street, Manchester

Write Your review

Tell us how Arthur Kay & Bro. made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I took some jewelry into the shop. All gold and some broken pieces. Two main items were a ring and a bracelet. I was offered £55 for the ring and £165 for the bracelet. In particular i was told that although the ring was gold the stone was glass and it would be used for gold only. I went past yesterday and saw both the ring and the bracelet in the window. The ring priced at £295 and the bracelet priced at £895. I was flabbergasted. I went into the shop to query this extortionate increase in value. The manager denied any responsibility and said that head office made all decisions. In fairness he did offer to let me buy the ring and bracelet back, which i was willing to do, for the price i sold them for but when he found the receipt it didn't give a breakdown of individual pieces so he offered to sell them back to me for £450, which was the accumulative amount of everything I'd given him. If I'd agreed that would have meant giving the store the rest of the gold for free. I purposely took the jewelry to Arthur Kay as I thought it was a trustworthy institution. A family firm with principles. I now realise that this isn't the case and warn all others to shop and sell elsewhere. Underhand, as the previous reviewer stated should be above the sign over the door. Very very poor Arthur Kay and so so shoddy. You should be ashamed.
Posted 1 week ago
Very underhanded business dealings, I took a Gold item in to sell was offered £45 it was close to closing time, and I needed the money for car park. I knew it was worth more than the gentle had said but needing the money, I had to sell. Wasn't worth more than £45, but go back into town the day after and it is in the window for £295. I should have gone elsewhere I would have got way more for what I sold.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for bringing this matter to our attention. We have spoken to the in store team and they have confirmed you are correct that you were offered £45 for your item of pre-loved jewellery. However, the item in the window is sold with an accompanying chain and priced accordingly for sale at £295. Kind Regards Arthur Kay & Bro.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very disappointing experience. Sadly if you look on google there are so many similar experiences.  Please be very careful if you choose to shop here. They have an aggressive, unfriendly and inflexible rock bottom level of customer service. I visited the shop impulsively, without any agenda. I asked about a delicate gold necklace. The young sales assistant was pleasant and helpful. He found me a little piece. Unfortunately due to corona, we did not try the necklace on.  The owner of the shop agreed to sell me the necklace and remove the locket that was currently on it. In hindsight I think he randomly plucked the necklace price out of thin air.  When I got home the necklace was not 18inches as described and I just changed my mind. 2 days later I returned and asked for a refund on the basis it wasn't 18inches and it wasn't what I was looking for after all.  The owner, Howard, refused to refund me (although the website talks about simple and easy refund policy). He lied saying due to corona he could not offer a refund. When I asked why? And how corona affected my consumer rights he said the item hadeft the shop. I challenged this and explained whether he refunded or gave a gift card, the item had in both cases, left the shop. He was obstructive and kept repeating "i can not do a refund" without any plausible explanation. He went to the back room.  He did not try to talk to me, did not offer alternatives and simply returned from the back with a gift card.  I explained that I did not want a gift card, I wanted my money back. He began to argue with me!!!  The customer in this case is flatly ignored and dismissed. The young sales assistant tried to explain we had not tried the chain on but this was also ignored.  I left the shop in search of some help from a policeman I had seen outside.  The owner, Howard, then asked my sister to take the necklace and receipt and leave.  I had the chain independently valued twice at half the sale price. Luckily it wasn't that expensive but it is the principle, this is daylight robbery.  Perhaps they lost sales during the pandemic and took the opportunity time exploit the customer.  I will never shop there again. I wanted to share this horrid experience with everyone.  I have shared my experience on social media in the hope that some people are diverted to a much more honest and reputable Jeweler, avoiding this thief moonlighting as a business.
Posted 1 year ago
Very disappointing experience. Sadly if you look on google there are so many similar experiences.  Please be very careful if you choose to shop here. They have an aggressive, unfriendly and inflexible rock bottom level of customer service. I visited the shop impulsively, without any agenda. I asked about a delicate gold necklace. The young sales assistant was pleasant and helpful. He found me a little piece. Unfortunately due to corona, we did not try the necklace on.  The owner of the shop agreed to sell me the necklace and remove the locket that was currently on it. In hindsight I think he randomly plucked the necklace price out of thin air.  When I got home the necklace was not 18inches as described and I just changed my mind. 2 days later I returned and asked for a refund on the basis it wasn't 18inches and it wasn't what I was looking for after all.  The owner, Howard, refused to refund me (although the website talks about simple and easy refund policy). He lied saying due to corona he could not offer a refund. When I asked why? And how corona affected my consumer rights he said the item hadeft the shop. I challenged this and explained whether he refunded or gave a gift card, the item had in both cases, left the shop. He was obstructive and kept repeating "i can not do a refund" without any plausible explanation. He went to the back room.  He did not try to talk to me, did not offer alternatives and simply returned from the back with a gift card.  I explained that I did not want a gift card, I wanted my money back. He began to argue with me!!!  The customer in this case is flatly ignored and dismissed. The young sales assistant tried to explain we had not tried the chain on but this was also ignored.  I left the shop in search of some help from a policeman I had seen outside.  The owner, Howard, then asked my sister to take the necklace and receipt and leave.  I had the chain independently valued twice at half the sale price. Luckily it wasn't that expensive but it is the principle, this is daylight robbery.  Perhaps they lost sales during the pandemic and took the opportunity time exploit the customer.  I will never shop there again. I wanted to share this horrid experience with everyone.  I have shared my experience on social media in the hope that some people are diverted to a much more honest and reputable Jeweler, avoiding this thief moonlighting as a business.
Posted 1 year ago
Hat én nagyon vigyáznék ra mert ez lenne az álmom
Posted 1 year ago
girlfriend was very happy
Posted 3 years ago
This is the third year running I have bought a Swarovski Xmas star from Burns. Each year they have been the cheapest I could find and delivery was always very quick. I hope to buy again from them next your.
Posted 4 years ago
Great service, fantastic communication, very quick delivery. Would happily use Burns for watches and jewellery in future.
Posted 4 years ago
Very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend.
Posted 4 years ago
Absolutely fantastic service ,ordered a Swarovski iPhone case was much cheaper than in other shops and online and it was delivered in 2 days. 5*service wouldn't hesitate to order from them again .
Posted 4 years ago
Very good price with fast delivery that was free. Very happy.
Posted 4 years ago
I've received my item after 24h! And I've just picked standard delivery. Well done!
Posted 4 years ago
Very efficient service.
Posted 4 years ago
Quick fast delivery and the item was cheaper on here than other websites
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent communication. Item no longer in stock so prompt refund given.
Posted 4 years ago
Great quality item packaged well and delivered next day, could not fault them.
Posted 4 years ago
Prompt delivery, good choice of special offers, items well packed
Posted 4 years ago
Item exactly as expected, nicely packaged and wrapped, fast delivery. Thank you.
Posted 4 years ago
Items arrived promptly. All good quality. One box damaged due to poor packing and seal with sticky tape, box tore when opened & this was for a gift . Otherwise very pleased
Posted 4 years ago
Orders dispatched and delivered promptly and arrived in perfect condition. Delighted with my purchases and got quality Coeur de Lion jewellery at a great price. Please stock more of this range, it is very difficult to find this on the High Street and a collector like me always has to source this jewellery through on-line shopping. Will definitely use your site again, thanks xxx
Posted 4 years ago
Arthur Kay & Bro. is rated 4.82 based on 649 reviews