Allcott Associates LLP Reviews

4.76 Rating 824 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Allcott Associates LLP
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
97%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.78 out of 5
Read Allcott Associates LLP Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0333 200 7198

Write Your review

Tell us how Allcott Associates LLP made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Requested a survey from this ‘nationwide’ company only to receive an email saying they don’t cover Kent. Why don’t they state the areas that they cover?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS ! Not only they are one of the most expensive surveyors in Bristol, but we paid for the most expensive home survey and they missed not one, not two, but THREE leaks in the house ! TWO in the roof and one leaky window. We contacted them to try to resolve the matter but they just don't accept any responsibility ! Arguing they couldn't see it because there was a few bags in the loft... which is clearly false as they said the damp in the cupboard was due to bad ventilation and completely missed one the leak in the roof !
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your survey. As we have already discussed, the report clearly stated the limitations to the inspection because of areas being inaccessible at the time, and clearly recommended that those areas should be inspected once access was possible. We believe that if this recommendation had been followed, the issues you describe would have been picked up.
Posted 4 months ago
I filled in the online form for a quote for a valuation. When I rang to accept the quote I was told they didn’t do them in that area and the online quote doesn’t look at the postcode of the property????!! What a waste of time. Why don’t they set the search up so it tells me that instantly. The women who took my call wasn’t interested or bothered. I’m actually glad they DON’T do them in my area.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that were unable to accommodate your valuation survey on this occasion. Our surveyor in your area has very recently gone on maternity leave and unfortunately we do not have any control over how the search engines (Google) work. If you would like to contact me direct, I will be happy to provide you with a contact who will be to help. Thanks, Tim Allcott
Posted 6 months ago
Quote given for a survey but when I called to arrange a date they informed me that the surveyor covering my area (Milton Keynes) was on furlough. I totally appreciate the current situation but updating a website or not generating quotes based on postcode shouldn't be too difficult. When I raised this the call handler she didn't seem bothered or even apologise.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your message. There appears to have been a misunderstanding here. The surveyor in question is not on furlough, but is isolating. We take our responsibilities in terms of mitigating Covid risk very seriously and we have therefore been unable to book a survey in on this occasion.
Posted 11 months ago
Unfortunately the surveyor from this firm failed to notice any materials that needed testing for asbestos. Despite paying for a full structural report we were left without confidence in the findings and requests for the firm to come out to look again were refused. A very disappointing and costly experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Where we susepect asbestos contiaing materials, we will allways provide the necessary advice. If we do not suspect asbestos which is sometime the case due to the age of the proeprty, then we will not advise that you have unceccesary testing as this will only result in uncessary costs and damage to the property. Thanks, Allcott Associates LLP
Posted 1 year ago
Disappointingly I was called on the day of the proposed survey to have it cancelled by Allcott Associates. Sadly they had tried to put the date back when first booking having offered early November when agreeing (booking a month in advance) and then trying to secure a date after exchange in mid to late November, which was unacceptable. Fair to say I was not surprised when I received the call on the day cancelling. The really upsetting and unacceptable part is they had wasted a month of time I could have booked someone else. Surveyors are busy at the moment, I understand, but this should not happen when at lot of us house buyers have slim timeframes. Just fuming and even if there was a justification you would expect after waiting a month a replacement would have been found, to maintain good customer service and promises made. Refund was swift. Just feel like a mug because I saw it coming and that is a horrible feeling knowing I did nothing wrong! When I said they had let me down and they knew it, as our instructions had been clear about needing early November when booking, there was no apology. Whilst the excuse was Covid related the survey could then happen within the next week, so either they knew a while ago and didn't sort out a replacement or incubation period would not be adhered to. Of course it could have been proposed a different surveyor would come, but this should have been the offer on the day.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am very sorry to hear that you feel disappointed. I completely understand how frustrating the cancellation must be and how difficult it is to receive such news during the moving process. However, we had no choice - one of our surveyors' children was told to isolate due to COVID-exposure from this morning for 14 days, and they therefore had to take emergency leave to look after them. As a commercial business, cancelling work is the last thing that we want to do, and we only ever do this as a last resort. We looked to re-book your survey at the earliest possible opportunity, but because of the current market our surveyors' diaries are currently booked up for several weeks; this also means that we do not have anyone with spare capacity to cover your cancelled survey at such short note. These are extremely difficult times for everyone, including businesses, but we have to put the health and safety of our clients and colleagues before business needs. I hope that you can understand our decision to support our surveyor in facilitating the isolation of their child, which ultimately protects us all.
Posted 1 year ago
Rang us at 4pm on the day before the survey was due to happen to inform us that the surveyor could no longer attend. Said the next date they could give us was 3 weeks, this was after our completion date. Woman on the phone didn't seem to care that it was after the completion date and was so unhelpful. Very unprofessional service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We understand your frustration at having the survey postponed, but we could not countenance sending a surveyor who has suspected COVID into a residential property. These are exceptionally difficult times for us as a company, but we believe in doing the right thing by our clients, their vendors and our employees and in staying COVID-safe, we think we are meeting this objective. We can only apologise for this and any delays in your purchase that result, but hope that you can understand the exceptional circumstances that we are currently experiencing.
Posted 1 year ago
Took 280 pound for a survey never bothered to turn up to do it all I have from office is an email saying it will be felt with on 15 ausgust and when phoned told someone would ring back never have terrible I have clearly been ripped off. My opinion a bunch of cowboys
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jason, I'm sorry to hear about this - there has clearly been some kind of mix up. The office has been trying to contact you but haven't been able to get through. Please could you call the office on 0333 200 7198 so that we can re-arrange your survey or provide a refund. Many thanks.
Posted 1 year ago
We instructed Allcotts following a very though and comprehensive survey that was provided for relatives at the end of last year. sadly our experience was different from theirs. 1. Deadlines were not met, initially promised report in 4 - 5 working days, then in a later email, 2 working days after the survey. It was received on the 9th working day, after being chased. 2. an interim "draft version of the discussion/conclusion" was provided on request due to the delay, but proved to be without any worthwhile content. 3. Report was poorly worded and defects are not not well described. Illustrations in the report too small to show defects. Some reported defects are not accompanied by images. Due to the inadequacy of the images in the report, the original jpgs were requested; whilst a zip file was quickly provided with 70 images, these had been reduced from the native 6.4Mb to 201Kb so information was lost. 4. Specific questions asked in advance were not answered, for instance information about cavity wall insulation was specifically requested; the age of the building was estimated at mid 20th Century so cavity wall insulation would not have been required under Building Regulations; the question then is has it been installed subsequently. In the relatives report there was a specific and unprompted comment "There are filled plug holes within the elevations where retro cavity wall insulation has been installed." - there was no comment on the presence or absence of drill holes despite this being a specific request prior to the survey. 4. Supplementary questions intended to clarify the results were not dealt with adequately or in some cases at all. 5. A "distant vantage point" was used to justify not providing information on several occasions, however little effort seems to have been made to overcome distant vantage points, for instance using binoculars or the Camera's telephoto lens. 6. Useful information was not included.... the age of the building was estimated and using publicly available on line maps could have been identified more accurately with little effort. The presence of glass fibre loft insulation was noted, but its thickness was not mentioned even when requested. External lighting and individual radiators were identified in the report, but no apparent attempt was made to test them, though attention was drawn to the fact that they had not been tested. Presumably it would not have been difficult to provide that test. In conclusion we have paid for a survey that has not provided the useful information that we expected, to help us plan works to the house once we have completed the sale, in the way that our relative's report was comprehensive and very helpful. We would not be recommending Allcotts on the basis of this report and the delay in providing it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Andrew, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the report provided by Allcott's and provide the following comments: 1.The completion of the report was provided 2 working days later than normal due to several admin staff taking unexpected leave of absence. We apologised for this and provided an draft version in the meantime. 2. I disagree that the report is poorly worded. If there is anything that you do not understand, then we would have been and are still happy to provide clarification. 3.The photos sizes are maximum resolution for a PDF document and we provided the originals via a separate ZIP file. 4. Your specific questions were answered in detail, however again we would have been happy to provide further clarification if required. 5. Binoculars were used, however there were still small areas of the roof which could not be seen which we highlighted as a limitation.
Posted 2 years ago
Having conducted a google search to look for a local surveyor Allcott Associates came up as being active in the area I required. I was sent two quotes following an online quotation request which involved me putting in the postcode of the property I was hoping to buy. After comparing a number of quotes I phoned to ask Allcott Associates to conduct the survey - only to be told they did not cover my area. What a waste of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience trying to make a booking. In order to ensure that our reports are of the highest quality, we only accept work if we have someone who has local knowledge relevant to the property being surveyed. In this case, we do not currently have an office in your area and so we were therefore prevented from taking the job inline with our professional code of conduct. We hope that you have found someone else to carry out the work for you.
Posted 2 years ago
Poor to say the least. If you wish to waste your money and learn nothing more than can be observed by a laymen, these are the people for you. They will not inspect your roof but they will tell you if your floors are squeaky. And if there is a suitcase in the way, then all you will get is a statement saying "that a further survey is required". The survey I have received from this company is frankly not worth the (virtual) paper it is written on. It's a real shame that the already difficult process of buying a house is made even more so by cowboys like these. The government really aught to clamp down on this kind of nonsense. Do yourself a favour and take your business somewhere else.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, I'm sorry you felt it necessary to leave this type of review. We take exceptional pride in our work and feel that your review is unfair. It was not possible to inspect the roof void in detail because of a significant storage of the occupiers belongings which the owner admitted to having accumulated over the years. Even with help, it would have taken several hours for anyone to remove the items. For this reason, we advised that the stored items should be removed to allow a meaningful inspection. We even offered to return at no extra cost once the items had been removed. Regards, Allcott Associates LLP
Posted 2 years ago
Very professional
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very dissatisfied with this 86 page “structural “ building report This was an absolute waste of £564.00 for less than an hours work The report we received consisted of things that anyone could see for themselves eg Walls with skirting boards attached to the bottom and coving to the top, and woodchip paper on walls (pictures provided of this) etc etc etc There were no details regarding the actual structure of the property, drains,sizes of floor joists (where conversions) I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It was just bad !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Homoayon, I'm sorry that you felt it necessary to write a negative review. The report had been ready for several weeks and we did try to contact you on many occasions to request payment by phone, email and letter. It was therefore necessary for us to escalate the matter at which point you settled you account immediately which we thank you for. Regards, Allcott Associates LLP
Posted 3 years ago
I Completed the online 'no obligation' quote for a residential survey and then also emailed them to request the survey. I Never heard anything back so i commissioned another company to do my survey. 2 weeks after my initial request, i received an email for a 400 pounds balance due demand for the survey. When i emailed them to clarify i had never heard from them to confirm the survey was being done, so had used another company, one of their partners emailed me back stating that my initial request for the survey "confirmed" it was being done and if payment was not made within 2 days it would be sent to collections, bad credit, etc, etc. They stated they sent a confirmation email (that i did not receive !) and, therefore, i was obligated to pay. Bottom line: poor communication....do not believe "no obligation" quote on their website....now i have paid for a survey i neither needed or was aware was being conducted. Horrible communicators and worse at handling a transaction dispute. I am a multinational business owner and cannot stress how lacking their customer service is when dealing with disputes such as this. The other company, in contrast, made several phone communications and were a joy to work with. I paid their fee in full to avoid their bullying tactics of referral to debt collection. Do Not Use.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I'm in contact with David Allcott regarding my concerns. Very unhappy.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Victoria, I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with the service we provided and I apologise for any confusion. Hopefully after our discussion, you will understand that access to the property was out of our control. We have however provided a full refund.
Posted 4 years ago
Allcott Associates LLP is rated 4.76 based on 824 reviews